BBB Accredited Business since

Independent Home Products, LLC

Phone: (800) 373-4322 Fax: (347) 649-0660 59 Hempstead Garden Drive, West Hempstead, NY 11552 http://www.independenthome.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm distributes products for in-home modifications for the elderly and physically challenged, including walk-in bathtubs, walk-in showers and other bathroom safety products, such as ADA compliant toilet seats and grab bars. They also sell stairlifts and power chairs. Sales are Internet generated with in-home sales appointments.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Independent Home Products, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Independent Home Products, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Independent Home Products, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2008 Business started: 11/04/2008 in NY Business incorporated 10/31/2011 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Yale Lipschik, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Yaakov Flaum, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Yale Lipschik, President
Business Category

DISABILITY ACCESS EQUIPMENT BATHS-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES BATHROOM REMODELING - WALK-IN TUBS


Additional Locations

  • 59 Hempstead Garden Drive

    West Hempstead, NY 11552

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a walk-in tub from Independent Home, LLC. The tub was shipped without issue. When the item was unpacked, there was water in tub, large clumps of dirt, adhesive residue, and three stains (one blue that does not seem to want to come out, one black smudge that is cleanable, and black ring around the drain area). Homeowners refused the tub, and are demanding a new tub be sent. Company is refusing to send a replacement. Company's lack of quality assurance has put us behind schedule with our construction project, as well as angered our clients. This is the clients' (a 90 and 89 year old couple, i might add) only bathroom, and the installation of the tub is causing a hardship on the homeowners.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pick up their sub par item and replace it with a clean walk in tub, in an expedited fashion.

Business Response: November **, 2013,

By the time we received the letter, the original tub has been picked up and a brand new tub was shipped on 11/**/13. Attached please see BOL (bill of lading) for the tub. Customer is aware of it and it is fully satisfied.

Therefore, this matter has been fully resolved.


thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. 



Please note, however, that I reserve the right to reopen the case if needed. 

Sincerely,

**** ******



 

8/5/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a walk-in tub for my mother, with a life time guarantee, from this company (Independent Home) in September 2012. Since then a water jet mechanism became dislodged and required replacement. I called the company (###-###-####) and they sent a new replacement part with a promise to install the part in April 2013. They have not made the repair. I have contacted and spoke with the Director (***) numerous times (5) from May through June 2013. Each time he promised to send a repair person to correct the problem. No repair person has made contact. The last time the Director promised a follow up, he told me he would call and schedule a repair with a repair person in this area. I was contacted by Roto-Rooter, a company which specializes in drain cleaning and plumbing, on behalf of Independent Home . The RRooter representative informed me that their company did not make the type of repair I needed and couldn't help. He also indicated he was referred to me by tIndependent Home however no one from Independent Home made him aware of the type of repair needed.

Desired Settlement: Repair the tub as promised, and soon.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

We have been in constant contact with *** *********. We have already sent him a package with the necessary parts. The original installer **** **** has been in contact with *** ********* as well. By *** ********* own admission we have tried
to secure a local plumber to come out and fix the issue. Prior to receiving this letter we already made contact with **** who has it on his calendar to fix the faulty jet.

Thank you,



*** ********** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[My complaint has not been resolved because:  Independent Home (IH) has not repaired the tub and (IH) has not been in constant with me to schedule a repair.  I have contacted IH on numerous occasions to follow up on IH's repeated promises to get the repair completed.  The BBB complaint website only provided four fields to document my attempts to contact IH and resolve the problem - four response fields ain't enough!!!  I also contacted the original installer, **** ****, on numerous occasions by cell phone in order to get this repair completed.  Those attempts resulted in unanswered phone messages and unfulfilled repair commitments.  I left a message on ****'s answering service last Friday, June **, 2013 (###-###-####) in response to a call he made earlier.  I have not heard from him since I left him my last message.  I gave him my phone number and when I could be reached.  IH and **** have my home phone number and cell phone number. There were no communication problems before and during the period the tub was installed through IH receipt of full payment.  I would like the tub repaired or returned to IH with a full refund.]


 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *********




 

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

We have been in constant contact with *** *********.  We have already sent him a package with the necessary parts. The original installer **** **** has been in contact with *** ********* as well. By *** ********* own admission we have tried to secure a local plumber to come out and fix the issue. Prior to receiving this letter we already made contact with **** who has it on his calendar to fix the faulty jet.

Thank you,




*** ********** 

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/31/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February **, 2013 ***** ****** ****** ********* ** ***** INDEPENDENT HOME ***** **** ***** **** ****** ***** ** ***** Attn: ***** ****** INVOICE #**** DATE:05/**/12 I am writing to provide you with an update regarding the recently installed Hydrotherapy Tub for my husband, disabled veteran, ***** ******* (****). Since the last emailed correspondence with you on September **, 2012 (attached), where no response was rendered, the hydrotherapy tub has been leaking again in the basement and one jet has stopped working. Independent Homes installed the tub on July *, 2012. The install went extremely well and clean up was even better; however, there is still a presence of leaks even after the installers returned in August 2012. This problem does not provide the complete comfort my husband experienced when the tub was initially provided after the crew did their work. I have enclosed the copy of the email for your records. I would appreciate a call, letter, email or some mode of communication to set up another date where this issue can be addressed and the problem repaired. If you need to speak with me for any reason, please call ###-###-####. Thank you for your time and attention in this matter. Sincerely, ***** ** *******, *****’s wife Inc: Email dated September **, 2012 I have called, left messages and spoken with the owner, ****, over 20 times regarding the above letter. **** promised to send someone out to my home to conduct the repairs and as of JULY **, 2013, the repairs have NOT been fixed. Additionally, I spoke with the installer (**** ****), last month, who informed me he would call to make an appointment, but never called me. I left a message for **** on 7/**/2013, speaking with ******, who informed me, she would contact **** ****. No call from **** or **** as of this date of the complaint.

Desired Settlement: I have called, left messages and spoken with the owner, ****, over 20 times regarding the above letter. **** promised to send someone out to my home to conduct the repairs and as of JULY **, 2013, the repairs have NOT been fixed and no return call has been made. Additionally, I spoke with the installer (**** ****), last month, who informed me he would call to make an appointment, but never called me. I left a message for **** on 7/**/2013, speaking with ******, who informed me, she would contact **** ****. No call from **** or **** as of this date of the complaint.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

We have been in constant contact with **** *******. Each time we received a call, a call was immediately made to their installer, **** *****. **. ***** has informed us that he has in fact called and tried to set up an appointment in recent weeks but was told by **. ******* that that time did not work. Upon receipt of this letter **. ***** was immediately contacted again and instructed to call **** ******* ASAP. He will call and try to set up an appointment for this coming up Wednesday (7/**) I hope this will be a suitable time for the *******'s and the matter will be resolved then. However we of course cannot control what dates may or may not work for the customer but rest assured we will not rest until the matter is resolved.

Thank you,

*** **********
 Independent Home 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

**.  **** (****)  contacted me today (July **, 2013) and we set an appointment for Thursday, August *, 2013. In response to **. ********** (***), the last call I placed was to his office on July **, 2013 at 4:25pm where I spoke with ******.  She said that *** was in a meeting at that time and she told me she would contact ****.  Since reporting Independent Home to the BBB, I had not heard anything from *** or ****.  

This is how the initial contact was made:

I emailed ***** ****** on August **, 2012 and provided my satisfaction letter per the requirements of the VA Medical Center, who paid for the tub.

9/**/2012 I emailed ****** to let him know about the leak in the basement and the air jets not working.  No response was made from him.  Several calls were made to him with no return calls.

After mailing the letter dated February **, 2013 to Independent Home, here is the sequence of phone contacts made:

2/**/2013  @ 12:29pm. I spoke with *** and he called **** to schedule an appointment.  **** called and disclosed his situation regarding his father. No appt was made, as he said he would call me back when he returned to his home.

3/**/2013 @ 3:05pm.  **** called me and I returned his call.  No return call from either **** or ***.  So, I called *** and he said he would call **** himself. No return call was made.

4/*/2013 @ 11:40am.  I called **** and left a message with *****, ****'s wife.  No return call from ****.

4/*/2013 @ 1:18pm.  I called *** and left a message.  He returned my call and said he would contact **** or another contractor in the area.

4/**/2013 @ 11am. *** called and I provided him with my home address.  He said he was contacting another contractor to come since **** was not responding.  At 12pm, **** called me and asked for my husband's phone number. He said he would contact him to get the specifics of the tub's status.  No call was made to my husband.

5/**/2013 @ 1:10pm.  I called ****.  We had a bad connection and he said he would call me back.  No return call was made.

5/**/2013 @ 10:15am.  I called ****.  He will call me tomorrow to let me know what day next week he can come to the house, as he stated he had two other projects in the area of our house.  No call was made.

6/**/2013 @ 10:36am. I called **** and left a message.  No return call was made.

7/**/2013 @ 4:25pm.  I called and spoke with ******.  She said that *** was in a meeting at that time and she told me she would contact ****. No return call was made.

 I am certain there were other calls placed with no return calls, but I did not record them.  I would appreciate the issue be resolved correctly and immediately, and if the August 1st appointment falls through or is rescheduled, I will keep you, BBB, informed.


Sincerely,

***** *******




 

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service