BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Sea Eagle Boats, Inc.

Phone: (631) 473-7308 Fax: (631) 473-7398 19 N Columbia St, Prt Jefferson, NY 11777 http://www.seaeagle.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sea Eagle Boats, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sea Eagle Boats, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated: 01/01/1992 in
Business Management
Mr. Cecil Hoge, President Mr. John Hoge, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cecil Hoge, President
Principal: Mr. John Hoge, Vice President
Business Category

SPORTING GOODS-RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • 19 N Columbia St

    Prt Jefferson, NY 11777

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Kayak Fasttrack 385 ft, has a manufacture defect, it is leaking from the seams (not a hole on the side), and the glue is detaching. I contacted the customer service they were very prompt, and asked for the serial number or sales receipt, then we found out that it is out of warranty. So I went ahead and asked them for technical help on how to fix it, and they never replied.

Desired Settlement: I think it's a major manufacture defect and the boat has to be replaced even after the warranty expires.

Business Response: *** ******,
My sincerest apologies regarding a tardy reply to your messages, please no that it was not intentional. I have included a response from one of our managers regarding the replacement process regarding your Sea Eagle Boat. Please feel free to call us directly with any questions or concerns you may have.

**** ***** ***** ******* ************** ************ *****************



'Dear ****,

I apologize for the delay in answering your email. I looked up your order using the hull id number you provided and unfortunately this is no longer under warranty. Our products come with a 3 year warranty and you purchased this in October 2010.  I can offer you a discount price on a new hull if you are interested.  The cost would be $475 plus shipping, duty and taxes if you want it shipped to Egypt. 

Thank you and have a great day,

******* *** ***** ***** *********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

******* ****** *** **** ***** **

Dear ******* ******
No, Unfortunately, the dispute is not resolved, I replied to their last email, asking them on technical help on how to solve my problem and attached, photos and videos showing the problem, but they never replied.

Honestly I can't believe their level of unprofessionalism when it comes to handling their customer service.
I really don't know what to do.
I hope you can help me resolving this problem.

Thank you
Attached is a copy of my reply:

Hi *******,

Thank you for the offer, unfortunately i can not buy another one, knowing that the same deffect might happen again.

I already chated with ******* and I know that warranty is over. Please note that this is a manufacture defect since it's leaking from the seams with no trace of any wholes.

Please forward the videos to the technical department and explain to them the nature of the problem and let me know how to fix it, or provide me with a new one free of charge for the sake of your brand reputation.

It's leaking behind the logo patch along the seams, from both sides. they need to see this and provide me with a technical solution and an explanation why it happened.

Thank you and will be waiting for your reply.

**** ****** 


Business Response: *** ******,

The replacement price of $475 (does not include shipping, duties or taxes if shipped outside of the contiguous 48 United States) would also include a 3 year warranty against any defect.

Alternatively we would be willing to repair your kayak free of charge and only ask that you pay the shipping cost to and from our facility.

Please note that ******* is currently out of the office as she is representing us at the Outdoor Retailer Show in Salt Lake City, Utah and has limited access to her office account.

Should you have any questions or concerns I request that you please contact me directly either via e-mail ******************) or telephone, ###-###-#### and I will be happy to assist you.

**** ***** ***** ******* ************ *** *** ************ *****************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This product is advertised as being able to used on "Class III" rapids. Used the raft for our family 4 times on a simple lazy river no rapids at all and was torn by floating over a rock! This raft is priced at three times its competitors due to the advertised quality. it is no better then the cheaper ones.

Desired Settlement: I would really like a complete refund as the product is not as advertised however a replacement will suffice. The company "Tonya Customer Service" was completely less then helpful.

Business Response: The model in question (our Sea Eagle 9) has been both tested and proven for use in whitewater conditions both by Sea Eagle, retail customers, professional tubing companies and even the Boy Scouts of America for over 30 years. It has also been rated for this usage by the National Marine Manufacturer’s Association who does an annual evaluation on all our Sea Eagle boats.

Class III rapids are moderately sized waves that require the user to maneuver with precision to avoid obstacles like rocks and branches on the water and to get through narrow openings between them. I say this not to question *** *****’ expertise in paddling, but to better illustrate the environment in which the boat is used in. Even hard shelled models can become punctured and damaged in these conditions.

Based off of the photo that *** ***** sent us, the damage to his boat is completely repairable and requires a simple glue and patch job. Unfortunately damages are not covered under our manufacturer’s warranty, however we would be willing to send *** ***** a new repair kit if he no longer has the one that was supplied to him with his boat (as is standard for all Sea Eagle boats).  If you would like to take us up on this offer, please feel free to do so and to contact me directly if you should so choose.
 
--
**** *****
***** ******* ************** *** *** ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I appreciate the offer by Sea Eagle however I still believe this product was miss represented.  Although true that you need to be able to maneuver a raft safely down a river the larger the rapids the more difficult.  I have been rafting for years and have been on many class III and IV rapids with guides in the Idaho and Californian areas.  All of these trips resulted in numerous strikes on both rocks and branches.  The guides are professionals and they still hit obsticals!  I realize we are not comparing Apples and Apples with the quality or cost of the rafts.  With that said, the raft purchased from Sea Eagle was constructed no better and performed no better then a $100 Big 5 raft!  I made the decision to purchase this raft for family to have years of safe rafting.  I made the decision to pay the higher cost due to the advertising and it did not live up to the expectations listed.    It's claim to be able to go down Class III White Water Rapids would only be true if in fact you were able to keep clear of any and all obstacles.  With this being the case, ANY raft or pool float would suffice!  


With Sea Eagle charging three and a half times their competitors ($350 VS $100) and advertising their superiority I believe they need to provide a better product or advertise it differently.

I still request a refund or at a minimum, replacement of the damaged product. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*** *****



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

During the complaint process complaint #ID #******* they agreed to repair the boat and not refund or replace as requested. THEY HAVE FAILED TO FOLLOW THROUGH WITH THEIR PROMISES!
I have been extremely patience with this company and they have been misleading in both their advertising and now with the settlement they agreed on. This should indicate to everyone the type of business being run. I WOULD LIKE A FULL REFUND as originally stated OR A NEW RAFT! If they fail to act quickly I will be seeking legal action as this company is making a mockery of both customers and the BBB!

 

 

 

*** *****




 

Business Response: I have been messaging with *** ***** since September ****, 2013 to try and resolve this matter with him. The last message that we received from *** ***** was on September ****, 2013 indicating that he was expecting a box and return instructions, my apologies if I left out instructions for return in earlier communications.

Return Instructions
*** *****, please package the Sea Eagle inside of any box that you can find (supermarkets and retailer stores often have boxes available that they are discarding, which will work just fine as return packaging). Once packaged, please write your return authorization number (***********) on the outside of the box or the shipping label when you return it (see our address below). Once we receive the package we will have it inspected, professionally repaired and returned to you at no additional cost.

*** ***** ****** ***** **** ***** ** ** ******** ******* ***** * **** ********* *** *****

If *** ***** would like to speak with me directly over the phone, I'm more than willing to speak with him and would look forward to the call so that we can both resolve this matter as quickly as possible. My e-mail is ***************** and my phone number is ###-###-#### or ###-###-#### ex. ***. I'm available M-F, 9AM to 5PM EST.

**** *****
***** *******
###-###-####
************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchase a Kayak SE370 back in July. I has been leaking air since we received it. We have tried all the things they have asked. So we are trying to return it. They first told us it would take 4 to 6 weeks to see our refund. My wife posted something on ******** and was contacted by a Will person from their. He then told us it should only take about a week for the refund. We told them Ok. So now they are telling us that they need to refund us our money on the credit card we used. We told them that we have closed that account and we are no longer with that bank. Will then told us that its the only way they do refunds. He then said that we can fight with the bank to get them money back.

Desired Settlement: We want our full refund and we need it in a check and not put back on our credit card that has been closed.

Business Response: We were first contacted by **** ***** on Saturday, August ****, 2013 where she spoke with a customer service member (we have limited staff on Saturday) and she left me a message on my voice mail for her to call her back on Monday afternoon between 4:00 PM, Massachusetts time. I returned her call but was unable to reach her, left her a message of my own and explained that generally a credit can take anywhere up to 30 business days based on the receiving of the product and how the banking institution reflects the credit (they may not show it to the customer until the next billing cycle). I also said that most times it is much sooner than that and between processing and the credit that it would only be about a week.

I never heard back from **** ***** until we saw her posts on ********. We tried several times to again call her, left messages and even e-mailed her. She posted again on our ******** page where we then replied that we had been trying to reach her and to please contact me at the office directly.
We also offered to pick the boat up from the Simons at no additional cost to them which is not our general policy to do so.

The Simons made contact with me via e-mail and explained that they had closed the account and wanted a check, I informed them that our credit card processors and the banking institutions themselves warn us not to do this as it doesn't clearly reflect that a refund has been issued and leaves us vulnerable for charge-backs (which **** *****'s initial voice mail claimed she might file). I told them to contact me if there were any concerns and *** ***** replied that he had already called the BBB and that he would do so again if we did not comply with his request. He also made passing mention that they had parted ways with the banking institution all-together (which we were not made aware of previously). I then received a call from **** ***** and received a new credit card from her to process the credit.

The package was received by our warehouse yesterday on August **** and their paperwork and refund should be completed on our end by Friday.

--
**** *****
***** *******
###-###-####
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:


We still not received payment.  They lied about how they kept trying to contact us.  We have sent them emails and made multiple phone calls and when we finally did speak to some one they would give us a different answer.  Only when we posted something on ******** did we get a straight answer, but then they still didn't do what they said they would do.  Now they tell you that they will refund us our money buy this past Friday (8/**/13).  We didn't receive it.  So they have now lied to you to.  We have received some messages from other people that have told us that they play games with people and you have to fight to get the to do anything.

[Your Answer Here]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

Business Response: *******,
Your paperwork was just brought up to my desk this past Friday afternoon, however it was not soon enough to be put in before our end of day report was processed. The credit has been done today and again the refund should be reflected by your credit card company. We tried to resolve this matter with you and unfortunately our efforts to establish communications with you came up short. For this, and the fact that your Sea Eagle experience was anything less than pleasurable, please accept my sincerest apologies.

Again your refund has been processed to the credit card that you requested and your banking institution/credit card company should be able to verify this once it finalizes. Should you have any further questions or concerns on the matter, please feel free to contact me and I will be glad to assist you.
 
**** *****
***** *******
************** *** ***
************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My order was for a Pro Angler Guide Package. The main product a 375fc. The 375fc is an inflatable Fold Cat Pontoon Boat. Beings it's an inflatable it is suppose to hold air. Hence my complaint. Neither of the 2 pontoons held air, which I returned via UPS at a cost of $245.83. The shipping cost was to be returned to me following the complete order being returned in it's original condition. My purchase amount was refunded, but not the shipping cost of $245.83. Sea Eagle's reason for not returning my shipping cost, they claimed the pontoons did hold air. I for a fact know this is a bold face lie!!! I filled the pontoons myself. And within a few hours the pontoons had lost enough air that the pontoons were folding and creasing.The boat was purchased as a used boat guaranteed in new condition. It was sent with most the hardware missing and couldn't be assembled. I had to wait for the hardware to arrive before I could assemble and use the boat. This caused me to have to rent a different boat for my planned fishing trip, costing me additional monies and time. The sales manager, ******* *****, is the individual I had phone conversations with throughout this whole nightmare. If needed, I have pictures and witnesses.

Desired Settlement: I request the $245.83 UPS shipping costs refunded immediately. This is a faulty product, deserving a complete and immediate refund. Receipts available for proof of shipping costs.

Business Response: June ****, 2013
*** ****** called our offices to inform us that the order that he placed with us was incomplete, on that very same day we expedited delivery of these parts to him at no additional charge. As an incentive to keep and enjoy the product as originally intended, *** ****** was given a free electric inflator pump (valued at $159.00) and a free mushroom anchor kit (valued at $49.00).

June ****, 2013
*** ****** called our offices again and requested a Return Authorization number to have all of the items sent back for refund. *** ****** claimed that the boat was leaking air, but did not indicate an exact location. *** ****** was informed that should his boat be deemed defective after an inspection at our facilities, that he would be reimbursed for standard ground shipping charges (no packaging fees, no insurance fees) through UPS or FedEx (not through third party shippers like the UPS Store which charge more money to ship packages).

July ***, 2013
*** ******’s order was returned to our facility and was inflated on 7/** until 7/**. The boat was checked out daily by our technicians in our Returns Department and was found to have held air for the entirety of its inspection. Normal inspections for inflated boats are usually half that time, however since there was a claim of the boat leaking, we wanted to ensure that we gave the boat our very best attention. 
July ****, 2013
The refund was processed (one day after inspection had completed) and was for the amount of
$1, 638.00 (the total price that *** ****** paid for his order).  I would like to note that *** ****** never provided us with a copy of his receipt and that both the electric inflator pump ($159.00) and mushroom anchor kit ($49.00) were never returned and *** ****** was never charged for either of these items despite that.

To conclude, our return policy very clearly states that return shipping charges can and will only be refunded if the item in question is defective or flawed. The boat was properly inspected by our technicians and even our company president, ***** ** **** was brought in to weigh in on the matter as we wanted to ensure every possible avenue was considered when looking into the customer’s claim.

Unfortunately even though we did an extended evaluation for the item, it was not found to be defective in any nature and as such we feel that we should not have to reimburse *** ******’s return shipping fees.

Should you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to e-mail or telephone and I will be glad to assist you to the best of my abilities. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.
 
--
**** *****
Sales Manager
###-###-#### ex. ***
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

First: The anchor and air pump hasn't anything to do with the complaint. The 2 items were compensation for monies I had to spend due to Sea Eagle's incomplete order, i.e., NO hardware to put the boat together. Hence, I had  incurred expenses in order to complete that weekends float trip, e.g., boat rental.

Second: Once the boat was able to be put together, I filled the 2 pontoons with the required amount/psi. of air. We went on a 3 hour float down the river. The pontoons had lost enough air that creases and kinks showed in numerous places in both pontoons. The air valves were in closed position. Pictures available upon request.

Third: I would have never sent the boat back if it held air!!

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ******




 

Business Response: The moment we found out (Friday, June ****) that the order was shipped incomplete we did our very best to get you the parts that you needed and as previously mentioned, free accessories (valued up to $200) which I assure you is not common practice or policy when an instance like this occurs. Although it is unfortunate that your weekend plans fell through, we were only contacted about the trip the day of/before your weekend trip with little to no-time to get you the necessary parts. Your order however was delivered to you on Tuesday, June **** which if we were contacted on Wednesday or Thursday we could have gotten you the missing parts before your trip.

At this point, I'm not pointing fingers or laying blame, I'm merely trying to explain our side of the situation in that we did our best to make due of the time we were given. Of course we take full responsibility for not having the order shipped with the missing hardware which is why we did our best with getting you the parts and the incentive accessories.

We cannot speak for your experience in the boat, but we can speak for the condition of the boat when we received it after a full, extended inspection. The boat held air without any failures for an extended period of time and was given the fullest attention by both our technicians and the owner of the company who designed this boat. Both concluded that the hull is not defective and therefore shipping costs should not be credited as the boat was in perfect working order.

Again, we cannot speak for your own personal experience with the boat. In closing please note that we are truly sorry that you did not find your experience with Sea Eagle more enjoyable. Please feel free to reply with any further questions or concerns you may have and I will do my best to assist you.
 --
**** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

Once again Sea Eagle refuses to take responsibility for their faulty product. Leaks don't repair themselves during shipping. Nor do they arrive at their destination repaired. I don't appreciate my intelligence being insulted. I know the difference between a boat that holds air and one that doesn't. This is just another case of big business manipulating the little guy. Just tell me where to send my UPS  shipping receipts so this issue can be solved and my monies returned. Man up Sea Eagle!   *** ******* ******

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ******




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/24/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues