BBB Accredited Business since

Motivators, Inc.

Phone: (800) 525-9600 Fax: (516) 735-9698 View Additional Phone Numbers 123 Frost St  Ste 201, Westbury, NY 11590 http://www.motivators.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Motivators, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Motivators, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Motivators, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1979 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/1980 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Laffer, Chief Executive Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Laffer, Chief Executive Officer
Business Category

BUSINESS PROMOTIONS - GENERAL GIFT BASKETS & PARCELS PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT & MARKETING

Products & Services

Motivators, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Adidas, Anvil, Bella, Bic, Bobble, BUILT, GildanUltraCotton, Leatherman, LondonFog, Maglite, PaperMate, PostitBrand, Sharpie, UnderArmour, Uniball, VictorinoxSwissArmy

Motivators, Inc. offers the following product(s): Apparel , Auto Accessories , Bags , Calendars , Computer Accessories , Desktop Products , Drinkware , Folios & Notebooks , Food Products , Games & Toys , Health/First Aid , Key Chains , Kitchen & Home , Magnets , Mugs , Outdoors , Personal Accessories , Promotional Pens , Sports , Stress Relievers , Tools , Writing Instruments

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Motivators.com accepts Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express.
Refund and Exchange Policy
If you have any problems with your order please contact customer service at 1-800-525-9600 within 15 days of receipt. We advise opening your merchandise to review its quality even if you do not intend to use it right away. Please have your order number available. WE DO NOT ACCEPT UNAUTHORIZED RETURNS. If any problem arises, please call customer service immediately. If appropriate, we will issue an RMA number (Return Material Authorization) and provide you with a special shipping address. 
Alternate Business Names
Motivators Advertising Motivators Promotional Products Motivators.com

Additional Locations

  • 123 Frost St  Ste 201

    Westbury, NY 11590

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/*, I placed an order for pens with my company's logo on Motivator's website. As part of my order, I indicated that I needed the order by 5/**. I needed the pens to arrive by 5/**, so that I could use them at a convention that begins on 5/**. Around 5:00 pm on May ***, **** from Motivators contacted me and advised that it would be difficult to fulfill the order by 5/** unless I agreed to pay more for expedited shipping. I agreed to do so. Shortly after that conversation, **** again called me to tell me that he missed the deadline for that day and the order would not be able to arrive on 5/**. At that point, I asked him to cancel my order so that I could order these pens from a local company to eliminate the shipping time. **** persuaded me to keep my order by telling me that I could again pay more for shipping and you would send the order "2nd day AM", so that it would arrive before 10:30am on 5/**. I agreed to keep the order on those conditions. On 5/**, the day before the convention, I received a notification from UPS that the pens were shipped "2nd Day" (not 2nd day Air, which I had paid for) and would arrive between 2:30 pm - 6:30 pm on 5/**. I contacted **** at Motivators to ask him to sort this out, or to have the pens delivered directly to the convention location, but they were unable to do so. To compensate me for the "inconvenience" of not having these pens at the convention I was attending, **** and ***** from Motivators then offered to give me a 40% discount. Since I had already paid a large amount to expedite the shipping, the discount they offered me would basically cover a little more than the shipping charge. When I informed them that this was unacceptable, and the least that they should offer me is to keep the pens free of charge, they advised that they would not do that. Motivators should have delivered my package on time. Failing that, they should have advised me earlier that they would not be able to fulfill my order so that I could have found another vendor to print the pens for me. Simply refunding my money and taking back the pens is insufficient since I clearly valued having the pens for the convention more than the amount of money that they charged me for the pens.

Desired Settlement: Motivators should have, at the very least, offered to allow me to keep my order free of charge. However, my main motivation in filing this complaint is just to advise of the poor service I received from this company.

Business Response: Product was shipped 2nd day Air instead of 2nd day AM, which meant that the product most likely would have been received between 2:30 pm and 6:30 pm instead of a morning delivery as requested. The customer was offered a full credit on the shipping costs, plus a 40% discount on the pens if he felt he could use them in the future.  Customer said that he thought he could use in the future, but wanted a 100% discount on the pens, which meant that he wanted the entire order for free which we could not do.  Customer declined our offer and decided to cancel order.  Credit is scheduled to be issued to customer's credit card on 5/**/14.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The business finally did offer to refund the shipping costs that I had paid after they learned of this complaint I filed with the BBB.  I explained to them that, since they did not send me the pens by the time they had promised them (even though I paid extra for expedited shipping and advised them three times that it was essential that I receive the pens by the specified date), I would not be able to use them at the convention that I had ordered them for, and therefore, the pens had very little value to me and were certainly not worth the amount that they were still trying to charge me (60% of the original price).  

I suggested that it would be a nice gesture if they allowed me to keep the pens for free, since they were a customized order and therefore unusable to anyone but myself.  The company refused to do so, opting to destroy the pens instead of allowing me to keep them.  



[Your Answer Here]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** ****



 

Business Response: While I understand that the factory (Uni-Ball) would possibly miss the event, we were assured by them that it would have been delivered by 3 PM the day it was required. The customer cancelled the order and the factory (uni-ball) reversed the shipment back to them. They have the pens not Motivators. They issued us a credit and we issued the customer a full refund.

Getting the factory to give us the pens for free so we could give them to the customer just would not work. We are a distributor of Uni-ball pens not the factory.

A full refund was issued.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The company's assertion that it had the pens delivered at "3pm on the day they were required" is misleading.  The company promised me the pens by 10:30 a.m., and I twice agreed to pay additional shipping to have the pens arrive by 10:30 a.m. after I explained to them that is was essential that they arrive by that time.  

The company failed to deliver the product as promised, and prevented me from ordering the pens from a vendor that could have delivered by the required date.  Merely crediting my account does not make up for the company's mistake as I would much rather have had the pens by the time promised than the credit.  

The company does not appear interested in making amends.  It is fruitless to keep going back and forth.  

[Your Answer Here]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** ****




 

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 500 hundred pens from this company and was guaranteed that the pens would arrive in time for a certain date/event. They called me several time and emailed re: the order and shipment reassuring me that if I placed the order I would get the items in time for a trade show I participated in. I gave a debit card number and they charged my card. I did not receive the items as guaranteed--it was four days later than confirmed and therefore did not need the items. The packing slip was absolutely filled out incorrectly. Once they charged my card they did not follow up. I emailed and requested a full refund including artwork, pens and shipping. When they got back to me, in an email, they stated that I could have a full refund as long as I returned the pen delivery. They scheduled a pick up by Fed-Ex and it was pick up and returned to the company. The day of the shipment I followed up with an email to *** ***** confirming pick up and requesting an update on the status of my refund. I have heard nothing since November ****. They were in constant contact to secure the order but not so much when it comes to the refund. I worked with ******* ******** in sales and ****** ***** in the Customer Service Department.

Desired Settlement: I would like the full refund on my debit card including artwork, pens and shipping as promised on November **** by ******* ******** in an email. I am happy to forward the email chain if anyone would like to review.

Business Response: Please be advised that Claimant has been issued a credit for her order. Unfortunately claimant was e-mailing us over the holiday weekend when there was no one here to respond. We are sorry for any delay, but were waiting for products return. Claimant was e-mailed at 9:23am Monday, Decenber *, 2013 prior to receiving BBB complaint that credit was being issued.

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered custom coffee mugs from the website. Contacted by their art department to approve logo. Once logo approved coffee mugs were printed and shipped however, they printed the logo's very low on the mugs. After, several emails and phone conversations with customer service manager "*******" they agreed that the logos were printed low on some of the mugs. To fix the situation we decided to just add a paw print to make it look somewhat centered. Once the mugs arrived back at their company they decided that the tip of the house on the logo was centered shifting the logo low on the mug. Now agreeing that the mug does not look right before and I guess changing their mind once their printing company got involved decided that there was nothing they could do. So they have shipped the mugs back to me.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund. I tried to be nice and work with them but they have decided that customer services and our group is no of concern to them.

Business Response: Dear ** *******:
 
 
We apologize for not responding to your complaint #*******, but ** *******informed me that he has never received this. We recently tried to contact ** ******* as a result of her posting on Facebook that she was unhappy with the product she purchased from Motivators and our disinterest in trying to resolve the issue, but never heard back from her.
 
Regarding ** ******** claim, be advised that when cups/mugs are being imprinted at the manufacturer, there is a certain print area on the cup that is predetermined by the equipment that is being used. I have attached a copy of ** ********* ********** logo for your review. As you. can see the logo runs from the tip of the doghouse to the bottom of the doghouse.  The tip of the doghouse is what gets centered on the cup within the specified imprint area.  If we were to move up the wording on their logo to the top of the doghouse, We would be changing their logo which we are not permitted to do and the
top of the logo would no longer be consistent with how the logo originally looked.
 
When we originally thought that we could add a paw print above the logo, this was based on a picture that the manufacturer was looking at of the product. When they received two actual samples from the shipment, they determined that the logo was placed perfectly centered and that they could not fit the additional logo ("paw print") above what was already printed. Our manufacturer felt that this run did meet the requirements of the initial order.                                                                                                                                                    
 
We at Motivators take pride in our customer service and the products that we represent and our goal is to maintain 100% customer satisfaction, unfortunately, this did not happen in ** ******** case. Although we do feel that the order does represent what was ordered, we would like to extend a 10% credit to ** ****** for any inconvenience we have caused her.   
 
Very truly yours,
****** *******
Chief Financial Officer

Business Response: After reviewing your concerns with our CEO, *** ******,  we have decided to give you a complete refund on your order.  *** ******** top priority is customer satisfaction and understands the issues you were having with your order.  I will be instructing our Accounting Department to issue a credit of $307.78 to the credit card of **** ******, the individual whose credit card was used to make the purchase.  I hope that this is satisfactory to you and apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.
 
Should you desire to purchase from us in the future, we will make a 10% discount available to you on your next order, just contact the undersigned first and I will make the necessary arrangements.
 
If there are any other issues or concerns, please feel free to contact the undersigned.
 
****** ****** ****** ****** ***** ********* ******* ********** *********** ******** ******** ************* **** **** ****** ************ **** *** * **** ************ * ****** ********************* **** ****************** **** ** ** *********
       

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

****** ******* 


 

9/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service