This business is not BBB accredited.

National Collector's Mint

Phone: (800) 452-4381 Fax: (914) 935-3321 2975 Westchester Avenue, Purchase, NY 10577 http://www.Nationalcollectorsmint.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for National Collector's Mint include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National Collector's Mint
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2000 Business started: 09/01/1994 in DE Business incorporated 09/01/1994 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Avram C. Freedberg, President
Related Businesses
BioLogic Solutions
Business Category

COIN DEALERS, SUPPLIES, ETC. STAMPS-COLLECTORS


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2975 Westchester Avenue

    Purchase, NY 10577

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered 2 Morgan Silver dollars per national advertising campaign. Never received any confirmation or notification e-mails despite numerous requests. After a week I am provided a **** tracking number after scheduled delivery date. Tracking number is useless because **** has not received product from *** and company either will not or cannot provide original *** tracking number despite using "*** Quantum View" shipping. Numerous calls, emails ignored trying to track shipment or promises not kept by call center "to call you back in a hour and a half".

Desired Settlement: Either deliver as promised or refund my $$$. Will pursue dispute/fraud with CC company if immediate resolution not forthcoming.

Business Response:

******* *** **** *** *** ******* ******* ***** ****** ******** ****** *** ***** ****** **** ***** *** ********** ** ***** ****** ****** ** * ******** ***** * *******

Dear *** *****,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Upon receipt of this complaint, we immediately reviewed our records.

*** ****** placed an order on January *, 2016 Via ****. The order was shipped on 1/*/2016 per ****. Per the tracking information the package was either delayed or lost. At that point we reshipped the order. The reship was delivered and signed for per *** on 1***/2016. I have attached the proof of delivery for your records.

National Collector’s Mint strives for 100% customer satisfaction. We do hope that this matter is brought to a resolution.

Sincerely,

Meghan J******

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ******



 

1/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: January *, 2016 I placed an order from ******************. I ordered 5 Morgan Coins for $149.50 plus $12 shipping, handling and insurance. After a few days of not receiving a confirmation email I checked my credit card account to find that I was charged $230.50. After calling this morning, I was told some one would call me back. I still haven't received a call so my husband called the Customer Service number to find out that they decided to ship another coin to us for only $69.00. We never ordered that coin and feel this is an illegal attempt to sell a product.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund to my credit card immediately. This company needs to be stopped as I apparently am not the first person they've scammed.

Business Response:

******* *** ****

****** ******** ****** ******* ************ *** **** ** **** **** ****** **** ***** *** ***** ** ***** *** ******** *** ******

Dear Mediator,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Upon receipt of this complaint, we immediately reviewed our records.

On January *, 2016, **** ****** placed an order via our automated interactive system. During the call she selected five Moran Silver Dollars and one Uncirculated Morgan Silver Dollar. The order totaled $230.50

This order was delivered on January **, 2016, per the delivery confirmation provided by **** with tracking number **************************

On January *, 2016 *** ****** (husband) spoke with our customer service department, and was advised of full return instruction. He advised they would be retuning the Uncirculated Morgan for a refund. As soon as we receive this coin back we will process a refund to the **** card used to place the order ending in 4616 Exp 08/18.

National Collector’s Mint strives for 100% customer satisfaction. We do hope that this matter is brought to a resolution.

Sincerely,

Meghan J******

******** ******* ******* ******** *********** ****


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved becau

 

 This company is lying.  I clearly ordered 5 Morgan Silver Dollars ONLY for 149.50 plus $12 shipping.  No where on the order form does it state I wanted an uncirculated coin for an additional 69.00.   Please see the website below for what I ordered.   No where on that page does it mention an uncirculated coin.   

***********************************************************************************************

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*** ******




 

Business Response:

******* *** **** ******* ***** ****** ******** ****** *** ***** ****** **** ***** *** ********** ** ***** *** ********  *** ****** **********

Dear *** ******

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Upon receipt of this complaint, we immediately reviewed our records.

*** ****** is correct she did order this order from our website. However, the (1) uncirculated Morgan Silver Dollar was chosen as well as the 5 Morgan Silver Dollars. *** ****** is well within the 60 day money back guarantee she can return it for a refund. We will also reimburse the shipping and handling cost for her return if she encloses a receipt of the cost from the shipper.

We do advise she follow all the instructions for return on the rear of his invoice. She can return the coin to our warehouse:

FMC Processing Center

** ******** *** **** ****** ** *****

National Collector’s Mint strives for 100% customer satisfaction. We do hope that this matter is brought to a resolution.

Sincerely,

Meghan J******

Customer Service Manager

National Collector’s Mint

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*** ******

 

ps. I DID NOT SELECT THAT 6TH COIN.   But as long as they'll reimburse my return shipping I am satisfied with the resolution. 


 


6/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ****, a sales representative at National Collector's Mint, put $57,000 charges on my father's **** ** ******* credit card for "services" in coin research. My father did not understand that he was putting those charges on his card or what they were for. He also got my father's bank account information and tried to take $85,000 from his account. I called his bank and stopped the withdrawal. *** **** engaged in predatory behavior to intimidate my father by calling 3-10 times per day, bullying, and threatening him to force him to give him account information. **** told my father he had to "prove" he was a VIP client by revealing financial information. **** refused to reveal in writing exactly what he wanted my father to purchase. Then **** and ******* (*******) sent him a bill for $73,000 for coins that I told him on the phone my father would NOT be purchasing.

Desired Settlement: We are asking National Collector's Mint to take the charges off my father's **** ** ******* credit card and NEVER contact him again.

Business Response: **** ** ****   *** *** ******* ******* ***** ****** ******** ****** *** ***** ****** **** ***** *** ********** ** *****

 

ID: ******** *** ******

Order # *******

 

Dear *** *****,

 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Upon
receipt of this complaint, we immediately reviewed our records.

 

*** ****** has one outstanding order that was placed
on 04/**/15 for eight Certified Morgan Silver Dollars totaling $49,700.00.  The order was put on a 3 -payment layaway
plan per the customer’s request and the order will be shipped on or around 06/**/2015
when the final payment is collected. There are no other outstanding orders for
this customer nor has he been sent any invoices for payment.

 

*** ****** did attempt to place a second order
with the company totaling $73,160.00. However when he failed to respond to a
confirmation e-mail, the order was cancelled. No charges were ever incurred by
*** ****** for said order.

 

Our investigation showed that *** ****** participated
in each transaction and had an understanding of what he was purchasing.  *** ****** certainly was in no way threatened
or mislead into purchasing.  This order was
also verified by management with the customer.

 

We do want to state that the individual making this
inquiry is not our customer.

 

 

Please feel free to contact me directly with any
questions you may have. 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

****** ******* ******** ******* ******* ******** *********** ****
 

10/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered some Silver Morgan Coins and paid $230.50 using my credit card. I have received nothing and the tracking number that I had to call and get from them doesn't exist. I even spoke to 2 different people at this company and received 2 different tracking numbers which neither tracking number exists. I think I have been scammed and/or this company is a fraud.

Desired Settlement: I want a full and complete refund.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ******



 

9/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered three Morgan Silver Dollars from National Collector's Mint (NCM) on 03/**/2014. NCM's advertising and guarantee states the coins are in brilliant uncirculated condition or they will be replaced at no charge. Only one of the three coins is in brilliant uncirculated condition. The second one has been circulated and the third one is heavily circulated, making them unsatisfactory and not in compliance with NCM's guarantee. I wrote to NCM on 04/**/2014 requesting replacements and this letter was not answered.

Desired Settlement: Two replacement Morgan Silver Dollars in brilliant uncirculated condition as advertised. The two unsatisfactory coins will be returned.

Business Response: Dear *** *****,

 

Thank you for
bringing this matter to our attention. Upon receipt of this complaint, we
immediately reviewed our records.

 

****** **** Placed an order for 3
Morgan Silver Dollars. These Morgans are advertised as being in mostly brilliant
uncirculated to fine condition.

 

We spoke with *** **** on
05/2014 he will be exchanging two of the coins he is not happy with.

 

National Collector’s Mint strives
for 100% customer satisfaction. We do hope that this matter is brought to a
resolution.

 

 

Sincerely,


 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ****



 

3/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After responding to an ad in Smithsonian Magazine for "circulated" Morgan silver dollars for $29 each, I was subjected to a very heavy-handed attempt to get me to instead purchase a set of 5 uncirculated coins for over $700. Despite my protestations about not being interested in the latter, the saleswoman persisted in rudely continuing her sales pitch -- even to the point of calling me back after I eventually hung up. It became clear to me why the ad said they would accept phone orders only -- not because (as the ad claimed) there were so few of the $29 coins, but because the real aim of the ad was to attract callers they could then browbeat into buying the vastly more expensive coins. It was the most blatant bait and switch I've ever had the displeasure to encounter.

Desired Settlement: I wanted to go on record with this complaint because I am certain you will receive others about this company's shoddy tactics.

Business Response:

 

RE: ******* **** ********

Order # *******

 

Dear Ms. ******

 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Upon receipt of this complaint, we immediately reviewed our records.

 

The recording of the phone call referred to in the complaint has been reviewed by our compliance department.  Contrary to the statement made by the customer, there was no attempt to “bait and switch” the customer to a different product from what he called to order. 

 

After entering an order for the item the customer requested and confirming the price of the item, the representative offered an additional product.  There was no attempt at substitution for the original item; rather, the representative asked if the customer would like to add to his order.  When Mr. ******** declined, and asked that his entire order be cancelled, the representative complied.  The company will honor his desire not to be solicited in the future.

 

At National Collector’s Mint, we strive for 100% customer satisfaction.  We do hope this matter has been brought to a resolution.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

****** ******* 

******** ******* *******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on National Collector's Mint
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)