BBB Accredited Business since

Leisure Pro Ltd.

Phone: (212) 645-1234 Fax: (212) 691-7286 View Additional Phone Numbers 42 West 18th Street 3rd Floor, New York, NY 10011 http://www.leisurepro.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Leisure Pro Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Leisure Pro Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Leisure Pro Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1989 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1989 in NY
Business Management
Mr. Eugene Mendolwitz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eugene Mendolwitz, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Parr, Manager
Business Category

SPORTING GOODS-RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • 42 West 18th Street 3rd Floor

    New York, NY 10011

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2016 Delivery Issues
10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. I ordered (telephonic conversation) a product (wetsuit) from Frank at Leisure Pro. During the process Frank explained that if the product didn't fit, it could be returned for a different size, numerous times, until correct fitment was achieved, at no (shipping) cost to me. 2. Two days after placing the telephonic order, I called Frank to cancel the order. Frank informed me that he could cancel the order and "turn around" the shipping, but encouraged me to accept the package and try the wetsuit on. He said I could "just return it if it doesn't fit". He did not mention, nor inform me that I would be required to pay for return shipping if I accepted the package. This led me to believe that , through his encouragement, I could accept the package, try the product on, and return it if it did not fit, at no cost. 3. I received the package, tried it on, and it did not fit correctly. I called to coordinate a return. I spoke to Greg who discussed the return for reimbursement. I was provided the return form (to include in the package). 4. Upon taking the (return) package to ***** to have it mailed back to Leisure Pro for reimbursement, I realized that I was being required to pay for the shipping. I feel the return shipping was not my responsibility because I attempted to cancel the order and have the original package "turned around", but was encouraged to accept it, which resulted in my having to pay for shipping to return it. 5. I called and spoke to Shae (Customer Service) who indicated it was my responsibility to pay for return shipping. I asked to speak to her supervisor. She informed me that her supervisor's name was Joyce and she would return my call. 6. Joyce returned my call. During our conversation, Joyce said I should have been informed of the cost for return shipping, and because she didn't know what was discussed, she couldn't refund my cost for shipping. She offered to credit me $10.00 towards shipping. This would replace less than 30% of the more than $34 the return shipping cost. When I asked to receive the full amount of the return shipping cost, she informed me that she wouldn't. I asked to speak to her supervisor. She informed me that there was no one above her, that she was the only Supervisor over Customer Service. I asked to speak to the owner. She informed me that they welcomed my feedback. She would not allow me to talk to anyone who supervised her nor the Customer Service Department. 7. I attempted to cancel this order before it was received. Frank informed me that he could cancel it and turn the package around. He encouraged me to accept it, try it on, and suggested I could "just return it" if it didn't fit. I don't feel I should have to pay for return shipping when I was encouraged to accept the order and ensured I could return it if necessary.

Desired Settlement: I feel a complete refund of return shipping cost is warranted. Additionally, Leisure Pro's customer service should consider placing customer satisfaction as their number one priority. It wasn't in this case.

Business Response:

We reviewed the phone conversations that took place on this transaction.
Originally customer called on Sep. ** inquiring about sizing for a wetsuit, after going thru the options and deciding on which wetsuit to buy, the sales rep advised customer about our Pressure Free Fit program that in case a suit doesn't fit we offer free returns "he clearly advised customer that they need to contact our customer service people to get a return label to send it back for exchange for the same suit in a different size"

On the follow up call on Sep. ** customer asked the rep if he can still cancel the order, the sales rep advised customer that the order had already shipped and cannot be canceled however he gave the customer 2 options: 1) we can have our customer service team reroute the package to come back to us 2) to continue let the order ship as is, the customer replied "since its already on its way let it go and I will return it if I don't want it." At no point did our rep encourage one way or another, the customer simply decided to continue with the shipment and at no point did the rep offer to cover shipping.

According to our return policies, we do not cover return shipping for items returned for credit, our free returns guarantee only covers items returned for exchange for a different size.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

On ** September 15, during the conversation concerning cancellation, the customer service rep did suggest (encourage) that I try the wetsuit on to see if it fit better that one my wife purchased locally.  I view his suggestion as a recommendation and encouragement to receive the package. At no time during this recommendation was I informed that if I chose not to reroute the package (which would have cost me nothing) that I would incurred return shipping charges. The customer service rep should have informed me of the additional cost of receiving the package (as recommended by the customer service rep) as opposed to rerouting it. I was encouraged to accept the package based on his recommendation.  I was not informed of the consequences of receiving and returning it.  Therefore, I believe I was mislead and should not incurred this expense. This was a failure on the customer service rep's part as a result of incomplete information being provided in an effort to save the sale of the product.

[Your Answer Here]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ******




 

Business Response: As detailed in the original response, at no point did we encourage or push for any form of action, we gave the customer the available options and they chose to continue with the shipment being that it had already shipped. 

6/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2015 ******** fun tube towable back in april 2015 for 239.00 and it was out of stock I have been still waiting here it is june ** 2015 and still waiting . I have called customer service several times and they tell me they don't have a date when it will be in. I even called the ******** manufacturing Co and they asked who the vendor was I told them Leisure Pro. The ******** Co said they should have them by the middle of June I'm still wating. This a great price so I don't want to cancel the pending order but I want my 4 grandchildren to enjoy it this summer The other thing is Leisure Pro is advertising on **** for this item at this price also. Today I asked for the corporate office and wanted to speak to the CEO they wouldn't give me the name. I also asked for a manger to speak with but was told they are in meetings and will have someone call me back. Please can you help Regards ***** * *******

Desired Settlement: to give a date when item is in and fill my order

Business Response: We contacted the manufacturer to find out when we will be getting this item to be able to ship this order, they confirmed that this item is currently on the way to us and will be delivered within the next few days, we expect to be able to ship this order by mid next week. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *******



 

2/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We mail-ordered snorkeling equipment for a recent trip on the understanding that the products were offered with a full satisfaction guarantee. Certainly, that's how things appear on the web site and on their paperwork that was sent with the products. With that understanding, we tried everything on at home and things seemed fine in the brief time we had "on land." We went on our trip and found that the equipment was not at all satisfactory. The fins caused blisters despite wearing protective boots and the masks fogged. We had to pay return shipping to the company only to find that they refused to refund anything for the fins and boots despite the poor fit, saying that once they have been used in the water they will not accept refunds. How can anyone know for certain if a product is adequate until they are used in a real situation? The products were returned in like-new condition in their original packaging. LeisurePro claims that the products have water spots, but on examining them ourselves, there is nothing on them.

Desired Settlement: We would like the company to take back these products and refund our money and pay return shipping to send the products back a second time. We already paid for return shipping, when we sent the items back originally, so they should pick this up, also.

Business Response: Our returns policy clearly sates that products may be returns as long as they have not been used. 
In this case since these items were returned in used condition we were unable to process the return and had to send them back. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The business states that their returns policy is clearly stated. That is simply false--it is anything but "clear." I have attached three pictures. The first shows the opening page of their web site where they boast about their "fit and comfort" guarantee. That would lead any reasonable person to believe that they will accept returns for issues relating to fit and comfort and that the consumer need not worry. It turns out that the text is actually a link (not obvious unless you hover over it). Doing so brings you to the second screen. Still no mention of anything about "brand new" condition. Still giving the impression that they will accept returns for fit and comfort issues, which is exactly what we had. Only after clicking on the terms and conditions at the bottom and looking to near the end do you see the fine print. See slide 3. I'm a lawyer and work in the area of consumer rights; they completely fooled me. I did not have a clue that their return policy was so absurdly strict until after I tried to make the returns. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

As previously requested, I would like the BBB to mediate this matter.

Thank you. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

Business Response: We understand that you are requesting the BBB to mediate this, but as they have assigned this inquiry to us we have to respond with the information provided in our return policy.

8/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello BBB, I had an unfortunate experience with a product that I ordered from Leisure Pro recently, and to date I have not experienced any understanding or acceptance of responsibility from anyone within their organization. Prior to purchasing the element 2 Tusa 3 gauge computer, I specifically asked the sales person if it displayed certain information on the screen without having to scroll through the menus. I was told, yes, it does perform in that manner. I tested it, and to my disappointment, I discovered it does not perform that way. I then called Tusa, the manufacturer of the product, directly and they also stated it does not perform that way, and that the sales person should not have claimed that it did. I called to return the computer and was told that as I have used it in the water once, they will not accept it back. Of course, the only way to have discovered this was to use it. I do not believe this is a good business practice. I feel I was sold something that was not what I wanted and that I was completly mislead. I have spoken with sales, customer service, a ********** and a ******* & recently emailed the ********* of the company. To date, no one has contacted me from the company. I would like to have them understand that their representative's statements were not "above board" and were misleading. I will restate: No one has gotten back to me to settle this issue. They have ignored my repeated requests to speak with anyone to work this out.

Desired Settlement: I believe they should pay the shipping charge to return it. In addition I should not have to pay a restocking charge. This was clearly their error. I believe I should not have to take a financial loss due to their misleading statements to sell me a product.

Business Response: We reviewed the details of the conversation that took place when this order was placed, there was no mention about any feature for menu scrolling, the only features discussed during the call were the Buhlmann algorithm, safety stop & alarm, customer was also notified during the call that we have a 60 day return policy and items have to be new and unused.

However as a courtesy we will bend our policies this time and authorize the return of this computer. We will follow up with customer authorizing the return. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The compamy states they will accept the return. But states in a private email that it will be a store credit. I stated initallly, I would be satisfied if they would refund my money and not a store credit.
I will be willing to pay the return shipping charges it they are willing to end this case.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******



 

Business Response: We will indeed approve the return for refund given if the product can be returned in its original manufacturers packaging. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *******



 

6/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June *, 2014 I ordered and paid for a console dive computer from Leisure Pro. They issued me a tracking number that does/did not exist and of course I never got the product. Leisure Pro is refusing to issue me a credit. First, they say 10 days to refund, now they are stating they need to get the product returned to their warehouse. They are continuing to delay, delay, delay. Customer Service is rude. Supposedly, the ***** emailed an apology but I still cannot get a credit to my VISA account. I believe the item never went out ... they have no proof it did. They are not refunding my money and I want my money back now.

Desired Settlement: An immediate refund on my VISA card.

Business Response: We are in the midst of investigating this lost package claim with UPS, a full refund is scheduled to be issued to the customers credit card today. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here] 
I will check with VISA today.  At this time I do NOT believe them.  To date all they have done is deny, delay and provide lip service.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ********




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

As stated 3 times previously.  UNTIL it is confirmed to me by VISA not by Leisure Pro I am not accepting your lip service.  It has proved in the past to be untrue (at best).

In other words, Leisure Pro is NOT off the hook, not until I get my money back and told to me by VISA.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ********




 

Business Response: As confirmed a few times today, a refund has been issued from our end today 6/** to the customers credit card. they will see it posted on their account depending on how long it takes for their bank or credit card company to post the refund. 

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I purchased multiple items from Leisure Pro on June *** (Order *******). One of the items was the Pearl i3 BCD (used), which came with a braided low pressure hose (new). The hose is not threaded correctly, so it does not work at all, which means that I cannot use the BCD as it will not inflate without a hose. I purchased this item well in advance of my trip, as I was under the impression that the BCD would be fully-functional per the item's description ("Excellent - Shows normal wear, might have minor scratches "). I notified Leisure Pro of the issue immediately after I discovered it and the same day that I received the item, Thursday June ***** Because their phone lines were closed, I sent a message marked urgent stating the issue and specifying that a replacement hose was needed as soon as possible. The Leisure Pro customer service team did not reply to my email, so I called on Friday June *** to report the issue and let them know that every day that the product was unusable, I was going to have to pay out of pocket for a rental. I spoke with two people, both of whom said that they wanted to consult with another department before issuing a replacement low pressure hose, and that I should hear from someone by the end of the day on Monday since that department was closed. They were unwilling to issue a credit towards my order for the rental without speaking with the other department. I find it completely unacceptable that Leisure Pro sent me a defective item, and is waiting until at least 5 days after the issue was reported to ship a replacement hose, knowing full well that each day they wait I have to spend more money out of pocket for a rental.

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like Leisure Pro to send a fully-functional braided low pressure hose immediately with the fastest shipping speed to avoid further issues. 2. I would like to be issued a $20 credit towards my order to cover the costs of the BCD rental for this weekend, and an additional $20 if I need to rent one again later in the week because the replacement hose has not been received. (Local rental price: *****************************************************) 3. If Leisure Pro would like their defective hose back, they will need to send a prepaid return label and arrange for a pickup.

Business Response: This issue was reported to us on Friday 6/**, we are getting ready to ship a replacement hose out today to be delivered with UPS Next Day Air, we will just confirm the size with the customer. We do not reimburse rental fees. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The issues was reported to Leisure Pro on Thursday 6/** at 9:39 PM.

Leisure Pro is offering to send a rubber hose, which is not as good of a product as the braided hose that I am supposed to receive. This is not an acceptable substitute.  

 Given the inconvenience that I went through due to Leisure Pro's mistake in sending me a defective item, I requested a $20 refund towards my order to cover the cost of renting functional equipment this weekend.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ** ******




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I have responded to all communication within minutes of receiving it, so if there is a hold up it is on the Leisure Pro end. The issues are:

1. The customer service rep who contacted me offered to replace the hose with an inferior product, and this is not acceptable. 
2. Due to Leisure Pro's error, I had to spend $20 out of pocket this weekend to use the item they shipped and inaccurately described as fully functional. I do not think it is fair for Leisure Pro to misrepresent their product and then claim that they cannot issue a refund to make up for their mistake. 


In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
****** ** ****** 




 

Business Response: We were in constant touch with the customer explaining the options to them, in the end the customer agreed to take the 27" regular hose which will be delivered to customer today, in addition to us offering them a $15 discount off the BC.

4/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased online a dive computer on March **, 2014. About ten days later I contacted the merchant to ask where is the product (worth: $213.71). the merchant informed me that the product was shipped via UPS and placed at my door, without requiring a signature, on March ***. I never received the item and told so to the merchant's representatives, and to UPS. In addition, I informed the merchant that I need the product by March **, since I am leaving the country for a diving vacation on that day and will use the product (a dive computer). the merchant assured me I will have the product re-delivered well before my departure date. however, it is now April **, a month after the product was paid for and 10 days before my departure, and I do not yet have the product. Moreover, my attempts to contact the merchant have failed: an answering machine notifies the caller than the business is closed for the holidays and that they will reopen on April *** (presumably too late to make a timely delivery). Thus, the merchant failed to: 1. delivered a product paid for, and 2. to redeliver, as promised. The charge was also disputed with the credit card company.

Desired Settlement: timely delivery of promised product (an unlikely outcome at this stage…).

Business Response: This package was shipped and delivered by UPS, when customer contacted us to file a claim they have not received it we advised that we have to file a claim with UPS on this since there was a delivery scan, when customer advised us about their need by date we gave them the option to reorder right away and get a refund once the claim is approved which they declined, we therefore had to proceed and wait for the outcome of the claim. 

The claim has now been approved, and a new order has been entered to be reshipped, since we are now closed for the Passover holiday our shipping will resume on Wed. 4/** and this order will be shipped for overnight delivery to be delivered to customer on 4/**which is in time for their given need by date of 4/**. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *********, and find that this resolution, if complied with, would be satisfactory.  However, since this business has previously made representations that were not followed, I ask to wait until April *** (the promised date of delivery) before the complaint is closed.
 
I should also note that I tried to contact the business (via email) to ask that the delivery be made to my place of business, so that the delivery problem would not recur (this business apparently authorizes delivery without signature, without asking for the customer's consent, and it then refused to take responsibility when an item is lost), but so far received no response from them. 

Sincerely,

*************


 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Leisure Pro Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)