BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The firm manufacturers and sells safety pool covers and other pool safety products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Loop-Loc Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Loop-Loc Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated: 01/01/1974 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lee Ann Donaton Pesta, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lee Ann Donaton Pesta, President
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL COVER SALES & SERVICE MANUFACTURERS & PRODUCERS

Alternate Business Names
Loop Loc Loop Lock Pool Cover Corp.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 562-5667(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Loop Loc cover from Rainbow Pools, Inc., that was defective as it did not fit the pool. The cover was purchased by Rainbow through Loop Loc. I contacted loop Loc and they said someone would call back but no one did. They wanted to blame Rainbow but they were the ones the manufactured the defective cover.

Desired Settlement: replacement cover delivered and installed with in a week because the weather is getting bad and the fact that the pool is not covered properly could do detrimental harm. further, if I went to another pool company they would have to go through loop loc to get it. I also want a refund for the aggravation caused & time spent because they ignored my complaint made directly to them.

Business Response: Thank you for contacting us in regards to *** ******* ********'s issue with his Loop-Loc cover.  When we originally received his complaint we contacted his dealer Rainbow Pools and spoke with *****.  ***** from Rainbow advised us that he has already taken care of any issues *** ******** had with his cover and that this matter was resolved.  If for some reason *** ******** feels there are still any outstanding issues they can contact Rainbow Pools or Loop Loc again.  Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Loop-Loc pool cover online about 6 years ago. Their express warranty is prorated 12 year. After I shipped my cover to them for inspection, their results were, in their words, " This cover is not safe and should be replaced. Age of cover: 10+ R.T.N. 45846 Damage: UV". I emailed them the information sewn by the factory on a tag to the pool cover itself reads the factory finish date: 6/2007 and the order number (whether mine or the actual retailer I don't know):*******. They responded: "We updated the estimate to refelct the correct age of your cover. We are a dealer direct company, therefore you must contact a dealer to get the cost to replace your cover. The dealer will get the pro-rated cost and he will let you know the cost to you. If you have any further questions, please call customer service. Thank you for contacting LoopLoc." This is a warranty covered cause. The procedure is to contact a Loop-Loc dealer for a replacement estimate and they contact Loop-Loc for the warranty coverage amount. I contacted Polytecpools, they contacted Loop-Loc and got a response that they warranty coverage was ~$60. Their warranty states that they will cover the cost of the replacement less 1/144th for each month the cover was in service. The cover was in service for 73 months, 6/2007 to 7/2013 (the return date of the cover to the factory). Thus their obligation is 144 - 73 or 71/144th(s) of the cost of replacement. They offered ~$60. I'd be happy to pay $61 for a replacement cover but some how, since the price is $914.95, I don't think that's the case. Their OBLIGATION is ~$451.12. I emailed them over 2 weeks ago regarding this issue and they have not responded.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their express warranty.

Business Response: We are in receipt of *** ***'s complaint regarding his pro-rated warranty on his Loop Loc cover.  This cover was returned to us and was found to have U.V. damaged thread, which is covered under our pro-rated warranty.  As the manufacturer we sell only to swimming pool professionals and all warranty issues are suppose to go through the dealer that sold the original cover.  Once it was determined that *** ***'s cover was a pro-rated warranty issue and we could not repair the cover we advised him to speak with his swimming pool professional in regards to getting a replacement pro-rated warranty cover.  


Pro-rated warranty pricing is based on the current retail (list) pricing of a cover, which is not the same cost as when the cover was purchased over six years ago.  Over a 6 year time period the costs involved in manufacturing this cover from materials to labor, etc. obviously has increased, which is why the pro-rated price is based on the cost of the cover in today's marketplace, not what it cost over 6 years ago. This is clearly stated in our pro-rated warranty certificate.  I believe the misunderstanding on *** ***'s part is the additional discount of $61.40 that was applied to the order.  This discount is applied to all Loop-Loc and non-Loop-Loc replacement covers for the 2013 season as part of our 35 year anniversary promotion.  It was a special incentive to swimming pool professionals and in no way reflects the pro-rated cost at all.  

There is a possibility that Polytec Pools was not aware of this promotion and as such read the paperwork wrong when they received it, believing that this was all that the pro-rate was worth.  Polytech Pools is welcome to call us to clarify the exact pro-rated pricing for the cover for *** ***. We are sorry if our internal paperwork has caused some confusion and we will also speak with Polytec to make sure they are understanding the pro-rated pricing that we supplied them.  Again though we want to point out that the pro-rated price is based on the current list price of the cover.  Thank you,  Loop-Loc Customer Care.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a special needs child and wanted to buy the best safety cover with the best warranty. I was directed to buy a LoopLoc cover from the dealer, even though it costs considerably more than their competitors. After 3 years of use some of the stitching started to come apart. I called the dealer and was told it is triple stitched and that unless a large area was coming apart that it was fine. The next year the stitching was considerably worse. I called Looploc and they asked for pictures. I sent them pictures in an email June **, 2013. They could not determine the cause of damage from the photos and asked me to send them the cover. After sending them the cover I was told by **** at LoopLoc that the cover is not safe and it has defective thread and it would not be returned to me, but would have to be replaced. I was told by **** that LoopLoc does not deal with the customer and I would have to deal with the dealer it was bought from. After talking with 4 different customer service reps over 2 weeks I was finally given a replacement estimate of $800. That is almost 75% of the original cost and is totally unacceptable. We did not expect and have not financially planned to have to replace this costly item after less than five years of use, especially when the problem started after only 3 years of use.

Desired Settlement: It would be fair if LoopLoc used 36 months of use as the start time of the defect. The stitching started to fail after 36 months. I tried to have the dealer fix the cover. I was willing to pay to have the cover re-stitched. They said that Looploc would not do that, as it was cost prohibited. I live in Michigan and need to close our pool now. My wife is a teacher and goes back to work on 9/*/13. We will now have to send our child to a special needs facility, because the workers that come to the house do not want the added liability of having an open pool.

Business Response: I am in receipt of *** ******* complaint regarding his Loop-Loc Safety Swimming Pool Cover.  This cover was sold back in 2008 and not returned to Loop-Loc until August of 2013.  Unfortunately if the ******* family was having an issue with this cover back in 2011 as their complaint states, the cover and/or photo's should have been sent to Loop-Loc at that time.  Loop-Loc's records do not show any correspondence regarding a problem with this cover back in 2011, and we assume that the conversation was only had with the original dealer and was not brought to our attention at that time. At this point the cover has been used and has serviced their swimming pool for the past 5 seasons. 

The pro-rated warranty price that was given was based on the 5 years of usage which is when we were made aware of a problem.  Again, if there was a problem back in 2011 the pro-rated warranty price would have reflected only 3 years of usage and the cost would have been much more minimal to replace at that time.  In the future I would urge the ******* family to not wait on reporting any problems or issues they may encounter 2 years after the fact, on any type of pro-rated warranty products.  Pro-rated warranty prices take into account the amount of use that the consumer had before the product failed or their was an issue.

That being said, we will this one time replace the ******* cover at no cost to them, so that they may keep their swimming pool safe for their child as soon as possible.  I will speak with the dealer that the estimate is under currently and explain to them the situation, that we will be sending the cover directly to the ******* family. This is a very busy time of year for us, but I will try to give this cover a one week ship date from today and they should have the cover by the end of next week.  I hope that this helps, and again if there is ever an issue in the future we urge you to contact your dealer or Loop-Loc at that time.  Sincerely,  ****** *************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Loop-Loc pool cover in 2007 for approximately $3000 to replace a similar cover. The warrenty is supposed to be 15 years. Some of the stitching on a small portion of the seams separated so we sent the cover to be repaired.We have been notified that the cover is irrepairable due to UV deterioration. Since they want to charge us $2600 for a replacement cover, this seems like a scam. The cover is 6 years old and the warrenty was stated as 15 years.In addition, my retail pool dealer informed me that Loop-loc will charge me $196 to return the cover without repairs being done.

Desired Settlement: If there is UV deterioration on a 6 year old cover with a 15 year warrenty, I would expect a replacement without a servere proration. The cover is only in the sun during the non-summer months.

Business Response: Dear *****,
 
    Since ****** is currently out of the office, I am responding to your email regarding ******* ******** complaint regarding repair issues ID#*******. 
    I have reviewed the cover he returned to Loop-Loc along with his original paperwork and the cover was ordered and manufactured in 2002, with a 12 year warranty not 2007 with a 15 year warranty.  If the homeowner has additional documentation regarding original order number or date of original cover I would appreciate if it could be forwarded to me.
 
    I will contact the pool dealer he is purchasing with and let him know of the discrepancies.
 
Sincerely,
*********
 
 
 
********* ********
Director of Sales
 
Loop-Loc Covers & Luxury Liners
*** ***** **************** ** *****
************ **** ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Loop-Loc pool cover on 11/**/09 in the amount of $1601. It came with a 12-year warranty. I contacted them via email on 1/*/13 because my cover had a small hole in it that should be covered under the warranty. I assumed this could have been repaired with a small patch at minimal cost but thought it should be covered under the warranty. I sent the email with pictures. The pictures were close up and I put a penny next to the hole so they could easily distinguish the size. I did not hear from them. I sent a second email with the same information on 1/**/13. They responded to that email saying they could not see the pictures clearly. I resent them on 1/**/13. To that email, they responded that they could see the hole and it was small enough that it could be patched and offered to sell me a patch kit. They explained that they could not tell me if it would be covered under warranty unless they inspected the cover in their plant which means I would need to ship it to them. I checked and it would cost at minimum $266 to ship it to them and I would be expected to pay to have it shipped back to me which would be probably another $266. The patch kit if $27.85. I think it's a scam that they require you to ship the cover to them before they'll make a decision about warranty. This is clearly covered under warranty, it's clearly documented by the pictures I emailed to them and they're just trying to avoid their responsibilities.

Desired Settlement: At minimum, I think they should provide me with the patch kit and the cost of service for someone to repair the hole.

Business Response: Thank you for providing the information in regards to the small hole in the Loop-Loc cover.  Please know that the first two sets of photo's that were sent in unfortunately did not show the small hole in any of the photo's as they were too zoomed in, and we left *** ***** a message on January **** explaining this.  We did finally receive the photo with the penny showing the small hole on January ****.  On January ****, we forwarded the attached email to *** ***** explaining about patch kits and also the other option of sending back to the cover for inspection & repair. 

In the photo we can see a very small hole in the cover and a patch kit should work fine in a case such as this.  We cannot however determine from a photo if this is deemed a pro-rated warranty issue.  The only way for us to fully determine if this is a pro-rated warranty issue is for us to receive the cover back at our facility so we can perform a complete inspection of the cover and the material.  Once an inspection has been done it can then be determined if it is a warranty issue or not.  If it is a warranty issue, we would replace the panel at no charge and ship the cover back at no charge and reimburse for the incoming shipment cost.  If it is not considered to be a warranty issue we then will supply a quote to repair the damage.  If *** ***** strongly feels that this is a pro-rated warranty issue, she should speak with the dealer that sold her the cover and have them send the cover back for inspection.  This cover was purchased through a Loop-Loc dealer, ******** ***** ** *****, and I am sure that the dealer will assist *** ***** in sending the cover back to our facility at a reasonable cost so we can make a determination. 

We are sorry that *** ***** feels we are trying to "avoid our responsibilities", but that is not the case.  We fully stand behind our product and always honor our pro-rated warranty which covers defects in material and workmanship.  If the small hole is considered a defect in material and/or workmanship after it is inspected we will again, as stated, fix the panel at no charge and ship the cover back.  We cannot supply a service or name for someone else to repair the hole.  This is a safety swimming pool cover, and any work done by an outside source other than Loop-Loc will void the warranty on the cover, as we would no longer be able to guarantee that the work performed by an outside company will keep the safety features of the cover intact. 


Again we recommend that *** ***** speak with ******** ***** ** ***** if she would like to have the cover inspected at our facility.  In the meantime we have sent out a patch kit at no charge today (May ****) until *** ***** decides which way she would like to proceed.  We hope that we have addressed all of *** *****' concerns and questions. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

I did receive the patch kit at no cost and for that I say thank you to Loop-Loc.  However, I still believe their policy of having to have the cover returned to them for inspection before deciding if the warranty would be in effect is not reasonable.  If you sanction a dealer like******** ***** to sell and install your covers, you should allow them to do the inspections to determine if a warranty issue is valid or not.  In this age of technology, there should be methods in place (video, pictures, etc.) that would give you the information you need without having the owner ship the cover to you.  Again, thank you for the patch kit.  

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ***** 




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/27/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/6/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/5/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/5/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1