This business is not BBB accredited.

Hearth & Home Solutions, Inc.

Phone: (845) 658-3078 Fax: (845) 658-3382  

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Hearth and alternative heating supplies- wood, gas, pellets

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Hearth & Home Solutions, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Hearth & Home Solutions, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hearth & Home Solutions, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2009 Business started: 08/01/2006 in NY Business incorporated 09/01/2008 in NY
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Duncan Scott Bey Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Duncan Scott Bey Jr., President
Business Category


Additional Locations


    PO Box 284

    Rosendale, NY 12472


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about Jan **, 2013 I called this business because I was having an issue with my pellet stove. At this time, my pellet stove is my only source of heat because my oil tank was moved outside due construction in my basement. The repair guy cameout and serviced the stove, I paid him $235 and within five minutes of his departure, the stove was not working. I immediately called the business and let them know and they said that no one could come out an more that day but promised that tomorrow I would be first on the list. At that time, the temperature was around thirty degrees so that was not a big deal. The repair man came back a second tome and replaced a switch, and charged me another$25 for the part. About a day later, I noticed that the stove was still shutting of intemittantly. Again, I called for service, yet this tiime it was more urgent as the temperature was beginning to drop. I basically got the run around from that point on, I was told that I would be serviced on Jan ** yet by three oclock no one had contacted me. Then around three thirty I got a call saying that the repair guy went home sick and there was no one to send to my house. Now the weather report was calling for it to be the COLDEST weather we have had in three years. I told them that this was unacceptable and I needed to have the matter resolved. They tried to tell me how I might fix it on my own!!! I told them that I was not a mechanic and that i had paid THEM to fix the problem. The guy said he would contact tha owner and call me in fifteen minutes. Two hours later I called back and told them that not only had I stopped payment on the check that I gave them, but that I intended to file complaints and a lawsuit when the pipes froze in my house and for when I almost burned my house down trying to fix the problem myself. The guy said that he could not have someone come out for THREE MORE DAYS the amount of time that it would take for the freezing weather to subside. They basically said "oh well we are busy don';t know what to tell ya" At this time, I am without heat for almost 24 hours I have been running hair dryers to keep my pipes from freezing, there are burn marks on my hardwood floor, and my expensive vacuum cleaner has blown up due to my trying to suck embers that were still hot out of the stove. These eople are totally unprofessional and should NOT be in business. They deal with heating issues, there should be people on call. When I asked the onwers brother why someone could not come over after hours he said "well I have an appointment" He also said that I should not have just a pellet stove for heat and I told him that was none of his business nor was ite relevent to the matter. Iw ould also like to ad that have a sickly, old relative living here with me who could have literally died had I not made other arrangements for him.This business should not be allowed to operate, they have no business dealing with people's comfort and they have no concern for customer satisfaction

Desired Settlement: They really should be shut down but I am sure that will not happen. I would like it if they can contact ANOTHER repair place to fix the stove at THEIR cost

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Hearth & Home Solutions, Inc. regarding complaint ID *******.


*** ****