BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

Webair Internet Development Inc.

Phone: (516) 938-4100 501 Franklin Avenue, Ste 200, Garden City, NY 11520 http://www.webair.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Webair Internet Development Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 2002 Business started: 10/29/1998 in NY Business incorporated: 10/29/1998 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Orza, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Orza, CEO
Business Category

WEB DESIGN


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    501 Franklin Avenue, Ste 200

    Garden City, NY 11520

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Webair has come highly recommended. I choose to have a dedicated virtual server, I was promised that their services are flawless and in case of any problems my websites will be switched to another server so my websites would have a constant service, since this morning all my 3 web based stores are down, nobody does anything, my customers are calling me to find out what happend, they can not make any purchases. I am loosing money and credibility Recently, I spent over $2000 on advertising my websites, and my websites are down. also, 3 months ago while switching web hosts my websites were down because they did not make a copy of the data, only because of 2 very skillful technicians we were able to restore the websites. no manager ever called us.

Desired Settlement: After the first problem we were told that we will give us couple of months free, that never happened, we are still paying $84 a month. I want my websites working flawlessly and some credit for the lost time

Business Response: We spoke directly with client during the time this was filed.  We resolved all outstanding issues with his website and he has confirmed that the sites are loading fine and is very happy with our service and support.   Plus he canceled this complaint as he is very happy.


****** ***** 
Webair Internet Development Inc. 
Office ###-###-####, ext. ***  | Fax ###-###-#### 

Business Response: As per our conversation over the phone last week, I'm writing you to let you know that Mr. *******' accusations are false. Webair did indeed host his 3 websites.  Webair did provide the client with the services that he signed up for.  Mr. ******* started out on a very small hosting package that was unable to keep up with the load he was putting on the server.  This is typical when heavier traffic sites, large or heavy databases, large code or even badly written code is put online without the proper resources.    He then upgraded to a more sufficient hosting package that was $140 Monthly. This temporarily relieved the issue but because of some poorly written code,  the websites started causing an issue with Caching the sites content thus caused problems with keeping the site online due to this.
     
Webair hosts over 1 Million Websites of which clients running on the same hosting platform as Mr. ******* have no issues whatsoever. We took our technical support time and spent hours upon hours on the phone troubleshooting the issues for the client.  For a few months Mr. ******* had no webmaster at all and was unable to get any of his issues straightened out on his own. This is not something that Webair is responsible for under the scope of managed hosting services. Webair genally charges $150 per hour to handle the type of labor that Mr. ******* was in need of. 
 
Here is a link to our managed services page: ****************************************** 
 
It clearly states where our responsibilities lie when a customer agrees to our terms.   
-----------------------
Thanks,


 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:


The statement provided by Webair in response to our complaint, is misleading, and does not address any of the problems that occurred, and in addition is false in it's entirety, 

1. Webair claims that the services we contracted was on a very small server - UNTRUE,  prior to contracting Webair for our hosting needs, we spoke with their technicians, who checked the technical data  ( amount of usage, etc) and the Webair sales rep CHOOSE the server that suited our needs, on several occasions, we informed the technicians that our websites are in fact e-commerce stores with inventory changing daily. Our websites were put on a Virtual Personal Server called ********** ***, which had a storing ability way above our needs.  Ironically Webair on their website that promotes the Virtual Personal Servers has the following statement  

"Our ENTERPRISE CLASS VPS (Virtual Private Server) high speed hosting solutions, offer the flexibility and support to handle any size client. From personal web hosting pages to high bandwidth web hosting services, let our team help you decide what best suits your needs. Our expert consultants will walk you through every step of the process!" 

So, I assume the above statement is just for marketing? and it's a lie? since the server we had was 2nd on it's list being one of the best.

2. Our problems started on January 10, 2013, when the server owned and managed by Webair - and hosting our 3 websites crushed, first of all Webair had no knowledge about the server crush, and we had to inform them that our websites are down !!  despite the fact, that Webair's policy is to transfer the websites to a backup server within 1 hour. our websites were down for more then 12 hours. After the fact we were informed by Webair technicians that our server's capacity is too small and we have to move to a better server - another lie, so we did, after the transfer to a new, better server, our websites was loading very slowly, there was a problems with adding items to the stores, it was taking several hours for the item to show on our websites, we reported the problems to Webair on several occasions, and we were lied to constantly, that this was our problem and the problem with the coding at our end. On March 10, 2013 we retained a highly experienced Web Developing/Server administrator, , and his finding concluded that ALL THE PROBLEMS WITH OUR WEBSITES were caused by WEBAIR, their negligence. His findings were, that while the websites were transferred to a new servers the files associated with our websites WERE CORRUPTED, the problem with caching, and several other issues ( as Mr. ********* stated in his response to you) was caused by WEBAIR, furthermore, we also contacted another IT Company to check the findings in this case, and they confirmed that. ( available upon request). For 2 weeks, our specialist along with Webair technicians ( according to the statement provided to you by Mr. *********, Webair charges $150/hr) if it was our problem why the repair tickets were issued? why did technicians were working on it? to me it clearly showed the admission of guilt. Our specialist was denied access to certain logs, and at the end informed us, that the problem is on WEbair server, he advised us to move our sites to a different company. Because of the negliegent actions of Webair we suffered sufficient monetary loss.

In their response to you Mr. ********* indicated that we are liars and we are making false accusations, when in fact we have more then enough proof to expose the unethical and negligent actions done by this company.

 

 

 


Sincerely,

********* *******




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1