BBB Accredited Business since

Systemax Inc.

Fax: (516) 625-0038 View Additional Phone Numbers 11 Harbor Park Drive, Port Washington, NY 11050 http://www.systemax.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Systemax Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Systemax Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Systemax Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated 06/07/1995 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

COMPUTERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES-DEALERS INDUSTRIAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES


Additional Locations

  • 11 Harbor Park Drive

    Port Washington, NY 11050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ORDERED A SEIKI 4K TELEVISION FROM YOUR COMPANY, AMAZON ORDER # ******##-###-####***. I RECEIVED THE TELEVISION, FINALLY HOOKED IT UP AFTER MY HOUSE WAS BUILT AND IT IS DEFECTIVE. CIRCUIT CITY SUPPORT REFUSES TO HONOR A REFUND UPON RETURN OF DEFECTIVE PRODUCT! I WILL FILE A DISPUTE WITH MY CHASE CREDIT CARD IF A REFUND IS NOT HONORED. I WANT A REFUND AND WANT TO RETURN THIS DEFECTIVE PRODUCT YOU SOLD ME!

Desired Settlement: I WANT A REFUND AND WANT TO RETURN THIS DEFECTIVE PRODUCT YOU SOLD ME!

Business Response:

We apologize to our customer for the inconvenience he is having with this item.   The television was ordered on 4/**/** and delivered on 4/**/**.  According to our records, the customer did not contact TigerDirect in regards to any problems with the television until 10/**/**.  Since the product is advertised with a 30 day defective return policy through TigerDirect and 1 year manufacturer warranty, on 10/**/**, the customer was properly referred to contact the manufacturer.  According to the manufacturer, they have no record of the customer attempting to contact them. 

Upon receiving an email from the customer on 10/**/**, we immediately on the customer’s behalf asked Seiki to reach out to the customer and offer to service the television.  Seiki contacted the customer and according to Seiki management, the customer refused any assistance and simply requested a refund from them.  The manufacturer cannot provide customers a refund they can only service the product against any defects. 

We reached to the customer directly in attempts to assist with this problem.  The customer refused any assistance and disconnected the call with our supervisor while he was trying to assist him.  The customer did not admit to the item being defective, he mentioned to our supervisor that the TV did not work with his devices. 

We have in good faith attempted to assist the customer by offering to have the television serviced through the manufacturer.  The customer has refused any assistance from TigerDirect or the manufacturer.  Due to the time elapsed from purchase date to today, the customer is not entitled to a refund but is covered through the manufacturer warranty.  If the customer is indeed having a problem with the television we would happy to arrange a callback from the manufacturer.  Please feel free to reach out to me if our customer changes his mind as to this or, if you have any further questions or concerns.  Thank you.

Best regards,

Rogelio I****
Customer Service Manager
*******************
************

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Wow, what a shady business! I requested a refund for this defective item, EVERYONE denied my request for refund. I was sold defective products, which were also misleading, now everyone refuses to accept their faulty merchandise back.

I WANT A REFUND!

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********



 

Business Response:
Six months after the customer received his TV, he claims he opened it and it was defective.  The customer contacts Tiger and rightfully so, he is referred to the manufacturer (Seiki), since he is covered under their warranty at this point.  The customer does not contact Seiki and instead files a complaint with the BBB.  Upon Tiger receiving the complaint, we escalate it over to Seiki. Both Seiki and Tiger call the customer on two separate attempts to have the unit serviced per the warranty rules and the customer outright refuses to be helped.  When he is asked what is wrong with the TV, he hangs up on the supervisor who had attempted to reach out and assist him.
We have in good faith attempted to assist the customer on numerous occasions and service the TV. However, the customer continues to ask for a refund but as you can understand, requesting a refund for an item he has had in his possession for over 6 months is not a reasonable request nor does it fall within the return policy.
I am requesting that the BBB close this case being that Tiger has done everything possible to assist the customer. 
Johanna ** *****
Executive Assistant to Eric Lerner, General Counsel
Legal Department
******** **** * ** ****** **** ***** * **** *********** ** *****
Direct: ###-###-#### | Fax: ###-###-####  
******************* * **************** 
 
 
 


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I requested a refund for this defective TV and they refused, horrible service. 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ** ******



 

7/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ** May 2015, I placed an order (#********) for computer parts from ***** ****** (Subsidiary) for a total of $1979.26. Most of the parts were delivered in a timely manner, however, a Cooler Master computer case and Cooler Master CPU Cooler did not arrive in a timely manner. On ** June 2015, I called *********** and told them to cancel these last two items and they confirmed that the items were cancelled and should not ship. A week later, they shipped the case anyways and charged me the $144.99. Then on ** Jun 2015, they shipped the last item and charged me $34.99. I returned the case immediately after getting it and verified through *** that they received the item. It's been several weeks and I have not received a refund. On the CPU Cooler, I was going to return it, but the cost of shipping would have been $24. For both items, I should NOT have been responsible for return shipping charges since it was ***********'s fault for shipping the items in the first place. On ** June 2015, I called *********** and after a 45 min phone wait time, I spoke with a customer service rep who was no help.

Desired Settlement: Full refund the Cooler Master Case which was returned. Refund delivery charges for this item. I still have the CPU Cooler (unopened) that I will return providing *********** pays for return shipping and gives me a full refund for this item.

Business Response: We sincerely apologize to our customer for the negative experience he had with our company.  We have confirmed that a refund was processed for the returned case on 7/**/15.  We also verified with *** ******* yesterday, 7/**, that he did not pay to ship the case back to *********** and that he used our own *** label. 

As a courtesy and due to the inconvenience our customer went through with this order, we have also refunded him for the cpu cooler and instructed him that he did not need to return the product at this point.  *** ******* was content that we contacted him today via phone and that his concerns with *********** were resolved.

Thank you,

******* ***** ***** **********  

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
**** *******



 

7/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order placed through tigerdirect.com for 55 inch Samsung 4K Television (Item # UAM-102773389 RF) on 5/*/2015. Total order amount was $903.46, including tax. A severely damaged product was delivered and a return was initiated the same day as delivery (5/**/2015). No communication was received for a couple of weeks. Multiple requests for a refund via customer support phone as well as email have been made and no refund or eta has been provided. It is an unacceptable amount of time for this request. This is the second consecutive instance where a faulty or damaged product was delivered from an order associated with ***************.

Desired Settlement: Full refund in the amount of $903.46

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize to the customer for the negative experience he had with our company.  We have issued a customer a full refund in the amount of $903.97 back to his original Discover card. We spoke to *** **** on 7/** to confirm that the issue had been resolved and he was content that we had resolved it and called him. 
 
If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact Roger I**** at ********************
 
Best regards,

Johanna M****
***** **********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Refund has still not posted]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

********* ****




 

Business Response: *** **** - We are extremely sorry for the delay and inconvenience. We will look into this immediately and respond in a timely manner. 

Thank you,

Johanna M****
Legal Department 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

********* ****


 

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Systemax, the parent company of ***** ******, should show some accountability as it pertains to ***** ******'s actions. I placed an order with them-*********-that never shipped. Was never even processed. And that was LAST WEEK! Now, my money is denied to me by my bank because ***** ****** wont even cancel the order so that I can get my money back. I have called 4 or 5 different phone numbers, I have emailed. No one will help me.

Desired Settlement: I paid $147.00 online through my debit card for this order that was never even processed-much less shipped. I WANT MY MONEY BACK!

Business Response:

According to our records, the order shipped today. We called the customer, no answer; sent email. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

?

8/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Systemax owns among various companies - "Global Equipment Company" in the USA and "Global Equipment Canada". I ordered the Big D Odor Control Fogger (item #*******) from *******************, and paid for it on June **** 2014. The item was never delivered to my door. I was led to believe I was ordering from a Canadian site, and the product would be delivered within Canada. Instead, it took two weeks to have it delivered by UPS to a Canadian shipping address, which was then picked up by Canada Post and delivered to an address in **********. I live in Toronto, and my correct address was given, however the package never arrived. Canada Post pointed the finger at ******************** with which ******************* is affliated with. I called and wrote emails to globalindustrial at: ************************* and ###-###-####. Each time they reassured me that they would get to the bottom of it. Ultimately, no one knew where the package ended up. I've asked for a refund today, and they said they would credit my VISA. However, ******************* and their dristribution center ******************** is disorganized and gives poor customer service. They are not trustworthy. As well, the ******************* website is deceitful in having customers believe the products are being delivered from Canada. I went on the Systemax website at* **************************************** and called their business numbers to give an account of what happened with Global Industrial, and every phone number is busy or goes to voice mail. I don't believe that this is a reputable company. The BBB has 24 complaints closed within last 3 years and 7 closed in the last 12 months from unhappy customers, yet the BBB is still giving Systemax as a parent company an A+.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of $94.23 in Canadian dollars credited to the VISA card on file ( I have been promised this amount today by "*******" at *******************, but I don't trust this company). I want the ******************* website to state that the orders are shipped from the United States, both prior to ordering, and just before the order is sent through by the customer. I also want the Systemax rating to be dropped to a "C" or "D" because of the 24 complaints customers have filed with the BBB. Mine makes 25.

Business Response: *** ******,

We apologize for any convenience *** ***** encountered with her order. Please note that customer service initiated a refund as soon as we were aware of the delivery issue and I have confirmed that it has been pushed through and will process tonight. With respect to *** *****'s comments about the shipment being from the US instead of Canada, please note that Global Industrial Canada is a Canadian entity, but our customers are clearly informed that the products ship from the US. I have attached a copy of the Global Industrial Canada website for your review. The same information appears on other pages of the site through and including the shopping cart page. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions or comments.

***** ******** *** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I haven't received a refund to my VISA yet.  When can I expect my VISA to be refunded for the $94.23 CAD I'm owed now that it "has been pushed through"? 

The notation at the bottom of the ******************* website appears new.  There is no notation about the products shipping from the USA when checking out (even if there was one now, it would have just been placed there by the web design team).

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

Business Response: As stated in my response, the credit will be processed on our end tonight although we have no control over when *** *****' bank will put it in her account. She may want to check tomorrow. I am told that the legend regarding the stocking location being in the US is not new and though it is not on the checkout page, it is on all other pages throughout the website.

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is an unauthorized debit on my account from a company with this phone number ###-###-#### and name. I called but could not get to a rep. I did not make a purchase but my account has been debited $200 +/-. I am looking for a full refund and repayment of overdraft fees. Here is the debit Completed on: 01/**/2014 Description: MASTERMONEY PURCHASE POS PURCHASE TERMINAL ******** SYX*GLOBALCOMPS ********* FL XXXXXXXXXXXX**** Amount: $286.81 Transaction type: WITHDRAWAL .

Desired Settlement: Full refund and repayment of overdraft fees

Business Response:

*** *******

 

We looked into *** *****'s complaint and discovered that the order appears to have been place fraudulently through the web. *** ***** has no order history with us and we had a verification agent look into the shipping address and the customer is not listed. Also, the email does not match with any information for the customer. We will refund the payment method to alleviate any financial inconveniences to the customer. We do suggest that she contacts her financial institution for further assistance as her information may have been compromised.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

***** ********

***** ********

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter will be resolved as soon as the funds are returned to my checking account.

Sincerely,

**** *****



 

1/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed one order of office dividers about one month ago, the delivery is separated in 3 portions . I received 2 of 3 portion, however, I never receive the last portion, I sent email and made number of calls. the issue is not resolved, the person simply said she will call me back or hang up the phone.

Desired Settlement: To divide the office, we need all of the parts. it doesn't make sense if you only deliver portion of them. please deliver ASAP. otherwise, I ask for refund

Business Response:

*** ******,

 

We have been in contact with the customer even before we received the complaint. and have been diligently working to resolve. We shipped the remaining pieces to the customer immediately, however due to the carrier (the delivering terminal) being closed due to the holidays it took an extra day or two. The missing items will be delivered on January *** and the customer has been informed. Thank you

 

*****

11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 87 year old mother purchased Nexelon Wire shelving which is suppose to have a lifetime warranty against rust and corrosion. Upon receiving the product, it was discovered that the posts were rusted on the inside. We asked the company to pickup the product from the delivery address and issue a full refund. They refuse.

Desired Settlement: A full refund plus pickup the product from the delivery address with no further cost to us.

Business Response:

*** ******,

 

Please note that this individual never contacted us until we received an email late last night. All contact was with the distributor of the product. They are not our customer but purchased the shelving from someone who purchased it from us. However, as soon as we were alerted to the issue, we contacted the individual and assured them that we will arrange to have all of the material picked up from them at our expense. Once we have received the shelving, we will have the distributor issue a full credit.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any further questions.

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me however I will consider the matter resolved until the product is indeed picked up and I have received my full credit.

Sincerely,

******* *****



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

No credit has been received but the merchandise was returned and received and receipt was confirmed by the company.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

Business Response: The credit in full was issued to the customer by the dealer on the ****. It sometimes takes a day or two to show up. We have been in touch with this customer throughout the process and informed them of this.. The confirmation number given to us by the dealer is

Authorize.net Transaction ID : **********  .

 

*****

11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a floor mat which arrived with the wrong dimensions despite the fact I clearly specified the dimensions. I was told i would receive a credit but unlike most Ethical companies which provide a credit within 2-3 business days I'm now having to wait 30 days to receive my credit back on my credit card which I already paid for. I placed another order for a replacement mat and my credit card was charged right way, 2 weeks pass and I get an email about a "delay" due to shortage and now I'm upset because after 2 weeks I'm being told now I have to wait on top of the 3 months before this product is to arrive there is additional delays for some unforeseen amount of time, so i requested a full refund if the mat is not shipped by Nov *** which is the original date it was set to ship almost 2 weeks after the order was made. If there is a delay I do not believe I should have to wait another 30 Days to get a refund on a non delivered item. I want a refund within reasonable time frame like most online businesses. Global Industrials unethical accounting and collection practices only affects the customers which must pay upfront while Gobal makes interest off my Money in their bank account for at minimum 6 weeks.

Desired Settlement: I want an Instant refund under 5 business days which should not be hard to do. They sure are quick at taking customers money and making money off our money but quite slow at making proper refunds.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I received an email from Global with regards to the last email being sent in error and i received my tracking number. However I'm still waiting for my credit on the original order

Sincerely,

*** ******



 

9/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased four fans because of the rebate. The rebate was denied because I did not include the Original UPC Barcode Label (#**************. That bar code was on the packaging and destroyed as soon as I unpacked the fans. I contacted the company and they said to go ahead and submit the rebate forms and they would okay the rebate. The lady said it was obvious that I received the fans, paid for the fans, and they were certainly delivered. Enclosed is the letter I received denying the rebate. I sent them an email regarding the rebate and they will not reply. I tried to talk online with their representative but Usher said I would have to go through yet another email process.This is the email I received: Dear **** *******,Your Rebate was not approved for the following reason(s)- Original UPC Barcode Label (#*************) (Not the shipping label barcode) is missingOur decision to not approve your rebate claim was based upon examination of the documents that we received from you. If you wish to view all documentation you may simply click on this link ********************************************************************************************************However, the rebates sponsoring manufacture/reseller has authorized us to offer you one additional opportunity to resubmit for this rebate claim. There is only one exception to resubmitting, and that is, if your rebate claim was denied due to being outside of the allowable time frame, then unfortunately you are not eligible to resubmitt.Global may be technically correct in their denial-but their customer service needs attention. The bar codes they referenced, are long ago burnt up in the fire.Any help you can offer will be greatly appreciated.Thank You,**** *******

Desired Settlement: I would like Gobal to honor the rebate they promised regardless of the technicality. This may be a scam, using any excuse to not have to honor their rebate. It is a poor way to get customers to purchase their products. I will not make that mistake again.Thank You again,**** *******

Business Response:

*******,

We have heard from the rebate company and they have approved the rebates for this customer. The rewards card information was submitted to American Express today and will be mailed out within the next couple of business days via regular mail. We will be calling the customer to inform him of this.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions.

 

*****

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


Thank you so much for all your help.  They claim they have decided to honor their rebate.
I will let you know if they fail to honor their commitment.
Sincerely,

**** *******



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Systemax Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)