BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Leisure Pro Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Leisure Pro Ltd. include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Leisure Pro Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1989 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/1989 in NY
Business Management
Mr. Eugene Mendolwitz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eugene Mendolwitz, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Parr, Manager
Business Category

SPORTING GOODS-RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • 42 West 18th Street-3rd Fl.

    New York, NY 10011

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (212) 645-1234(Phone)
  • (212) 645-1234(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello BBB, I had an unfortunate experience with a product that I ordered from Leisure Pro recently, and to date I have not experienced any understanding or acceptance of responsibility from anyone within their organization. Prior to purchasing the element 2 Tusa 3 gauge computer, I specifically asked the sales person if it displayed certain information on the screen without having to scroll through the menus. I was told, yes, it does perform in that manner. I tested it, and to my disappointment, I discovered it does not perform that way. I then called Tusa, the manufacturer of the product, directly and they also stated it does not perform that way, and that the sales person should not have claimed that it did. I called to return the computer and was told that as I have used it in the water once, they will not accept it back. Of course, the only way to have discovered this was to use it. I do not believe this is a good business practice. I feel I was sold something that was not what I wanted and that I was completly mislead. I have spoken with sales, customer service, a ********** and a ******* & recently emailed the ********* of the company. To date, no one has contacted me from the company. I would like to have them understand that their representative's statements were not "above board" and were misleading. I will restate: No one has gotten back to me to settle this issue. They have ignored my repeated requests to speak with anyone to work this out.

Desired Settlement: I believe they should pay the shipping charge to return it. In addition I should not have to pay a restocking charge. This was clearly their error. I believe I should not have to take a financial loss due to their misleading statements to sell me a product.

Business Response: We reviewed the details of the conversation that took place when this order was placed, there was no mention about any feature for menu scrolling, the only features discussed during the call were the Buhlmann algorithm, safety stop & alarm, customer was also notified during the call that we have a 60 day return policy and items have to be new and unused.

However as a courtesy we will bend our policies this time and authorize the return of this computer. We will follow up with customer authorizing the return. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The compamy states they will accept the return. But states in a private email that it will be a store credit. I stated initallly, I would be satisfied if they would refund my money and not a store credit.
I will be willing to pay the return shipping charges it they are willing to end this case.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******



 

Business Response: We will indeed approve the return for refund given if the product can be returned in its original manufacturers packaging. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June *, 2014 I ordered and paid for a console dive computer from Leisure Pro. They issued me a tracking number that does/did not exist and of course I never got the product. Leisure Pro is refusing to issue me a credit. First, they say 10 days to refund, now they are stating they need to get the product returned to their warehouse. They are continuing to delay, delay, delay. Customer Service is rude. Supposedly, the ***** emailed an apology but I still cannot get a credit to my VISA account. I believe the item never went out ... they have no proof it did. They are not refunding my money and I want my money back now.

Desired Settlement: An immediate refund on my VISA card.

Business Response: We are in the midst of investigating this lost package claim with UPS, a full refund is scheduled to be issued to the customers credit card today. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here] 
I will check with VISA today.  At this time I do NOT believe them.  To date all they have done is deny, delay and provide lip service.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ********




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

As stated 3 times previously.  UNTIL it is confirmed to me by VISA not by Leisure Pro I am not accepting your lip service.  It has proved in the past to be untrue (at best).

In other words, Leisure Pro is NOT off the hook, not until I get my money back and told to me by VISA.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ********




 

Business Response: As confirmed a few times today, a refund has been issued from our end today 6/** to the customers credit card. they will see it posted on their account depending on how long it takes for their bank or credit card company to post the refund. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I purchased multiple items from Leisure Pro on June *** (Order *******). One of the items was the Pearl i3 BCD (used), which came with a braided low pressure hose (new). The hose is not threaded correctly, so it does not work at all, which means that I cannot use the BCD as it will not inflate without a hose. I purchased this item well in advance of my trip, as I was under the impression that the BCD would be fully-functional per the item's description ("Excellent - Shows normal wear, might have minor scratches "). I notified Leisure Pro of the issue immediately after I discovered it and the same day that I received the item, Thursday June ***** Because their phone lines were closed, I sent a message marked urgent stating the issue and specifying that a replacement hose was needed as soon as possible. The Leisure Pro customer service team did not reply to my email, so I called on Friday June *** to report the issue and let them know that every day that the product was unusable, I was going to have to pay out of pocket for a rental. I spoke with two people, both of whom said that they wanted to consult with another department before issuing a replacement low pressure hose, and that I should hear from someone by the end of the day on Monday since that department was closed. They were unwilling to issue a credit towards my order for the rental without speaking with the other department. I find it completely unacceptable that Leisure Pro sent me a defective item, and is waiting until at least 5 days after the issue was reported to ship a replacement hose, knowing full well that each day they wait I have to spend more money out of pocket for a rental.

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like Leisure Pro to send a fully-functional braided low pressure hose immediately with the fastest shipping speed to avoid further issues. 2. I would like to be issued a $20 credit towards my order to cover the costs of the BCD rental for this weekend, and an additional $20 if I need to rent one again later in the week because the replacement hose has not been received. (Local rental price: *****************************************************) 3. If Leisure Pro would like their defective hose back, they will need to send a prepaid return label and arrange for a pickup.

Business Response: This issue was reported to us on Friday 6/**, we are getting ready to ship a replacement hose out today to be delivered with UPS Next Day Air, we will just confirm the size with the customer. We do not reimburse rental fees. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The issues was reported to Leisure Pro on Thursday 6/** at 9:39 PM.

Leisure Pro is offering to send a rubber hose, which is not as good of a product as the braided hose that I am supposed to receive. This is not an acceptable substitute.  

 Given the inconvenience that I went through due to Leisure Pro's mistake in sending me a defective item, I requested a $20 refund towards my order to cover the cost of renting functional equipment this weekend.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ** ******




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I have responded to all communication within minutes of receiving it, so if there is a hold up it is on the Leisure Pro end. The issues are:

1. The customer service rep who contacted me offered to replace the hose with an inferior product, and this is not acceptable. 
2. Due to Leisure Pro's error, I had to spend $20 out of pocket this weekend to use the item they shipped and inaccurately described as fully functional. I do not think it is fair for Leisure Pro to misrepresent their product and then claim that they cannot issue a refund to make up for their mistake. 


In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
****** ** ****** 




 

Business Response: We were in constant touch with the customer explaining the options to them, in the end the customer agreed to take the 27" regular hose which will be delivered to customer today, in addition to us offering them a $15 discount off the BC.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased online a dive computer on March **, 2014. About ten days later I contacted the merchant to ask where is the product (worth: $213.71). the merchant informed me that the product was shipped via UPS and placed at my door, without requiring a signature, on March ***. I never received the item and told so to the merchant's representatives, and to UPS. In addition, I informed the merchant that I need the product by March **, since I am leaving the country for a diving vacation on that day and will use the product (a dive computer). the merchant assured me I will have the product re-delivered well before my departure date. however, it is now April **, a month after the product was paid for and 10 days before my departure, and I do not yet have the product. Moreover, my attempts to contact the merchant have failed: an answering machine notifies the caller than the business is closed for the holidays and that they will reopen on April *** (presumably too late to make a timely delivery). Thus, the merchant failed to: 1. delivered a product paid for, and 2. to redeliver, as promised. The charge was also disputed with the credit card company.

Desired Settlement: timely delivery of promised product (an unlikely outcome at this stage…).

Business Response: This package was shipped and delivered by UPS, when customer contacted us to file a claim they have not received it we advised that we have to file a claim with UPS on this since there was a delivery scan, when customer advised us about their need by date we gave them the option to reorder right away and get a refund once the claim is approved which they declined, we therefore had to proceed and wait for the outcome of the claim. 

The claim has now been approved, and a new order has been entered to be reshipped, since we are now closed for the Passover holiday our shipping will resume on Wed. 4/** and this order will be shipped for overnight delivery to be delivered to customer on 4/**which is in time for their given need by date of 4/**. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *********, and find that this resolution, if complied with, would be satisfactory.  However, since this business has previously made representations that were not followed, I ask to wait until April *** (the promised date of delivery) before the complaint is closed.
 
I should also note that I tried to contact the business (via email) to ask that the delivery be made to my place of business, so that the delivery problem would not recur (this business apparently authorizes delivery without signature, without asking for the customer's consent, and it then refused to take responsibility when an item is lost), but so far received no response from them. 

Sincerely,

*************


 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiancee purchased a divers travel bag from this company in November 2011. The bag came with a 2 year warranty. Unfortunately, I did not take the bag on a plane as it was intended for but used it for light travel around the are I live in. After about a year the zipper pulled away from the bag. I contacted the manufacturer and was told to contact Leisure Pro. It was several months later that I contacted Leisure Pro as I needed the bag and could not send it back. When I did contact LP (Leisure Pro), I was told to send the bag back and that I would have to cover the shipping. I said that the bag is defective and had I gone on a trip with it, the defect would have been evident much sooner and that I could send pictures of the bag so they could see the bag looked brand new. I was told " I don't give a **** about the pictures. The bag is outside of you 60 day return policy and you have to send it back." After calling a few more times and emailing different people, the response and attitude were the same. "We believe the bag is broken but do not care about the pictures. The rules are the rules and NOTHING will change them." I sent the bag back with a note saying the I knew it could not be fixed and I wanted a refund as the bag had never been used for its intended purpose. I was told no and there was nothing that could change that. I contacted the manufacturer (Akona) and was told to keep trying with LP. I did. I posted on their ******** page and got a call from someone who never returned my call. I made it as far up their corporate ladder as the customer service manager. We got into a big fight where she told me that she was as high as I could go and that I needed to "shut up" when she was talking because I h ad not listened to anyone else and I needed to accept the fact that I was not getting the money back for the bag. I went back to Akona and was given a number to someone in their marketing who was not in customer service. my fiancee called multiple times and got the same response.. "I will pass along your information to the appropriate person" and (surprisingly) we never heard back from anyone. I have said to every person I talked to at LP that I am so very dissatisfied and unhappy about my one and only experience with them that I just want the money back and the response and attitudes have all been the same. I do not matter. Just my money.

Desired Settlement: A refund for $129.95 for the Akona bag that was purchased under the name of **** *******. Order *******.

Business Response: At Leisure Pro we have a a return policy of 60 days for refund and 120 days for store credit. This information is clearly stated on our website. 

In this case the customer reported a bag to be defective 18 months after it was purchased, this bag is covered under manufacturers warranty for repair replacement, as customer refunsed to get a replacement we honored their request and offered a store credit for the full amount of the bag. They currently have a store credit available with us for that full amount. 

Business Response: Customer reported a bag to be defective 18 months after it was purchased, this bag is covered under manufacturers warranty for repair replacement, as customer refused to get a replacement we honored their request and offered a store credit for the full amount of the bag. They currently have a store credit available with us for that full amount.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

Why do you avoid answering my questions? Why do you just copy and paste the same answer over and over? Do you not realize this will be made public? Is that how you want to represent your company? Why is your company so unresponsive to my questions? Are they too difficult to understand? Is coping and pasting the same answer the easiest way to deal with something that you are wrong on, just like allowing your customer service manager to scream, yell, and tell me to shut up?

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *******




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two atomic frameless masks from leisure pro and tested them in the pool before I went diving and found that one of them leaked and the other did not. (Brand new masks). I called leisure pro to exchange my mask that I purchased for a new one. They wanted to take the product and send it away to get fixed. After I spoke with a manager I told them this is a brand new product and never worked from the moment they sold it to me. They made me purchase another and tried to get me to pay shipping to return their defective device. After I told them I was not going to do this they agreed to pay for shipping. Today is Sunday, they received my return last week Tuesday, and still have yet to credit me. I called in and the lady told me it may take another week or so before they will process my return. As far as I am concerned they have my money for two masks and I only have one. That money should be returned to me the day they received my mask as I was told from the lady when I did the original return. If I would have known I would have never bought the second from this crappy company. I will make sure everybody I know, knows how horrible this company is and will never make a purchase from here again.

Desired Settlement: I need my refund today!

Business Response:  
I received your email, However I'm currently on vacation and out of the office with very limited access to emails, I will reply to your email after I return on Sunday August **.

If you need immediate assistance, please reach out to *** **** at *******************

Thanks
**

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

Absolutely not acceptable. There must be someone who can help me. I will report this as fraud to my bank

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******




 

Business Response: Hi ******,
 
As the BBB posted an Out Of Office reply as the official response to this complaint, we are unable to respond on your website.
 
We received the return from this customer and a full refund for the mask has been issued to their credit card on file.
 
Please consider the above as our official response to this complaint.
 
**** *****
Customer Service Manager
###-###-#### Ext.****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the Atomic Cobalt Dive computer from leisure pro. The item arrived and that week I took it diving. In a matter of. 7-14 days I used the computer 4-6 dives. On the last few dives, the computer failed to show the amount of oxygen in my tank. It showed "0 psi". Luckily I had a second computer to tell me my air. On the second dive it showed a reading but 700 psi higher then accurate. If I had not had the second computer I would have ran out of air. I called to make a return because item is defected and customer service would not let me return because it needs to go to manufacture warranty. I spoke with supervisor "*****" and she would not accept a return and said they can only send it to the manufacture to either have it fixed or replaced. I explained I will never have trust in this product and because it is within 30 days of purchase to get a full refund for defected merchandise. ***** would not accept a return. A company cannot sell defected items and not take responsibility for their products they sell!

Desired Settlement: I will not be happy with this company at all and will not be satisfied until they allow me to return their defected item.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a dive knife from Leisure Pro through their ebay aution site. When I received it, it was different from the item pictured. I sent them an email advising of the difference and they sent me an email back stating that they saw the item pictured that I was supposed to receive and they would exchange it at no extra cost (the one pictured was more expensive than the one they sent). I advised that I needed it before Christmas. They told me to order it through them directly (a violation of ebay policy) and then wait for a refund on the one I was returning. I agreed to those terms, I placed the order. Then **** from the ebay department sent me an email saying he never agreed to replace the item at no additional cost. I called him, advised I have the documentation in writing. He verbally stated on the phone that if I sent him the copy of the email and he could see that the picture was for the item I wanted, not only would he ship it that day, but he agreed to upgrade the shipping. I sent him the emails and photo's, then I got an email from him stating he wasn't going to do what he said and he cancelled my new order. I've called numerous times and all of the "customer service" people are just as rude as **** has been. Additional info - The auction said it was a blunt tip, the item pictured was a tanto tip, I was relying on the photo shown. I was unaware that there is a difference between a tanto tip and blunt tip. They both have a flat end, they are just shapped slightly different.

Desired Settlement: I would like the knife replaced with the one that is pictured in the auction at no additional cost.

Business Response: The description on this ebay listing clearly said the knife is a Stainless Steel Blunt Tip, when the customer told us that they thought it would be a different knife based on the image we offered to replace it for them with the same knife in the Tanto tip version, however we then noticed that we don't carry this particular knife in Tanto tip we therefore offered to take it back for full refund. we were not able to send a more expensive knife for the same price.



 

Consumer Response:

At this point the BBB has offered no assistance with this matter whatsoever.  I have repeatedly been asked to send the same information over and over again.  You have been provided all pertinent documentation to support this claim.  Because of your lack of assistance I have no options but to return the knife for a full refund.  Upon receipt of a prepaid label from the merchant I will return the knife for a full refund of $29.95 with no deduction for their shipping cost.

To be clear, this merchant did a bait and switch, they pictured a more expensive knife and shipped a different one.

Business Response: A prepaid return label has been sent to ********************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/19/2012 Delivery Issues
9/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/12/2012 Delivery Issues
12/6/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service