This business is not BBB accredited.

Viacom International, Inc.

Phone: (212) 258-6000 Fax: (212) 258-6464 View Additional Phone Numbers 1515 Broadway, New York, NY 10036 http://www.viacom.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Viacom International, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 8 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Viacom International, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 28, 2000 Business started: 06/04/1971
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Philippe Dauman, President and CEO Mr. Sumner M. Redstone, Chairman Mr. Wade Davis, CFO and EVP, Strategy & Corporate Development Mr. Van Toffler, President, Music and Logo Group
Contact Information
Principal: Philippe Dauman, President and CEO
Principal: Mr. Sumner M. Redstone, Chairman
Business Category

TELEVISION STATIONS & BROADCAST COMPANIES TELEVISION-CABLE, CATV & SATELLITE

Alternate Business Names
Black Entertainment Television (BET) Country Music Television (CMT) Logo MTV Networks Neopets Nickelodeon Spike TV Land VH1 VH1 Video Hits One
Additional Tradenames, Addresses & Phone Numbers

This firm owns and operates global media companies in broadcast and cable television, radio, outdoor advertising, movies and the Internet. The firm's subsidiaries include Black Entertainment Television (BET), Paramount Pictures, MTV Networks (MTV, VH1, Nickelodeon, Spike, TV Land), Comedy Central, Country Music Television (CMT), Neopets, and Logo.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Viacom International, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1515 Broadway

    New York, NY 10036

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
6/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
5/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well, I realize that there is an ongoing dilemma going on between my cable provider (dish) and this/your company, however I called the number provided after it has been plastered on the bottom of my television screen all day basically dragging us cuatomers into something we have nothing to do with and the number doesn't even work! So, I ******* the correct customer service number just to be hung up on. I find the scrolling banner inappropriate and the fact that it hasn't disappeared ALL day is extremely irritating- not to mention Viacom's excellent customer service for hanging up on me. Leave ua customers out of your business problems, get your unprofessional announcement of my t.v. screen, and handle your business matters with some maturity.

Desired Settlement: I would also like a phone call. Thank you.

4/22/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought neocash from http:****************************, they e-mailed me my codes to submit to Neopets, as I have done many times, I submitted my information to Neopets, and I never received my neocash. Neopets is at fault, as gametimezone did everything they normally do. Other people are also compaining about also not receiving their neocash from Neo. I put in a support ticket with Neo, and not for the last four days the support page no longer loads, so I cannot even view my support ticket. I then e-mailed Neo, and have not heard back. My purchase was on the ****, I still have the e-mails from PayPal and gametimezone

Desired Settlement: I want my neocash that I paid for, if Neo is unable to do that, then I want my $25.00 refunded back to me.

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July **, 2015, my ******* account was frozen: This is something that the website does to remove troublesome players off their website. However, my account was not frozen because I was a "troublesome" player; in fact, I was a paying customer for their Premium service (I canceled it once I realized I was not going to be able to use what I had paid for) off and on spanning almost ten years and had only gotten warnings in the past, the last one being almost three years ago. After attempting to log into my account and failing, I then logged into another account of mine (called a "side"; not used as primary means of playing the game) to see what was going on. I discovered that ******* had, overnight, frozen hundreds of players because of a "security breach" in their servers - apparently, a group of malicious players had discovered a kink in their armor and had managed to actually break into accounts, stealing items and NPs (the game's currency.) As a community, we were not told by *******' staff what was happening and why at that time; it was uncovered by some forum posts on the website that that was indeed what had happened. That very day I sent a help ticket to their staff - telling them that I had been frozen and had not done any wrongdoing of any kind and that I would like my account back. It's now January ****, 2016, and have still not heard one word from ******* about my ticket. I have sent them additional "reminder" addons - one in November, one today; and after reading through the forums, I am not alone. Many players have been sending addons to their original tickets weekly for the past six+ months to try to get a response from them; these same players have also been Tweeting and Facebooking the company in desperate hopes for acknowledgement of their issue. I, on the other hand, see the glaring issue with this; a customer should not have to make such desperate and persistent measures to get contacted by a company that has wronged them. This is a gross mistreatment to their customers - ******* is a business that I will never, ever recommend to anybody, young or old. Even if they finally do get around to getting me my account back, I will never give them another dime of my money.

Desired Settlement: ******* has the responsibility to grace me with a reply from their staff. It is absolutely ridiculous for them to wait almost seven months to reply to me - even if a resolution can't be found just yet (which I find incredibly hard to believe), why on earth can't they at least tell me that they are looking into it? Beyond that, the only way to contact these people is through help tickets on their website; (or the Twitter method that massively goes ignored from what I can tell), you can't even pick up the phone to speak to someone who can help you. The least they could do is to let me know that they are looking into the issue. Furthermore, I think it's high time ******* actually explains what happened to the website in July 2015. Many of the accounts that were compromised had payment information saved via the Premium service. *******, to my knowledge, did not even issue an apology to the people affected. What sort of business operates this way?

2/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Neopets/Viacom banned my 15 year old account (********) in 2012. This account has been around since 2001 and I had spent countless hours working on it and grew an attachment to it through my childhood. I had purchased neopoints from a 3rd party site, not knowing it was against terms of service and my account was permanently frozen. I have not had access to my account since. Neopets/Viacom has notoriously bad customer service when it comes to submitting tickets about frozen accounts. My account may also be under threat of being "purged" or permanently deleted from the site since it has not been accessed in so long. I have spent money directly on the Neopets website for additional features as well and have no way of getting my money back since my account is frozen.

Desired Settlement: Access to my account (moochi40) back.

Business Response: The account ******** was frozen in February of 2012 for buying Neopoints. This is strictly against the Terms of Use the user agreed to when creating the account. It is because of this, the account ******** will not be unfrozen. 

2/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account was banned from this site without any notification or any reason at all. A reply hasnt been given to me for many months now and the time is up. I have done nothing to deserve a ban and to not get a response to my letter to them.

Desired Settlement: Give me back my account.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Viacom International, Inc. regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

***** ********

12/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account was frozen for cheating, but I never did. I have tried to contact the Neopets Team on a number of occasions and have never received a response. I spent a lot of money on this site and the account and lost countless hours. I had a stealth draik that was BD trained and 202 avatars and 40Million in my bank with a size 50 gallery and a size 48 shop. I previously got a warning for giving away something but I feel thats no reason to freeze the account especially since I have not cheated because I was away at training.

Desired Settlement: I want my account ******* Unfrozen and intact with my NP's,pet,avatars and everything else

Business Response: Dear Sir or Madam:

I write on behalf of Viacom International Inc. I am in receipt of Complaint Number ********, which was directed to ****** *****. We have forwarded the complaint to ********* ****** ***., formerly ********* ********** ***., the current ***** of ******** ***. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Very truly yours,
****** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

There was no way of contact.  All it said was they received the complaint 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*** ******




 

8/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called to cancel service in February 2014. We were told we would receive a final bill and shipping boxes to return the cable boxes. Did not receive either until April when we were suddenly billed for the past two months. Had to call back and request the shipping boxes and prove we had not used the internet since canceling in February. Received credit for May and finally got the shipping boxes. Sent the cable boxes back but never received a final bill. Finally received a bill on June ** with only 1 day to pay what was owed before being sent to collections. Called that evening and was credited for February as we should have been. Made a payment over the phone that day to avoid being sent to collections. Paid $146.51 as shown in my bank account on June **. Asked for an itemized bill to see what the final charges were. Did not receive any communication until today, July **. Received a final bill showing a past due amount and a collections notice for a different amount. This is by far the worst experience we have had with a cable provider. Their internet was awful as it was and we cancelled early for that reason after numerous calls to complain about their service. For all we paid them we barely even used the internet because of the slowness of it. Now we can't even move on from them because they can't get the billing right. We have been fighting with them since February and have done everything right on our side. They cannot get their stuff together enough to fix the issue.

Desired Settlement: Viacom needs to pay us for the time we have put into this process. Last time we called on June ** and were assured it was correct I was willing to let it go. Now I believe we should be credited the $146.51 we paid them on June ** as they still sent us to collections. I also want them to make sure my credit isn't in jeopardy because do their carelessness. I have always had impeccable credit and I refuse to let some ****** Internet company screw that up for me. I expect my money back, and letter of apology and a letter to the credit collection agency explaining their error.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

At this time, my complaint, ID ******** regarding Viacom International, Inc. has been resolved.

(By clicking "OK", your complaint will be closed as Resolved.)


Sincerely,

******* ****

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For some time now, I have unsuscribe my email address from Viacom's promotion's emails. After numerous attempts to remove myself using their unsubscribe tool, I even sent to emails to their New York headquarters simply requesting that my email address be removed. After my third letter was sent via snail mail, I have realized that these promotions will not stop unless I seek third party resolution.

Desired Settlement: Removal of my email address '******************* ' from ALL e-mail mailing lists

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an artist at ********* on viacom's Mtv Artist's Beta site also known as Artistlink well it's been over a month now of not being able to login to my artist profile that has my song's photos and tweets that are posted publicly for my fans online to be able to browse whenever coming across that particular site online. Mtv's customer support staff has emailed me back and forth telling me to clear my internet cache and trying logging in through this link and that link the third and yet I have the same issue where the page never loads it doesn't take me absolutely no where when I try logging in to my account via facebook and twiter. I'm starting to feel there is foul play and I wanted to report this matter to the better business bureau due to a lack of progress. I don't know if other artist's are having similar issues with their accounts as well but they fail to fix the problem and this is my works that is on there site and I can't even update my profile there put new photos and song's up I want them to erase my page since I can't even access my account on there page.

Desired Settlement: delete my artist account off of the web

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 months ago, mostly every show on every network you own started showing in widescreen letterbox format with thick black borders bordering the top and bottom making the image take up 4-5 inches less of the screen on the standard definition channel offered by my cable provider. I used to be able to watch everything on your networks in full screen for the past 10 years, but suddenly as of 2 months ago it all changed. I contacted my cable provider multiple times, but they insist they are not doing anything and it all comes from you. Some movies & commercials have black bars fill up more of the screen than the picture itself, making it even harder to watch without squinting or staring. It does not make any sense that I can watch DVD's of movies full screen but the same movies on 1 of your standard definition cable networks are letterboxed so much. Even rebroadcasts of past shows & past movies I saw on the same channels in full screen are now letterboxed, including all shows on Video On Demand. Even the same show or commercial can be full screen on 1 of the few local cable channels still showing in full screen but widescreen on all your networks. I was able to finally reach someone who claims to have duplicated my same problem at their main video hub in Pittsburgh (where I live) where they get all your signals and outside of Pittsburgh as well. This, he claims, proves it is not their fault but rather your fault for sending them the raw TV signal that looks as if it is no longer center-cut or squished or compressed to take up much less of the screen. I can understand the HD channel of your networks showing the HD widescreen signal, but not the standard definition channel when 2 months ago it was all showing full screen for the past 10 years or so until 2 months ago. Also, movie trailers, some commercials, and music videos that may already have been widescreen became even narrower on the screen and harder to watch. A broadcaster then told me they had some customers complain about a center-cut image due to sports scores being cut off on the sides. First, many sports broadcasts have the score centered along the bottom and not the sides. Second, that still does not explain why non-sports shows, including non-sports channels, changed. Third, those customers still have the option of seeing the raw, widescreen TV signal on the HD channel, wheresas I, and many other customers complaining about everything suddenly changing on the SD channel, cannot go back and see a full screen picture. Third, what makes their complaints about wanting widescreen on the SD channel more valuable than all of us complaining the opposite? This is, after all, an SD channel and not HD. If I wanted true, HD widescreen in all its glory, I would have paid for HD 5 years ago when I first got FIOS. But, I made a choice not to move to HD because I did not think the richer color depths and widescreen picture quality was worth all the many added expenses involved with it. I think it is very unfair that people who cannot upgrade to HD and paid for SD channels and have enjoyed them full screen on the SD TV's for years now suddenly have to suffer at the whims of both broadcasters and cable providers all because you choose to listen to customers complaining about not liking center-cut images on an SD channel, when center-cut images still show up as full screen on an HD TV and they can upgrade to HD and pay for the HD channel if they wanted the true widescreen, raw and uncut format. Even sports programming stopped showing scores off to the side and show them along the center bottom of the screen. So, widescreen letterboxing does not help there. I have enjoyed so many great shows on all the networks you own for over 10 years. But, to be honest, if I had to choose between watching a favorite show of mine on a channel that has widescreen letterboxing versus a show on a channel that was still full screen (& I have had to choose since this has happened), I will always choose the full screen show. It is odd to me that I can watch a commercial showing clips of next week's episode in full screen, but yet the actual show that airs the following week is widescreen letterbox. I would like a restoration of shows and movies shown on the standard definition channels of the networks you own to be restored back to full screen from the widescreen letterboxed format. I would also like you to please contact the cable provider and find out what, if anything, they did or did not do to change everything all in 1 day if this is not your fault.

Desired Settlement: I would like a restoration of shows and movies shown on the standard definition channels of the networks you own to be restored back to full screen from the widescreen letterboxed format. I would also like you to please contact the cable provider and find out what, if anything, they did or did not do to change everything all in 1 day if this is not your fault.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Viacom International, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart