BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Discount Surgical Stockings Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Surgical Stockings Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1997 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/1997 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Moshe Blinder, Manager
Business Category

WOMEN'S APPAREL-RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • 120 New Jersey Ave

    Brooklyn, NY 11207

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 982-0939(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6-*-14 I contacted the company, & asked if I could write out the info from the internet & send a check, I was contacted 6-*-14 with a yes I could. I had filled out a piece of paper & sent in a check the same day. I knew it would take awhile to get there. On 7-**-14 I contacted the company & asked if they had received the check & order, On 7-**-14 **** ******* (customer service) contacted me on & asked if I wanted to order the items. "since I had already ordered & I was looking to see if they received it( the order & check). That was the last time I heard from them. I contacted them again 7-**-14 telling them I know that the check was cashed on 7-**-14, & wanted a tracking number. The check I sent was numbered #**** Dated 6/*/14 For Total $261.56. Still I never heard from anyone, So again I tried on 7-**-14, also saying I would be contacting BBB if I still got no answer. Either send the order or refund me.

Desired Settlement: better communication, So if something should come up the customer & business can hopefully fix or work it out sooner then losing anything.

Business Response:

Dear Better Busines Bureau

 

After looking into our records we do show that we did receive *** ****’s check and very sorry for the delay. We receive hundreds of checks a week and somehow this check was not recorded. Whatever resolution the customer would like let me know we are willing to refund her back or place the order for the customer. Please advise.

 

Thank You and Walk In Good Health

 

************************* ******** ******** ********* *** *** ****** **** ******** ** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved & As I mentioned in another email a refund of the check be best.

Sincerely,

***** ****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a large number of items on May *, 2014. 1) I received partial shipment; 1 item had been substituted. I contacted DS and was told they did not "charge me extra" for it. It was not what I wanted and it was not the response I was looking for, 2) I was charged in excess of what was shipped. I contacted DS and was told the remaining items were "held" because 1 item was unavailable. The unavailable item had been charged to my account on 5/*. 3) I have since cancelled all remaining items and have requested a return shipping label for products received due to A) poor fit, and B) 1 item I did not order. Though I received a shipping label for the 1 item I did not order I did not received a label for the other items. I had contacted ******** directly and they said they would auth DS to do so. So far no reply to my email. 4) I have asked twice for itemization of charges and credits. I have not received. All in all, they charge for things they don't or can't send ahead of time, they substitute products when they don't have the ones you order, and they don't provide itemized explanation of charges posted and credited making it hard to know what is going on with YOUR $!

Desired Settlement: I want all charges credited due to lousy customer support and sneakily replacing an item with another. I want a no cost to me shipping label to return all products in my possession directly to manufacturer as directed by ****** at ********. I want an explanation of each individual charge made to my account and each individual charge credited. I want an explanation of why charges were posted to my account when the products were either not sent or not available. My primary contact is **** at DS.

Business Response:

Dear ***  *******,

 

We show that **** ****** made a purchase at our company on April **, 2014 totaling $298.54.

She was unsatisfied with some products and we emailed her a return label to return the stockings she was unsatisfied with and she did return them and we issued her a refund of $231.76 on May **, 2014.

 

Please let us know what further information you may need from us.

 

 

**** *******

******** ******* **** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[I never received an itemized list of charges made to my bank account although I had requested it. I was charged for an item they did not have in stock and had not shipped. My request for an explanation of charges was simple and reasonable. They did not provide it, and their response to the BBB negates to mention it as well. Their response also negates to mention other products that were ordered, held back while waiting for something not in stock, that I would not have known about had I not called, and contributed to the confusion of what had been charged to me BEYOND what was shipped and addressed below. I have been refunded, yes, but their refusal to provide itemization of charges made to my account, and their response not addressing each of the issues once again demonstrates their business practice that I no longer need to comment on. They have clearly represented it for themselves. I will never do business with them again. I will never recommend them to others.]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ******




 *

Business Response:

*** *******

We emailed concerning case id # ******** on 6/** that as of 5/**/2014 the customer has been refunded back to her credit card in full

 

We have received another communication stating the case is still open

 

I have attached the credit card refunds totaling $322.53

 

Recapping

On 5/* customer was charged $298.54 + $23.99 totaling $322.53

On 5/* refund was issued for -90.77

On 5/** refund was issued for -231.76

Refunds total 322.53

 

Please let me know if this satisfies your inquiry or if further information is needed

 

All My best

___________________________________

***** ******* ******** ******** ********* **** *** *** ****** *** ******** ** ***** ************ *** ***

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased stockings that I was unable to use. I emailed for a return number which was issued. I then emailed ********* that I would like lower compression on stockings on August ** and again on August ** to confirm number was still active which she stated it was. Sent back to company on 9/*/2013. I never heard or received exchange. Called on 09/**/2013. Spoke to a rep who was insist since I didn't return stockings in 2 weeks from number issue I could not return stockings. I left message on *********'s line without call back. Emailed again. 5 th time without response. The stockings were returned to me which I found out on the telephone when I called. Received today. All I want is exchange of stockings or I'll send them back and give me my money back. The young lady who I spoke to essentially said too bad. And you're not getting you money back. I have recently started a new job and have had surgery. Her answer you should have someone else mail them. No sympathy. No compassion. They're dealing with people with health issues.. If I was unable to return them, I should have been told in the emails I had with ********* and I would not be filling this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I want lower pressure stockings. If not, refund.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,
 
 
Customer ***** ****** placed an order with us on July **, 2013.  On August *, 2013 she called in to get a return authorization number which is requested to return an order. She followed the return policy as indicated  except for where customer is told that the return numer is valid for 2 weeks.  The customer did not get this package to us till September **, 2013 clearly longer than 2 weeks. Below is our return policy rules & instructions. Customer was notified about this via email. 
 
Hello and thank you for your email
Send back your unused/unopen items with RA #
Please write the RMA# on the outside of returning package above our address.
 

Exchanges will not incur any additional outgoing shipping (when we ship back to you)
Products that have been worn & damaged due to consumer wear may not be returned.
All products must be returned in original manufacture packaging.
You may of course try on your garment and make sure its fits well  - If the product looks more than tried and worn there will be a 20% restocking fee issued, or possible refusal of the return.
Garments with pet hair, Smell of cigarettes, or any other odor may not be returned
Return Merchandise Authorization Numbers are ONLY Valid for 2 weeks.
Returns without RMA# will be refused.
Shipping Charges are Non-refundable.
Please wash your garment prior to returning
Shipping Instructions:
We suggest you add tracking or insurance to your package. We are NOT RESPONSIBLE for lost packages that are sent without a tracking number
Send package with  tracking or insurance to address listed below: 
DSS Returns Department
RMA #
*** *** ****** ***.
 
 
Return to:
DSS - Returns Dept
*** *** ****** ***
******** ** *****
 
 
All my best and walk in good health
___________________________________
**** *******
CSR Manager
Discount Surgical Stockings Inc.
*** *** ****** ***
******** ** *****
************ *** *** ************************** ************************

Business Response: Dear *** ******,
 
 
In order to remove this disloyal customer and have to deal with the back and forth. We will go ahead and issue her a refund. Please have her send back the unused items to us for a refund. Even thou this order is from July we will issue her a refund for the items are have not been worn. I think we can not be any fair than this.
 
All my best and walk in good health
___________________________________
**** *******
CSR Manager
Discount Surgical Stockings Inc.
*** *** ****** ***
******** ** *****
###-###-####
************************** ************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******


Where do I return the stockings to? Who's attention so they won't be returned to me?


Thank you for your assistance.



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday, July **, 2013 around 5 pm, I contacted Discount Surgical Stockings to order a pair of compression stockings that are essential for a medical condition for my upcoming vacation on Saturday, July ****. In fact, a week prior I ordered these compression stockings only to be sent the incorrect product. I called on Wednesday to order the correct stockings and asked about returning the incorrect product. Since my vacation was quickly approaching, I asked for the two day Express Delivery which would have the stockings delivered to my home on Friday and agreed to pay the $25.00 shipping fee. Please keep in mind that I had to pay a $6.00 shipping fee to return the incorrect product. The compression stockings arrived at my house on Saturday afternoon, July, ****, after I had left on my vacation. When I returned home from my vacation, I called Discount Surgical Stockings and today, August ***, I received an answer from a customer service representative, who was relaying a message from her supervisor, that the shipping day begins the next day if ordered after 2:30 pm. If so, even if I ordered Thursday morning at 8:00 am, the stockings should have been delivered by 8:00 am on Saturday. Most importantly, the customer service representative told me that the stockings would be delivered in enough time never mentioning the 2:30 policy that the customer service representative made me aware of today. I feel that I am entitled to a $25.00 refund for the stockings that were not delivered as promised and the $6.00 for returning the incorrect stockings in the first place. In fact, if this company would have delivered the correct item initially, there would have never been this issue... This company is working with patients that have medical conditions and rely on their products to enable them to live as normal lives as possible.

Desired Settlement: Discount Surgical Stockings should refund the $25.00 two day air fee which was not delivered as promised. The $6.00 fee for shipping should also be credited since the company sent me the incorrect product.

Business Response: ********** ******* will be given a refund for shipping not because she is stating the correct information but because I rather not have to go back and forth with this situation. We clearly followed protocol with this order and unfortunately the customer did not understand how our shipping hours function at our company. A refund will be issued today in the amount of $25.00.
 
 
All my best and walk in good health

**** *******
CSR Manager
******** ******** ********* **** *** *** ****** *** ******** ** ***** ************ *** *** ************************** ************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife has ********** of the arm and I have been purchasing special garments to control swelling in the arm for her, from this company for years. This time I saw a special price advertised online and I placed the order for 3 small arm garments which were delivered promptly. Unfortunately, even though the package said "SMALL", the garments did not fit. They were clear too large. I called Customer Service and was told that the web page stated that they were not returnable. I argued with them stating that the garments were the wrong size. The Customer service agent kept talking over me. I asked to speak to her Manager and she came back to the phone and said her manager would not speak to me since the items were not returnable. Nobody would listen to me. I hung up and called back and got another agent who at least listened to the fact that the garments did not fit. She transferred me to Voice Mail. I called back a third time and finally spoke to ***** ******** the manager, and I finally got her to agree to let me return 2 of the 3 garments. I told them I have been a good customer for 4 years and they were going to lose my business. No One cared to hear that and when I asked for her mangers name she wouldn't give it to me. Everyone I spoke to was rude, and didn't care that they sent the wrong size garment.

Desired Settlement: I will return the two unused items. They said the third item was used because my wife tried it on her arm..... It is like trying on a glove in a dept. store. Do they make you buy it if you try it on for size? All I want at this point is all of my money back.

Business Response: Dear ****** **********,
 
 
 
On July *, 2013 customer ***** ******** placed an order online for 3 of model# **** which is an arm sleeve with silicon border 20-30mmHg.  This model is located in our clearance section which clearly states it is a non-refundable/non-returnable item. Once the order was placed the customer also gets another email stating the same policy non-refundable/non-returnable.
 
Customer calls in August *, 2013 to request a return number to return the 3 armsleeves he placed an order for. When we told him that that item is a non/refundable/non-returnable the customer got very disrespectful and said that he was going to get this way anyways and that he was going to contact the BBB and that he would make sure his money gets refunded with our consent or not. After a lengthy conversation with the disrepectful customer. Where the customer states that 1 out of the 2 armsleeves were used.  I told him that we can not take back the used armsleeves. I issued him a Return number for the 2 armsleeves that were not used by the customer he assured us that the armsleeves were brand new. When we received the armsleeves that was not the case. The armsleeves were all dirty and used and even with that we issued him a full refund. Never the less we went ahead and issued him a full refund.
 
This customer is disloyal, disrepectful and is just playing the system to do as he pleases.  Below is a link to the model that he purchased. Please look at the policy for that model. Thank you.
 
*******************************************************************************************************************
 
 
 
All my best and walk in good health
___________________________________
**** ******* *** ******* ******** ******** ********* **** *** *** ****** *** ******** ** ***** ************ *** *** ************************** ************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

That woman is a ****. One sleeve was tried on the rest were not even opened so they couldn't be dirty. They refunded for the 2 sleeves, not the whole order as she says. I bet her boss would handle this in a professional manner. I am done with this company and will never recommend them.

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order 2 weeks ago. Company claims to ship within 3-7 days. I called to check on order 10 days later. I called the representative with whom my account is and his voicemail was full!! . A second call got me to another rep who told me my order was on back order and hadn't even been shipped!! I was not told this when I ordered and given a chance to go elsewhere. Then rep says "I see there IS one left. it will be shipped today." That was Tuesday. Called again today , Thursday, because I hadn't received confirmation of shipping. Rep says, "Your order will be shipped today." This company is completely unreliable. They made no attempt to rush my order after such incompetence. They are dealing with medically necessary items and treating customers with disregard.

Desired Settlement: get rid of their incompetent employees. apologize, do something to make me want to use them next time.

Business Response: Dear ******** *******,
 
 
We received a claim on behalf of *** ***** *** and I would like to let you know that the reason for the delay was due to a backorder on the product. I have gone and done an overnight for the customer and she will receive her order this Monday coming up April **, 2013. I have also issued her a refund of $2.95 for shipping and also credited her a 20% discount off the purchase price the stockings were $20.95 a refund of $4.19 and a refund of $2.95 making it a total refund of $7.19.
 
As well on top of the refunds I have sent her a free pair of stockings as courtesy due to the wait. I believe I have taken care of this as best as possible. Please let us know if there is anything else you would need from us. Thank you for your time.  
 
 
**** *******
CSR Manager
Discount Surgical Stockings Inc
************** *** *** ************************* 

Business Response: Dear ********,
 
I have sent you a copy of the tracking information which shows that an overnight was attempted by us to the customer. Looks like there was an issue at FedEx that they could not deliver the package on April **, 2013.  Please note that we can not be held responsible for FedEx mistakes.
 
As well I would like to inform you that *** *** was told by me that her package would arrive on Monday April **, 2013 because overnights would be delivered the next business day since the next day was Saturday. She would of gotten it by Monday if it wasn’t for whatever issue happened at FedEx.
 
The customer was also given a 20% percent credit refund and shipping costs were also refunded. I personally called her and offered my truest apologies regarding the situation.
 
This customer is being very unfair and unreasonable. I have no idea what else to offer her. There are some customers that no matter the lengths of extent of gratifications they will never be satisfied.
 
Please look at the detail tracking history below:
 
Ship (P/U) date :
Fri 4/**/2013 3:52 pm
 
 
 
 
********* ** ** 
 
 

Delivered
 
Signature not required
Actual delivery :
Tues 4/**/2013 12:47 pm
 
 
 
 
******* ** ** 
 
 

******** ******* **** ********** ******** *** **** ********** ** *** ********** ***** ** ****** *** ******** ******* ** **** ** ****** *** ********* **** ********** ******** *** **** ********** ** *** ********** ****** *** ******** ******* ** **** ** ****** *** ********* **** ********** ******** *** **** ********** ** *** ********** *** **** ******* ** ** ******* ** **** ** ****** *** ********* ********* ************ ** ***** *************** ******************* ***** ** ******** **** ******* ***** *********** *********** ****** ***** ***** ** ****** *********** ****** ***** **** ***** ************** ******** * **** ******* ****** ******* **** **** ********* ******** ******** * ********* * ******* ***** ** ********* ******* ** **** ** ***** ***** ******* ********* ** ********* ******* * ******* ********** **** ** ** ***** ******* *** ******** ******* ** * ********* * ****** **** ** ** ***** ***** ******** ******* ** ***** ** ** ***** ***** ******** ******* ** ******* *** *** *** ******** ***** ** ** ***** ***** ******** ******* ** **** ** ** ***** ***** ******** ******* ** * ********* * ******** ***** ** ******* ** ***** ******** ******** ** **** ** ******** ***** ******** ******* ** **** ** ******* ** ***** ******** ******* ** * ********* * ****** **** ** **** ***** ****** ******** ********* ** **** ** ****** ** ********* ** ***** ** ******** *********** **** ** ***** ****** **** **** 
 
**** *******
CSR Manager
Discount Surgical Stockings Inc
************** *** *** *************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*** ***



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues