BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

Viacom International, Inc.

Phone: (212) 258-6000 Fax: (212) 258-6464 View Additional Phone Numbers 1515 Broadway, New York, NY 10036 http://www.viacom.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Viacom International, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 16 complaints filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Viacom International, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 28, 2000 Business started: 06/04/1971
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Philippe Dauman, President and CEO Mr. Sumner M. Redstone, Chairman Mr. Wade Davis, CFO and EVP, Strategy & Corporate Development Mr. Van Toffler, President, Music and Logo Group
Contact Information
Principal: Philippe Dauman, President and CEO
Principal: Mr. Sumner M. Redstone, Chairman
Business Category

TELEVISION STATIONS & BROADCAST COMPANIES TELEVISION-CABLE, CATV & SATELLITE

Alternate Business Names
Black Entertainment Television (BET) Country Music Television (CMT) Logo MTV Networks Neopets Nickelodeon Spike TV Land VH1 VH1 Video Hits One
Additional Tradenames, Addresses & Phone Numbers

This firm owns and operates global media companies in broadcast and cable television, radio, outdoor advertising, movies and the Internet. The firm's subsidiaries include Black Entertainment Television (BET), Paramount Pictures, MTV Networks (MTV, VH1, Nickelodeon, Spike, TV Land), Comedy Central, Country Music Television (CMT), Neopets, and Logo.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1515 Broadway

    New York, NY 10036

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (212) 846-6000(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account was frozen for cheating, but I never did. I have tried to contact the Neopets Team on a number of occasions and have never received a response. I spent a lot of money on this site and the account and lost countless hours. I had a stealth draik that was BD trained and 202 avatars and 40Million in my bank with a size 50 gallery and a size 48 shop. I previously got a warning for giving away something but I feel thats no reason to freeze the account especially since I have not cheated because I was away at training.

Desired Settlement: I want my account ******* Unfrozen and intact with my NP's,pet,avatars and everything else

Business Response: Dear Sir or Madam:

I write on behalf of Viacom International Inc. I am in receipt of Complaint Number ********, which was directed to ****** *****. We have forwarded the complaint to ********* ****** ***., formerly ********* ********** ***., the current ***** of ******** ***. Please contact me if you have any questions.

Very truly yours,
****** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

There was no way of contact.  All it said was they received the complaint 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*** ******




 

8/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called to cancel service in February 2014. We were told we would receive a final bill and shipping boxes to return the cable boxes. Did not receive either until April when we were suddenly billed for the past two months. Had to call back and request the shipping boxes and prove we had not used the internet since canceling in February. Received credit for May and finally got the shipping boxes. Sent the cable boxes back but never received a final bill. Finally received a bill on June ** with only 1 day to pay what was owed before being sent to collections. Called that evening and was credited for February as we should have been. Made a payment over the phone that day to avoid being sent to collections. Paid $146.51 as shown in my bank account on June **. Asked for an itemized bill to see what the final charges were. Did not receive any communication until today, July **. Received a final bill showing a past due amount and a collections notice for a different amount. This is by far the worst experience we have had with a cable provider. Their internet was awful as it was and we cancelled early for that reason after numerous calls to complain about their service. For all we paid them we barely even used the internet because of the slowness of it. Now we can't even move on from them because they can't get the billing right. We have been fighting with them since February and have done everything right on our side. They cannot get their stuff together enough to fix the issue.

Desired Settlement: Viacom needs to pay us for the time we have put into this process. Last time we called on June ** and were assured it was correct I was willing to let it go. Now I believe we should be credited the $146.51 we paid them on June ** as they still sent us to collections. I also want them to make sure my credit isn't in jeopardy because do their carelessness. I have always had impeccable credit and I refuse to let some ****** Internet company screw that up for me. I expect my money back, and letter of apology and a letter to the credit collection agency explaining their error.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

At this time, my complaint, ID ******** regarding Viacom International, Inc. has been resolved.

(By clicking "OK", your complaint will be closed as Resolved.)


Sincerely,

******* ****

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For some time now, I have unsuscribe my email address from Viacom's promotion's emails. After numerous attempts to remove myself using their unsubscribe tool, I even sent to emails to their New York headquarters simply requesting that my email address be removed. After my third letter was sent via snail mail, I have realized that these promotions will not stop unless I seek third party resolution.

Desired Settlement: Removal of my email address '******************* ' from ALL e-mail mailing lists

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an artist at ********* on viacom's Mtv Artist's Beta site also known as Artistlink well it's been over a month now of not being able to login to my artist profile that has my song's photos and tweets that are posted publicly for my fans online to be able to browse whenever coming across that particular site online. Mtv's customer support staff has emailed me back and forth telling me to clear my internet cache and trying logging in through this link and that link the third and yet I have the same issue where the page never loads it doesn't take me absolutely no where when I try logging in to my account via facebook and twiter. I'm starting to feel there is foul play and I wanted to report this matter to the better business bureau due to a lack of progress. I don't know if other artist's are having similar issues with their accounts as well but they fail to fix the problem and this is my works that is on there site and I can't even update my profile there put new photos and song's up I want them to erase my page since I can't even access my account on there page.

Desired Settlement: delete my artist account off of the web

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 months ago, mostly every show on every network you own started showing in widescreen letterbox format with thick black borders bordering the top and bottom making the image take up 4-5 inches less of the screen on the standard definition channel offered by my cable provider. I used to be able to watch everything on your networks in full screen for the past 10 years, but suddenly as of 2 months ago it all changed. I contacted my cable provider multiple times, but they insist they are not doing anything and it all comes from you. Some movies & commercials have black bars fill up more of the screen than the picture itself, making it even harder to watch without squinting or staring. It does not make any sense that I can watch DVD's of movies full screen but the same movies on 1 of your standard definition cable networks are letterboxed so much. Even rebroadcasts of past shows & past movies I saw on the same channels in full screen are now letterboxed, including all shows on Video On Demand. Even the same show or commercial can be full screen on 1 of the few local cable channels still showing in full screen but widescreen on all your networks. I was able to finally reach someone who claims to have duplicated my same problem at their main video hub in Pittsburgh (where I live) where they get all your signals and outside of Pittsburgh as well. This, he claims, proves it is not their fault but rather your fault for sending them the raw TV signal that looks as if it is no longer center-cut or squished or compressed to take up much less of the screen. I can understand the HD channel of your networks showing the HD widescreen signal, but not the standard definition channel when 2 months ago it was all showing full screen for the past 10 years or so until 2 months ago. Also, movie trailers, some commercials, and music videos that may already have been widescreen became even narrower on the screen and harder to watch. A broadcaster then told me they had some customers complain about a center-cut image due to sports scores being cut off on the sides. First, many sports broadcasts have the score centered along the bottom and not the sides. Second, that still does not explain why non-sports shows, including non-sports channels, changed. Third, those customers still have the option of seeing the raw, widescreen TV signal on the HD channel, wheresas I, and many other customers complaining about everything suddenly changing on the SD channel, cannot go back and see a full screen picture. Third, what makes their complaints about wanting widescreen on the SD channel more valuable than all of us complaining the opposite? This is, after all, an SD channel and not HD. If I wanted true, HD widescreen in all its glory, I would have paid for HD 5 years ago when I first got FIOS. But, I made a choice not to move to HD because I did not think the richer color depths and widescreen picture quality was worth all the many added expenses involved with it. I think it is very unfair that people who cannot upgrade to HD and paid for SD channels and have enjoyed them full screen on the SD TV's for years now suddenly have to suffer at the whims of both broadcasters and cable providers all because you choose to listen to customers complaining about not liking center-cut images on an SD channel, when center-cut images still show up as full screen on an HD TV and they can upgrade to HD and pay for the HD channel if they wanted the true widescreen, raw and uncut format. Even sports programming stopped showing scores off to the side and show them along the center bottom of the screen. So, widescreen letterboxing does not help there. I have enjoyed so many great shows on all the networks you own for over 10 years. But, to be honest, if I had to choose between watching a favorite show of mine on a channel that has widescreen letterboxing versus a show on a channel that was still full screen (& I have had to choose since this has happened), I will always choose the full screen show. It is odd to me that I can watch a commercial showing clips of next week's episode in full screen, but yet the actual show that airs the following week is widescreen letterbox. I would like a restoration of shows and movies shown on the standard definition channels of the networks you own to be restored back to full screen from the widescreen letterboxed format. I would also like you to please contact the cable provider and find out what, if anything, they did or did not do to change everything all in 1 day if this is not your fault.

Desired Settlement: I would like a restoration of shows and movies shown on the standard definition channels of the networks you own to be restored back to full screen from the widescreen letterboxed format. I would also like you to please contact the cable provider and find out what, if anything, they did or did not do to change everything all in 1 day if this is not your fault.

12/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a Canadian citizen. The issue I have is with purchasing credits in an online game called Neopets, Viacom is the parent company. I have spent $35.00 cash on game cards which were redeemed on the Neopets game site for game tokens. In May of 2012 my game account was frozen for cheating. The name of the account is *****************. The account was accused of buying games points from a third party, and buying digital pets from a third party. I provided ample proof that all my transactions were above board and earned withing the rules by myself, in the form of what Neopets calls a 'ticket'. My ticket was eventually dismissed, after 18months of waiting and several follow up tickets. I firstly would like my game account returned. Barring that, I requested a refund of my game points (called Neocash, or NC). I was refused due to the accusation of cheating. I have all the proof needed, they have provided zero proof of my misconduct. It is now over a year and a half and I have as yet to recieve any kind of meaningful reply to any of my inquiries

Desired Settlement: FIrstly I would prefer my game account restored in full, in good standing. Barring that, a full and prompt refund of cash spent on game credits.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Viacom International, Inc. regarding complaint ID *******.

Sincerely,
******** *******

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account on *********** was 'frozen' completely unfair and unjustly. I submitted ticket after ticket to resolve this issue for over a year. Finally, I am contacted by a staff member who tells me he is unable to access the details on my account anymore due to time elapsing. I almost could not believe it.

Desired Settlement: I would really love for someone to look into my old tickets to investigate my account. I feel pushed aside and taken advantage of. I have played *********** for over half my life. It is a horrible feeling to think about having all my time, energy, and effort taken away in the blink of an eye for no reason. I have spent hundreds of dollars on my account. If someone could please take a moment and look into my issue I would be forever grateful.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Viacom International, Inc. regarding complaint ID *******.

Sincerely,

******** *****

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Viacom's branch (Neopets.com) is being uncooperative in regards to allowing me to regain access to an account. This account was not the "free" type, I paid roughly $30 a month to play (the cost, years later, is much lower now, however.) There was an incident where my account was compromised by an online hacker, and my account was "frozen" for my protection. Afterwards, it was unfrozen for a day, and refrozen before I even had access to the account. It has been nearly 2 years, however the information of my account is still available, not "purged", meaning that the account is still in tact and therefor, despite the amount of time, can be regained. I submitted multiple tickets to them immediately, and it took so long for their customer service to answer and ask for additional information and then to read the additional information, that by the time it was given a "final answer" they claimed that it had been frozen too long. This account, which I had invested YEARS into a long with a nice sum of money, was taken from me and not returned simply because the company refuses to respond or make an effort to retrieving the account. I did not pay money for a service that was basically discontinued for no reason. Because my parents used their debit card to pay for the Premium membership, I have my drivers license, matching our names to prove ownership, as well as a screenshot of an email they sent to me about switching emails years ago.

Desired Settlement: Have the account "*******" along with the pets returned in a timely manner.

9/25/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Some time ago I placed an order of a product sponsored by you; Dream Lites. I placed an order for the monkey and the penquin plus chargers for both. My order came to close to $100.00 which was charged and did apprear on my credit card statement. I was to allow several weeks for delivery. After a couple of months I tried to call the phone number supplied with no results. There was never anyone to file a complaint with that I could contact. I have never received the products ordered.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded my hard-earned money. I will never order another TV product again. I would be satisfied to have my money back. My grandsons were greatly disappointed when the products never arrived. It was easy to conclude I was not the only consumer conned, by the difficult time reaching a person on the phone number given.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Viacom International, Inc. regarding complaint ID *******.

Sincerely,

***** ******

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Opting out of a newsletter does not opt out. I keep receiving email ads from Viacom even I've already unsubscribed from their newsletters.

Desired Settlement: Remove "*******************" from all advertising and user databases. Stop contacting me via email.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Viacom International, Inc. regarding complaint ID *******.


I continue to receive communications which I have already opted out of via the option their marketing provides.

Sincerely,

**** ******

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am inquiring about a frozen account which occured 4 years ago on ***************. The account in question, ******, was frozen unfairly. I've requested MULTIPLE times for support on this issue through ***************'s support ticket feature, through the emailing of*********** support staff and through this site. I have NOT gotten a response back and it's been 4 years of me attempting to get a response. The account, as I mentioned before, was frozen unfairly. I've given as much information as requested but I've not seen any proof of the freezing nor any responses as to why it was frozen unfairly immediately after being unfrozen and after I was given an apology for that particular incident.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is for the account, ******, to be unfrozen on ***************. Since that is the end result, and I am extremely confident that I did nothing wrong all I ask is for the matter to be looked into and for myself to receive replies and to be contacted about the matter. I am positive once it is looked into the account in question will be found to have done nothing wrong at all. Please, just respond and contact me. It has been 4 years of persistent contact on behalf of myself with no responses, replies or acknowledgements.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Viacom International, Inc. regarding complaint ID*******.

Sincerely,

******* ********

4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011 my *********** user account- *******, was frozen for 'scamming other users'. This was because I had traded for virtual items on my account that I was not aware were actually stolen from another user. This led to my subsequent freezing. I have submitted service requests through the option of "tickets" on the Neopets site and have received mixed feedback. The first being that just having the items on my account made me guilty. As I continued to submit tickets I received various responses. These included not being able to prove the account belonged to me and closing my ticket with no response whatsoever. I am a Neopets user that has invested hundreds, if not thousands of dollars into the NeoCash portion of ***********. I had absolutely no knowledge that the items I traded for were stolen and I believe it would be fair to remove these from my account, however I would like to politely ask that my account be returned. I have a current ticket number that is ************. I am positive that if my account is reviewed and the items removed, that I should have my account unfrozen. As well as this, if my account is reviewed the Staff would see that I had absolutely no reason to trade for stolen items, I had accumulated hundreds of millions in items and was the owner of two stamp avatars (very expensive to obtain). I also owned a Seasonal Attack Pea that is worth hundreds of millions of the virtual currency. Please understand that I will never knowingly trade another user for items that could be stolen. I am a loyal user that simply wants to enjoy this game again. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: To have my *********** Account '*******' unfrozen.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Viacom International, Inc. regarding complaint ID *******.
I attempted a message to the Viacom support and was given the following message.


I responded to this message and have had no reply yet.

Sincerely,

******* ******

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account was mistakenly frozen for cheating, as I have never cheated in any way. I tried to contact TNT many times but haven't received a response. My account was frozen on 2/**/2013 sometime in the morning (PST). I think my account was mistakenly accused or perceived as cheating by "AUTOBUYER" as I have had a lot of success with restocking. I filed a ticket right away, but have yet to receive a response. I started playing June *, 2006 (approx 6.5 years) and have never cheated or tried to cheat in any way. I owned at least 1 share of every stock and my total portfolio was worth around 12 million with about 400000 shares of stock. I had 3 pets at the time of being frozen. ****************** the Pirate Buzz was Level 31, petpet was Crokabek. Vyraen the Pea Chia was Level 35, petpet was Clay Scamander. ************ the Yellow Xweetok was Level 300+, Health: 812, Strength: 551+, Defense: 751+, Move: 200+, Intelligence: 480+; petpet was Cobrall. ************ had these weapons attached: Grapes of Wrath, Sword of White Lies, Short Sleeved Yellow Tunic, Snowager Sword, Slime Mega Blaster. Size of shop was 19. Size of gallery was 1. I had around 40-50 items in my inventory, most were up for trade and included 8-bit Power-Up Potion, Striped Jetsam Morphing Potion, Green Kau MP, Desert Tuskaninny MP; Cliffhanger , Zyrolon, Tylix, Evil Fuzzles Stamps. I had around 35 million pure neopoints, neoquest 2 gold trophy, food club bronze, plushie tycoon gold, lenny conundrum goldx2. 0 neomails. neofriends: tamora_dawn, inthesea, labmom953. rare avatars: bgc, mspp. current avatar: punchbag sid. guild: Phoenix Warlords. 7500 BD wins.

Desired Settlement: Unfreeze my account (ubemaya) and restore it to its state prior to freezing.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Viacom International, Inc. regarding complaint ID*******.

Sincerely,

******* ***

1/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service