BBB Accredited Business since

Gem Nation Corporation

Phone: (718) 663-3970 Fax: (646) 365-3285 453 20th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11215 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.gemnation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gem Nation Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gem Nation Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Gem Nation Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 29, 2004 Business started: 12/01/2002 in NY Business incorporated 07/27/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Kaplan, CEO
Business Category

WATCHES-DEALERS DIAMONDS

Alternate Business Names
Gemnation

Additional Locations

  • 453 20th Street

    Brooklyn, NY 11215 (718) 663-3970

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sent me a beat-up watch and box and claimed it was "new"... I shipped the watch back, they received it, and have not given a refund even though they promised they would refund my money. I would never shop here again and do not recommend anyone else does

Desired Settlement: Refund me my $950 to ******

Business Response:

Hello,

 

The box must have got damaged during shipping.

We have received the return and we issued a full ****** refund last week.

The refund has been issued as promised, No further action neccesary.

Please let me know if you need any more information from me

 

Thank you

****

 

 

5/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a car from ********, from a alleged dealership from the person named ****. **** took my credit card information, went online to Gem Nations website, put in my information (illegally acting as me) and purchased a $21,000.00 watch and shipped it to a random person in ****. **** told me the charge, for the car I thought I was buying, would have to go through his authorization company named Gem Nation. Gem Nation did call me to verify the charge (not for the car but for the $21,000 watch they were selling). The call was awkward as they asked if I authorized the charge but never said the charge was for a watch. I did declared to them on the call that I authorized the charge of $21,000.00+ for my car purchase, to which they responded "that was not what the charge was for." I thought I was talking to an authorization company so I advised it was for a car and the car was to be shipped to my home at xxxxxxxx in ********** *****. They countered my statement again saying its not for a car and was not being shipped to my address. AT THIS POINT THEY SHOULD HAVE CANCELLED THE TRANSACTION!!! I should have asked what it was for in their eyes but I didn't know authorization companies new what items people purchase so it didn't register. They did not rather they put the charge through and shipped the watch to the unknown address and my card was charged. When I didn't receive a car and I looked up the charge on my card and called the company responsible for it, I was advised the charge was for a watch (first time hearing this) I asked for a copy of the receipt and they wouldn't send it to me. I had to have a police officer ask for it they said, even though it was my card they authorized. I did have ******* ***** ******* call and email and they did send him the receipt finally. Apparently the watch went to ****. Horrible merchant practices!!! Out of greed they pushed a sale through that should have been stopped when there was not obvious agreement.

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding us this individual’s complaint and for giving us this opportunity to address this report.  Please be advised that due to the nature of this claim, fraudulent activity involved, and repeated threats from this individual, we are specifically instructed by our legal console to limit this form of communication for obvious reasons. 
 
For all we know is that we received an order over the internet for an Audemars Piguet watch, The order was paid with a credit card that was approved, and this order was also authenticated via the Verified by Visa (VBV) program whereby the issuing bank has technically and contractually absolved our liability to any potential fraud related credit card usage.    The order was shipped to the address and person directed on the web order form.  The order was delivered and signed for at the directed address.  The cardholder has soon after submitted a dispute via the bankcard system attempting to chargeback the credit card payment of this order.  We have supplied all relevant information to the bank arbitrators, and as of today this dispute has been closed in our favor.  We decline any responsibility to the subject claim, and the complainant here must pursue whoever it is that allegedly defrauded him with sale of a car, or he should consider filing an insurance claim if he has an insurance policy that provides such converge.  It is unfair from this complainant in attempting to push his personal loss on others, and we cannot be involved in this any further.       
 
Sincerely,
 
**** *******
###-###-####
***************************
*********************

Business Response: Gemnation has nothing further to add that has not already been submitted.
 
Thank you
 
****
Gemnation

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 

 Gem Nation has finally shown their true colors.  I have provided evidence that they did call me.  They said they did not.  I proved they recorded a call to me where I clearly gave them a shipping address for this purchase.  They did not change the address and they send the $21,000 watch to a *********  **** ** *** * *** ***** ******** * ******* *** ******* **** ***** **** ******* ** * **** ***** ******. 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *******