BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1-800-Accountant meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1-800-Accountant include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 02, 2003 Business started: 08/24/1999 in NY Business incorporated: 02/09/2012 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Todd Whiton, Director Mr. Michael Rosedale, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Whiton, Director
Business Category

ACCOUNTANTS TAX RETURN PREPARATION BUSINESS SERVICES (GENERAL)


Additional Locations

  • 366 Madison Avenue  10th Floor

    New York, NY 10017

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My company signed up with 1800 Accountant to do our bookkeeping and tax filings. We had no problem getting someone on the phone when we were being courted by this company. (They were referred to us through ********* - I am also following up with them) As soon as we signed up and made our first payment, we couldn't get anyone on the phone about their services or our account for over 3 weeks. They provided no instructions or tutorial on how to use their services (website). When we were being pitched their products, we were told they had a fully functioning website as well as a phone app that we could use to upload our receipts and view our account. Those were there key selling points for us, on top of them managing our receipts and prepping our taxes. We quickly found out that the phone app didn't work at all. It didn't connect to their company, the phone number attached to it was a line not in service and their website had issues. They said the website was new and they were still working to get it up and running properly. On top of that, in every correspondence, either by phone or email, they could't get our names right. That gave us absolutely no confidence in their ability to be able to file our taxes properly with the proper names. We also had no confidence in them making sure the proper social security numbers would be with the proper individual. We felt as though we were guinie pigs for their company. Taxes are a very important part of every individual and company, and to not have confidence on top of them not able to provide the services we were promised is a big deal. I was particularly annoyed when they didn't have a tutorial on how to use their website, they just threw us to the wolves and let us figure it out. They eventually had someone walk me through the website after numerous attempts to speak with someone on the phone about it. Not to mention, I couldn't upload any documents for over a 6 week period of time where their website was obviously not working properly. Needless to say, we are not happy with their services and I'm not satisfied with their amount they offered as a refund. We feel this company greatly exaggerated their services, especially when they are still having website issues and completely misrepresented what they offer.

Desired Settlement: They have offered $531.50. That involves a charge of $250 (they are claiming they have a right to a 15% admin fee), a charge of $200 (with another 15% admin fee) and one month of service of $149. We spent a total of $897 and would like to receive that amount IN FULL, with no admin fee charged.

Business Response: We have reviewed the client's file and have determined that he is ineligible for any further refunds as the client accepted our refund offers in the amounts of $212.50, $200 and $149 despite the client cancelling the service after our 30 day right to rescind timeframe.  As for services, the services were available to the client to utilize some of which is rendered in 2014 (taxpreparation) but the client opted to cancel because they were not using the services which we can not be held responsible for.  Due to the fact that we have resolved this dispute internally and the client accepted the refund offer, no further refunds will be issued.  We do appreciate your assistanceregarding this matter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

This was their final email to me regarding this matter:

"I am sorry but the refund offer is final as you cancelled after our 30 day right to rescind timeframe and technically after that timeframe, we do not issue any refunds but as a courtesy, we offered a partial refund."

They obviously weren't even willing to negotiate as it states it was their final offer. I took it as I figured they might balk out entirely and I wanted to get something and I would pursue further action after the fact. Their 30 day policy - they kept saying, give it a little more time and us the chance to fix things. The website was not working properly for over 6 weeks (I couldn't upload any documents needed to properly execute my account) and their web app (Which they highly touted during their sales pitch as a great tool to make things simple and easy) never worked from the get go. So that 30 day policy is flawed and we feel we sere scammed as they tried to keep us past that 30 days and now they can throw that out as an excuse. Their services were NEVER on par with what they advertised when selling us.

They were blatantly selling a service that they do not have the means of being able to execute. Their app DOES NOT WORK. That was the main selling point on why we signed up so it would make things easy and convenient on our end - that never happened. It was a headache from the get go. They were very graceful and easy to get a hold of prior to us signing up, then when we did sign up and after they received payment from us, it took 3 weeks to be able to get anyone on the phone, explain to us how to use the website or to be able to speak with our book keeper. And quirt frankly, we received conflicting information from them on how to handle our bank accounts and payments.

They could not get our names correct in any correspondence with us and showed us no confidence in their services. These are the facts. Regardless of what they are saying, I agreed to what they offered because I was afraid they'd blah and we'd get nothing back. They are not willing to show any humility in the fact that they are still trying to figure things out on their end.

I caution anyone who is interested in using their service to do their due diligence. People are better of using a local CPA who they can interact with on a personal level. The consultant fees are worth it if you have a very simple and basic company set-up without a lot of paperwork. We are now managing our receipts and paperwork ourselves and will turn them over to a CPA who works in our industry and will be costing us far less and not leaving us with unanswered questions.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
******* ******




 

Business Response: The client obviously forgot to put in the entire communication he had with us.  Initially we offered the client only a refund minus 15% for only the quarterly estimated tax payments and the client's additional partnership return.  The client stated that that was unsatisfactory and wanted a full refund for the quarterly estimated tax payments and the personal return in addition to one months of fees at $149.  We then re-reviewed the client's account and changed our offer to a full refubnd of $200 for the partnership return (which he requested), a refund of one months of fees (which he wanted) and we maintained the refund minus 15% for the the quarterly estimated tax payments.  If this is not compromise then we are not sure what compromise is in the client's eye since we increased the refund offer based on his requests.  Below is the email communication that the client omitted in his response to you.  Thank you for your time.



*** ************** * ****** ********************************** *** ********** *** * ** **** ****** **** ******* * **** ******** ** ***** ************ *** *** **** ******* ***** *** *** ************* *** ********* *** ************* ** **** ** ***** *** ******** * **** **** ** **** *** *** *** ******* ** *** ******* *** **** *** *** **** ** ***** *** *** ********* **** **** ** ****** ** *** ** ***** ** ***** *** ******* ******* *************************** ****** ***** *** *** ******* **** **** *********  *** **** *** *** ***** ******* **** **** **** ******* ** *** **** *** ******** **** ********  ********  ******** **   * ******* ******* * *** **** * * ****** ****** ** ******** *** ******* * ************** * ***************** *** ***   ********  ********  ******** **   * ******* ******* * *** **** * * ****** ****** ** ******** *** ******* * ************** * ***************** *** ***   ********  ********  ******** **   * ******* ******* * *** **** * * ****** ****** ** ******** *** ******* * ************** * ***************** *** ***  ** **** *** ** **** ** **** *** ************************* ****** *** * **** ******** ** ***** ****** **** **** ****** * ****** ** ***** ****** * ** ********* ******** ******* ******** ******** ** ******* ****** ** ******* ****** ** ****** ** **** **** **** ** *** ****** ** ******** ******* ** ******* ******** **** **** ** ****** ** *** ** ***** ** **** *** ******* ******* *************************** ****** * ** ***** *** *** ****** ***** ** ***** ** *** ********* ***** *** ** *** ***** ** ******* ********* *** *********** ***** **** ********** ** ** *** ***** *** ******* *** ** * ********* ** ******* * ******* *******   ** **** *** ** **** ** **** *** ************************* ****** *** ****** *** * **** * **** ****** ** *** ***** *********** ******* ** **** *** ****** * ****** ***** *** **** *** **** **** ******** **** *** *** ******* ******** ** **** **** * ***** *** *** ***** ** ****** *** ******** **** *** * **** ** **** * *** ** *** *** ****** **** *** **** ** * **** **** ******* *** ******* ****** *** * *** ** ****** ****** ******* ** **** ** ** ***** ****** * ** ******* ******* ** * **** **** ** ******** ******* ***** **** ** **** ** ** ******** ******* ** ****** ********* ***** ******* ***** *** *** ** **** ** *** ** **** ***** *** ******* ** ***** **** ******* ***** *** *** ** **** * *** ** *** ***** *********** ***** ** **** ***** **** ******* ****** **** **** ******* ** ******* ******** *** ******** *** ***** ******* **** ****** *** ******** ************** *********** ******************************* **** **** ** ****** ** *** ** ***** ** **** *** ******* ******* *************************** ****** ***** ******** ** **** *********** **** ******* *** **** ********** **** *** ****** ***** *** *** *** ********* ********* *** ******** *** *** ********** *********** ****** **** ****** *** **** *** ** **** ****** *** **** ******* ********* *** ** *****  **** ***** ****** ** * ****** ** *** ****** ** ********  ****** ***** ** **** ***** ** ******* ** ****** *** ****** ****** *** ** **** ****** *** ***** ********* ********  ****** *** ** **** ** *** **** *** **********  ***** *** *** **** ********* ** **** *** *** **** ** **** *** *********** ************************* ****** ***** ******* *** ***** ** ** *** **** **** ** * ********** ***** **** **** ****** *** * ********** ***** *** *** ******** ***** *** ** ***** **** ** *** *** **** ****** *** *** ******* ******* ****** ******* *** ** ******* ** ***** *** *** ***** *** ** **** ******* ** ******* ** ********** ** ***** ** ** **** * **** ****** ** *** ********** ******** ****** *** *******  *********** ******* ******* * * **** * ** ***** ***** ** **** *** ****** *** ***** *** **** *** **** **** ******** ***** ****** *** ** *** ***** *** *** **** ** ****** ** *** *** *** **** ******* ** **** ** **** *** ****** * *** ****** ***** **** ** ************* ***** **** **** ** ** ********** ** ********** * ***** ******* * ***** *** **** ******* ******* ** *** **** **** ** ***** *** *** **** ******* ** ****** ********* *** **** * ***** *** ** **** ***** **** ** *** ** *** *** ***** *** ****** *** **** ****** ****** ** **** ***** ***** ** ** ********* ***** * ** ***** ****  ** **** ** ** **** ********** *** **** ****** **** **** ****** ****** *** *** ***** ******* ***** **** ** *** ********* ******** ** ***** * **** **** ** *** ******** **** ** *** ******* **** ** ******* ** ****** **** *** ** ***** ** ******* *** ****** ******** ****** *** *** **** **** **** **** ******* ******** ********* ********* ** ******** ******** **** *** ** *** ******** ****** ** * ********* ** **** ** *** ****** ** ****** * ***** *********** ******* *** ** *** *** **** ** * ***** ** ************ ***** *** **** ******* ****** **** *********** **** ** **** **** *** * ***** **** **** ** *** ****** *** *** ***** *** **** **** ******* * ******* **** ** *** ** *** ******* ********* **** ***** *** ****** ****** ******* ** **** ** ******* ** ******** ** * ***** **** ** *** **** ******** ** * **** ****** ******* ************** ******  **********   ***** ************** ***  ***** ********   ***********************  ** ****** *** **** ** **** ** ******* ******* *************************** ****** ***** ******* *** ******* ** **** ******** **** ******* *** **** ********** **** ** *** ******* ** ***** * **** ****** ***** * *** ************** *** *** **** **** ********* ********* *** ******** *** *** ********** ******* ******** *******  **** ***** ****** ** * ****** ** *** ****** ** ******* *** *****  ****** ***** ** **** ***** ** ******* ** ****** *** ****** ****** *** ** **** ***** **** ******* *******  ****** **** **** ** ******* ** ** *** **** *** ********** ***** **** ************** * ************  ** ****** ********** **** ************ ******* ** *** **** ** ****** *** **** *** ** ******* *** ****** ********* ** **** ************* ********** *** ************ ** *** ******** ** ******* ** ** ***** *** ** ****** ** **** *** *** ******* ** *** ******** ********* ***** *** ******** ******* **** ** **** ********** ********** ** ************ ** ******* ***** *** *********** ** ****** ********* ******* ** *** *** *** *** ******** ********* ** **** ************** *** ****** **** ****** ***** ** **** ********** ************* **** ** *********** ******** **** ******* ********** *** ************ ******** ************ *********** ******** *** * ******** ********** *** ******** *** ** ********* ** **** ** *** *** *** *** ******** ********** *** ****** ****** **** ******** *** *********** ******** ** ************ ** **** ******** ** *** ****** ** *** ****** ***** ** *** ** ******** ***********   ** ****** ********** **** ************ ******* ** *** **** ** ****** *** **** *** ** ******* *** ****** ********* ** **** ************* ********** *** ************ ** *** ******** ** ******* ** ** ***** *** ** ****** ** **** *** *** ******* ** *** ******** ********* ***** *** ******** ******* **** ** **** ********** ********** ** ************ ** ******* ***** *** *********** ** ****** ********* ******* ** *** *** *** *** ******** ********* ** **** ************** *** ****** **** ****** ***** ** **** ********** ************* **** ** *********** ******** **** ******* ********** *** ************ ******** ************ *********** ******** *** * ******** ********** *** ******** *** ** ********* ** **** ** *** *** *** *** ******** ********** *** ****** ****** **** ******** *** *********** ******** ** ************ ** **** ******** ** *** ****** ** *** ****** ***** ** *** ** ******** ***********
** ****** ********** **** ************ ******* ** *** **** ** ****** *** **** *** ** ******* *** ****** ********* ** **** ************* ********** *** ************ ** *** ******** ** ******* ** ** ***** *** ** ****** ** **** *** *** ******* ** *** ******** ********* ***** *** ******** ******* **** ** **** ********** ********** ** ************ ** ******* ***** *** *********** ** ****** ********* ******* ** *** *** *** *** ******** ********* ** **** ************** *** ****** **** ****** ***** ** **** ********** ************* **** ** *********** ******** **** ******* ********** *** ************ ******** ************ *********** ******** *** * ******** ********** *** ******** *** ** ********* ** **** ** *** *** *** *** ******** ********** *** ****** ****** **** ******** *** *********** ******** ** ************ ** **** ******** ** *** ****** ** *** ****** ***** ** *** ** ******** *********** ** ****** ********** **** ************ ******* ** *** **** ** ****** *** **** *** ** ******* *** ****** ********* ** **** ************* ********** *** ************ ** *** ******** ** ******* ** ** ***** *** ** ****** ** **** *** *** ******* ** *** ******** ********* ***** *** ******** ******* **** ** **** ********** ********** ** ************ ** ******* ***** *** *********** ** ****** ********* ******* ** *** *** *** *** ******** ********* ** **** ************** *** ****** **** ****** ***** ** **** ********** ************* **** ** *********** ******** **** ******* ********** *** ************ ******** ************ *********** ******** *** * ******** ********** *** ******** *** ** ********* ** **** ** *** *** *** *** ******** ********** *** ****** ****** **** ******** *** *********** ******** ** ************ ** **** ******** ** *** ****** ** *** ****** ***** ** *** ** ******** ***********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

I replied the way I did because I wanted to be sure I'd get something and that they wouldn't balk out entirely on me getting some sort of refund. As I stated in my previous correspondence with them, I was never satisfied. I figured I'd be nice and cordial with them in order to at least receive the amount they were giving me, but in no way am I satisfied and quite frankly, when they say they are giving me their final offer, it makes me feel like they will gladly turn around and walk away from the conversation and give me nothing.

Their business practices and dealing with the customer is atrocious. I would have pre freed to actually speak with someone, but they won't even call their people back other than put someone on the phone who doesn't have the power to maker any of the decisions I'm looking for.

Also, I don't appreciate them cutting and pasting my email address on this board where I'm told could be made public, which is why I cut and pasted only the body of their email and not the persons email address. Where is the sense of privacy and professionalism?? Obviously there is none and it speaks volumes on how this company conducts their business. 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ******




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered the package of registering business S-Corporation from 1800accountant website. they charged me $249 for just their services in 06/**/2014. Tow days later, I paid $275 for Illinois Court bill that is separate from their bill. After 2 days I got just 2 papers that they claim it is my business doc. I asked them that they charged me $249 for a whole package including binder, stocks, stamp and etc....somebody called me back as a chief and mentioned that the person who charged you and sold the service does not working in this office any more and if you want the binder and the other stuff you gotta pay $100 more. I got so pissed and meet a lawyer in Chicago and he told me that even the article of the business is incomplete and he asked me to contact you. They gotta send me the whole package or 100% refund me.this is very serious for me ,if you don't attention I will go further....

Desired Settlement: they are responsible for the complete business registration and the whole package of binder, stocks and stamps.... If this is competetive business, please check their competitors like legal zoom, rocket lawyers and ....

Business Response: The service that the client purchased only included prepared incorporation, the retrieval of an EIN, an operating agreement and online state filing all of which we rendered.  The client paid $149 for the prepared incorporation documents, EIN and operating agreement and $100 for the us to file her documents online with the state as opposed to her mailing them to the state.  Based on this, there are no other services to be rendered and no refund will be issued.  Thank you for your assistance regarding this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For months now I have been trying to get my bookkeeping going with 1800Accounts. They rarely respond to emails, now I can't reach them via their 1800 number or the number of my accountant. They were supposed to provide me a secure means of file upload. While I can log in, the web application does not allow me to upload any files. They, to this date, have not provided any bookkeeping services. They prefer I use drop-box but that is not very secure even with a password. I have emails my bookkeeper many times and have not had any response. In my eyes this is an epic fail of service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the fees paid by me for the bookkeeping service and a pro-rated refund of the account fees.

Business Response: We have reviewed the client's file and have determined that we are willing to offer the client a full refund minus a 15% administrative fee for only the bookkeeping service.  As for the services,the application for the client's bookkeeping is down but the client also has the option to either mail us or email us copies of his originals which we have not received.  As for the unlimited access to an accountant, that fee will not be refunded due to the fact that the client activated his membership and once activated, that fee is non-refundable.  If the client accepts the refund offer, we will issue the client's partial refund for the bookkeeping services.  Once the client's acknowledges acceptance, we will issue his refund.  We appreciate your assistance regarding this matter.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that I have no choice but to accept this offer. I am an IT professional and I find email, areas such as *******, ****** *****, etc to not provide the security required by me for my financial statements and quick-books file. While accepting this offer, I do not agree with the 15% admin fee as virtually nothing has been done from 1800Accountants side concerning the bookkeeping. .

Sincerely,

***** *****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were given incorrect information by the sales people. There is poor coordination between sales team and accounting division. 1) At the time of sign up I was told that there will be online program available to access. When I talked to second accountant person *** ****** she said it is not available and I will not have the access of any information. I have to request each time if we needed any information and the respond time is 48hr to 72hrs. We are current preparing our budgets it is very crucial for us to have the access as per needed bases.2) At the time of sign up I was told that the bookkeeping will be done on after the fact bases upon as soon as statement posted. Again it was different statement then what ****** told me according to her it is done on quarterly bases.3) when I was set up with accountant first time with *** **** He could not even answer some of very basic accounting questions. Example difference between LTD and LLC, Cash bases bookkeeping or accrual base bookkeeping.I had total 3 calls from three different persons, *** ***, a ********* *******(don't know the name) and ******. A call from ********* ******* was ended with the statement that I have to follow the sequence since I did not had an assigned accountant he can not help me until then.I strongly believe that it is unfair to charge me when the bookkeeping services was not even started. I talked to customer services I was told that we are not even setup as a company. Please kindly refund the full amount due to the fact that I was misguided with the information that was provided to me.

Desired Settlement: I strongly believe that it is unfair to charge me when the bookkeeping services was not even started. I talked to customer services I was told that we are not even setup as a company. Please kindly refund the full amount due to the fact that I was misguided with the information that was provided to me.04/**/2014 Charged $ 149.0005/**/2014 Charged $ 149.00There was NO BOOKKEEPING services provided.

Business Response: We have attempted to resolve this dispute with the client by offering a
partial refund in the amount of $149 but the client declined the offer.  This decision was based on the client’s
dissatisfaction as well as our policy which was sent to the client via email in
the form of an electronic receipt. 
According to our policy “If you have activated the Services, you
acknowledge that we will retain the first month’s charges.”  Our records show that the client had multiple
appointments with our accounting team which is considered activation of his
account therefore he remains ineligible for a refund for the initial fee of
$149. We are still willing to refund the second month’s fee of $149 once the
client acknowledges acceptance.  We
therefore request that our response be forwarded to the client.  We appreciate your assistance regarding this
matter.

Business Response: We have attempted to resolve this dispute with the client by offering a
partial refund in the amount of $149 but the client declined the offer.  This decision was based on the client’s
dissatisfaction as well as our policy which was sent to the client via email in
the form of an electronic receipt. 
According to our policy “If you have activated the Services, you
acknowledge that we will retain the first month’s charges.”  Our records show that the client had multiple
appointments with our accounting team which is considered activation of his
account therefore he remains ineligible for a refund for the initial fee of
$149. We are still willing to refund the second month’s fee of $149 once the
client acknowledges acceptance.  We
therefore request that our response be forwarded to the client.  We appreciate your assistance regarding this
matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been completely unsatisfied with the service provided me by this company. The system they have set-up requires consumers to pay an initial fee up front and then they schedule for a phone conference. I paid my initial fee and 1800Accountant then set-up the soonest available appointment for a week from the day I paid. I had the initial appointment for 15 minutes before realizing that the service I had paid for was not what I expected when the accountant that I was supposed to be getting help from on the phone suggested that I hire an accountant. 1800Accountant purpose, according to their advertising, is to be an on call service to walk you through all steps of taxe/business set-up so you DO NOT have to hire an accountant. I cancelled the service after this and requested a refund since I did not receive the help I needed and wasn't any further with my tax setup than before I hired 1800Accountant. My discrepancy came with the refund. The billing department refused to issue a full refund since their policy allows for three days after initial purchase to cancel for a 100 percent refund. First this policy was never explained to me when purchasing the service and if services were not available to use until a week after purchase then the 3 day policy should begin after your initial consultation. When discussing this unfair policy with the billing rep I was talked to very rudely, told I couldn't talk with anyone else and then finally transferred to another department, that deals with customer service not billing, where another woman treated me just as rudely. I feel as if this policy should be amended and clear to all clients. As is there "3 day policy" is unethical and deceptive. It only assures that they recieve profit off of clients, no matter if they actually give the services they promote.

Desired Settlement: Ultimately, I wish to receive my full refund, since the services advertised were not what I expected and the policy was unfair considering the services I paid for could not even be used until a week after purchase.

Business Response:

Hi *******-

I just received your complaint. As founder of 1800 Accountant I will make sure you receive your  full refund. Since today is Friday and it is after 6 PM, please allow me a few days next week to resolve this and refund your money. I want to reassure your that customer service and your satisfaction is important to us and something obviously went wrong.

 I am sorry that your customer experience was not acceptable. Hopefully in the future we can reestablish your trust.

Sincerely

******* ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for their membership and annual service on 12/**/12 and was charged a one time fee of $1,497 and the monthly fee, paid for the entire year of 2013 for a total of 239.88. After a couple of days of thinking about this service I realized that is not what I needed since there is no person-to-person support, so I submitted a written request to cancel my service as required and within the 3 business days requirement to get a full refund. The day after I sent my notice, I receved an email stating that someone would call me from that company to talk about the cancelltion within the next 48 business hours. Three days later no one had called me so I sent another email to my original rep and to all the emails I had from them (************************* ******************************* ********************** *** ***********************). All emails were returned as undeliverable (even though they are shown in communications as emails to directly contact those departments. The email for my account rep and for billing did go through. A couple of days later I got two refund confirmations for the two transactions. However, it was incorrect because they were charging me a 15% fee, which they charge to cancelations outisde the 3-day business period, a fee that didnt apply to me because I canceled the first business day after I signed up the agreement. Five days ago, the full refund for the smaller payment of $239.88 was posted in my account but nothing on the bigger transaction of $1,497. Even though I have sent emails and called, no one seems to care that this gets resolved. Emails are ignored, I am asked to wait for a communication when I call. So basically there is no one to talk to.

Desired Settlement: I want the full refund as stated in the agreement since I canceled within the required 3 business day period. And I want this complaint to remain in their record because they have surely gone out of their way to just ignore communications. Not once have I seen such disregard and indifference. They are an abusive company because they know cusotmers like me have our hands tied since nothing can be done. Even if they send the full refund, others have to know that there are complaints about their unethical customer service and billing practices.

Business Response:

Attention: ******* *****

As Founder of 1800Accountant.com , I want you to know that I have determined that customer **** ******* was issued a complete refund on his credit card this past Monday. It is my understanding that customer service spoke with him and advised him of this refund. Our policy is to issue refunds promptly to dissatified customers.

Our reputation is very important to me and that I personally take an interest in a complaint such as this. 

 Please note  that *** ******* issued his request for a refund on Dec 26th, the day after Christmas during a holiday week when customer support staff was minimal. Also the email addresses ** ******* indicates that  were undeliverable from which were returned to him  were  wrong addresses.  Based upon his written complaint, it appears he forgot to type ".com" after the address, so the emails could never have been delivered.  Lastly, *** ******* paid by credit card and could have easily asked his credit card to reverse the charge without having to call  the Better Business Bureau. Please take these additional facts into consideration.

I promise to speak with customer support staff to prevent situations such this in the future.

Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

Sincerely

******* ********, ******* ******************

 

Business Response:

Dear ****: I am asking you to contact me directly.  I will if necessary overnight you a check for whatever balance remains outstanding to you. I have tried to reach you to resolve this matter-  Please let me know where you want the check sent.  I was told that a refund was issued to you previously and thought this matter was closed... I  will request documentation from the Company to determine why you have not yet received such a refund.

As I indicated in the past, I want you to know that I am sorry your experience with the Company was not up to the level which you, as a customer do deserve and should expect. I want to personally apologize to you  and speak with you to find out all the details to prevent this type of an incident in the future. If you ever need any additional small business services for your new company, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. I will make sure that our service meets your expectation. I give the Better Business Bureau permission to provide my  personal phone number to you. I am not writing this number in the email only because I am not sure what is publicly posted and what is not posted. Please contact me so I can arrange a full refund to you and resolve this matter once and for all. Please contact me.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******. The refund  requested has been received in full and the matter is considered resolved, monetary-wise.

I do however want to emphasize all the trouble I had to go  through and loops I had to jump, in addition to time wasted on my part and all the aggravation suffered in order to get what was rightfully mine. This complaint should remain a public record in orders for others to be aware of this experience and for 1800accountant.com to take this issue seriously and improve their customer service and refund processes

It was only with the help of your organization, BBB New York, that I was able to get the attention of *** *** ********** of 1800accountant.com and get them to issue my full refund. Although no one bother to call me and explained what caused this to escalate and get from a trival matter to a critical issue. Even *** ********* instead of contacting me directly and leaving a message if he is not able to get me on the phone, is asking me to contact him, without giving his actual contact information.

At any rate. Thank you for mediating this matter and for your neutral assistance. It is comforting that organizations like yours exists to assist consumers who cannot otherwise get justice with unethical or simply ill-managed businesses.

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.