BBB Accredited Business since

Loop-Loc Ltd.

Phone: (631) 582-2626 Fax: (631) 582-2636 View Additional Phone Numbers 390 Motor Parkway, Hauppauge, NY 11788 http://www.looploc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The firm manufacturers and sells safety pool covers and other pool safety products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Loop-Loc Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Loop-Loc Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 10
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Loop-Loc Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 01/01/1974 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lee Ann Donaton Pesta, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lee Ann Donaton Pesta, President
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL COVER SALES & SERVICE MANUFACTURERS & PRODUCERS

Alternate Business Names
Loop Loc Loop Lock Pool Cover Corp.

Additional Locations

  • 390 Motor Parkway

    Hauppauge, NY 11788

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Loo-Loc Pool cover and the stitching came apart due to weather normal wear. The pool cover its self is in good condition. I have owned the cover for 9 years of a 15 year warranty. My local dealer returned the cover for repair or replacement and was told it was irreparable. They were then quoted a cover less the hardware at dealer price and told they would have to discount from the list price the amount that would be under warranty. This is certainly not what the published warranty for the cover loop-loc manufactures. It very unlikely that their customer base would purchase this product knowing that there is actually no warranty. My problem is, I want my cover warranted per their published warranty specifics.

Desired Settlement: I want the cover resewn as the cover its self is in good enough condition. If they will not do this then I want a full warranty replacement from the dealer cost less the warranty that they offer.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of *** ********* complaint regarding his Loop-Loc Safety Cover.  We apologize that he is having an issue, but unfortunately the damage to his cover is U.V. deterioration which cannot be repaired.  U.V. deterioration however is covered under the 12 year pro-rated warranty that was supplied with the cover back in 2006. See attached.  It was not, as stated, supplied with a 15 yr pro-rated warranty.  At this point the ******** cover is 9 years old so the pro-rate available is for the remaining 3 years.  The pricing given is based on a pro-rated price, as this cover new in 2015 would cost over $4200.  The pro-rated price is based on what it cost us today to manufacture a new cover, it is not based on the price of the cover back in 2006. This cover was used successfully for the past 9 years and has serviced the swimming pool for that length of time, so we are pro-rating the cost on the life expectancy of 12 years. 

Again, we are sorry that *** ******* has experienced this issue, and we will be able to manufacture a new replacement cover to match his existing anchor locations once he gives approval to the dealer he is working with.  We hope this has answered *** ********'s questions and concerns. 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. 

 

The company answered with the prorated warranty that was left on my pool cover and made an offer pursuant to the 36 months left on the warranty. I have purchased a replacement from them using the warranty as it should have been offered in the beginning. I have am satisfied with the outcome thank you for your help.

Sincerely,

***** ********





 


10/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our 5+ year old Loop Loc Safety cover broke at a large seam, whiles coils also separated from their hooks over this winter in Central Mass. Even though this we broke records with last winter's snowfall, Loop Loc claims it was due to UV Rays. Since Loop Loc Determined that the "Safety" Cover broke due to UV Rays and not workmanship, their "Pro-Rated Warrenty" does not include paying for shipping. I see other claims of that here too. Loop Loc advertises "Built super-strong using the highest quality materials and workmanship. Securely anchored into the deck, LOOP-LOC puts an unbreakable "lock" on your pool to protect your family. You'll probably never need a safety pool cover strong enough to support the weight of "Bubbles," the African elephant". I don't know how long it holds an elephant for but you better hope the sun didn't shine on it for 5 winters or you could lose a child or family pet once it breaks at the seam and the coils also break off due to the weight of snow. I am sure that the UV Rays in Mass are so strong from Oct-April that the coils also break off, never mind the break at the huge seam. It is almost laughable that my pool company in Sutton, Ma calls me back last week after paying to send the cover back, that Loop Loc claims it ripped and broke due to UV Rays. They tell us that the cover is no longer Safe and therefor needs to be replaced for over $1800 new! "Pro-Rated" amount we are to pay is $1400. I told my pool store, it was ridiculous, please talk to them. I get a call back yesterday after 6pm that Loop Loc is now asking for $900-no explanation. Loop Loc warrants that the cover "is free from defects in material and workmanship under normal use, service and conditions, but only when installation has been correctly done by a qualified swimming pool professional. Pool Cover Corp. will furnish – at no cost – a replacement cover, or at our option, repair any part or parts". There are so many complaints online that their pool cover breaks at the seams and this is a defect and they changed their material in 2012 that they would have to see in this case and many others that this was not "free from defects in material in workmanship".

Desired Settlement: Since Loop Loc claims this cover is no longer safe and cannot be repaired, they should replace the cover. Loop Loc warrants that the cover "is free from defects in material and workmanship under normal use, service and conditions, but only when installation has been correctly done by a qualified swimming pool professional. Pool Cover Corp. will furnish – at no cost – a replacement cover, or at our option, repair any part or parts".

Business Response: We are in receipt of *** ******** complaint in regards to her cover purchased in 2009.  Loop-Loc's pro-rated warranty covers defects in material and workmanship, and unfortunately it was found that this cover had pre-mature U.V. deteriorated thread.  This is covered under the 12 year pro-rated warranty that was supplied with the cover.  We apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused but we cannot repair a cover that has Pre-mature U.V. deterioration.  Please note that the pro-rated price is based on today's pricing of the cover, not what it cost back in 2009.  The pricing that we gave their dealer was $900 for the pro-rated replacement.  We are not sure if their dealer misunderstood the paperwork that was sent out, or if it was confused with possibly another customer, but the pricing that *** ****** has in her email of $900 is the correct pro-rated replacement cost.  The statement that Pool Cover Corp will furnish - an not -cost- a replacement cover, or at our option, repair any part or parts which to our satisfaction prove thus defective within 25 months of the factory shipping date.  We believe *** ****** did not see the rest of this sentence, which is for the first 25 months. 

Our fabric was changed in 2012 to be a denser weave to block out more sunlight, not because there was anything wrong with the original fabric used, this was only done to reduce sunlight exposure from getting in the pool.  Loop-Loc has thousands of covers that are in the marketplace for 10, 15, 20, and 25 years.  We have always used the highest concentrates of U.V. inhibitors in our fabric and webbing, but unfortunately in certain cases pre-mature u.v.deterioration occurs and that is why we include this in our pro-rated warranty as a defect in the materials.  We hope we have answered all of *** ******* questions and we are attaching our pro-rated warranty along with an explanation about pre-mature U.V. deterioration. 

9/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE PURCHASED A SWIMING POOL APRIL 2012, WE ORDERED A LOOP LOC LINER 28 MIL. FROM THE DISTRIBUTER ****** ***, IN *********. THE LINER WAS DELIVERED AND INSTALLED AS LOOP LOC MFG REP VISITED OUR HOME TO REVIEW THE INSTALL. THE LOOP LOC LINER BLUE PRINT IS PEELING AT THE SEAM GOING ACCROSS THE POOL ON EACH SIDE OF THE SEEM GOING FROM ONE END OF THE POOL TO THE OTHER, AND STARTING ON OTHER SEEMS IN THE POOL. *** ****** **, HAS NOT RESPONDED TO OUR CALLS, AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS, AS THEY NO LONGER INSTALL POOLS, WE CONTACED LOOP LOC IN HAUPPAUGE, AND EXPLAINED THE SITUATION TO kERRY THE MANGER IN CUSTOMER SERVICE AT LOOP LOC.. AS SHE IS DEFIANT TO MAKING THE WARENTEE CLAM, TO THE DEFECT TO THEIR LINER, AND USES ALL KINDS OF EXCUSESS, NOT TO HELP IN THIS MATTER. THERE ADVERTISMENT ALSO IS FALSE AS THEY SAY THEY PROTECT THE CUNSUMER S TO THE WARRENTEE. THEY ARE ALSO MAKING FALSE CLAMS IN THERE ADDS. THEY ALSO REFUSE TO ASSIGN A REP AND A ANOTHER DISTRIBUTER TO VIEW THE MATTER AND REPLACE THE LINER.

Desired Settlement: I AM LOOKING FOR THE WARENTEE , REPLACEMENT TO THE MATTER

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the complaint from *** ********* in regards to his Loop-Loc liner purchased from ****** in 2012.  Since the liner was purchased from ****** and *** ********* gave ****** his money for the liner and the install then it was recommended that he contact them in regards to the issue that he is having.  As this seems to be an issue and *** ********* cannot get in touch with his original dealer, then we can try to make a determination if his problem is a pro-rated warranty issue.  Carrie our customer service manager is not defiant about saying that this problem is a warranty issue, as we have no idea if it is a pro-rated warranty issue or not since we have not seen the liner or pictures of the problem.  Since we cannot get a hold of ****** Pools either, as we tried calling twice to tell them about the issue *** *********, we can send our field measure team over to take photo's of the problem.  They would not have the expertise to make a determination on site, but they can take photo's and bring them back to our facility for review. 

We cannot assign another distributor to view the matter and replace the liner since it would be up to *** ********* to find a swimming pool professional that he wants to work with.  All of the swimming pool dealers we work with do business independently and do not "work" for Loop-Loc, they buy from Loop-Loc, so we cannot order or assign a different dealer to handle this.  Please have *** ********* contact Bill H***** our Asst. Sales Manager who can make arrangements for our staff to go to his home and take photo's.  Bill can be contacted at ###-###-#### or ****************. 

If it is found to be a pro-rated warranty problem then we will honor the pro-rated price, however please know that Loop-Loc does not have installers on staff and he will have to find a swimming pool professional of his choice to work with.  Thank you
 

9/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Loop-Loc Ltd refused to repair stitching in 3 small areas on the pool cover I purchased fall 2006 from the pool dealer ***** ***** ** ****** ********. When I originally called Loop-Loc Ltd. about the defective stitching the company told me to send the cover to the company at my expense, as I did, and they would check it to see what needed to be repaired. After the company received the cover it sent an email to me stating it recommended the cover be replaced. I called the company and talked to a supervisor named Kerry who said the cover was damaged by the sun and they would not fix the defective stitching because the cover would still not meet the standards of the law. I'm skeptical that a law exists stating what strength a cover has to be as there's plenty of covers that can't hold a bowling ball without sinking let alone an elephant as Loop-Loc Ltd touts. Kerry told me I could pay a $96.00 inspection fee to have the cover returned to me or purchase a new cover at a prorated price through a dealer...that price per ***** ***** is $1600.00. At the time the cover was purchased I was told the cover is backed by a 12-year warranty. I still have the original paper work and there's no information on it about the warranty being prorated. The company did not describe or communicate to me any limitations to the cover warranty at the time of purchase. I feel loop-loc is scamming customers with the warranty advertisement as it's not really warranted for anything. It's just a way to get the cover back in it's possession and then coerce a unsuspecting consumer into purchasing another cover. My cover is perfectly fine except it only needs restitching in a few small areas where the stitching is coming apart. It's only coming apart where better stitching was not done. Yes, much of the stitching is much better on the cover and has more than one row of stitching, but not where this stitching is failing. The stitching started to come apart years ago and has broken more in the last winter as the snowfall caused a lot of weight on the already shoddy stitch-work and caused more stitches to break--Just like if one or two stitches failed on a pair of slacks the entire seem will come apart once a few stitches are loose or broken. As for solar damage, the stitching is not exposed to sun, so I disagree that the the material is damaged due to sun. In it's advertising, the company tells customers the product is so good it's backed by a 12 year warranty. Therefore it should not be selling material it knows will break down in the sun or any other weather related condition as it's made to be out doors. Basically the company sells a product that's going to fail and leads people to believe it's good quality and should last at least 12 years and if not, the company will make it right. However, the reality is Loop-Loc Ltd get's the covers back and then tries to convince the customer to buy a new cover or pay $96.00 to have the cover returned without repair. The company had me in a very dire situation trying to convince me I have an unsafe cover that is not backed by a warranty other than getting a possible small discount on a new cover. After a lengthy conversation of my complaining to the supervisor about how disappointed in the whole situation I was, she offered to send the cover back with out charging the 96.00 fee.

Desired Settlement: Repair the 3 small sections of defective stitching where the stitching has come apart from the cover material and repair the one small section where stitching has begun to come apart.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of *** *********** complaint regarding his Loop-Loc cover purchased in 2006.  Loop-Loc always recommends that a consumer contact the dealer they purchased the cover from when it comes to repairs or replacement covers.  If the homeowner chooses to send the cover in for repair without getting the dealer involved, we do accept that, but we cannot determine if a cover can be repaired from a phone conversation and we need to inspect the cover at our facility.  Once inspected it was found that *** *********** 9 year old cover had encountered pre-mature U.V. deterioration which is covered under the 12 year pro-rated warranty supplied with the cover (there is 3 years left on this pro-rated warranty).  Please see attached pro-rated warranty, we have always since the inception of Loop-Loc in 1978 supplied the covers with a pro-rated warranty, this is not hidden and is clearly printed on all paperwork and he was supplied with a pro-rated warranty card in his homeowner package. 

Once a cover has U.V. deterioration in a few areas, it is just a matter of time (weeks, or a few months) that the damage will show in other areas of the cover.  This is the reason we cannot repair the damaged areas because we know that the other areas will experience the same problem.  This issue deems the cover to be non-safe and should not be used on a swimming pool.  Loop-Loc covers not only meet the ASTM standards for Safety Covers but are also U.L. certified for safety covers. We do not manufacture pool covers, we manufacture safety pool covers.  We are not sure how this cover is not exposed to sun damage, unless it is located indoors and is an indoor swimming pool.  If it is not located indoors, then it will experience U.V. deterioration.  The problem here is that it prematurely experienced this, as we had expected the cover to last 12 years, this is why we cover it under the pro-rate of which there is 3 years left.  *** ********* stated that he saw damage years ago, but we were not made aware of a problem, nor did he send the cover in years ago to address this issue, so we can only go on this year when the cover was returned. 

The $96 dollar return cover no work fee is clearly stated on the forms that *** ********* filled out and signed.  When a cover is returned for possible repair, the cover needs to be checked in, put into our system, fully inspected top to bottom, information is then transferred into our systems.  This takes a lot of time and labor, so if we are then told to just return the cover and not do anything this fee is charged for the work we put into it.  We did offer for customer relations to send the cover back and not charge this fee.  Please note however, if this cover in this condition is used on a swimming pool, it is non-safe and we strongly recommend that it not be used for this purpose ever again.  We are sorry but we will not repair this cover and a replacement pro-rated warranty must be done through a swimming pool professional.  Please let us know how *** ********* wishes to proceed and if he would like us to return the cover to him.  If returned no work done we will sew non-safe labels on to the cover before it goes back. 








Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

1. Pool cover won't be 9 years-old until Nov 2015
2. Pool cover was only used 8 seasons from Nov - Mid May
3. Sun barely shines on pool because it's surrounded by 40-foot tall trees. 
4. Materials and fasteners on cover are in great shape and have very little sign of affect from the sun or weather. 
5. Only stitching needs repairing in a few small areas
6. Loop-Loc is not honoring the warranty because it refuses to repair the shoddy stitch-work.
7. Company takes advantage of customers by telling them cover is ruined by the sun and it can only be replaced. The replacement cost in my situation is 1600.00. I only paid 1800 for it new.
8. I never recieved a warranty card that said prorated warranty and the brochure states the cover is backed by 12 year warranty as if it would be remedied if materials or workmanship failed. Company doesn't repair as it should.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *********




 

Business Response: 1. Pool cover won't be 9 years-old until Nov 2015
2. Pool cover was only used 8 seasons from Nov - Mid May
3. Sun barely shines on pool because it's surrounded by 40-foot tall trees. 
4. Materials and fasteners on cover are in great shape and have very little sign of affect from the sun or weather. 
5. Only stitching needs repairing in a few small areas
6. Loop-Loc is not honoring the warranty because it refuses to repair the shoddy stitch-work.
7. Company takes advantage of customers by telling them cover is ruined by the sun and it can only be replaced. The replacement cost in my situation is 1600.00. I only paid 1800 for it new.
8. I never recieved a warranty card that said prorated warranty and the brochure states the cover is backed by 12 year warranty as if it would be remedied if materials or workmanship failed. Company doesn't repair as it should.


We are in receipt of *** *********** follow up regarding his Loop-Loc Cover.  The cover was purchased in 2006 which means it was on his pool for: 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014 which is 9 seasons.  The cover will in fact be 9 Full years old in November, however it was used for 9 seasons before we were contacted and the cover was sent in for inspection.  The cover did encounter pre-mature U.V. deteriorated thread which is covered under the 12 year  pro-rated warranty that was supplied with his cover, even with the tree's that provide shade in *** *********** backyard. 

We are fully honoring our pro-rated warranty and we have never since 1978 offered anything other than a pro-rated warranty.  The warranty card is supplied with each and every order that leaves the building and in fact the cover cannot ship until the pro-rated warranty card is printed and put in with the cover.  All of our literature has always stated that the warranty is a pro-rated warranty since the inception of this company, we do not take advantage, play games, or lie to our customers.  If it is a pro-rated warranty problem we own the issue and give pro-rated pricing to the dealer that the consumer purchased from or is working with. We cannot repair a cover that has U.V. deteriorated thread, as it will only be a matter of days or weeks before this issue shows up in the other parts of the cover.  We do not repair covers that we know are completely non-safe due to this issue. 

We are sorry that *** *********** cover has encountered this issue, but it has, and we are honoring this damage.  In the interest of customer relations we have contacted ***** ***** and asked them to please pass along a customer relations only discount of $200 on a new replacement cover to *** ********* for the trouble and issue that this has created for him.  If he chooses not to go with a replacement cover and would like the cover returned to him with no work done he can contact ***** ***** and we will waive the return fee and shipping costs to send the cover back.  Thank you for your time, and if not attached the first time, we are attaching the 12 year pro-rated warranty information and Pre-Mature U.V. deterioration information sheet. 



?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# 10770939, and have determined that my complaint it's only been 8 seasons.
Stitching is bad workman ship..sun doesn't shine where stitching is bad.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *********




 

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a loop lock cover in 2007. This season when we removed the cover a great amount of stitching on the straps had come loose. The cover was otherwise in good condition. I called Loop Lock and was told to ship it back to them at my cost of $350. Someone called and told me that the ultra violent rays had destroyed the stitching and it couldn't be repaired and would be unsafe to use. I am familiar with sewing, the stitching they use is a running chain stitch which if one stitch is broken the entire stitching will come loose. It is the same stitching used in feed sacks for easy removable. They have offered to sell me another one at a discount pro rated warranty price of $3600. This has to be done through a Loop Lock dealer.

Desired Settlement: I want them to repair the cover.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of *** **** complaint in regards to her cover and the U.V. damage that it has experienced.  The issue with the cover is not that the stitching is "loose" it has experience pre-mature U.V. deterioration.  Pre-mature U.V. deterioration in thread is not repairable and the cover is deemed to be non-safe and can no longer be used on a swimming pool.  All stitching on a Loop-Loc cover is set and firmly "X" tacked on each end to ensure that stitches do not unravel.  We are attaching an explanation on U.V. deterioration along with a copy of the 12 year pro-rated warranty that was supplied with the cover. 

*** ****'s cover was purchased in 2007 and as such she has 4 years left of the pro-rated warranty that was supplied with cover, which covers "defects of materials".  Pre-mature U.V. deterioration is considered a defect in the material and as such we are honoring what is left of the warranty.  We are sorry that *** **** spent $350 to return the cover to Loop-Loc's facility, but we always recommend that the consumer bring the cover back to the Swimming Pool Professional where they made their original purchase, or if that is not an option, another swimming pool dealer in their area.  These companies generally get better shipping rates and/or can find other more affordable options to send the cover back to our facility for inspection.  *** **** chose to return the cover to our facility on her own without contacting a swimming pool dealer and we had no idea that she paid $350 to return this cover.

As the manufacturer Loop-Loc works with swimming pool professionals to sell, install, and handle any issues that may arise- the same as when she made her original purchase.  Loop-Loc did not give *** **** any pricing, not even the $3600 she is speaking of.  Once it was determined that the cover needed to be replaced we advised *** **** to contact a swimming pool professional to complete the replacement cover transaction.  New covers must be re-installed properly from putting on the springs, to making sure the cover is tensioned properly on the pool, to maintain the safety features of the cover. Again we cannot speak about the pricing she is talking about as we did not give any pricing.  If *** **** feels that she is in need of additional swimming pool professionals in her area to work with, we will be happy to supply her with other dealers, or she can visit our dealer locator center on our website at ***************

We are sorry that she has experienced this issue and we will work with the swimming pool professional of her choosing in regards to her replacement cover.  Unfortunately however as stated above this original cover cannot be repaired and must be replace.  Thank you



?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I did exactly what Loop Loc told me to do. I called Loop Loc to ask what to do and was told by them that I should contact *** to send it back. They did not at that time tell me to contact a dealer. When they received my cover they called to tell me that it was not repairable and at that time said I would have to go through a dealer with the code that they emailed to me to get a price for replacing the cover at a pro rated price. I took the code to a dealer, Shirley's Pool in Winchester Va on 8/*/2015 and was with them when they made the call to Loop Loc. The $3600 plus price was given to me by Shirley's Pool in Winchester VA. I was a seamstress for 30+ years and I know that locking chain stitching will unravel at any point if one stitch is broken. It might be tacked on both end but that is just not good enough. We take the cover off in May and put it back on last of October. It is hard to believe that UV rays would destroy it so quickly. I know that it can be re stitched. I have read the other complaints about the stitching and was repaired by Loop Loc. I did take a picture.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** ****




 

8/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first contacted the company 10 days ago to find out what I needed to do to file a warranty claim. I received an automated email response and no one called me back. I have contacted the company several times since then. They said they would warranty it, but ?I had to go through their distributors. I have contacted both vendors. One guy said he would call back and has yet to call back. The other one said he is dealing with a middle man ( local Loop-Loc rep) who needed all the information I already submitted to Loop-Loc and should know that if he called Loop-Loc like he said he did. I have a safety cover that is advertised to last years past it's warranty. However the company failed to disclose the cover needed to be removed or else it would come apart at the seems. Now I have a very unsafe cover that I cannot get replaced and two small children.

Desired Settlement: They either need to replace the cover per the warranty immediately as stated on my warranty card or give me the other half of the warranty money so I can purchase a safety cover to protect my children.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,   we are in receipt of the complaint from *** ***** ****** in regards to her Mesh Safety Swimming Pool cover order # ******.  Please note that the original order that was sent to *** ****** was for a mesh cover, as the form she filled out states that she has a solid cover.  The order number we have on file is # ****** originally purchased from **** **** in ****** *****.  We just want to verify that this is the correct cover as *** ****** states two different order numbers and states that the cover is an Ultra Loc Solid Cover. 

In regards to the Order # ****** for a Mesh Safety Cover purchased in March 2010, after reviewing the photo's that were sent to Loop-Loc it was determined that her cover suffered pre-mature U.V. deterioration and as such falls into the guidelines for the 12 year pro-rated warranty that was supplied with her cover.  We immediately informed *** ****** that we were honoring her warranty.  We are attaching an explanation which further explains U.V. deterioration for your review.  All safety covers in general are used during the winter months or at times when you require an added level of protection in the swimming pool area(vacations, long weekends, parties, etc.).  In almost all cases safety covers are not used 365 days out of the year and if this was the intent of this particular cover, we recommend that *** ****** request a solid black mesh cover with all black thread which will stand up to U.V. deterioration much longer if it is going to be on the pool every day of the year as she stated in her complaint. Unfortunately the only other options if this pool is never going to be opened is to have a hard top safety enclosure or have the pool filled in, any fabric type cover that is on a pool all year long will encounter pre-mature U.V. deterioration at a faster rate.   We will add another estimate under "****** *****" for an all black mesh cover with black thread, and then *** ****** can decide if she wants to go with the green cover as had or the all black mesh cover. 

We have honored our pro-rated warranty and have just applied an additional customer relations discount and free shipping back.  The new quote is being sent to ****** ***** who *** ****** contacted.  We are not sure of the other vendors she is speaking of as we only have one estimate in house through ****** ***** for this pro-rated replacement cover.  We hope that this has answered all of your questions, but if you are in need of additional information please feel free to contact us again.  Thank you 


?

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had Loop Loc pool covers before, now we purchased their pool liner via the pool contractor. Unlike their pool covers, their pool liners have major quality control issues which occurred twice this month over a month. (1) On 3/**/2015, the pool was measured and diagrams were sent to Loop Loc for a new replacement liner. A week later the liner arrived. Despite several drawings (diagrams), the stairs were put at the right side instead of left side as depicted on the drawings by our pool contractor of 20 years. We had to dispose of the new (wrong) liner locally while Loop Loc remade and shipped us a new liner. (2 weeks were gone and no liner.) (2) The remade liner was installed at the 3rd week. 2 days after the liner was installed, the liner floated. Pool contractor removed the liner and foam, and re-installed. The Liner floated again after 3 days. Weather was sunny both days, and there was no rain. (3) Pool contractor reported the seam of liner was leaking, and there was a hole on the liner. But Loop Loc demanded him to dive in the pool and cut off the leaking seam as proof, claiming it was company policy to follow such a procedure. Pool contractor was very upset as he has over 30 years of experience and he knew the pool well (over 20 years). But Loop Loc would not replace the defective liner until he dives in. After 4 weeks, pool was in terrible shape due to Loop Loc's repeated product quality issues, and Customer Service is not accommodating the needs of its long time customer.

Desired Settlement: Due to 2 wrong pool liners, Loop Loc must remake the liner and use a expedited trucking service to deliver the remade liner to New Jersey on the same day. Taking 5 or 6 weeks to get the new liner replaced is not good customer service.

Business Response:
We are in receipt of the complaint filed by * ***** of ***** ****** ** in regards to issues with their liner.  The first liner that Loop Loc manufactured
for this consumer was manufactured wrong due to conflicting step information
that was given to us.  Loop-Loc felt that
we should have possibly questioned the dealer on the measurements in more
detail, and since we did not, we manufactured for customer relations, the
second liner at no additional cost to the dealer or to the consumer. 

 

We were then advised by the dealer “Pool Doctor” that the
second liner was floating.  There is always
a slight chance that there is some type of pin hole or seam separation in the
second liner, and due to this we advised the dealer that he could dive into the
pool, which is a common practice, to see if he can find a hole or separation in
the liner.  Also, he was given the choice
to have us re-make the liner a 3rd time, and once the “floating”
liner was removed we would inspect it back at our facility to make a
determination, and see if there is a hole or separation.   

 

Unfortunately there is also the possibility that the pool
area has a “groundwater” issue or a problem at the pool site, which caused the
liner to float.  Groundwater issues are
the major cause for a liner to float. 
This has nothing to do with how the liner was manufactured or installed.
If this is the case, and there is not a hole in the current liner, then making
a 3rd liner would result in the same “floating” if the issue at the
pool site is not addressed. 

 

The Pool Doctor advised us that he has been in constant
contact with the consumer and that he advised them that he was going to do the
dive today, Thursday April ****. 
Once this has taken place, they will be able to determine if there is a
liner issue, or if there is a site issue. 


 

We have told the Pool Doctor that once this is figured out,
if a new liner does need to be ordered we will assist them and rush the order
into production.  We ship liners
generally in 5 business days, but again we would be able to manufacture within
2 days to assist the dealer and the consumer. 
Shipping to New Jersey is a one day shipping point.  We are sure that once the Pool Doctor gets
back to Loop-Loc with their findings we will have a better understanding of
what needs to take place. 



4/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Loop-Loc Cover failed due to the weight of snow on the cover. The failure caused a tear in my pool lining resulting in damages exceeding $8,000.00. The Company's position is that the cover failed because there was not adequate water in the pool per their warranty. My position is that the cover's failure actually caused the tear which emptied the pool. All this being said, the issue of what came first is immaterial in the face of Loop-Loc's deceptive advertising in violation of NY GBS Law Section 349 Unlawful Deceptive Acts and Practices. A visit to their website reveals an elephant standing on the pool cover suggesting that it will support the weight of an elephant. There is no indication that the pool is full, no indication that the elephant is standing on this mesh cover being supported by underlying water, no indication that the elephant even has wet feet, yet the cover is far below what the water level in a pool should be. Finally and most importantly, there is no indication below the photo or on the page of any requirement with respect to the water level. Thus, Loop-Loc is in violation of GBS 349 in their advertising and further did not make a product that withstood the weight of snow. Based upon their advertising, this cover is defective. I was advised to return the cover for their inspection and after packing it in its bag, I read the email attachment they sent only to find out thatthere is a $75.00 charge if I didn't remove the springs and a cleaning charge of $210 if THEY deem it not to be clean and they boldly state **NO EXCEPTIONS TO THIS WILL BE CONSIDERED**. This is a company that seeks to squeeze every dollar out of the consumer with misleading advertising, an inferior product and demands for money at every turn in the process.

Desired Settlement: I seek to have my cover repaired or replaced at no charge and I wish to be reimbursed for the liner replacement necessitated as a result of their faulty construction and misrepresentation in violation of GBS349.

Business Response: We completelyunderstand  *** ***** frustration over
the issues that he is having.  However,  Loop-Loc’s care and maintenance  instructions clearly states the
proper water levels that must be maintained during the winter months to support
snow and ice.  These instructions came in his homeowner package and on the
pro-rated warranty that came with the cover and are available on-line. Our
complete pro-rated warranty can be read at www.looploc.com

  

Loop-Loc shows an elephant
on the cover to prove that in the event of an emergency based on ASTM Safety
Standards the cover can hold the weight of 2 adults and one child. 

 

From the photo's that *** ***** sent us last week, it clearly shows- from what we can see- very low to
actually no water in the pool.  It is important for the weight of snow and
ice to have water underneath to support it.  The result of this
appears from – his photos - to be caused by an aged, discolored liner that
could no longer hold water and finally gave way draining the pool of water. 
From speaking with his swimming pool professional we were under the assumption
that *** ***** was completely aware that he needed to replace his liner due to
its age, and had been looking at liners. 

 

*** ***** purchased his
cover and had his cover installed through Sky Blue Pools.  Sky Blue Pools as a swimming pool
professional is aware of the fact that springs must be taken off before being
sent to our facility and that the cover must be clean and dry.  We cannot put a dirty cover on a sewing
machine to be fixed (if applicable) as it will ruin the machine and it’s
components.  Sky Blue was supposed to
handle the return for *** ***** and they would have followed the
instructions.  *** ***** chose not to
have his swimming pool professional return the cover and he returned it himself
with springs on and full of dirt and sand. 
In the interest of customer relations we will waive the spring removal
and cleaning fee. 

 

After inspecting the cover
at our facility the damage to the cover was caused by low – no water in the
pool which could not support the weight of snow and ice.  This is not covered under the pro-rated
warranty. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

This is not a breach of warranty issue. Loop loc insists that the warranty is only valid if there is water in the pool. The Loop-Loc pool cover failed and this CAUSED the pool to lose water. Loop-LOc will tell everyone that the problem is because the pools water was low simply because they have not made a product that adequately sustains the weight of snow. When this cover failed, the pool was full. The failure of the cover is what caused the liner to rip. It's a chicken and egg argument (what came first).

I am completely dissatisfied with their explanation. They have created language in their warrantee language to protect themselves from the very problem that the pool cover failure causes. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own an in-ground pool. I purchased a winter cover that was produced by the Loop-Loc Corporation. I used it for six winter seasons. The stitching on the cover failed. I did not abuse the cover to any extent that would cause it to fail prematurely before expiration of the 10 year warranty. The company would not repair the stitching and stated it would give a pro-rated refund towards a new cover replacement. The materials used in this cover are defective if it would not last through the end of the warranty period.

Desired Settlement: Since the company will not repair the cover, I am requesting a replacement with no cost to myself. The cover did not last through the warranty period. The product's longevity is inferior.

Business Response: We are not sure when you received this complaint, but we have already corresponded with *** **** in regards to his Loop Loc cover.  The letters sent are attached which explains that U.V. deterioration is not caused by the cover being abused in any way.  Ultra Violet deterioration is caused by the sun, and since the cover did not last for the pro-rated warranty period due to this issue, we are covering it under the pro rated warranty.  *** **** was able to use his cover safely and without incident for 7 years which is why we cannot replace an entire cover at no charge.  He will however once he contacts his swimming pool dealer, be entitled to a pro rated warranty price on a replacement cover.  Please let us know if you have any other questions in regards to this.  Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

We have used the cover for 6 winter seasons, not seven as stated.   We purchased the cover as per our original receipt in October of 2007.  The warranty refund offered is insufficient.  We have been advised by local professionals in the industry that this model has already been identified as being inferior due to design and materials.  The explanation that the UV rays are to blame is rather odd since the cover is used over the winter time when UV rays are at their weakest and snow obstructs light from penetrating the material.  We went through the effort of tranporting the cover to Loop Loc's facility as per their directions.  We merely wanted to have the few seams that needed repair addressed.  Now, the company states that it is beyond repair and needs to be replaced.  Why were we directed to return the cover for an assessment if no repairs were possible?  Is this a viable way to do business?  Mandate customers who have a service issue to purchase a new cover each time the company runs into an issue with the workmanship of their covers?  

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** ****




 

Business Response: We are sorry that *** **** does not agree with our pro-rated warranty, but we are honoring our pro-rated warranty.  The cover was in use for 7 seasons.  The season of 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013.  We were not advised of an issue or problem until this year 2014 at which time the cover was inspected and found to have pre-mature U.V. deterioration which again is covered under the pro-rate.  Thank you,  Loop Loc

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

In reference to your reply, you are indicating that your prorated warranty is useless.  Loop Loc is not backing this cover at all.  If a cover is made to withstand the elements such as sunshine then this should be covered under the warranty as well.   It's a concern that dealers who carry your product have advised us that this particular cover has a inherent problem with it's design and composition.  Is this the reason why the cover warrnaty was changed in 2012?  Your reply is that it is covered under a prorated warranty which, if we decided to purchase a new one,would cost us as much as the one we purchased in 2007.   It is my feeling that you are not standing behind your prodcut or workmanship.  I'm sure that we are not the only consumers that feel this way. 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** ****




 

10/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an 8 year old Loop Loc cover that is tearing along the stitching in multiple locations. I brought the cover in to Loop Loc for a repair and they reported that it is unsafe and not repairable because it has UV Deterioration. They only offered a 25% discount for a new cover which is $1500.00 after the discount! Additionally, they sewed a big tag on the cover stating that the cover is unsafe. UV damage? The cover is supposed to be outside, shouldn't UV damage be covered? There are multiple complaints online for this same issue and I feel that Loop Loc should be responsible for replacing the cover at their cost.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of cover.

Business Response: We are in receipt of *** ******* complaint regarding U.V. deterioration
on his 8 year old cover.  U.V. deterioration is covered under our 12
year pro-rated warranty (see attached).  I have also attached an
explanation of U.V. deterioration so that you may  have more
clarification.  Once this cover was sent to us for inspection it was
determined to have U.V. deterioration and we advised *** ****** that he
must go through a swimming pool professional for his replacement cover
pro-rated cost.  We were advised that *** ****** wanted his old cover
back, and since we became aware that this cover is no longer considered
safe and should not be in use on a swimming pool, we did sew in non-safe
labels before it was picked up. 

*** ****** is free to contact a
swimming pool professional in his area and is free to get quotes from
more than one in order to make sure he is getting a pro-rated price. 
Since we no longer have the old cover, he should make it clear to the
swimming pool professional that his cover was at one point at Loop Loc
and it was deemed to have U.V. deterioration, so that he can still get a
pro-rated price.  We will be able to look this up in our records and
apply the pro-rated price to the dealer he chooses to work with.

The cover is pro-rated since *** ****** was able to safely use his cover
for the past 8 winter seasons with no issues or problems.  The pro-rated
warranty that came with the cover was for an "expected" life expectancy of
12 years, and since it did encounter U.V. deterioration, we take the amount
of time the cover was in use divided by the 12 year life expectancy.  We hope
that the attached U.V. information along with a copy of the pro-rated warranty
answers *** ******* questions and concerns.  Thank you,  Loop-Loc

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

This is the same answer I received when I called the business.  I want the cover replaced at their cost.
Thank you.

Business Response: We are sorry that *** ****** does not agree with our answers as we have tried very hard to work with him in resolving this issue.  Please note we are fully honoring our pro-rated warranty and he will get a pro rated price once he speaks with a swimming pool professional.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 Product is inferior and company is unwilling to repair or replace. 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ******




 

9/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a custom Loop-Loc pool cover through ****** ******* **** * *** and have used the cover for six seasons. The cover has not been exposed to any abnormal wear and tear, and has no rips or tears in it. Two of the straps have separated from the pool cover. I personally delivered the cover to Loop-Loc. After their examination, they determined that the cover should be replaced and not repaired because of UV deterioration. I understand that Loop-Loc offers a Pro-rated warranty; however, I have an issue with the fact that the cover failed in less than half of the warranty life. I paid about $5,000 for the cover and expected to get a life at least close to the warranty coverage period. Loop-Loc now wants to charge me $3,000 for a new cover (that is without the additional charges from the dealer). I am a disabled veteran on a fixed income and made an investment in a good cover that was supposed to last, and not have to pay 4/5 of significant investment that I made only 6 years ago. This is completely unacceptable to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like Loop-Loc to stand behind their product and not hide behind their "pro-rated" warranty. When I made an investment of that magnitude I had hoped I was getting a product that would provide security for the life of the warranty, and not have to pay almost double of the initial cost for the life of the warranty. Stand behind your product!

Repair

Business Response: We are in receipt of *** *********'s complaint in regards to his Loop-Loc Safety Cover.  Upon inspection of the cover it was found to have encountered pre-mature U.V. thread deterioration which affects the stability and safety of the entire cover, not just the two areas that were apparent to *** *********.  The straps separating from the cover is a clear indication that the thread has deteriorated beyond repair.  If we even tried to fix the few areas that are apparent, the rest of the cover will fail in a very short time due to this very non-safe issue, especially if the cover encounters any type of snow load.  Pre-mature U.V. deterioration is covered under our pro-rated warranty.

In the interest of customer relations, we have spoken today with his swimming pool dealer, ******** ***** ** ******* *******, and we have advised them that we will discount the cover an additional $500.  They have assured us that they will pass along this entire discount to *** *********.  Please have *** ********* contact ******** ***** ** ******* ******* for his updated pricing.  We are sorry that *** ********* has encountered this issue, but please know we take safety very seriously, and for that reason the cover does need to be replaced with a new cover.  Thank you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

I purchased a pool cover with a 12 year warranty. A "pro-rated" warranty is as good as no warranty. Just because Loop-Loc responds to this complaint does not mean they stand behind their product. My pool cover experienced no more exposure to the elements than anyone else's pool cover would have. As a company, you charge a price for a cover and put a warranty on it to instill confidence in the customer that their product is worth the initial investment. Well my initial investment was $5K. Now, 6 seasons later (half way into the so called "warranty") they want to charge me $2.5k(which includes their wonderful discount of $500, but not including what my dealer will charge me for re-installation). Loop-loc can hide behind thier pro-rated warranty all they want, but if they were an honest company that stood behind their product they would: A) be realistic about their warranty and say its only for half the time they claim to give potential customers realistic expectations, or B) charge 1.5 - 2x more for thier current claimed warranty, and C) stop hiding behind their dealers to handle the consequences of premature failure of their product...it adds cowardice to their dishonesty. I am very disappointed in Loop-loc, their products survivability, and the manner in which they do business. Perhaps they should put a disclaimer under the picture of the elephant on one of thier covers that says "but will not stand up to the the sun", or "this is a pro-rated elephant (half filled with hot-air so he's half the weight)"


Sincerely,

**** *********




 

9/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vinyl mesh swimming pool safety cover from Loop-Loc, Ltd. *** ***** ******** ********** ** ***** ***.A., (800) LOC-LOOP on October *, 2008 for $2,670.60 with a 12-year pro-rated warranty. During the pool opening in May of 2017, when the cover was being removed, we noticed that there were 2 tears near the center of the cover on 1 panel and the stitching was becoming undone along one seam a couple of feet from opposite edge of the pool. I notified Loop-loc and was asked to email some photos of the damage. They told me the damage was covered under the warranty and that all the hardware, ie. fifty steel springs & buckles would have to be removed, a form filled out and the cover sent back to the factory by the dealer who installed the cover. It was a 2 hour job for me to remove all the hardware. It was sent back in July. On August ****, I received a call from the dealer, telling me that my replacement cost under the warranty would be $2,500. I asked the dealer why the price was so expensive given the fact that I was getting half the warranty life of the cover credited. He said the price of a new cover in 2014 is now $4,087.00 which is a 53% increase in less than 6 years. He said, it’s because they replace everything including the hardware and I also have to pay for a new installation, which is about $500 of the cost. My contention is there is nothing wrong with the original hardware, which was a significant part of the cost of the original cover purchase, so why can’t I use it? The re-installation is much easier, since the new cover has the same foot print as the old cover, all the screws and hardware have already been drilled into the concrete pool deck, none of which has to be repeated, and this was the biggest part of the initial installation. I also mentioned that I was not in a position to have to spend this much money to replace this pool cover and why could they not just repair the cover. The dealer told me I would have to speak to Loop-loc. I called Loop-loc on August **** and the man I spoke with rudely and arrogantly informed me that he could not speak to me about any specifics regarding this case until the dealer signed some sort of “release”. I called the dealer back and the dealer did not know what they meant by signing a release, since he had never before been asked to do anything like this. I also had some concerns about how they were calculating the pro-rated warranty. The dealer suggested that they would probably talk to me about general warranty questions. So, I called back and spoke to a **** in customer service. She told me that she would have to call the dealer to get my question answered and that she would. I never received a call back. I am outraged by the policies and conduct of Loop-loc and feel that their policies and procedures are not transparent or reasonable, their customer service is arrogant and their price increases are not consistent with the price of materials and labor increases. Futhermore, it took well over a month to notify me of the replacement costs and now I feel like I'm being held hostage, because it is very close to the time that the pool needs to be closed for the season and I believe that they know that use it as a strategy to extract more money from people who feel pressured to protect their pools.

Desired Settlement: As a remedy to this situation, I either want them to repair the cover or replace it at a much more reasonable cost.

Business Response: We are in receipt of the complaint
sent in my *** ****** in regards to his Loop-Loc Safety swimming pool cover
purchased through ****** ***** * **** in ************ ** in 2008.  The damage to the cover is U.V. thread deterioration
which is covered under our pro-rated warranty. 
Unfortunately covers that encounter premature U.V. deterioration such as
this cover, cannot be repaired and must be replaced.  If we repaired the few areas that are torn
and sent the cover back, it will only be a matter of weeks before the other
areas of the cover start to come apart as the entire cover shows signs of
premature U.V. thread deterioration.  This
makes the cover extremely unsafe and for these reasons we will only offer a
replacement under the pro-rated warranty.

 

I apologize if *** ******
feels we were rude or unkind when he called our facility.  Our dealer’s accounts, such as ****** *****
* ****, are password protected and our customer support team cannot access
the dealers private account without his password.  The dealers account information is
confidential for their protection and as such only the dealer can gain
information from this account.  **** did
speak with *** ****** and advised him that she would speak with the dealer on
his behalf and that she would have ****** ***** * **** return his phone
call.  **** spoke with ***** at ******
***** * **** on two occasions yesterday and he advised **** that he would
call *** ****** and speak with him.  It is
possible that ***** did not have the opportunity as of yet to speak with *** ******
before this BBB complaint. 

 

Since we cannot always
determine from photographs if the damage is repairable or if the cover has to
be replaced, we do always stress that the springs should be removed before
shipping the cover back to us.  Leaving
the springs on the cover and shipping the cover will in many cases cause
further damage, which if the cover was a candidate for repair would add
additional cost’s to the repair.  That
being said however, there is no reason why *** ****** cannot re-use the springs
in his possession for the new cover.  I have
removed the new springs off of the order and applied the credit, and since the
brass anchors are installed we never had these listed on the replacement cover order.   

 

In terms of the price to
re-install the new cover, this has nothing to do with Loop-Loc and is something
that *** ****** and ****** ***** must discuss. 
We cannot tell or advise our dealers on installation costs.  We have spoken with ***** from ****** *****
again today, and in the interest of customer relations we have deducted an additional
$350 from the replacement cover cost.  We
hope that this answers any outstanding questions and again we apologize to *** ****** if he felt we did not offer him outstanding customer service, but again
our customer support team cannot access a confidential account.  Thank you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

They offered me the $350 discount prior to any discussion about reusing the hardware. I spoke yesterday with **** * at Loop-loc and he told me that he would discuss an additional discount for the re-use of the hardware that does not need to be replaced with the dealer- ****** **** *** ***.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ******



 

Business Response: There was never any anchors included in the estimate for the replacement so there was nothing to deduct for this .  The springs were taken off at the time of the complaint before the $350 discount was applied.  Spring allowance is $1.00 per spring and was removed from the cost. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

This response and offer is unreasonable and unacceptable.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ******




 

7/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a loop loc pool cover 3 years ago in after the 1st season we had to return the cover to LOOP-LOC for repair due an issue with part of the cover that had become unsewn. LOOP-LOC paid all shipping cost associated with this return. This year when we removed the cover we noticed that again the cover was unsewn in the same place. The second issue we had was that while folding the cover up we heard a ripping sound and found 3 tears in the cover. I spoke to a customer service rep who said I would have to return the cover at my expense initially but if they found that it was returned for the same repair again my shipping cost would be covered. I spent $87 to return the cover. Once LOOP LOC received it they told us that the issue with where the cover was unsewn was a result of the original issue with the cover but they told me tears in the fabric looked like cuts and we would have to pay to have them repaired. Both myself and my husband called and spoke to customer service and the ******** ******* ******* explaining exactly what happened but we either didn’t get return calls or had to follow up several times and when we did speak to the ******** ******* ******* she was rude and only wanted to keep repeating what she felt happen to the cover. We were told we would have to pay the repairs to the tears and were quoted 2 cost one to replace the panels and the other to patch the tears. We felt stuck with having to make a decision and went with the lesser cost of having them patched. We were also told they would not pay any of the shipping cost because that is not their policy even though this is the 2nd time the cover was returned for the same issue and they picked up all shipping the 1st time. After more phone calls and email back and forth the only thing they agreed to do was take 20% off the cost of the repairs to the tears. This was only a savings of 30 which they turned around and charged us in the return shipping.

Desired Settlement: Pay for our shipping cost both ways and replace the torn panels not patch at no cost to us.

Business Response: Firstly let me apologize to *** & **** ****** for the issues they have encountered with their Loop Loc cover.  I have reviewed the damage to the cover along with the paperwork associated.  The area that became unsewn is a pro-rated warranty issue and is being done at no charge.  The rips in the cover do not seem to be from defective material, and seem to have been made by an outside source, such as being caught and pulled on something, being cut by something, etc.  There are just too many possibilities as to how the cover could have become ripped, but again damage such as this is not consistent with a warranty issue.

That being said however, due to the cover having to come back to our facility two times to be resewn in the same place, we will for customer relations replace the ripped panles (not patch, but replace) at no additional charge.  We will also handle the shipping cost back to *** & **** ****** at no cost to them. We will begin work on the cover, and it should be ready to ship back to them in the next week to two weeks maximum. 

Since this cover had to come back to be resewn in the same spot two times, I would request if *** & **** ****** agree, that my sales representative visit the job site when they re-install the cover this year to see if there are any issues in the field that is causing the gap guard treatment to pull away and become unsewn.  If this is acceptable, they can contact ****** my ******** ******* ******* to advise her when the cover is properly installed again on the pool and she will arrange for our sales representative to come and inspect the cover.  Thank you and again we apologize for the issues that they have encountered.  Sincerely, ****** ************* 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 
We appreciate the response by we also  asked that the shipping cost that we incurred having to ship this to them be covered.   

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ******




 

Business Response: We are sorry we did not make that clear in our response.  Loop Loc will re-imburse the shipping to our facility, but we need a copy invoice showing the dollar amount.  Please forward to ******************, so that we may have a check sent out this week.  Please be aware however that we do need to inspect this cover once it is installed again to see if there is an installation problem, or further repairs similar to this will be done at our normal repair costs.  Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ******



 

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Loop Loc cover from Rainbow Pools, Inc., that was defective as it did not fit the pool. The cover was purchased by Rainbow through Loop Loc. I contacted loop Loc and they said someone would call back but no one did. They wanted to blame Rainbow but they were the ones the manufactured the defective cover.

Desired Settlement: replacement cover delivered and installed with in a week because the weather is getting bad and the fact that the pool is not covered properly could do detrimental harm. further, if I went to another pool company they would have to go through loop loc to get it. I also want a refund for the aggravation caused & time spent because they ignored my complaint made directly to them.

Business Response: Thank you for contacting us in regards to *** ******* ********'s issue with his Loop-Loc cover.  When we originally received his complaint we contacted his dealer Rainbow Pools and spoke with *****.  ***** from Rainbow advised us that he has already taken care of any issues *** ******** had with his cover and that this matter was resolved.  If for some reason *** ******** feels there are still any outstanding issues they can contact Rainbow Pools or Loop Loc again.  Thank you.

10/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Loop-Loc pool cover online about 6 years ago. Their express warranty is prorated 12 year. After I shipped my cover to them for inspection, their results were, in their words, " This cover is not safe and should be replaced. Age of cover: 10+ R.T.N. 45846 Damage: UV". I emailed them the information sewn by the factory on a tag to the pool cover itself reads the factory finish date: 6/2007 and the order number (whether mine or the actual retailer I don't know):*******. They responded: "We updated the estimate to refelct the correct age of your cover. We are a dealer direct company, therefore you must contact a dealer to get the cost to replace your cover. The dealer will get the pro-rated cost and he will let you know the cost to you. If you have any further questions, please call customer service. Thank you for contacting LoopLoc." This is a warranty covered cause. The procedure is to contact a Loop-Loc dealer for a replacement estimate and they contact Loop-Loc for the warranty coverage amount. I contacted Polytecpools, they contacted Loop-Loc and got a response that they warranty coverage was ~$60. Their warranty states that they will cover the cost of the replacement less 1/144th for each month the cover was in service. The cover was in service for 73 months, 6/2007 to 7/2013 (the return date of the cover to the factory). Thus their obligation is 144 - 73 or 71/144th(s) of the cost of replacement. They offered ~$60. I'd be happy to pay $61 for a replacement cover but some how, since the price is $914.95, I don't think that's the case. Their OBLIGATION is ~$451.12. I emailed them over 2 weeks ago regarding this issue and they have not responded.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their express warranty.

Business Response: We are in receipt of *** ***'s complaint regarding his pro-rated warranty on his Loop Loc cover.  This cover was returned to us and was found to have U.V. damaged thread, which is covered under our pro-rated warranty.  As the manufacturer we sell only to swimming pool professionals and all warranty issues are suppose to go through the dealer that sold the original cover.  Once it was determined that *** ***'s cover was a pro-rated warranty issue and we could not repair the cover we advised him to speak with his swimming pool professional in regards to getting a replacement pro-rated warranty cover.  


Pro-rated warranty pricing is based on the current retail (list) pricing of a cover, which is not the same cost as when the cover was purchased over six years ago.  Over a 6 year time period the costs involved in manufacturing this cover from materials to labor, etc. obviously has increased, which is why the pro-rated price is based on the cost of the cover in today's marketplace, not what it cost over 6 years ago. This is clearly stated in our pro-rated warranty certificate.  I believe the misunderstanding on *** ***'s part is the additional discount of $61.40 that was applied to the order.  This discount is applied to all Loop-Loc and non-Loop-Loc replacement covers for the 2013 season as part of our 35 year anniversary promotion.  It was a special incentive to swimming pool professionals and in no way reflects the pro-rated cost at all.  

There is a possibility that Polytec Pools was not aware of this promotion and as such read the paperwork wrong when they received it, believing that this was all that the pro-rate was worth.  Polytech Pools is welcome to call us to clarify the exact pro-rated pricing for the cover for *** ***. We are sorry if our internal paperwork has caused some confusion and we will also speak with Polytec to make sure they are understanding the pro-rated pricing that we supplied them.  Again though we want to point out that the pro-rated price is based on the current list price of the cover.  Thank you,  Loop-Loc Customer Care.

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Loop-Loc Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)