This business is not BBB accredited.

POPTIMIZATION INC.

Phone: (917) 409-7467 295 Madison Ave  12th Floor, New York, NY 10017 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.poptimization.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for POPTIMIZATION INC. include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on POPTIMIZATION INC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 05, 2011 Business started: 03/01/2010 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Chang, President
Business Category

CLOTHING-RETAIL BUSINESS CONSULTANTS INTERNET SHOPPING SERVICES GENERAL MERCHANDISE-RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Cosplay Shopper Kigurumi Shopper POPtimization

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    295 Madison Ave
    12th Floor

    New York, NY 10017

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There has been quite a few issues I have had. I had contacted the business multiple times before placing an order. I was purchasing these as gifts. I had asked the contact person before I ever placed an order if there was a problem with it or if he didn't like it/it didn't fit right, if I could return it. The lady had said yes that I could return it. I mentioned it was a custom order and was still told yes I could return it if needed. A week after I order I am told they do not have the materials needed for one. Which should have been something they knew before I ordered it, as it is there company. This brings me to my other problems. I received the order, and the outfit has a Velcro part on it instead of a continuos piece. Now nowhere did it say this on the website description, the pictures didn't show it unless you knew to look at it. I was upset about this because it's not what I ordered. And the sizing was was off. I asked the woman for a return address and my refund. I am now told that I can only recurve a partial refund. Which I should have been notified of when I originally asked. There employee told me yes o can get my money back, never mentioning only part of it, so this company should honor that. And the customer service is terrible. I have sent multiple emails regarding my problems, as I hoped I would be able to return this and go else where to get what I wanted for Christmas, as now I have no gift for this person due to these problems. I have been ignored and this problem has been going on for a month.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund as when I asked about it was told I could get my refund and didn't tell me it was only a partial. I want the company to honor what there employee told me. A return address and the shipping paid for to return said product. And I would like to see them update the product description so others do not make this mistake to.

Business Response:

Hey *******,

Sorry for the inconvenience. Your order was received on 10/** as a custom order and the package was delivered on ***** (*** tracking: ******************). As we clearly stated on the website, "*** ***** ****** ********** *** ****** **** ***** *** **** *********************" (**********************************************). Patterns and materials used for custom orders vary depending upon variety of reasons. That's why our designers and customer service  always do our best to communicate with our customers via our commission request form (*************************************************) or **** online/offline chat. We understand your frustration and have been working hard to explain and assist you regarding your case. Again please feel free to contact us directly at *********************** if you have any questions. All your questions and concerns will be replied in no more than 24-48 hours.

Thank,

Cosplay Shopper Customer Service


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 I specifically asked the customer service person if I could get a refund on a custom order because it was a gift. The lady told me that yes if there wa a problem I could get a refund. No where did she mention it would only be a partial refund, she just said yes she could refund it pending any issues. This was BEFORE I ever placed an order. After I received the item and it was not what was described and the sizes were way off, I am being told I can only get a 20% refund. I've been constantly ignored for over a month. If their employee told me yes I can get a refund, I feel this business should do this as it was their employee who told me that. If she had told me if was only a partial refund I wouldn't have ordered in the first place. But when I specifically asked I was simply told yes. I expect my full refund. I've been trying to take care of this problem since a week after Halloween. 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****



 

3/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since July, 2014 I have been requesting a refund on ******* ******* Boots Order # ********* placed on 7/*/14 because they were not as described on the ******* ******* website. I returned them via U.S.P.O. certified mail (tracking # **** **** **** **** **** **). I paid $12.75 to ship them back to the address they provided: *** ****** **** ***** **** *** ***** ** *****. Since then, I have tried e-mailing (***********************) and they just keep telling me they will look into it. I have left numerous messages on the phone (###-###-####) but no one ever calls me back. I have the receipt and e-mails to back up my claim.

Desired Settlement: I would like the initial cost of $89.45 for the boots plus $12.75 for the shipping and for all the wasted time and trouble they have caused me.

Business Response:

Hello,

Thanks for the information. 

The order (*********) was received on 7/*/2014 and was processed immediately. The package was delivered to an alternative address provided by the customer on 7/**/2014. The UPS tracking number is ******************. We later received the confirmation from ****** ** **** stating, “We get UPS packages delivered there without any problems. Thank you.”

 

Per our return/ exchange policy, our customers can issue requests for a return or exchange within 7 days. No questions asked. However the package must be returned back to us in original condition, with original packaging and tags attached. We cover all costs if there is any mistake done by us during production. If not, the customers cover the shipping and re-listing fees. We have been working hard trying to resolve this issue with ****** ** **** but so far couldn’t locate the package with the information provided.

 

For more information regarding our return policy, please visit **********************************************. We can be reached via email at ***********************. All questions will be responded within 24 hours.

 

Thanks,

******* ******* Customer Service Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

It is NOT TRUE that they ask no questions regarding returns w/in 7 days.  I asked to return the boots for a refund THE DAY AFTER I RECEIVED THEM.   They asked me for pictures of the product and then they gave me the address where to ship them but DID NOT OFFER TO PAY FOR THE RETURN SHIPPING even though THERE WERE MISTAKES IN THE PRODUCTION.  I told them on 7/**/14 that:  1) The shoe was separate from the leg and this was not indicated on the website, 2) The leg portions slid down the legs as if they were slouched socks, 3) They were a lighter brown than shown on the website.  I returned the boots unworn and in the exact condition as I received them.  It is also A LIE that they have been working hard trying to resolve this issue.  To repeat:  I have tried e-mailing (***********************) repeatedly  and they just keep telling me they will look into it.  I have left numerous messages on the phone (###-###-####) but no one ever calls me back.

Below are the e-mail transcripts:

******* *** ******* **** ***** ****** ** **** ****************** **** *** ************************ ***** ******** ******* *** ********* ** ***** ***** ** ***** *** **** **** ** **** ** ****** * ****** ** ****** ** **** ********** *********** * **** * ***** **** ******* *** *** **** **** *** ** *** *** ****** ** ***** * ***** **** ** **** **** * *** ****** ** ******* ***** ******** ****** ** **** ************ ******* ** **** ****************************************************************************** ** ******* *** ** ****** * ****** ** ****** ** *** ********** **** *** **** **** *** ** ****** **** *** ****** *** **** ***** ***************************************************************** * ****** *** **** *** *** *********** *** **** ****** ********* **** ******* **** ***** *** **** ** ** ** ***** ***** ** ******* * ***** ******** ** ******* ****** ** **** ************ ** ********* ******** *** **** **** *** ******* ******* ************************* ****** *** ******* ****** *** ******* ** *** ***** *** *** ******* ****** *** ***** ** ** *** *** * **** *** *** ****** ** ** *** ****** *** ** ***** * ******* ** **** ** **** *** ******* ** **** *** ****** ** **** *********************** ****** ***** *** *** ********* ** ******* *** ***** * ** ********* *** ******* ** ********* ****** ** **** ************ ** ********** ******** *** **** **** *** ******* ******* ************************* ****** *** ******* ****** *** ******* ** ** ****** *** * **** **** ***** ****** ****** *** ** ** ***** *** *** *** ************** *** ******* *** ***** ****** *** ** **** ** ** *** ****** ****** **** ******* ** **** ** **** *** *** **** ** ***** *** ******** ******* ************************* ****** ***** ****** ** **** ******* ********************* ********** *********** * ******** *** ****** ** ***** *** ********* * ******* ****** **** *** ***** **** ***** ******** *** **** ****** ** ** *** *** ************** *** * **** *** ******** * **** ***** * ****** **** **** ********** ****** **** ******* ***** ** ****** *** * **** **** ****** ** **** * ****** ** ** **** ********* ****** ******** ** ******* ** **** ** ******** ** *** ** **** **** ** ** *** ****** ** * ******* ****** ** **** ************ ******* *** ********** ******* ***** * ********* ***** ****** ** **** ****************** **** *** ************************ ***** ********* ************ **** ** ** ********* **** *** **** **** *** ******* ******* ************************ ****** *** ******* ****** *** ******* ** *** ******* ****** **** ** **** ** ** *** ****** *** ***** *** *** ***** ** ***** *** ** **** ** *** ******* ****** *** ******* ** **** ** **** *** ** **** ** **** *** ****** ** **** ****************** **** ****** **** *** *** ******** *** ******** *** ** ******* *** * **** ****** ************* ****** ** **** ** ******** **** ******* **** *** ******* *******

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ** ****




 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

AGAIN:  I sent the brand new boots back in their original condition with tags and packaging via Certified mail by United States Post Office.  The Post Office said they delivered it to the address that Cosplay gave me.  I followed up with Cosplay and they DID NOT tell me they had not received the package.  Cosplay is JUST NOW CLAIMING THEY CAN'T FIND THE PACKAGE!!  After 2 years!!  And having to get BBB involved!!!  What horrible service!!!!  If Cosplay wanted to ensure they received the package via their own courier, they should have sent a mailing label because, as I showed them in the pictures, the boots were defective.

COSPLAY HAS WASTED MY MONEY, MY TIME, and caused me A LOT of frustration.

COSPLAY SHOULD REFUND ALL MY COSTS AND MUCH MORE! Why should I have to lose money because Cosplay lost the boots?

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ** ****




 

Business Response:

Hello,

Thanks for the information and sorry for the inconvenience that this might cause you. Again we wouldn’t be able to issue the refund if the return package was not received. Per our return/ exchange policy, our customers can issue requests for a return or exchange within 7 days. No questions asked. However the package must be returned back to us in original condition, with original packaging and tags attached. We cover all costs if there is any mistake done by us during production. If not, the customers cover the shipping and re-listing fees.

For more information regarding our return policy, please visit **********************************************. We can be reached via email at ***********************. All questions will be responded within 24 hours.

Thanks,

******* ******* Customer Service Team

6/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a costume from this company that was custom made. I gave them my EXACT measurement. However, the product didn't fit. Even in the size chart I would not have fit what I should have. They responded with that I should have put 40 inches if my hips were 38 inches. No where on their site did they said they needed this. I tried to contact the business several times. They told me that they would get back to me, but never did. Now they don't want to give me a full refund on their error. They want me to pay for a replacement as I no longer qualify for their refund policy since they never got back to me in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund without having to pay for shipping and handling. I gave them specific measurements. All my information was accurate. It was not due to my error that the sizing was not right.

Business Response: Good day ****,

We are sorry you did not receive the product you wanted. Our Design Team has checked the photos you sent carefully and didn't find any fault on our end. You provided 38 inches which is tight on you so we suggested that you should provide 40 inches for 2 inches seam allowance. It was made clear that on our size chart once you choose the tailor made option you should provide your measurements. We have suggested to you that even though your exact measurement is 38 inches, 40 inches would be the best fit for you. Our design team just followed your instructions that you sent us. We are willing to send you new pants but with the different measurements that would fit you. You need to add $10 for the pants and $19.50 for the shipping fee.

Since you have stated that you have paid too much, we cannot refund your order since tailor made options are non-refundable. Again, we are very sorry that you didn't get the product you wanted but there is an option to change it as well. We hope you understand. Please check the link provided. Thank you and have a good day.

**********************************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

The average customer is not knowledgeable on how to make garments. Yes you advised me to get 40 after your mistake was made, but since it was your mistake it is your responsibility, not mine, to pay for the replacement. It is up to the maker to know that in order for a garment to fit properly that you need to add extra material, like they advised. Since this was not advertised on your site, it is their responsibility. I gave you accurate information. It is your responsibility to know how to make the garment according to my measurements, which you did not.  

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *********




 

Business Response: Hey ****,

Again, we are very sorry that you didn't get the product you wanted but our design team just followed your instructions that you sent us. We are willing to send you new pants with the different measurements that would fit you. And you only need to add $10 for the pants and $19.50 for the shipping fee.

Please check the link provided if you have any other questions. Thank you and have a good day.

**********************************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 Apparently they didn't follow my instructions. I talked to my alterations specialist. They said your group should have known that with this type of material, designing the hip area would need more material. I've said this before, the average costumer does not know this. Your team of specialist should have known this as they should be experts. Were it stretchy material this would not be an issue, but it's not and she said that if she made the outfit with the measurements I provided you, she would have taken into consideration what I need to move around. Your team did not do this. Therefore it is your teams fault, not my own as I am not a professional in making clothes. Also your customer service department was extremely delayed in responding to my original issue, to the point I had to resend an email. Your entire business has been very unprofessional with this transaction. If I don't get a refund or even a replacement, like should have been done as your company messed up, then I'll sell the outfit and make sure word gets around how you handle your 'valued' customers as well as misinformation that is on your website. 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *********




 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on POPTIMIZATION INC.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)