BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm provides travel agency services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jen NY Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jen NY Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 25

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 2003 Business started: 11/01/1994 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/1994 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Arnold Walter, CEO/President Mr. Ron Kalra Sr., Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ron Kalra Sr., Director
Principal: Mr. Arnold Walter, CEO/President
Business Category

TRAVEL AGENCIES & BUREAUS

Alternate Business Names
Fare Buzz

Additional Locations

  • 135 West 50th Street  Suite 504

    New York, NY 10020

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (212) 391-2313(Phone)
  • (888) 808-4123(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This firm sold me tickets. After few days they called me and said payment was not processed and raised tickets prices on me, of course after messing up the whole ticket dates and seats. Horrible customer service (they hang up on me without notice).

Desired Settlement: I just need my ticket original price I was promised.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: Flight # ****** We booked flights with ******** on September ****, 2013 to Toronto, scheduled to depart on December ****, 2013. ******** sent an email confirming the departure date of December ****, and we confirmed that it was the correct date. However, ******** changed the date of departure to Sept.****. without our knowledge. When we checked our flights a few weeks before our departure, we were informed that the flight had left on September ****, and were "no shows" . I immediately contacted ********, and sent them the original flight confirmation with the correct dates, and argued that they changed the departure date from December **** to the arbitrary and incorrect date of September ****, without informing us or confirming that the change is acceptable. ******** admitted to improperly changing the original date after it was already agreed upon. HOWEVER, they insisted that they charge us an additional $100.00 per passenger to correct their mistake. I have been on the phone with them for the last 2 days, and after several phone calls, they would not make the changes unless I pay the change fees. I argued that it was their mistake, and that I was not changing the original confirmed date, but they refused. I felt that they were extorting more money form us by holding our flights hostage.

Desired Settlement: Refund of change fees of $200.00 and an apology for the time expended and the lack of customer service they provided.

Business Response:

Dear ** *****,

In response to the concerns raised by *** ****** *********, we wish to bring your attention to the following facts and figures in regards to Complaint # ******* :-

1.    **** September 13 – This reservation was made over the phone with **** **** for Travel from Vancouver to St. John on the **** December and return on the *** January 14. Thereafter, we received an acceptance from her on the Itinerary details sent through email. (Attached). However, *** ********* called the booking agent a little later to update changes in her itinerary. Before making these changes, we again received an acceptance from our client on the New Itinerary details sent through email (Attached).

2.    **** November 13 – Our client called us after 2 months to advise that incorrect dates had been booked by the booking agent. We immediately referred to all case history and also found that the booking matched with what was accepted by client through email. As per the first confirmation, the outbound travel was on ******* ******** with departure on the **** Dec. However, the confirmation with updated changes had her outbound travel on *** ****** with departure on the **** Sept which was accepted by client through email before we rebooked her original itinerary.

3.    **** November 13 – We conveyed to our client that since itinerary was rebooked as per her accepted confirmation, she would be required to pay for further changes, an airline penalty of $100.00 USD per passenger along with any difference in the fare. Her new itinerary dated **** Dec for travel from Vancouver worked out a fare that was higher by $460.24 USD which client was advised to pay along with the $200.00 change penalty. This quote was declined by our client on the basis of wrong dates booked for her, wherein she claimed that only an Airline change to *** ****** had been requested. We brought to her attention that all itinerary was booked exactly as per her confirmation and that in case of any discrepancy, she should have advised correction instead of accepting the proposed itinerary.

 

4.    **** November 13 – As a gesture of goodwill for our client, we offered to adjust the fare difference of $460.24 USD and requested our client to pay only the penalty of $200.00 USD. This was finally accepted by our client once again through email(attached), before we proceeded with further changes to the itinerary. Please note that the final itinerary was booked as proposed by client, again as per her acceptance.

From the above facts it is clear that **** **** made correct reservations as accepted each time by our client. The very purpose of sending Itinerary details to client prior to booking is for us to ensure that both Customer and the Business is on the same the page. Due to reasonable doubt about whether the Date change was requested along with the Airline change, we even took a loss of $460.24 USD, as a gesture of goodwill. In order to retain the same goodwill, we would be happy to offer the requested refund of $200.00 USD, although you would find substantial documentation (attached) which would otherwise favor our dispute against this complaint. The refund would reflect on client’s bank statement within 5-7 business days. Also, we would like to offer our most sincere apologies for all the inconvenience, that has been inadvertently caused, but could have been avoided had *** ********* proposed corrections instead of accepting an incorrect itinerary through email.

Thereby, considering the details of this case and explanation above, we sincerely request this case to be closed

Thank You and Regards,

  *****

Manager - Operations

Description: Description: Description: cid:*********@12092011-029B 

*** **** **** ****** ***** **** *** ***** *** ***** ** ***** ************


###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####

****************** ****************

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 We have never made a second call to change the departure date from December **** to September ****. After the initial booking we were told that was a problem with the reservation and we received few calls back from the booking agent. We were told that they will  fix the problem and that was the time when the departure date was changed.

We consider that ******** holds the entire responsibility for the error and we should not pay any additional fee for this. The entire process of booking the flight tickets was very confusing, the agent booked from the start a wrong flight, then booked us for a wrong date. This should tell you about the inconsistent procedure and the lack of professionalism.

We have spent hours and days calling abroad from Canada to resolve the matter. We met lack of sympathy and waited for hours and days to hear back from the company.

In the end we had no choice but to agree to pay extra $200 because the company held our tickets hostage in order to force our hands in paying more money.

We consider that the company should assume the fault in this matter and any additional loss. They are able to see the mistakes their agents made from the beginning and they should not base their defense on the lack of our attention.

We have never thought that a simple booking could turn into such a nightmare.

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

Sincerely,
****** *********  

Business Response:

Dear *** *****,

In response to the concerns raised by *** ****** *********, under Complaint # ******* , we would like to inform you that a refund of $200.00 USD was processed to client’s credit *********** on the *** Dec 2013, as earlier conveyed in our original response.

 

CREDITED
Credit Card Type Visa
Card Number **************** Expiration Date 02/2016
Amount 200.00
Order ID # ********
Order Description ******************************************
Transaction Date 12/**/2013 17:46:23 EST
Transaction Reference Number [TxRefNum] ****************************************

 

We thereby sincerely request this case to be closed as the desired settlement of $200.00 USD has already been done.

 

 

Thank You and Regards,

  *****


Manager - Operations

Customer Service

Description: Description: Description: cid:*********@12092011-029B 

*** **** **** ****** ***** **** *** ***** *** ***** ** *****

###-###-####
###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####

****************** ****************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used their Travel Agency Service to book two roundtrip tickets to Hawaii. ******** cancelled one of our roundtrip tickets without notifying the traveler. We had to purchase one new roundtrip ticket over the counter to make our business appointments. We didn't discover they cancelled one of our flights till we arrived at the airport on the day of travel. To make matters worse, they cancelled the return trip for the other traveler without notifying the traveler. So we were forced to purchase a last-minute return flight when we arrived at the airport to return home. We originally paid $2,112 for two round trip tickets. We had to spend an additional $2,518 for the extra RT ticket and one return ticket. They will only agree to refunding $1309 and a voucher for $463 (which costs $200 to use!). We want the company to reimburse us for our entire additional cost of $2,518.

Desired Settlement: We wish to receive a refund for the amount we had to spend to complete the services they agreed to provide. Their behavior is fraudulant and they offerred no explanation as to why they cancelled our flights without notifying us. We wish to be credited for the entire $2,518 in the form of a credit to our credit card, not a voucher, and not for travel.

Business Response:

Hello,

This is in regards to BBB complaint ID: *******

We would like to inform *** ******* ******** that a refund of $2,112.00 was already preceded on *** September, 2013

Please find enclosed a copy of Refund in the amount of $2,112.00 to *** ******* ******** Visa Card ********

9/*/2013 6:19:40 PM - ****** *****

Refunded full amount back to the client card as per above remark.......

CREDITED
Credit Card Type Visa
Card Number **************** Expiration Date 07/2015
Amount 2,112.00
Order ID # ********
Order Description *******************|******************************
Transaction Date 09/**/2013 18:18:10 EDT
Transaction Reference Number [TxRefNum] ****************************************

 

I sincerely request this case be closed.

Thank you,
*** *****
Fare Buzz

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

Your company did not fully compensate us for what the trip cost us.  You only compensated us for what you charged us.  The reality is, we booked a trip with your company, and since you cancelled parts of our trip randomly, we had to puchase airline tickets over the counter when we arrived at the airport, and then the second leg was randomly cancelled for another member of our team which forced us to purchase another ticket over the counter 1 hour before the flight.  I hope you realize that you stranded one of our passengers, me, at the airport, but canceling the 2nd leg of our trip?  We paid you $2,112 for the entire trip in advance.  Including what we spent to purchase the trip again, since you cancelled our flights, we spent a total of $4,630.  You only reimbursed us for $2,112, leaving an additional $406 that is still to be reimbursed to my company.   We'll consider this case closed when we are reimbursed for the additional out-of-pocket expense you caused my company after cancelling our flights without telling us, and after we had paid for the trip in full ($2,112) weeks in advance.

Sincerely,

******* ********

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

Sincerely,
******* ********

Business Response:

This is in regards to BBB complaint ID: *******

We would like to inform *** ******* ******** that a refund of $2,518. was already preceded on **** September, 2013

I sincerely request this case be closed.

Thank you,

*** *****
Fare Buzz

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased a fare from ******** website for an itinerary from SVD to EWR and the fare was quoted as base price of $363, Taxes and Fees of 103.90 and Trip Insurance of $25 making at total of $491.90. At the point of payment online, the vendor came up with a $12 FEDEX charge for delivery of paper ticket when its obvious that all tickets are now ETickets. They charged this in order to cancel out the so-called 10% discount coupon given to me for the booking. I paid and was awaiting the eTicket by email only to receive calls later than the fare has increased and they need me to pay an additional $52 to ticket the fare. However, I have go online to the airline to check the PNR and discovered that the fare has already been ticketed whereas ******** has been insisting to me that the ticket will not be issued until I pay an additional $52. I find this kind of business practice DUBIOUS and INSINCERE.

Desired Settlement: The vendor should issue my ticket as sold because this disclosure was not made before I made payment for the fare on their website. Also, they lied by claiming $12 for FEDEX delivery of "paper tickets" which is not true. This is deceitful and very unethical.

Business Response:

Dear **. ****,


In response to the concerns raised by **. ******* *****, we wish to bring your attention to the following facts and figures in regards to Complaint # ******* :-

 

1.    **** Aug 2013 - This reservation was made online by our mutual client **. ******* ***** after accepting our Terms and Conditions, Itinerary and the Total Fare of $493.90 USD. After credit card verification was done, the booking was sent for issuance of tickets. At this point, we were notified that separate tickets need to be issued due to Interline Agreement problems between the two Airlines, LIAT (LI) and American Airlines (AA). The need to issue separate tickets resulted in a fare, higher by $52.40 USD.

 

2.    On the same day, we explained the situation to our client over the phone, however, he got upset and hung up. We tried calling him but there was no response. Then our client called us again and we advised him about the fare increase of $52.40 USD. At this point, he pointed out that a $12.00 shipping fee was unnecessarily added to the total cost of the booking. We therefore, offered to take it off from the $52.40 USD, i.e., advised him to pay $40.40 USD towards the fare hike. However, he still refused and alleged that we deliberately added the fee of $12.00 to compensate for the $10.00 discount coupon that he had applied while making the booking online and finally disconnected the call.

 

We thoroughly explained to our client that there are multiple clauses of an Interline E-ticketing Agreement between 2 or more airlines, all of which cannot be determined by the Web Engine before a booking is completed online. Only after we actually attempt to issue the tickets in the Airline system(GDS), we are notified through an error, about lack of interline agreements. Further, we explained that the shipping fee was added, as the Web Engine detected a possible issuance of a Paper Ticket that we would might need to mail across to the customer. We also explained that on all such bookings, this fee is automatically reversed by our system if an E-ticket is issued. Unfortunately, he was not willing to accept or listen to any of these, although we offered to take the $12.00 off from the increased portion of the fare.

 

3.    Finally, our client called us again and requested us to cancel the reservation as he was not inclined to pay the fare hike of $40.40 due to issuance of separate tickets on AA and LI Airlines.

 

The above facts, clearly show that we provided every possible explanation to our client with regards to the fare increase and the shipping fees that are auto-reversed in case the final ticket is issued as an E-ticket, that as a Travel Agency, **** **** would have to strictly abide by all Airlines’ rules and regulations related to ticketing and also that **** **** does not participate in any  kind of solicitation in the form of misleading or inappropriate advertisement or otherwise. Moreover, as per our Terms and Conditions, **** **** reserves the right to cancel any reservation, if there happens to be any change to an Airline Rule or Fare within 24 hrs that is not acceptable to the client. Therefore, we sincerely request this case to be closed.

 

 

Business Response:

 

In response to the concerns raised by **. ******* *****, we wish to bring your attention to the following facts and figures in regards to Complaint # ******* :-

 

 

1.    This booking was NOT made over the phone but online on our website on the **** Aug 2013. At this point, the online fare quoted was $493.90 USD. Only after completion of Credit Card Verification process, when the booking had been sent for ticketing we found an increase in the airfare by $52.40 USD. This fare increase was caused due to ticketing problems between LIAT (LI) and American Airlines (AA) for which we were required to issue separate tickets. During our credit card verification (CCV), the representative had advised that the booking has passed verification and that it has been sent for ticketing. They cannot possibly specify a time-frame of 30 min, since it is a different department who issues tickets on reservations in the order that they are received in a queue.

 

2.    We immediately proceeded to inform our Client **. ******* ***** about the fare increase of $52.40 USD however, as advised in our earlier response; he got upset and hung up. He called us again and at this point, he brought our attention to the fact that a $12.00 USD shipping fee has been charged. We immediately offered to take it off and thereby advised him to pay $40.40 USD but unfortunately, he was still not convinced and hung up alleging that the shipping fee is to compensate the $10.00 discount that he applied towards the booking.

 

3.    We thoroughly explained to our client that our Web Engine cannot determine all the multiple clauses of Interline E-ticketing Agreement between 2 or more airlines. For a similar reason, shipping fee was added as the Web Engine detected a possible issuance of a Paper Ticket that we might need to mail across to the customer. We also explained that on all such bookings, this fee is automatically reversed by our system if an E-ticket is finally issued. Unfortunately, he was not willing to accept or listen to any of these, although we offered to take the $12.00 off from the increased portion of the fare.

 

4.    Finally, our client called us again and requested us to cancel the reservation as he was not inclined to pay the fare hike of $40.40 due to issuance of separate tickets on AA and LI Airlines.

 

 

**** **** is a reputed Online Travel Agency who takes pride in delivering high levels of Customer Satisfaction and Service. We highly value all our customers and put them before everything else. We consider it to be extremes of unprofessional behavior, to advise any customer to cancel their booking/s or to direct him to file any kind of complaint and thereby strictly abstain from such practice and certainly not how we regard our Customers. Being a highly Customer centric organization, **** **** is strictly not in the practice of doing business using deceptive or unprofessional methods.

 

Also, **** **** reserves the right to cancel any reservation, if there happens to be any change to an Airline Rule or Fare within 24 hrs that is not acceptable to the client.  Our Terms and Conditions clearly say that Airline Fares cannot be guaranteed unless ticketed. In this case, there was a technical/ticketing problem between the airlines which required us to issue separate tickets; something that is beyond our control and cannot be rectified as explained to our client. Thereby we could not honor the reservation without an acceptance from our client to pay the increased fare and finally it was cancelled as requested by our Client.

 

Once again, the above facts show that we provided every possible explanation to our client with regards to the fare increase and the shipping fees that are auto-reversed in case the final ticket is issued as an E-ticket; that as a Travel Agency, **** **** would have to strictly abide by all Airlines’ rules and regulations related to ticketing. We did everything possible to address the problems reported by our client and even tried to work out alternate itinerary options for him, however, nothing was acceptable to our client and we had to regretfully cancel the reservation. Therefore, considering the details of this case and explanation above, we sincerely request this case to be closed.

 

 

 

Consumer Response: ****** ******** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

With reference to the replies from ********, they are not a reputable company as all what they said in their response was a lie. They are not professional at all as my experience with them had proved them to be unreliable. I believe this is not their first time of issuing ticket to a client from two separate airlines, they knew what it entails when booking ticket from two different airlines. They also knew that, e-ticket doesn't need any courier delivery and shouldn't have made the charge. At this point, all I want the BBB to know is that, there must be consequence to a company that gave false information about their services, and such consequence must meted on ******** as they are not competent to render good services to customers like me and they are not professional at their jobs.

 

[Your Answer Here]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gentlemen: On May **, 2013, we purchased four adult business class air tickets on Lufthansa Airlines. Each ticket was priced out at $2,649.00 inc. tax. Prior to Farebuzz issueing these 4 tickets I emailed **** with all four names EXACTLY as they appear on the clients individual passports. Three of the tickets were perfect, however, the fourth ticket for *** ****** listed his first name as *****, when the correct first name that was given over, in writing to Fare Buzz was *****. Now, I realize that this was an honest error, and that ordinarly it wouldn't be a big deal. However, Lufthansa Airlines advised me that *** ****** would NOT be permitted to board this flight in Boston for Frankfurt, Germany on Sept.*, 2013, unless his electronic air ticket matched his name EXACTLY as per his valid U.S. Passport. Both couples are prepaid with very expensive European River Cruising, so I do not have any wiggle room on their flights. I noticed on your BBB web site that this company had 22 complaints against them, and all 22 were resolved. I hope to make this complaint #23 - resolved! Thank you for any assistance regarding the above. Cordially, MILFORD TRAVEL SERVICE, INC. * ***** **** ******** ** ***** Tel. ###-###-#### Fax: ###-###-#### Eml: ********************************* I have brought this matter to the attention of **** at Farebuzz, but do not appear to be getting anywhere with him. He feels that it wouldn't be any problem, however, Lufthansa doesn't look at it that way. The only way this can be taken care of, according to Lufthansa Airlines sales office in Boston, is to have Farebuzz re-issue this ticket for *** ****** using the correct spelling of his first name which is *****. We are all aware of the fact that once non refundable air tickets are purchased and issued, no changes are permitted except for steep airline penalties. The Boston Sales office of Lufthansa Airline advised me that all Farebuzz had to to was call their Lufthansa help desk in New York City, and they are willing and able to give Farebuzz what is known in the industry, as a waiver to correct the spelling of *** ******'s first name, at NO additional cost to anyone, as the look at it as a very simple honest error. I have given all this info, in writing, to **** at Farebuzz, and as of today, 7/**, I have not had any response. As perhaps you are aware of Jen NY Inc is one in the same with Farebuzz. I had requested, in writing, for the email addresses of the two corporate officers, a *** ****** ****** - CEO/President, and also that of *** *** ****** **. Director of the same company - Jen NY Inc. I had a response to my request from a *** ****** ********** at Farebuzz, who had a lot of fluff, but little substance. I then asked in writing, if *** ****** ********** would be so kind as to supply me with the above two corporate officers public mailing addresses, as it was apparent that either they wouldn't or couldn't supply me with the respective email addresses. I received a do not reply emaiol from Farebuzz suggesting that I go onto their web site for information regarding frequent information. Also, this email directed me back to their Customer Service, which is where I originally started from! I have owned and operated Milford Travel Service, for over 42 years, and still continue on as a full service retail travel agency under our IATAN number **********, and have never quite experiences such a huge issue over a very easy solution. Milford Travel has had many fine transactions with Farebuzz over the years, and would like to continue to do so. It escapes me as to why this situation has been allowed to go this long without the minor adjustment needed. Thank

Desired Settlement: The reissue of *** ******'s business Class air ticket on Lufthansa Airline, with his correct first name as *****, and exchange it for the original electronic air ticket listing *** ******'s first name as *****.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE HAD TO CANCEL 3 AIR LINE TICKETS. WE WERE TOLD THAT WE HAVE A CREDIT OF $3271.80. WE HAVE A EMAIL STATING THAT WE HAD UNTIL APRIL **** 2013 TO RE ISSUE THE TICKETS. WE WERE NOT TOLD THAT THE AIR TRAVEL HAD TO BE COMPLETED BY MAY **, 2013. THE EMAIL STATES THE "TILL NOT TRAVEL BY" *** ****** IS NOW ASKING FOR HIS CREDIT OF $3271.80. WHICH FARE BUZZ WILL NOT REFUND TO US.

Desired Settlement: FULL REFUND

Business Response:

Hello,

 

 

The response below is for *** ******’s Complaint (ID # *******). They were 3 passengers in this case. One of the passengers *** **** ****** was not fit for travel. However, they did not have any medical documents for this. Cancellation with credit was thus offered to the client, which had to be used before the **** May 2013. Lead passenger *** ****** ******** was the one who made this reservation and was dealing with us the entire time.

 

 1)   ********/ ******  2)   ******/ ****  3)   ******/ ***  



In response to the concerns raised we wish to bring your attention to the following facts and figures in regards to Complaint # ******* :-   1)      **** May 12 – This reservation was made online by our mutual client *** ****** ******** under Fare Buzz Booking No. ****** for 3 passengers to travel round-trip from San Francisco to Miami on the **** Dec 12. This was also ticketed on the same day and confirmation was sent to the client.   2)      **** June 12 – We received a request to cancel the reservation for all 3 passengers. The associated fare rules of these Non-Refundable  tickets had an option to use the value of the tickets for travel in future within 1 year from the date of issuance of the ticket, i.e., before the Expiry of the original ticket. Thereby, this was offered to our client and once accepted by her through email (below), the seats were canceled with full credit for future travel -     **************************** ******** ******* **************************** ******** *** *** *************** ******* ***** ******************** ***** **** **** *** **** **** ** *** ******* ********* ************************************************************************** **** ******* ** **** ** **** *** ****** *** *********** *** *** *** ** ******** *** ******* **** **** ******** ** ****** ** ******* ******* *** ********** **** *********** ****** ************************************************************************** ** **** **** *** **** **** *** ****** ******** ****** ***** ******** ******* ***** * ***** ****** ******** * *** ******************* * ***** ******* **** *** **** ***** ** * ******** *************** ******* * * * * ** **** ** ****** *** ***** ************ *** ****** ***** **** ** **** * * ************ **** ** *** * **** ****** **** ******** ******** ** **** * ***** ***** **** ** *** ******* ** ********* ***** **** * * * * **** ******* ** ******* **** **** * * * ****** ***** * ******** ***** ***** * * **** **** ******* ************** *** **** ** ****** * * * ****** ******** * *** ****** *********** * ****** ****** ****** **** * **** ***** ************** * ****** ************ * **** ************** * ************************* ************************* *   3)      **** Apr 13 - Our client requested to rebook travel for sometime in 2014. We reminded her that the tickets were issued on the **** May 2012 so would expire by **** May 2013 and would therefore, need to make sure that credit on original tickets is used for travel before this date, else it would be forfeited. Surprisingly, she refused to accept this and wanted us to rebook her for 2014 using the credit.    Being one of our regular clients, we tried our best to negotiate with American Airlines to extend the validity of the tickets, so that the credit can be used for travel in 2014. However, AA rejected our request as their system would not allow this. However, after long-term negotiations with the highest offices of AA, they waived off limitations on the return travel, i.e., authorized the credit to be used for Outbound travel positively before the **** May 2013 (before ticket expiry) but return anytime later, for a date as far for which the seats/inventory was available. Unfortunately, this was unacceptable to the client as well.   Please note that our client, being an experienced Travel Professional for over 30 years, was indeed aware of Airline Credit Policies on cancellation of Non-Refundable Tickets, that it is available and valid for 1 year only. This is a general policy followed by most of the distinguished Airlines. In fact, she has also mentioned the same in her email while requesting cancellation. Moreover, when our client was already aware of this policy, the question of using credit after it’s expiry, does not arise. We can still help our client to rebook as the credit can be used for Outbound Travel before the **** May 2013 and return anytime later (for as long as Airline Inventory/Availability is showing) by paying the Change Penalties and fare difference. Client needs to call us before the **** May 2013 with the dates of travel so that the re-issuance is completed in a timely manner.   It is rather disconcerting to find such an allegation in this complaint, especially when Fare Buzz actually went overboard to make the restriction as flexible as possible for our mutual client. Being a Travel Agent, we have to strictly abide by all Airline Terms & Conditions and fare rules associated with the ticket. Therefore, based on the above facts, we sincerely request this case to be closed.   Thanks and Regards,   *****
Manager - Operations
 Customer Service   *** **** **** ****** ***** **** *** ***** *** ***** ** *****

Business Response:

Dear *** *******,

 

We are pleased to inform you that after much tedious efforts and
negotiations with American Airlines, they have finally approved our request to
re-instate the original credit on the tickets purchased through Fare Buzz. As
the tickets have expired, they are now ready to convert the value of the
tickets, less AA change penalties into Non-Refundable vouchers that would be
valid for 12 Months from the date of issue.

 

You are thereby requested to contact AA at the earliest (as
stated in the below attached email) so that they can proceed to issue these
vouchers in lieu of the original tickets. As these vouchers would be directly
issued by American Airlines, please clarify all applicable terms of usage
thoroughly, with regards to the vouchers to avoid similar problems. After the
issuance of such vouchers by American Airlines, Fare Buzz Policies, Terms of
Use would no longer be applicable and Fare Buzz’s Liability towards the
original payment made for the tickets, would cease with immediate effect.

 

Please do not hesitate to contact us at ************** Extn –
***** if you require any help understanding the email below sent by AA.

 

Thanks and Regards,

 

*****

Manager - Operations

Customer Service

 

*** **** **** ****** ***** **** *** ***** *** ***** ** ***** ************ ************ **** ************ ****************** ****************
 

 

From: **********************************
[mailto:**********************************]


Sent: Wednesday, July **, 2013 12:56 PM

To: *******************

Subject: Your Response From American Airlines - ******
 








July *, 2013









Dear *** *****:








Thank you for contacting us. We know you emailed
us some time ago and have been waiting for a reply. Thank you for your
patience.
We are sorry to disappoint you by advising you
that we no longer waive fare rules because of illness. We certainly
understand that sometimes unplanned circumstances arise that make previous
plans unworkable. And we do not wish to add hardship to our customers whose
travel plans must change because of a medical problem or similar situation
beyond their control.
In view of the circumstances you presented,
however, we're happy to make an exception and exchange **** and *** ******
and ****** ********'s unused nonrefundable tickets for vouchers. A voucher
may be used towards the purchase of a ticket on American or American Eagle
within 12 months from the date of issue. It cannot be used as a form of
payment in combination with an unused ticket. While the voucher itself is
nontransferable and cannot be sold or bartered, it may be used to buy a
ticket for a friend or relative if preferred.
Please ask *** and ***. ****** and *** ******** to contact us
directly to request an adjustment for their tickets, by either sending us a
message via our contact form at ****************************, or they can
write us at:
Customer Relations
 
American Airlines
 
** *** ******* ** **** **** ****** ** ***** **** ************
Please ask them to include the reference number************ located
in this message as well. Upon receipt of their requests, we will issue a
voucher in each individual's name for the amount of the ticket minus any
applicable change charge.
We value you as our customer and look forward to serving you again.







Sincerely,
******* *****




Customer Relations





American Airlines

** ***************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, WE HAVE CONTACTED AMERICAN AIRLINES AND ARE WAITING FOR THEIR RESPONSE.  ONCE WE HAVE COMPLETED THE TRANSACTION WITH AMERICA AIRLINES WE WILL LET YOU KNOW THAT IT HAS BEEN ACCEPTED AND UNTIL THEN THIS IS STILL OPEN.
Sincerely,

**** ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Fare Buzz to purchase an airline ticket. I paid $4471.80 for the ticket. I called within 24 hours to tell them of a competing agency's quote for the very same ticket for about $600 less. They said well, so sorry, we can't do anything about this, but we will refund you $150. "That is all we can do." I asked about the right to change my mlnd within 24 hours of purchase, but they said NO, NOT allowed. (I have my call records because I only use skype as I live overseas. It was within 24 hours). A day or so later, I went on my United Airlines mileage plus account page and viewed my itinerary. Then I clicked on "View My Receipt" and United Airlines showed that I paid $3876.70 for the ticket! This is a difference of $595.10. How is this a "discount" fare if the airline itself charges almost 600 less than the fare buzz company? After speaking with someone at the company, this is the response I received: Hi ***** Regarding this reservation we checked with the airline and nothing more can be refunded on this. We have already refunded $150.00 on your card. and assigned Window Seat numbers for you. Seat Numbers are ***** *** * and ** * and your frequent flyer number is also entered in the reservation. So, nothing more could be refunded, but the airline only charged 3876.70. They did not contact the company! The airline never charged over $4000 in the first place!

Desired Settlement: My total was $4471.80. The UA receipt states $3876.70. Fare Buzz already refunded $150.00 That makes a difference of $445.10. I want my reimbursement of $445.10. Thank you.

Business Response:

In response to the concern raised by *** ***** *****, we wish to list down few facts and figures in regards to complaint number *******   

 

Please find list of the events as: 

 

       1)    June**, 2013: Client booked directly on our website ****************. electronically authorizing us to charge a total amount of USD 4,471.80 for booking * ******

  

<******* ********************* ******************* *************************** ************* *********************** ***************** ******************** ******************************** ************************************************* *************************************************************************************


2)
    June **, 2013:  Soon after client’s approval, Ticket was issued on the agreed price (USD 4,471.80) and confirmation was emailed to ************************, along with the exception & disclaimer attached to all bookings e.g. "All Tickets will be automatically issued and are non-refundable… Your total will not exceed the above amount”.  

    

Confirmation Copy:  

 
***********************************************************************************************************************  

  

    3)    June *, 2013: Client - *** ***** called, requesting for seat assignment and claiming for a refund stating we have overcharged her for the booking.  

    

    4)    June*, 2013: After reviewing the case and helping her with the seat assignment ************** we discovered that client was not overcharged. Same amount was charged to her credit card as quoted i.e. USD 4,471.80.  

 
It was clearly communicated to the client that once a booking has been ticketed, we cannot refund anything in case of a fare drop or change. Despite of all the above events, we credited USD 150 to *** *****’s credit card as a gesture of goodwill.  
6/**2013 1:43:47 PM - 

CREDITED
Credit Card Type Visa
Card Number**************** Expiration Date *******
Amount 150.00
Order ID # ********
Order Description
********************************************
Transaction Date 06/**/2013 13:43:17 EDT
Transaction Reference Number ********** ****************************************

Hope the above explanation will answer all concerns and the annexure would corroborate the facts. We would sincerely request this case be closed.

Business Response:  
Hello ***,
 
In response to the concern raised by *** ***** ***** 
Fare Buzz do not have a policy to refund the difference after the booking is done. Meet or Beat policy applies before making the reservation. If *** ***** found a lower fare, she should have notified us before making the booking. It was clearly communicated to the client that once a booking has been ticketed, we cannot refund anything in case of a fare drop or change. Despite of all the above events, we credited USD 150 to *** *****’s credit card as a gesture of goodwill.
 
Re: Charges: We do not have control over printed prices on the tickets, although most tickets may have BT (Bulk fare) printed on them, some may have a specific value on them, which may be different (lower or higher) than the fare collected. But we never exceed the quoted amount; In this case it was USD 4,471.80.
 
Once again, *** ***** booked this reservation authorizing us to charge a total amount of USD 4,471.80.
 
We would sincerely request this case be closed.
 
 
 
Thank you,
 
*** *****
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April ****, 2013, I reserved a flight through Farebuzz for a price of $370.00. I received a follow up email providing a confirmation number to secure my reservation. I then received a phone call stating that the process was not completed and that the charges were pending. On April ****, I spoke with a representative and gave him authorization to charge my account for the same reservation. The rep advised me that my credit card was charged $370 and that my reservation was secured. On Friday April ****, 2013, i received a call from the same company stating that my account had not been charged and that the flight price increased to an estimate of $800. The rep informed me that i was given incorrect information and that my reservation for $370 was never secured. She also informed me that although it was the company's mistake, they would not honor the initial price of $370. I explained to them my frustration and that I was led to believe that my credit card was charged (by receiving a confirmation #, and a verbal statement from their representative), however nothing was resolved.

Business Response: In response to the concerns raised by *** ****** ** *******, we wish to bring your attention to the following facts and figures in regards to Complaint # ******* :-

1.    **** Apr 2013 – This reservation was made online by our client *** ****** ** ******* for a round-trip Airline ticket to travel from Los Angeles to Norfolk on the *** of May. When we attempted to issue the Ticket for this reservation, the credit card got declined. As per standard procedures, we tried to reach the client over the phone (left a voice message) and also sent an email notification regarding credit card decline.

2.    **** Apr 2013 – We again sent an email notification to our client to advise credit card decline. Then we were able to reach her over the phone and advised her to expedite the payment process to avoid increase in the fare.  She advised that some money would be deposited in her account by end of the day after which she would call and notify us to get the tickets issued. We never received any call from her till 11:00 PM EST.

3.  **** Apr 2013 - *** ****** ** ******* called us at 12:09 PM EST, to notify that she would call back once the funds are ready in her account. She called us again at 5:41 PM EST and advised us to charge her credit card to issue the tickets. The booking was thereby sent to our Ticketing Dept. to issue and was subsequently returned with a Fare Increase notification. We immediately informed our client about the same and that the new Fare is $479.60 USD against what she had originally booked on, i.e., $370.60 USD. This information was sent through email as well as left on her voice-mail. However, we never received any call or email from our client in response to this Fare Increase notification.

4.   **** Apr 2013 – Our client called at 2:22:04 PM EST to express her annoyance about this Fare Increase. She also alleged that someone had actually issued the tickets and advised her that her credit card was charged. She was indeed very upset about the Fare hike and finally advised us to cancel the reservation. Later she called and discussed the situation in detail with a Supervisor.
From the above facts, it is quite obvious that Fare Buzz made every effort to issue the tickets in a time manner. At no point of contact did Fare Buzz ever convey that the Fare is approx. $800.00 USD, as mentioned by our client in the complaint. When any client calls Customer Services, to authorize credit card transaction, the bookings are sent to our Ticketing Dept., which is a standard procedure for most Online Travel Agency Operations and therefore, a Customer Service Representative could not have possibly advised our client that the tickets have already been issued, or reservation has been secured or that the payment has already been charged on a call, without sending the booking to the Ticketing Dept. A Confirmation email is auto-generated after any reservation is completed online which clearly states as below, prior to issuance of tickets –
“Your booking(s) has been reserved and your ticket(s) is being processed which will be issued momentarily. Please note that your purchase will be complete only after the ticket(s) has been issued and during this time period the fares are subject to change and may increase. In the rare event fares increase you may opt to cancel your booking at no cost to you.”
Our client never received any E-ticket confirmation email from Fare Buzz showing the E-ticket Nos. which shows as below –
“This reservation has been confirmed and the ticket numbers for this itinerary has been emailed. Thank you for booking with us.”
As per Global Airlines’ Policies/Regulations, Airline Fares cannot be guaranteed, unless it is ticketed or paid for and are subject to change without notice. In this case, the delay was caused due to Credit card decline and it was almost 2 days before our client actually called us to authorize the transaction on the first place. Therefore, based on the above elucidation of all facts, we sincerely request you to close this case.
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2012 Delivery Issues
1/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
12/2/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2011 Delivery Issues
8/22/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1