BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The firm manufacturers and sells safety pool covers and other pool safety products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Loop-Loc Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Loop-Loc Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Loop-Loc Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated: 01/01/1974 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lee Ann Donaton Pesta, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lee Ann Donaton Pesta, President
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL COVER SALES & SERVICE MANUFACTURERS & PRODUCERS

Alternate Business Names
Loop Loc Loop Lock Pool Cover Corp.

Additional Locations

  • 390 Motor Parkway

    Hauppauge, NY 11788

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 562-5667(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own an in-ground pool. I purchased a winter cover that was produced by the Loop-Loc Corporation. I used it for six winter seasons. The stitching on the cover failed. I did not abuse the cover to any extent that would cause it to fail prematurely before expiration of the 10 year warranty. The company would not repair the stitching and stated it would give a pro-rated refund towards a new cover replacement. The materials used in this cover are defective if it would not last through the end of the warranty period.

Desired Settlement: Since the company will not repair the cover, I am requesting a replacement with no cost to myself. The cover did not last through the warranty period. The product's longevity is inferior.

Business Response: We are not sure when you received this complaint, but we have already corresponded with *** **** in regards to his Loop Loc cover.  The letters sent are attached which explains that U.V. deterioration is not caused by the cover being abused in any way.  Ultra Violet deterioration is caused by the sun, and since the cover did not last for the pro-rated warranty period due to this issue, we are covering it under the pro rated warranty.  *** **** was able to use his cover safely and without incident for 7 years which is why we cannot replace an entire cover at no charge.  He will however once he contacts his swimming pool dealer, be entitled to a pro rated warranty price on a replacement cover.  Please let us know if you have any other questions in regards to this.  Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

We have used the cover for 6 winter seasons, not seven as stated.   We purchased the cover as per our original receipt in October of 2007.  The warranty refund offered is insufficient.  We have been advised by local professionals in the industry that this model has already been identified as being inferior due to design and materials.  The explanation that the UV rays are to blame is rather odd since the cover is used over the winter time when UV rays are at their weakest and snow obstructs light from penetrating the material.  We went through the effort of tranporting the cover to Loop Loc's facility as per their directions.  We merely wanted to have the few seams that needed repair addressed.  Now, the company states that it is beyond repair and needs to be replaced.  Why were we directed to return the cover for an assessment if no repairs were possible?  Is this a viable way to do business?  Mandate customers who have a service issue to purchase a new cover each time the company runs into an issue with the workmanship of their covers?  

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** ****




 

Business Response: We are sorry that *** **** does not agree with our pro-rated warranty, but we are honoring our pro-rated warranty.  The cover was in use for 7 seasons.  The season of 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013.  We were not advised of an issue or problem until this year 2014 at which time the cover was inspected and found to have pre-mature U.V. deterioration which again is covered under the pro-rate.  Thank you,  Loop Loc

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

In reference to your reply, you are indicating that your prorated warranty is useless.  Loop Loc is not backing this cover at all.  If a cover is made to withstand the elements such as sunshine then this should be covered under the warranty as well.   It's a concern that dealers who carry your product have advised us that this particular cover has a inherent problem with it's design and composition.  Is this the reason why the cover warrnaty was changed in 2012?  Your reply is that it is covered under a prorated warranty which, if we decided to purchase a new one,would cost us as much as the one we purchased in 2007.   It is my feeling that you are not standing behind your prodcut or workmanship.  I'm sure that we are not the only consumers that feel this way. 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** ****




 

10/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an 8 year old Loop Loc cover that is tearing along the stitching in multiple locations. I brought the cover in to Loop Loc for a repair and they reported that it is unsafe and not repairable because it has UV Deterioration. They only offered a 25% discount for a new cover which is $1500.00 after the discount! Additionally, they sewed a big tag on the cover stating that the cover is unsafe. UV damage? The cover is supposed to be outside, shouldn't UV damage be covered? There are multiple complaints online for this same issue and I feel that Loop Loc should be responsible for replacing the cover at their cost.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of cover.

Business Response: We are in receipt of *** ******* complaint regarding U.V. deterioration
on his 8 year old cover.  U.V. deterioration is covered under our 12
year pro-rated warranty (see attached).  I have also attached an
explanation of U.V. deterioration so that you may  have more
clarification.  Once this cover was sent to us for inspection it was
determined to have U.V. deterioration and we advised *** ****** that he
must go through a swimming pool professional for his replacement cover
pro-rated cost.  We were advised that *** ****** wanted his old cover
back, and since we became aware that this cover is no longer considered
safe and should not be in use on a swimming pool, we did sew in non-safe
labels before it was picked up. 

*** ****** is free to contact a
swimming pool professional in his area and is free to get quotes from
more than one in order to make sure he is getting a pro-rated price. 
Since we no longer have the old cover, he should make it clear to the
swimming pool professional that his cover was at one point at Loop Loc
and it was deemed to have U.V. deterioration, so that he can still get a
pro-rated price.  We will be able to look this up in our records and
apply the pro-rated price to the dealer he chooses to work with.

The cover is pro-rated since *** ****** was able to safely use his cover
for the past 8 winter seasons with no issues or problems.  The pro-rated
warranty that came with the cover was for an "expected" life expectancy of
12 years, and since it did encounter U.V. deterioration, we take the amount
of time the cover was in use divided by the 12 year life expectancy.  We hope
that the attached U.V. information along with a copy of the pro-rated warranty
answers *** ******* questions and concerns.  Thank you,  Loop-Loc

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

This is the same answer I received when I called the business.  I want the cover replaced at their cost.
Thank you.

Business Response: We are sorry that *** ****** does not agree with our answers as we have tried very hard to work with him in resolving this issue.  Please note we are fully honoring our pro-rated warranty and he will get a pro rated price once he speaks with a swimming pool professional.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 Product is inferior and company is unwilling to repair or replace. 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ******




 

9/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a custom Loop-Loc pool cover through ****** ******* **** * *** and have used the cover for six seasons. The cover has not been exposed to any abnormal wear and tear, and has no rips or tears in it. Two of the straps have separated from the pool cover. I personally delivered the cover to Loop-Loc. After their examination, they determined that the cover should be replaced and not repaired because of UV deterioration. I understand that Loop-Loc offers a Pro-rated warranty; however, I have an issue with the fact that the cover failed in less than half of the warranty life. I paid about $5,000 for the cover and expected to get a life at least close to the warranty coverage period. Loop-Loc now wants to charge me $3,000 for a new cover (that is without the additional charges from the dealer). I am a disabled veteran on a fixed income and made an investment in a good cover that was supposed to last, and not have to pay 4/5 of significant investment that I made only 6 years ago. This is completely unacceptable to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like Loop-Loc to stand behind their product and not hide behind their "pro-rated" warranty. When I made an investment of that magnitude I had hoped I was getting a product that would provide security for the life of the warranty, and not have to pay almost double of the initial cost for the life of the warranty. Stand behind your product!

Repair

Business Response: We are in receipt of *** *********'s complaint in regards to his Loop-Loc Safety Cover.  Upon inspection of the cover it was found to have encountered pre-mature U.V. thread deterioration which affects the stability and safety of the entire cover, not just the two areas that were apparent to *** *********.  The straps separating from the cover is a clear indication that the thread has deteriorated beyond repair.  If we even tried to fix the few areas that are apparent, the rest of the cover will fail in a very short time due to this very non-safe issue, especially if the cover encounters any type of snow load.  Pre-mature U.V. deterioration is covered under our pro-rated warranty.

In the interest of customer relations, we have spoken today with his swimming pool dealer, ******** ***** ** ******* *******, and we have advised them that we will discount the cover an additional $500.  They have assured us that they will pass along this entire discount to *** *********.  Please have *** ********* contact ******** ***** ** ******* ******* for his updated pricing.  We are sorry that *** ********* has encountered this issue, but please know we take safety very seriously, and for that reason the cover does need to be replaced with a new cover.  Thank you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

I purchased a pool cover with a 12 year warranty. A "pro-rated" warranty is as good as no warranty. Just because Loop-Loc responds to this complaint does not mean they stand behind their product. My pool cover experienced no more exposure to the elements than anyone else's pool cover would have. As a company, you charge a price for a cover and put a warranty on it to instill confidence in the customer that their product is worth the initial investment. Well my initial investment was $5K. Now, 6 seasons later (half way into the so called "warranty") they want to charge me $2.5k(which includes their wonderful discount of $500, but not including what my dealer will charge me for re-installation). Loop-loc can hide behind thier pro-rated warranty all they want, but if they were an honest company that stood behind their product they would: A) be realistic about their warranty and say its only for half the time they claim to give potential customers realistic expectations, or B) charge 1.5 - 2x more for thier current claimed warranty, and C) stop hiding behind their dealers to handle the consequences of premature failure of their product...it adds cowardice to their dishonesty. I am very disappointed in Loop-loc, their products survivability, and the manner in which they do business. Perhaps they should put a disclaimer under the picture of the elephant on one of thier covers that says "but will not stand up to the the sun", or "this is a pro-rated elephant (half filled with hot-air so he's half the weight)"


Sincerely,

**** *********




 

9/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vinyl mesh swimming pool safety cover from Loop-Loc, Ltd. *** ***** ******** ********** ** ***** ***.A., (800) LOC-LOOP on October *, 2008 for $2,670.60 with a 12-year pro-rated warranty. During the pool opening in May of 2017, when the cover was being removed, we noticed that there were 2 tears near the center of the cover on 1 panel and the stitching was becoming undone along one seam a couple of feet from opposite edge of the pool. I notified Loop-loc and was asked to email some photos of the damage. They told me the damage was covered under the warranty and that all the hardware, ie. fifty steel springs & buckles would have to be removed, a form filled out and the cover sent back to the factory by the dealer who installed the cover. It was a 2 hour job for me to remove all the hardware. It was sent back in July. On August ****, I received a call from the dealer, telling me that my replacement cost under the warranty would be $2,500. I asked the dealer why the price was so expensive given the fact that I was getting half the warranty life of the cover credited. He said the price of a new cover in 2014 is now $4,087.00 which is a 53% increase in less than 6 years. He said, it’s because they replace everything including the hardware and I also have to pay for a new installation, which is about $500 of the cost. My contention is there is nothing wrong with the original hardware, which was a significant part of the cost of the original cover purchase, so why can’t I use it? The re-installation is much easier, since the new cover has the same foot print as the old cover, all the screws and hardware have already been drilled into the concrete pool deck, none of which has to be repeated, and this was the biggest part of the initial installation. I also mentioned that I was not in a position to have to spend this much money to replace this pool cover and why could they not just repair the cover. The dealer told me I would have to speak to Loop-loc. I called Loop-loc on August **** and the man I spoke with rudely and arrogantly informed me that he could not speak to me about any specifics regarding this case until the dealer signed some sort of “release”. I called the dealer back and the dealer did not know what they meant by signing a release, since he had never before been asked to do anything like this. I also had some concerns about how they were calculating the pro-rated warranty. The dealer suggested that they would probably talk to me about general warranty questions. So, I called back and spoke to a **** in customer service. She told me that she would have to call the dealer to get my question answered and that she would. I never received a call back. I am outraged by the policies and conduct of Loop-loc and feel that their policies and procedures are not transparent or reasonable, their customer service is arrogant and their price increases are not consistent with the price of materials and labor increases. Futhermore, it took well over a month to notify me of the replacement costs and now I feel like I'm being held hostage, because it is very close to the time that the pool needs to be closed for the season and I believe that they know that use it as a strategy to extract more money from people who feel pressured to protect their pools.

Desired Settlement: As a remedy to this situation, I either want them to repair the cover or replace it at a much more reasonable cost.

Business Response: We are in receipt of the complaint
sent in my *** ****** in regards to his Loop-Loc Safety swimming pool cover
purchased through ****** ***** * **** in ************ ** in 2008.  The damage to the cover is U.V. thread deterioration
which is covered under our pro-rated warranty. 
Unfortunately covers that encounter premature U.V. deterioration such as
this cover, cannot be repaired and must be replaced.  If we repaired the few areas that are torn
and sent the cover back, it will only be a matter of weeks before the other
areas of the cover start to come apart as the entire cover shows signs of
premature U.V. thread deterioration.  This
makes the cover extremely unsafe and for these reasons we will only offer a
replacement under the pro-rated warranty.

 

I apologize if *** ******
feels we were rude or unkind when he called our facility.  Our dealer’s accounts, such as ****** *****
* ****, are password protected and our customer support team cannot access
the dealers private account without his password.  The dealers account information is
confidential for their protection and as such only the dealer can gain
information from this account.  **** did
speak with *** ****** and advised him that she would speak with the dealer on
his behalf and that she would have ****** ***** * **** return his phone
call.  **** spoke with ***** at ******
***** * **** on two occasions yesterday and he advised **** that he would
call *** ****** and speak with him.  It is
possible that ***** did not have the opportunity as of yet to speak with *** ******
before this BBB complaint. 

 

Since we cannot always
determine from photographs if the damage is repairable or if the cover has to
be replaced, we do always stress that the springs should be removed before
shipping the cover back to us.  Leaving
the springs on the cover and shipping the cover will in many cases cause
further damage, which if the cover was a candidate for repair would add
additional cost’s to the repair.  That
being said however, there is no reason why *** ****** cannot re-use the springs
in his possession for the new cover.  I have
removed the new springs off of the order and applied the credit, and since the
brass anchors are installed we never had these listed on the replacement cover order.   

 

In terms of the price to
re-install the new cover, this has nothing to do with Loop-Loc and is something
that *** ****** and ****** ***** must discuss. 
We cannot tell or advise our dealers on installation costs.  We have spoken with ***** from ****** *****
again today, and in the interest of customer relations we have deducted an additional
$350 from the replacement cover cost.  We
hope that this answers any outstanding questions and again we apologize to *** ****** if he felt we did not offer him outstanding customer service, but again
our customer support team cannot access a confidential account.  Thank you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

They offered me the $350 discount prior to any discussion about reusing the hardware. I spoke yesterday with **** * at Loop-loc and he told me that he would discuss an additional discount for the re-use of the hardware that does not need to be replaced with the dealer- ****** **** *** ***.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ******



 

Business Response: There was never any anchors included in the estimate for the replacement so there was nothing to deduct for this .  The springs were taken off at the time of the complaint before the $350 discount was applied.  Spring allowance is $1.00 per spring and was removed from the cost. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

This response and offer is unreasonable and unacceptable.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ******




 

7/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a loop loc pool cover 3 years ago in after the 1st season we had to return the cover to LOOP-LOC for repair due an issue with part of the cover that had become unsewn. LOOP-LOC paid all shipping cost associated with this return. This year when we removed the cover we noticed that again the cover was unsewn in the same place. The second issue we had was that while folding the cover up we heard a ripping sound and found 3 tears in the cover. I spoke to a customer service rep who said I would have to return the cover at my expense initially but if they found that it was returned for the same repair again my shipping cost would be covered. I spent $87 to return the cover. Once LOOP LOC received it they told us that the issue with where the cover was unsewn was a result of the original issue with the cover but they told me tears in the fabric looked like cuts and we would have to pay to have them repaired. Both myself and my husband called and spoke to customer service and the ******** ******* ******* explaining exactly what happened but we either didn’t get return calls or had to follow up several times and when we did speak to the ******** ******* ******* she was rude and only wanted to keep repeating what she felt happen to the cover. We were told we would have to pay the repairs to the tears and were quoted 2 cost one to replace the panels and the other to patch the tears. We felt stuck with having to make a decision and went with the lesser cost of having them patched. We were also told they would not pay any of the shipping cost because that is not their policy even though this is the 2nd time the cover was returned for the same issue and they picked up all shipping the 1st time. After more phone calls and email back and forth the only thing they agreed to do was take 20% off the cost of the repairs to the tears. This was only a savings of 30 which they turned around and charged us in the return shipping.

Desired Settlement: Pay for our shipping cost both ways and replace the torn panels not patch at no cost to us.

Business Response: Firstly let me apologize to *** & **** ****** for the issues they have encountered with their Loop Loc cover.  I have reviewed the damage to the cover along with the paperwork associated.  The area that became unsewn is a pro-rated warranty issue and is being done at no charge.  The rips in the cover do not seem to be from defective material, and seem to have been made by an outside source, such as being caught and pulled on something, being cut by something, etc.  There are just too many possibilities as to how the cover could have become ripped, but again damage such as this is not consistent with a warranty issue.

That being said however, due to the cover having to come back to our facility two times to be resewn in the same place, we will for customer relations replace the ripped panles (not patch, but replace) at no additional charge.  We will also handle the shipping cost back to *** & **** ****** at no cost to them. We will begin work on the cover, and it should be ready to ship back to them in the next week to two weeks maximum. 

Since this cover had to come back to be resewn in the same spot two times, I would request if *** & **** ****** agree, that my sales representative visit the job site when they re-install the cover this year to see if there are any issues in the field that is causing the gap guard treatment to pull away and become unsewn.  If this is acceptable, they can contact ****** my ******** ******* ******* to advise her when the cover is properly installed again on the pool and she will arrange for our sales representative to come and inspect the cover.  Thank you and again we apologize for the issues that they have encountered.  Sincerely, ****** ************* 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 
We appreciate the response by we also  asked that the shipping cost that we incurred having to ship this to them be covered.   

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ******




 

Business Response: We are sorry we did not make that clear in our response.  Loop Loc will re-imburse the shipping to our facility, but we need a copy invoice showing the dollar amount.  Please forward to ******************, so that we may have a check sent out this week.  Please be aware however that we do need to inspect this cover once it is installed again to see if there is an installation problem, or further repairs similar to this will be done at our normal repair costs.  Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ******



 

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Loop Loc cover from Rainbow Pools, Inc., that was defective as it did not fit the pool. The cover was purchased by Rainbow through Loop Loc. I contacted loop Loc and they said someone would call back but no one did. They wanted to blame Rainbow but they were the ones the manufactured the defective cover.

Desired Settlement: replacement cover delivered and installed with in a week because the weather is getting bad and the fact that the pool is not covered properly could do detrimental harm. further, if I went to another pool company they would have to go through loop loc to get it. I also want a refund for the aggravation caused & time spent because they ignored my complaint made directly to them.

Business Response: Thank you for contacting us in regards to *** ******* ********'s issue with his Loop-Loc cover.  When we originally received his complaint we contacted his dealer Rainbow Pools and spoke with *****.  ***** from Rainbow advised us that he has already taken care of any issues *** ******** had with his cover and that this matter was resolved.  If for some reason *** ******** feels there are still any outstanding issues they can contact Rainbow Pools or Loop Loc again.  Thank you.

10/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Loop-Loc pool cover online about 6 years ago. Their express warranty is prorated 12 year. After I shipped my cover to them for inspection, their results were, in their words, " This cover is not safe and should be replaced. Age of cover: 10+ R.T.N. 45846 Damage: UV". I emailed them the information sewn by the factory on a tag to the pool cover itself reads the factory finish date: 6/2007 and the order number (whether mine or the actual retailer I don't know):*******. They responded: "We updated the estimate to refelct the correct age of your cover. We are a dealer direct company, therefore you must contact a dealer to get the cost to replace your cover. The dealer will get the pro-rated cost and he will let you know the cost to you. If you have any further questions, please call customer service. Thank you for contacting LoopLoc." This is a warranty covered cause. The procedure is to contact a Loop-Loc dealer for a replacement estimate and they contact Loop-Loc for the warranty coverage amount. I contacted Polytecpools, they contacted Loop-Loc and got a response that they warranty coverage was ~$60. Their warranty states that they will cover the cost of the replacement less 1/144th for each month the cover was in service. The cover was in service for 73 months, 6/2007 to 7/2013 (the return date of the cover to the factory). Thus their obligation is 144 - 73 or 71/144th(s) of the cost of replacement. They offered ~$60. I'd be happy to pay $61 for a replacement cover but some how, since the price is $914.95, I don't think that's the case. Their OBLIGATION is ~$451.12. I emailed them over 2 weeks ago regarding this issue and they have not responded.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their express warranty.

Business Response: We are in receipt of *** ***'s complaint regarding his pro-rated warranty on his Loop Loc cover.  This cover was returned to us and was found to have U.V. damaged thread, which is covered under our pro-rated warranty.  As the manufacturer we sell only to swimming pool professionals and all warranty issues are suppose to go through the dealer that sold the original cover.  Once it was determined that *** ***'s cover was a pro-rated warranty issue and we could not repair the cover we advised him to speak with his swimming pool professional in regards to getting a replacement pro-rated warranty cover.  


Pro-rated warranty pricing is based on the current retail (list) pricing of a cover, which is not the same cost as when the cover was purchased over six years ago.  Over a 6 year time period the costs involved in manufacturing this cover from materials to labor, etc. obviously has increased, which is why the pro-rated price is based on the cost of the cover in today's marketplace, not what it cost over 6 years ago. This is clearly stated in our pro-rated warranty certificate.  I believe the misunderstanding on *** ***'s part is the additional discount of $61.40 that was applied to the order.  This discount is applied to all Loop-Loc and non-Loop-Loc replacement covers for the 2013 season as part of our 35 year anniversary promotion.  It was a special incentive to swimming pool professionals and in no way reflects the pro-rated cost at all.  

There is a possibility that Polytec Pools was not aware of this promotion and as such read the paperwork wrong when they received it, believing that this was all that the pro-rate was worth.  Polytech Pools is welcome to call us to clarify the exact pro-rated pricing for the cover for *** ***. We are sorry if our internal paperwork has caused some confusion and we will also speak with Polytec to make sure they are understanding the pro-rated pricing that we supplied them.  Again though we want to point out that the pro-rated price is based on the current list price of the cover.  Thank you,  Loop-Loc Customer Care.

 

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a special needs child and wanted to buy the best safety cover with the best warranty. I was directed to buy a LoopLoc cover from the dealer, even though it costs considerably more than their competitors. After 3 years of use some of the stitching started to come apart. I called the dealer and was told it is triple stitched and that unless a large area was coming apart that it was fine. The next year the stitching was considerably worse. I called Looploc and they asked for pictures. I sent them pictures in an email June **, 2013. They could not determine the cause of damage from the photos and asked me to send them the cover. After sending them the cover I was told by **** at LoopLoc that the cover is not safe and it has defective thread and it would not be returned to me, but would have to be replaced. I was told by **** that LoopLoc does not deal with the customer and I would have to deal with the dealer it was bought from. After talking with 4 different customer service reps over 2 weeks I was finally given a replacement estimate of $800. That is almost 75% of the original cost and is totally unacceptable. We did not expect and have not financially planned to have to replace this costly item after less than five years of use, especially when the problem started after only 3 years of use.

Desired Settlement: It would be fair if LoopLoc used 36 months of use as the start time of the defect. The stitching started to fail after 36 months. I tried to have the dealer fix the cover. I was willing to pay to have the cover re-stitched. They said that Looploc would not do that, as it was cost prohibited. I live in Michigan and need to close our pool now. My wife is a teacher and goes back to work on 9/*/13. We will now have to send our child to a special needs facility, because the workers that come to the house do not want the added liability of having an open pool.

Business Response: I am in receipt of *** ******* complaint regarding his Loop-Loc Safety Swimming Pool Cover.  This cover was sold back in 2008 and not returned to Loop-Loc until August of 2013.  Unfortunately if the ******* family was having an issue with this cover back in 2011 as their complaint states, the cover and/or photo's should have been sent to Loop-Loc at that time.  Loop-Loc's records do not show any correspondence regarding a problem with this cover back in 2011, and we assume that the conversation was only had with the original dealer and was not brought to our attention at that time. At this point the cover has been used and has serviced their swimming pool for the past 5 seasons. 

The pro-rated warranty price that was given was based on the 5 years of usage which is when we were made aware of a problem.  Again, if there was a problem back in 2011 the pro-rated warranty price would have reflected only 3 years of usage and the cost would have been much more minimal to replace at that time.  In the future I would urge the ******* family to not wait on reporting any problems or issues they may encounter 2 years after the fact, on any type of pro-rated warranty products.  Pro-rated warranty prices take into account the amount of use that the consumer had before the product failed or their was an issue.

That being said, we will this one time replace the ******* cover at no cost to them, so that they may keep their swimming pool safe for their child as soon as possible.  I will speak with the dealer that the estimate is under currently and explain to them the situation, that we will be sending the cover directly to the ******* family. This is a very busy time of year for us, but I will try to give this cover a one week ship date from today and they should have the cover by the end of next week.  I hope that this helps, and again if there is ever an issue in the future we urge you to contact your dealer or Loop-Loc at that time.  Sincerely,  ****** *************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Loop-Loc pool cover in 2007 for approximately $3000 to replace a similar cover. The warrenty is supposed to be 15 years. Some of the stitching on a small portion of the seams separated so we sent the cover to be repaired.We have been notified that the cover is irrepairable due to UV deterioration. Since they want to charge us $2600 for a replacement cover, this seems like a scam. The cover is 6 years old and the warrenty was stated as 15 years.In addition, my retail pool dealer informed me that Loop-loc will charge me $196 to return the cover without repairs being done.

Desired Settlement: If there is UV deterioration on a 6 year old cover with a 15 year warrenty, I would expect a replacement without a servere proration. The cover is only in the sun during the non-summer months.

Business Response: Dear *****,
 
    Since ****** is currently out of the office, I am responding to your email regarding ******* ******** complaint regarding repair issues ID#*******. 
    I have reviewed the cover he returned to Loop-Loc along with his original paperwork and the cover was ordered and manufactured in 2002, with a 12 year warranty not 2007 with a 15 year warranty.  If the homeowner has additional documentation regarding original order number or date of original cover I would appreciate if it could be forwarded to me.
 
    I will contact the pool dealer he is purchasing with and let him know of the discrepancies.
 
Sincerely,
*********
 
 
 
********* ********
Director of Sales
 
Loop-Loc Covers & Luxury Liners
*** ***** **************** ** *****
************ **** ***

6/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Loop-Loc pool cover on 11/**/09 in the amount of $1601. It came with a 12-year warranty. I contacted them via email on 1/*/13 because my cover had a small hole in it that should be covered under the warranty. I assumed this could have been repaired with a small patch at minimal cost but thought it should be covered under the warranty. I sent the email with pictures. The pictures were close up and I put a penny next to the hole so they could easily distinguish the size. I did not hear from them. I sent a second email with the same information on 1/**/13. They responded to that email saying they could not see the pictures clearly. I resent them on 1/**/13. To that email, they responded that they could see the hole and it was small enough that it could be patched and offered to sell me a patch kit. They explained that they could not tell me if it would be covered under warranty unless they inspected the cover in their plant which means I would need to ship it to them. I checked and it would cost at minimum $266 to ship it to them and I would be expected to pay to have it shipped back to me which would be probably another $266. The patch kit if $27.85. I think it's a scam that they require you to ship the cover to them before they'll make a decision about warranty. This is clearly covered under warranty, it's clearly documented by the pictures I emailed to them and they're just trying to avoid their responsibilities.

Desired Settlement: At minimum, I think they should provide me with the patch kit and the cost of service for someone to repair the hole.

Business Response: Thank you for providing the information in regards to the small hole in the Loop-Loc cover.  Please know that the first two sets of photo's that were sent in unfortunately did not show the small hole in any of the photo's as they were too zoomed in, and we left *** ***** a message on January **** explaining this.  We did finally receive the photo with the penny showing the small hole on January ****.  On January ****, we forwarded the attached email to *** ***** explaining about patch kits and also the other option of sending back to the cover for inspection & repair. 

In the photo we can see a very small hole in the cover and a patch kit should work fine in a case such as this.  We cannot however determine from a photo if this is deemed a pro-rated warranty issue.  The only way for us to fully determine if this is a pro-rated warranty issue is for us to receive the cover back at our facility so we can perform a complete inspection of the cover and the material.  Once an inspection has been done it can then be determined if it is a warranty issue or not.  If it is a warranty issue, we would replace the panel at no charge and ship the cover back at no charge and reimburse for the incoming shipment cost.  If it is not considered to be a warranty issue we then will supply a quote to repair the damage.  If *** ***** strongly feels that this is a pro-rated warranty issue, she should speak with the dealer that sold her the cover and have them send the cover back for inspection.  This cover was purchased through a Loop-Loc dealer, ******** ***** ** *****, and I am sure that the dealer will assist *** ***** in sending the cover back to our facility at a reasonable cost so we can make a determination. 

We are sorry that *** ***** feels we are trying to "avoid our responsibilities", but that is not the case.  We fully stand behind our product and always honor our pro-rated warranty which covers defects in material and workmanship.  If the small hole is considered a defect in material and/or workmanship after it is inspected we will again, as stated, fix the panel at no charge and ship the cover back.  We cannot supply a service or name for someone else to repair the hole.  This is a safety swimming pool cover, and any work done by an outside source other than Loop-Loc will void the warranty on the cover, as we would no longer be able to guarantee that the work performed by an outside company will keep the safety features of the cover intact. 


Again we recommend that *** ***** speak with ******** ***** ** ***** if she would like to have the cover inspected at our facility.  In the meantime we have sent out a patch kit at no charge today (May ****) until *** ***** decides which way she would like to proceed.  We hope that we have addressed all of *** *****' concerns and questions. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

I did receive the patch kit at no cost and for that I say thank you to Loop-Loc.  However, I still believe their policy of having to have the cover returned to them for inspection before deciding if the warranty would be in effect is not reasonable.  If you sanction a dealer like******** ***** to sell and install your covers, you should allow them to do the inspections to determine if a warranty issue is valid or not.  In this age of technology, there should be methods in place (video, pictures, etc.) that would give you the information you need without having the owner ship the cover to you.  Again, thank you for the patch kit.  

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****