BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manufactures and markets color cosmetics, fragrances, skin care, sun care, and personal care products under multiple brand names, including exclusive licenses with major celebrities and designers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coty Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Coty Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1904 Business incorporated: 01/01/1996 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michele Scannavini, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michele Scannavini, CEO
Business Category

COSMETICS & PERFUMES-RETAIL SKIN CARE

Alternate Business Names
Coty Beauty

Additional Locations

  • Empire State Building  350 Fifth Avenue

    New York, NY 10118

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (212) 389-7300(Phone)
  • (800) 715-4023(Phone)
  • (973) 290-8902(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off I've tried to file a complaint twice with Coty Inc. online, I went to ***** ****** website and found the contact us page, which populated the complaint page for Coty Inc. I sent the email twice within a three week period and have let to hear back from Coty Inc. I was not satisfied with the ***** ****** nail gel strip product which I purchased at local target. The product cost m 27.99 plus tax and I was not happy with the products results. I've used the nail strips before, not the gel (this was my first time) so I'm very familiar with the process which you put the product on your nails but the end result was terrible. I put this product on the evening which I purchased the gel strips and by the morning the gel strips had chipped, by the end of the day the gel strips were peeling off. Like I stated before I'm familiar with this type of product, just not the gels but I do not believe there should have been an issues with staying on my nail for less than 24 hours. The night I put them on I literally did nothing with my hands, I pretty much ended up going to bed. I'm unhappy with the product and now the poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a cash or check refund for the 27.99 plus tax. Originally I wanted a refund even if it was a ***** ****** coupon, but now I just want my money refunded to me due to the poor customer service.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We regret to learn of your disappointment with our ***** ****** Insta Gel Strips Starter Kit, and appreciate your letting us know. We're sorry to hear you have not heard from our company, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We will be researching any possible technical issues with our teams.

Your experience is atypical, and our Quality Assurance team is interested in evaluating the product you used. We are therefore sending a postage-paid mailing label for your convenience in returning the product to us. If you still have them, please include the product package and sales receipt. When your package is received, we will contact you about replacement coupons or a replacement product of similar value which we trust you will find completely satisfactory.

Our First Class Postal Service mailing label should arrive within 10-12 business days, subject to USPS service fluctuations in your local area. Please refer to the important instructions included with the mailing label.

Additionally, we will be reaching out to you via the telephone provided and leave a detailed voicemail, should we not be able reach you.

Coty has a strong commitment to product quality and customer satisfaction, and in this regard, we thank you in advance for the opportunity to examine this product. Despite your recent experience, we hope you will continue to look to Coty brands for all your beauty needs.

Watch ***** ****** Gel Nail Color Work! Visit ******************************************* for How-to videos on applying and removing your long lasting manicure.

Wishing you a scent-sational day.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the Sally hansen nail press on applications. (5 boxes) - I had a severe allergic reaction that caused blisters over two fingers and made my cuticle blister - It was extremely painful and horrible to look at. As a professional it was hard to hide my hands I was ashamed and thought I would do the right thing and contact the company so that they could review my issue. Not all people will have the same reaction ... all I wanted was a refund for the boxes I purchased. I have been working with Coty Inc the parent company for over 3 months now. I shipped the product back and every time I ask for a status on my refund or coupons for another product i get more shipping materials sent to my home. I have received over 6 of them ???? They expect me to track the one I sent two months ago when they cannot even keep up with my complaint and track the shipment I sent. I dropped it at the US post office here in Garland and I know it went out -

Desired Settlement: All i want is the amount of money I spent on this defective product. I estimated that with 5 boxes I spent over 50 plus taxes. This product was not cheep as i bought it when it came out.

Business Response: Initial Response
Thank you for E-mailing us regarding your experience with our Sally Hansen Salon Effects Gold Cabaret. While we sincerely regret the episode you described, we are always pleased to hear from our consumers and we value your comments.

Our products contain ingredients which have established acceptability for use in fragrance and cosmetic products. Select people in a given population may develop sensitivities to an otherwise harmless ingredient or develop an unpredictable allergic reaction to something which is in use every day by thousands of others. For instance, some people may suddenly display allergic reactions to common everyday foods such as milk products, tomatoes or strawberries.

We apologize for any disappointment this may have caused you. Coty sympathizes with people who experience this type of sensitivity and we always wish to maintain your good will.

To proceed, we ask that you complete the attached questionnaire and return the unused portion of the products. Save the questionnaire to your computer. Complete the form fields and then re-save the document. Reply to this email and attach the completed document. For your convenience in returning the product, we are sending a pre-paid return label, to the address you provided, within 10-12 business days. Please include your preference for a refund or replacement from another Coty collection. (Visit us at www.coty.com to view our many fine brands.) Your responses to the questionnaire will help us better understand your experience with our product.

Upon receipt of your package, we will contact you promptly. You are invited to call our Consumer Affairs Department with any questions or comments. It is always our pleasure to assist you.

Tips and Tricks -
Sally Hansen Salon Effects are Real Nail Polish using breakthrough technology! If left opened from the original sealed packaging and not used immediately, these strips will dry out when exposed to air and should be discarded.
For extra fortification and extended wear, we suggest using one coat of a clear top coat, such as our Sally Hansen Mega Shine, over your freshly applied Salon Effects. It is recommended that you avoid significant periods of exposure to water for 1 hour after application.
For easy removal, we suggest using an acetone based polish remover. You can soak a cotton ball with this product and rest it on top of your nail for approximately 1 minute to allow for penetration to fully remove strips.
You can also learn more about how to create a gorgeous nail design by viewing our You Tube guide by SallyHansenTV at: ******************************************
To better assist our Quality Assurance team in investigating your valued complaint, we kindly ask that you use the link below to respond to this email with the manufacturing code of your product. You can find the manufacturing code printed or embossed on the bottom or lower side of the bottle / jar / can / box, or the crimped end of the tube. An example of the code is: *****Your cooperation is appreciated.
*******
Product Care Specialist
Coty Inc Global Consumer Affairs
Sally Hansen/N.Y.C. brands ph: ************ (US & Canada)
WWW.COTY.COM

Final Response

Dear *********:
Thank you for telling us about your disappointment with our Sally Hansen Salon Effects and return process. We're so sorry to hear you've had this experience. We received notification of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau.
We would like to inform you to date we have not received the returned merchandise however, because we wish to maintain your goodwill, we are sending you a reimbursement check in the amount of $60.00, which you will be receiving within 6-8 weeks.
We trust that future purchases of Coty brands will meet your expectations.
*****
Manager
Coty Inc Global Consumer Affairs
Sally Hansen/N.Y.C. brands ph: ###-###-#### (US & Canada)
WWW.COTY.COM


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello. ***** ******, which is part of Coty Inc, has a line of Gel Manicure products that they advertise as "2 Week Wear - no chipping or peeling." On April **, 2013, I purchased their Gel Manicure Starter Kit for $59.99 + tax from a local grocery store (kit is supposed to last for 10 manicures). This kit was for their Gel Polish. After 3 manicures that chipped and peeled within days, I decided to try their Insta Gel Strips from the same line of product. Each Insta Gel Strip kit is good for 1 manicure. I purchased kits on 6/*/13 ($9.99 + tax), 6/*/13 ($9.99 + tax) and 6/**/13 ($19.99 + tax). Now, for a manicure that is supposed to last 2 weeks with no chipping, I purchased the product way too often. The kit purchased on 6/*/13 chipped and peeled within one day - the kit from 6/*/13 took 2 days, and finally, on 6/**/13 - I returned the $59.99 Gel Polish Kit and purchased Insta Gel Starter kit for $19.99 as stated above. This kit is again, good for 1 manicure. After this manicure chipped by the next morning, I had had enough - I cannot return these kits to my local grocery store as there is no product left in them. So, I contacted the company. The company responded and told me that I needed to send them the left over product so it can be evaluated for defective qualities. I want to bring to your attention the fact that the back of their box says "Open, unused strips should be discarded." Since I had already tried to use some of my unused gel strips to touch up my manicures with no avail, I did in fact, throw them away, per package directions. I contacted the company back and told them I had no product to send them to evaluate, as their packaging says to throw away unused gel strips. They kept replying with the fact that I would need to send them my unused product so they could do an array of tests. I sent scanned copies of 3 receipts (1 receipt is missing) as well as pictures of my 3 gel kit boxes and pictures of my chipped manicure. Like a robot, they kept telling me that they could not help me without the product to test. I told them I believed that they were scamming consumers, by telling them on their packaging to throw away unused gel strips and then telling them they need the product when the consumer complains it doesn't work.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund for my 3 purchased kits - $9.99 + $9.99 + $19.99 x 8% sales tax = $43.17

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

***** ****** has agreed to issue me a refund for my products.

 

******* *******
 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2011 Delivery Issues
1