BBB Accredited Business since

Certified Chimney Service Inc.

View Additional Phone Numbers 16 Vineyard Way, Mount Sinai, NY 11766 http://www.certifiedchimneyny.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Certified Chimney Service Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Certified Chimney Service Inc. include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Certified Chimney Service Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Certified Chimney Service Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 27, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1995 in NY Business incorporated 04/08/2004 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles McCarthy, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles McCarthy, President
Business Category

CHIMNEY CLEANING CHIMNEY SWEEPER CHIMNEY BUILDERS & REPAIR


Additional Locations

  • 16 Vineyard Way

    Mount Sinai, NY 11766

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/**/2014 Certified Chimney installed a stainless 2 ply smooth wall liner with connection and top plate. installed a stainless 8x8 cap and removed animal nesting. Since the installation the boiler has not worked properly. The switch which was installed for carbon monoxide safety kept going off and I had to call the plumber several times the last date the plumber was called was 4/**/2015. I called the Chimney Services and reported what was going on. I made an appointment for March **** 2015 but no one showed up. I received a call from one **** ***** and I explained the problem the boiler was shutting off frequently especially on a windy day. He told me in order to solve this problem I have to change the cap which will cost me On 10/**/2014 Certified Chimney Installed a stainless liner in Chimney. The boiler kept going off frequently tripping the switch which monitored carbon monoxide. I called the Chimney service and explained the situation. I was given an appointment for March **** 2015 no one showed. Instead **** ***** called I told him the problem he told me in order to fix this problem I have to change the cap which will cost me $600.00 and he will come to inspect the chimney he never came. The problem is still going one. I got another opinion and the liner was the wrong size and has to be removed.

Desired Settlement: Please notify Certified Chimney I should receive a partial refund because I have to pay someone else to do the job.

Business Response: Hello *** ******,

This customer returned our phone call yesterday. Upon doing so I explained to her, that our company was there on March **** and she didn't answer the door. our technician **** did leave card there that day asking her to call our office to reschedule. This customer never called us back to reschedule her appointment so we assumed everything was ok. 

Evan is going there today 4/**/15 to install a turbine cap this customer at  no charge to resolve this issue.  The problem was a wind related down draft, a turbine cap  will correct the problem. We also express to this customer, if she were to ever to have a problem in the future to please call us. All of our work is guaranteed.

Thank you,
******** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2013 I hired Certified Chimney Service to install a new Chimney venting from my boiler and hot water heater to outside of the house. The service guys installed the chimney venting pipes from the appliances to the side of the house (Not passed the top of the roof). I asked the service guys whether this installation is correct and up to the code to leave the venting pipe just on the side of the house. They confirmed that the installation is proper and up to the code. Then in 2014 I place my house for sale and accepted an offer in April 2014. The buyer hired a home inspector who immediately identified the chimney vent as an illegal hookup and not to the code. So the buyer made a repair rider to the contract to have that fixed and brought up to the code. I called the Certified Chimney and explained the situation. The ***** of the company (*******) said I have to pay another $2500 to bring the chimney venting up to the code. Then I showed him the service repair invoice they did in 2013 which states that the repair was done according to the code. He (*******) said that there is nothing he can do but charge me to fix it. Then I called him many many times but he was not cooperative at all and even started using profanity. I then hired another Chimney service to fix that repair and bring the chimney venting up to the code. Now I am requesting that the Certified Chimney to please refund my $1000 they charged for the improper repair they did. Thanks

Desired Settlement: The business should not give misrepresentation of material facts and do the job to the town code and should be all legal

Business Response: **** ***** ******   ********* *** *********  ********* ******* ******* **** ******** ************ ***** *****  *** *** *****  ******* * ** *****



*** ***** is not being 100% truthful regarding this complaint. At the time of
service in April of 2013 ***** called our company because he house was
completely blocked and was in desperate need of repair. When our technician
got to (*****’s) home, he explained to *****, that he needed to do $3500.00
worth of work. *****’s chimney and boiler was not set up properly to begin with
and was completely blocked and unsafe.





We (Certified Chimney) explained to ***** that we needed to
jackhammer through his chimney and remove the blockage and then install a
stainless steel piping that would be the extended to the length of his existing
chimney.

 ***** response was I’m
selling the home let this be the new home *****’s problem. ***** wanted the
repair to be as inexpensive as possible.

            A year later
***** calls our company requesting us to give him a letter claiming that his
chimney is to code.

*******’s response was “I’m sorry ***** I’ll not lie and say
your house is to “code.”

******* explained to ***** that he needed to spend an
additional $2500.00 to bring his house to code, but would take off his prior purchase of $1,000.00 that he
spent with us and apply as a credit. ***** did not want to spend anymore money he just wanted a letter stating his house was to code.

Mr. ***** then sent emails and called twice very nasty and aggressive
demanded that ******* lie and say that his house was to code, when it wasn't.
***** also threatened to report us to the BBB. ******* said do what you have to
do “because I’m not lying.

******* takes his reputation very seriously and ***** knows this
because ******* explained that to him several times.

***** was very abusive and threatening and only wanted us to lie.

We Certified Chimney did what ***** asked at the time of sale and then were
willing to work with him to do the job as per code and even credit him for his
prior work at our expense. We Certified Chimney believe that this should not
count as a complaint. It’s a little unfair how customers can lie. I will search
for his emails and send the shortly.

Please feel free to call with any questions or concerns.
 

Thank you,

Certified Chimney Service.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The response from the business has not completely truthful.  I have a receipt that proves they did the work and it reads as "Removed and replaced incorrect hookup to gas burner and hot water heater, prior hookup was also illegal".  This is what the technician wrote on the invoice when I paid him $1000.  The technician told me that my earlier hookup was incorrect and illegal so I had to make it legal.  After the work was completed they told me that everything is legal now and there should be no issue.  My proof is the receipt which says it all and proves that I am not lying.  ******* was not willing to help when I called him and he demanded that I email him the receipt.  So the receipt was emailed to him and then he offered a service of $2500 which did not include any $1000 off.  I told ******* that I cannot afford this price and you should fix it because you guys did the work in the first place by saying it was done to the code.  Then ******* said that there is nothing he could do, however he can type up a letter that should justify that the current hookup is fine.  I accepted his suggestion but then he never sent me the letter and finally one day he was at the beach and started cursing when I called him.  That was the last contact I had with him because I don't deal with people who have not respect for others specially their customers.

I don't want to drag this issue too long, my receipt is my proof and it is attached to this response

 

Thanks

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

Business Response: Dear ***** ******,

As per our conversation, this consumer hired us to remove a  blockage to his gas burner.

This consumer  asked us to replace his incorrect hook up to his gas burner and hot water heater and replace it incorrectly how it  was previously done.
This NOTED in  our receipt. This consumer was selling his home and said let this be the new home *****s problem. 

Please call me @ ###-###-#### with any questions or concerns.

Thank you,

******** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

Yes I asked them to fix the incorrect or wrong hookup but it was NOT fixed.  I never said that let it be the new home *****'s problem, if this was the case then why did I hire another company to fix the incomplete job of Certified Chimney?  I will say that again, their receipt has all the proof that make my claim legit. 


Thanks

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hi my name is ***** ********. ON 10/*/13 certified chimney service inc. they came to clean my chimney for 25.00$. after they checked it. they informed me that I needed to repair it.They told me it would cost me 1,800.00$ to repair it. I told them I did not have the money so they give me an estimate for 1,200.00$they told me to not use the heat or hot water until it was fixed.They shut off the hot water and the boiler. and they did not let me know they shut it off.so that night we run out of hot water and we did not how to turn it back on. so I called a plumber and they charged me 103.00$

Desired Settlement: i feel that they should pay me back 103.00$ because they were not suppose to shut off them there is nothing wrong with my chimney.thank you in advance for your help

Business Response: This is in response to the complaint filed by *** ********. On 10/*/2013 our service technician *** had gone to ** ********'s home to clean the chimney. Upon inspection he determined the chimney to be in a very unsafe condition. He stated to me that on good conscience he turned the burner and off because he could not be responsible if anything had happened. He did so speaking to whoever was at the home and even showed them how to turn it back on but he would not be responsible for leaving the unit on with the chimney in such poor condition. *** ******** never called us to tell us that his burner was off or he did not have hot water. I don't feel that this is a just complaint and should not be counted against us. Our tech felt it was his responsibility not to leave the burner running in such a condition that harm could fall upon the residents of the home. If *** ******** states that his chimney is fine , if he could show us a report done by a licensed chimney service.  I don't feel that we should be responsible to pay the plumbers fee because like I said they were even shown how to turn it back on at their own risk . 

 
Sincerely 
 
*** ********
*******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

On the day in question when the chimney technician showed up. He turned off the the hot water heater and the boiler. He never told me he was shutting it off nor did he show me how to turn it back on.  The only way we realized it was at the point when we had no heat or hot water. If he would have informed us of his actions, We would have never called the plumber in the first place. Since He never informed us of what he was doing how could we have known? I would have never incurred the expense of a plumber in the first place had he told me what he was doing. I believe I should be reimbursed for the expense of the plumber because no information was disclosed.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

Business Response: I will offer to split the cost. I feel that if nothing was ever said then why not call us first, saying that there was no heat. So I'll be willing to pay $53 covering 1/2 of the charge. I believe that is more than reasonable with this situation

 
Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ********



 

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service