BBB Accredited Business since

Sea Eagle Boats, Inc.

Phone: (631) 473-7308 Fax: (631) 473-7398 19 N Columbia St, Prt Jefferson, NY 11777 http://www.seaeagle.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sea Eagle Boats, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sea Eagle Boats, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sea Eagle Boats, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated 01/01/1992 in
Business Management
Mr. Cecil Hoge, President Mr. John Hoge, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cecil Hoge, President
Principal: Mr. John Hoge, Vice President
Business Category

SPORTING GOODS-RETAIL


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sea Eagle Boats, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 19 N Columbia St

    Prt Jefferson, NY 11777

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Kayak Fasttrack 385 ft, has a manufacture defect, it is leaking from the seams (not a hole on the side), and the glue is detaching. I contacted the customer service they were very prompt, and asked for the serial number or sales receipt, then we found out that it is out of warranty. So I went ahead and asked them for technical help on how to fix it, and they never replied.

Desired Settlement: I think it's a major manufacture defect and the boat has to be replaced even after the warranty expires.

Business Response: *** ******,
My sincerest apologies regarding a tardy reply to your messages, please no that it was not intentional. I have included a response from one of our managers regarding the replacement process regarding your Sea Eagle Boat. Please feel free to call us directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

**** ***** ***** ******* ************** ************ *****************



'Dear ****,

I apologize for the delay in answering your email. I looked up your order using the hull id number you provided and unfortunately this is no longer under warranty. Our products come with a 3 year warranty and you purchased this in October 2010.  I can offer you a discount price on a new hull if you are interested.  The cost would be $475 plus shipping, duty and taxes if you want it shipped to Egypt. 

Thank you and have a great day,

******* *** ***** ***** *********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

******* ****** *** **** ***** **

Dear ******* ******
No, Unfortunately, the dispute is not resolved, I replied to their last email, asking them on technical help on how to solve my problem and attached, photos and videos showing the problem, but they never replied.

Honestly I can't believe their level of unprofessionalism when it comes to handling their customer service.
I really don't know what to do.
I hope you can help me resolving this problem.

Thank you
Attached is a copy of my reply:

Hi *******,

Thank you for the offer, unfortunately i can not buy another one, knowing that the same deffect might happen again.

I already chated with ******* and I know that warranty is over. Please note that this is a manufacture defect since it's leaking from the seams with no trace of any wholes.

Please forward the videos to the technical department and explain to them the nature of the problem and let me know how to fix it, or provide me with a new one free of charge for the sake of your brand reputation.

It's leaking behind the logo patch along the seams, from both sides. they need to see this and provide me with a technical solution and an explanation why it happened.

Thank you and will be waiting for your reply.

**** ****** 


Business Response: *** ******,

The replacement price of $475 (does not include shipping, duties or taxes if shipped outside of the contiguous 48 United States) would also include a 3 year warranty against any defect.

Alternatively we would be willing to repair your kayak free of charge and only ask that you pay the shipping cost to and from our facility.

Please note that ******* is currently out of the office as she is representing us at the Outdoor Retailer Show in Salt Lake City, Utah and has limited access to her office account.

Should you have any questions or concerns I request that you please contact me directly either via e-mail ******************) or telephone, ###-###-#### and I will be happy to assist you.

**** ***** ***** ******* ************ *** *** ************ *****************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Sea Eagle Boats, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart