BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Backyard Masters LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Backyard Masters LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 18

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 28, 2008 Business started: 02/01/2007 in NY Business started locally: 02/01/2007 Business incorporated: 02/01/2007 in NY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dean Salvani, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean Salvani, President
Business Category

SPAS & HOT TUBS - DEALERS FURNITURE - RUSTIC OUTDOOR KITCHENS LANDSCAPE DESIGNERS SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN FURNITURE-OUTDOOR PATIO EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES


Additional Locations

  • 139 Sunrise Highway

    Patchogue, NY 11772 (631) 569-2300

  • 912 Broadhollow Rd. (Rte110)

    Farmingdale , NY 11735

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (631) 501-7665(Phone)
  • (631) 501-7665(Phone)
  • (631) 501-7665(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My pool equipment(heater, pump and salt water chlorinater) were destroyed in hurricane Sandy. I went to Backyard Masters to get a quote on the replacement eguipment. The salesman, *****, quoted me a price and informed me that since the equipment being replaced was exactly the same as the existing equipment, "his guys" would take care of the complete replacement including the plumbing and electric. I ordered the equipment. After no contact for approximately 2 months, several phone calls to the store and visits, I finally begged to have the equipment installed before my niece's graduation party. I received a call that the equipment was going to be installed but I had to pay in full first, which I did. I was hesitant to do so because of a problem with the original installation of the pool that took 3 months to resolve. They sent the installer who removed the old equipment and put the new in place but said he could not provide the electric and plumbing hook-up. When I informed him that the salesman told me it included both he said he couldn't do it. They sent al electrician out to provide the electrical installation but it was not working. I left 3 messages at the store and 2 in persona and no response. After being disgusted and wanting the equipment in working order I was forced to hire my own electrician and plumber who correctly provided the plumbing and electrical hook-up. I called my credit card company to dispute the charge and it is currently being reviewed. All I want is a refund for the amounts I paid the electrician and plumber to complete the installation. The invoice does not exclude or state that the electric and plumbing is included but the salesman informed me that it was. I trusted them and felt no need for them to separately state it on the invoice. I tried to resolve this with them directly but they were unresponsive.

Desired Settlement: Refund of electric and plumbing installation charges paid by me to others. $1,000.00.

Business Response:

   In regards to **** **** ** *********'s complaint, her order was exactly what she said; remove, supply and install a pool heater, two pumps and salt water chlorinator that were damaged by the storm which we did in fact complete.  However, Backyard Masters does not repair or replace severely damaged gas or electric lines.  This is stated on  her invoice.   These services must be proved by LICENSED PLUMBERS AND ELECTRICIANS.

   Also note that when **** ********'s pool was built, she hired a licensed electrician and plumber to run this lines initially.  Why she would think otherwise after they were damaged by the storm, we do not understand. 

   Our invoice states "NO ELECTRIC" on her invoice which she signed.  We were hired only to replace equipment, not run lines that we are not licensed to do.  Nowhere on the customer's invoice does it state that we are running gas or electric lines.  We are sincerely sorry for ***** ********'s loss.

 

Best Regards,

Backyard Masters Management

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 

 Backyard Master’s response is incorrect. There is nothing stated on my invoice that claims they do not repair or replace severely damaged gas or electric lines. There’s nothing on the invoices that states “NO ELECTRIC” as they claim. I’ve attached a copy of the invoice for your review. Additionally my gas and electric lines were not severely damaged by the storm. All that was required was a reconnect of the gas and electric. Again, the salesperson told me it was included in the price. The store is stating that they do not do any electric or gas work so then why was I informed that they would do a simple reconnect by the salesperson? If the salesperson misrepresented the store, that is not my problem. Again, of course I hired a licensed electrician on the original installation which was required of me. I was told by their salesperson that this reconnection of the electric and gas was a simple task and could be done by his installation “guy”. How was I to know that it should have been separately stated on the invoice?

 

Sincerely,

**** *********




 

Consumer Response: *** ****** please find a copy of the invoice attached. 

Thank you,
 
**** ** *********

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

We are sorry if there was some sort of misunderstanding between ***** **** ******** and our salesman, but we do not nor have we ever repaired or replaced gas or electric lines.  These services must be done by a licensed plumber or electrician. 

Again, when we initially built ***** ********'s pool, she hired a licensed electrician and plumber to run these same lines.  Why she would think otherwise after they were damaged by the storm, we do not understand!

I am sorry but at this point in time, we will no longer be responding to this matter.

 

Best Regards,

Backyard Masters Management

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May **, 2013 I purchased a Napoleon Mirage Grill for the amount of $1,199.99 at the Backyard Masters store from a salesperson named *****. I was told that the grill would be delivered sometime on May **, in time for a Memorial Day Barbecue. I also purchased a cover for the grill in the amount of $69.00. The grill was delivered in the rain on May **, 2013 by two delivery men. When they placed the grill on my back deck, the doors fell off. They looked for a manual but didn't have one so they tried to reattach the doors. They laughed as they tried to once again assemble the doors and after two attempts and what seemed like the doors were ok, I requested that they write on the delivery slip that the manual was missing which they did ( enclosed slip). I covered the grill since it was raining. The following day my husband uncovered the grill and the doors once again fell off. Upon closer inspection we noticed that the sides of the grill were damaged as well. We immediately called Backyard Masters. I spoke with ***** and I was told someone would get back to me by the name of **** from the delivery dept. I requested that the grill be returned and my money refunded. I waited and no one returned the call for 5 days when I called again and spoke to *****. She seemed surprised that **** had no gotten back to me and assured me that he would. Again I waited another few days and no one returned my call. I once again called ***** and told her that my husband had filed a complaint with American Express. ***** said that once we contacted American Express that she could no longer deal with me and that it was in the hands of the credit card company. I asked what this meant and she told me that the store might have worked with me but now they would no longer since I had lodged a complaint. American Express could not help me since I signed the delivery slip stating that it was in good shape. I was deceived by the delivery men who quickly got me to sign the slip in the rain. I believe they may have dropped this grill when taking it off the truck. I am appalled by the lack of response on the part of the store. I have called and spoken to **** in the delivery dept. more than 6 times and each time he has told me he would speak with the owner and get back to me. He has never called me back. All I ask at this point is that the barbecue be returned and my money refunded in the amount of $1,199.00 plus $90.00 delivery charge and $109.54 taxes for a total of $1,399.53. If my money is not refunded then I would settle for a new barbecue, not a repair of the defective one delivered to my home.

Desired Settlement: I do not want this grill repaired, instead I would like a new grill or preferably my money refunded.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

 

Backyard Masters has a delivery slip that was signed by the customer that the grill was delivered and accepted in good condition.  A copy of this signed delivery is attached to this response. 

 

Best Regards,

Backyard Masters Management

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:The delivery was delivered in the rain and I was deceived into believing that the men had corrected the problem when they had not. They rushed out before I could see the damage. I called the store and they did not get back to me.
Sincerely,

****** ************




 

Business Response:

Backyard Masters, stands by our previous response that was sent on 10/*/13


To Whom It May Concern:

Backyard Masters has a delivery slip that was signed by the customer which stated that the grill was delivered and accepted in good condition.  A copy of this signed delivery slip is attached to this response.

 

Best Regards,

Backyard Masters Management


Backyard Masters will no longer respond to this complaint.  We are sorry, but we cannot replace anything for free or refund the customer which is what the customer is requesting when it was delivered in good condition. 

We will provide the attached delivery slip again to this response.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called this company several times for repairs on there product and installation. i have been given the run around along with 5 appointments of which they failed to show up for. I waited all five times and not once did they call to say that they would not be coming to do the repair on their poor workmanship. When i did call them they all acted as if this was the first time i called and assured they were the person who would resolve the issue, yet it seems they use every excuse they can from potential of a employee not returning their call and they are concerned that he may be hurt or they are busy due to storm Sandy. I am so over their lies and lack of follow up!! All they have is excuses, i am really not sure how they are still in business.

Desired Settlement: FINISH THEIR CRAPPY JOB

Business Response:



***** ******




As far as we know , all of ** *********'s issue's have been completely and satisfactorily addressed. We are sorry *** *********'s issue's were not performed on the times that he requested, however none of his issues were emergencies. Due to hurricane Sandy this has been a Very trying year, and there were many emergency jobs that took a precedence over other jobs such as *** *********'s which were in no way an emergency.. In our companies 35 year history, this has been the Moast trying of them all due to Huricane Sandy.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Backyard Masters is sorry, but we stand by our last answer.  We have witnesses to all that is stated in the previous letter (please see attached support which is our previous response).  We will no longer respond to this claim.

 

Best Regards,

Backyard Masters Management

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

So basically they can just make a blanket statement and walk away from their poor workmenship??  I want the following issues resolved by the beginning of the next spring or i will start to take legal action

 

Repair the leak that they claimed to have fixed the first time in the return

repair the damage to the pavers that was created when they tried to fix the leak 

repair the leaking water fall. 

 

If they  have no intention and stand behind their lying comments i will take legal action and ensure i make it known to the public that they do not stand behind their work and they are not a reputable company

 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ** *******




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a pool cover and it came with a 1 year warranty no charge. We went to the store before the year was up because we had a problem with it and the store manager said he would not honor the warranty because we had a hurricane 6 months earlier and said he did not want to get stuck with it. It turned out he was the owner. We called the company who said they would honor the warranty but we had to send them $20.00. This is not what the warranty states and it is not fair.

Desired Settlement: All I want is a replacement cover as stated in their warranty.
 

Business Response: Dear ***** ******,


*** ***** is being highly unreasonable. Pool covers are covered under normal use and wear and tear, not from the likes of hurricane winds from hurricane Sandy. This is the reason the
manufacturer is charging $20.00 to replace his cover which is stated in *** *****'s warranty. We do not manufacture the cover and *** ***** should put in an insurance claim.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

I have the warranty here and nowhere on here does it say there will be a $20 charge. Swimline says to go to the store and the store says he is not responsible. He is also not a very nice person. It says all covers are to be returned to the dealer. Yet the Dealer, Backyard Masters says no. When you buy a toaster from Target that is defective you don't go to the manufacturer you return it to Target. I don't know why they are giving us such a hard time. When I originally called the store a worker told me to cut a piece of the cover and bring it in then they would replace it. That was their policy. I did not want to cut it so I brought the whole cover, Backyard Masters would not even look at it. He was just nasty to us.

 

Thank you for your help.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

 

*** *****'s warranty is with his pool cover's manufacturer, Swimline.  Backyard Masters is no longer a Swimline dealer so we cannot file any warranty claims.  The customer must do it directly themselves or go through another Swimline dealer.  Sorry, but we have no recourse other then *** ***** going back to the manufacturer, Swimline.  There is nothing else we can do. 

 

Best Regards,

Backyard Masters Management

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When Backyard Masters came to open up our pool this year on May **, 2013, their serviceman was unable to due to the pool heater being broken. Their own serviceman they sent(who was an outsourced person), named ****** ******* of Summer B's Pools (phone # ###-###-####) told me the reason the heater was broken was due to the fact the pool was not winterized properly and the water was not blown out the pipes and basically, water stayed in the heater pipes and froze and burst the pipes. Backyard Masters was the company I have used from the beginning (to create and service the pool) for my pool and they were the company who negligently winterized the pool the prior year. I contacted Backyard Masters immediately who did not deny the wrongdoing but said to contact **** *******, who is the Aqua Comfort Heating Manufacturer representative they use (this is the heater I had installed by Backyard Masters). **** instructed me to contact one of the companies they use to service their heaters, which is Pools by ***** ****** (###-###-####). I let Backyard Masters know this was the plan at that time though they never followed up on this themselves. The ***** ** **** by ***** ****** himself came to inspect the heater and he said there was no question that the heater was broken from improper winterization(The Aquacomfort people nor the Backyard Masters people ever came themselves to look at anything) and he said he would sign on the dotted line this was the case. He contacted the AquaComfort company himself explaining the broken heater was due to improper winterization. I informed Backyard Masters of this and tried to get them to work with me but they never got back to me about anything. Instead of waiting a whole summer to see if Backyard Masters would ever return my call or do anything, I had the pools by ***** ****** people replace the broken heater. I left over a dozen messages with Backyard Masters that I was doing this but they never returned my call. In fact, the only time Backyard Masters ever returned my calls(I called more than once a week) was over 6 weeks later when I sent them a letter informing them that if they do not respond to me and work with me on compensating me for their negligence, I would bring them to court. Even at that time, all they said was, contact **** ******* which I proceeded to do and again, neither he nor Backyard Masters ever got back to me or followed through with anything. At that time, I was improperly accused of hiding the old heater and that it was never really truly broken. I reminded them that I asked them to look at the heater but they never came to the home or cared about it enough to do anything or inspect it. I then informed him that I never got rid of the heater but I still have it on my property and that they could come and inspect it themselves if they did not trust the opinion of the heater servicing company that they themselves sent me to initially(as well as their own serviceman telling me it was broken from their negligence) I am asking Backyard Masters to reimburse me the $4,779.72 needed to replace and install the new heater. (This does not even include the initial service call of $308.61 I paid to have the heater inspected and looked at when it was confirmed it was broken)

Desired Settlement: I am asking Backyard Masters to reimburse me the $4,779.72 needed to replace and install the new heater. (This does not even include the initial service call of $308.61 I paid to have the heater inspected and looked at when it was confirmed it was broken)

Business Response:
 
Dear *** ******:
 
I would like to respond on behalf of Aqua Comfort Heat Pumps to the complaint from:
               
*** **** ******
                *** ******* ******                 ********* ** *****                 ***** ********                 **********************
 
                Pool Dealer: 
Backyard Masters
                *** *********** ****                 ************ ** *****                 ***** ********
 
According to Aqua Comfort’s records a model AC 110 Heat Pump with serial number # ****** was installed at the ****** residence by an Aqua Comfort dealer Backyard Master Pool Company in 2010.  The unit was sold with a factory warranty (see attached) that was for 1 year parts and labor and an additional parts only warranty on the compressor and heat exchanger.  *** ****** labor warranty expired in October of 2011.  Aqua Comfort acknowledges that *** ****** has a service issue with his unit.  However, at no time did anyone at Aqua Comfort or Backyard Masters authorize *** ****** to purchase a new competitive brand of heat pump.  He made that decision for himself on the $4,779.72 purchase.  Our warranty clearly states that the liability shall not exceed the cost of the repair or replacement of defective parts.  *** ****** decision to buy a new unit is not and will not be covered under our warranty program.
 
 
 
 
LIMITED WARRANTY - HEAT PUMP POOL HEATERS
AQUA COMFORT TECHNOLOGIES INC. (ACT) warrants only to the original owner, the HEAT PUMP POOL HEATER to be free of defects in materials and workmanship for a limited ten (10) year term as follows: One (1) year full parts and labor, years two (2) through ten (10) the compressor and heat exchanger (part only). This warranty does not include transportation charges for equipment or component parts to or from the factory. This warranty is valid only in the Continental U.S. The labor for repair or replacement of defective parts will be provided by ACT subject to the conditions of this limited warranty.
THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF WARRANTY is the date of installation, if properly documented, otherwise the date of manufacture plus three (3) months.
THIS WARRANTY WILL NOT APPLY TO: A) Malfunction or damage resulting from installation, operation, maintenance, voltage conditions, or service not in accordance with ACT specifications. B) Malfunction or damage due to the failure to perform normal maintenance as outlined in the Owner’s Manual. C) MalfuncĀ­tion or damage due to conditions not intended for original use of the unit. D) Malfunction or damage due to negligence, abuse, freezing conditions, accident, or acts of God. E) Malfunction or damage from plants or animals. F) Malfunction or damage from the attachment of accessories not authorized by ACT. G) Unnecessary service calls due to erroneous operational reports, maintenance and electrical service. H) Units sold outside the continental United States.
SERVICE PERFORMED WITHIN THE WARRANTY PERIOD must be approved by ACT PRIOR to service being performed, and must be performed by an authorized technician. The warranty is void if the unit is repaired by anyone unauthorized by ACT. Reimbursement for replacement parts or repair services that are not authorized or performed by ACT are not covered under this limited warranty.
WARRANTY PARTS will be replaced or repaired at the discretion of ACT. Shipping of warranty parts is not included. Defective parts must be returned to ACT within the warranty period for validation. ACT is not liable for the labor involved in the unauthorized repair, or replacement costs including parts and labor. This warranty is in lieu of all other warranties, expressed or implied, written or oral. The liability of ACT shall not exceed the cost of the repair or replacement of defective parts; ACT is not liable for damages of any sort whatsoever, including incidental and consequential. There are no implied warranties of fitness for a particular purpose that apply to this product.
 
 
 
 
 
 
However, Aqua Comfort is willing to pick up the original Aqua Comfort unit at *** ******’s home and offer a factory repair for the unit at our *** ****** ** manufacturing facility.  Once the unit is repaired, we will deliver the unit back to the ****** residence.  Our engineering department will determine the cause of the damage and issue an official report of cause after examination.  Aqua Comfort will return the unit to manufacturing specifications with no labor charge to *** ****** as a goodwill gesture.  The freight to and from *** ******’s home is not covered (see warranty page 14 H.O. Manual).
 
Aqua Comfort will go above and beyond to repair the unit for *** ****** in a timely manner.  Please have *** ****** contact me directly to schedule pick up and start the repair process. 
 
Sincerely,
 
******* ** ****
******* *** ******* ** ***** * * ******** ****** ** ***** ************ ****************************

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that if given a choice, I would still prefer Backyard MAsters to pay for the damage they caused since I am not saying it was the heater that was deficient but that it was the servicing company for the heater, backyard masters, who was negligent in servicing the heater and broke the heater beyond repair. If Acqua Comfort says that they can fix the heater, then I have it ready for the pickup and I appreciate their willingness to rectify the situation. If they are unable to fix the heater, will they be sending me a new one?
Sincerely,

**** ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My credit card was charged $553.98 on October **, 2011 by **** at Backyard Masters in Patchogue for a J360 Jacuzzi Spa Cover. I contacted **** numerous times starting in January 2012 regarding the status of my cover to which he replied another two weeks repeatedly. Backyard Masters did not order the cover till March **, 2012 which was five months later and they ordered a standard spa cover 86"-96" from Custom Spa Covers which was too big for my spa and the skirt was slit when it was should have been continuous. I did not receive the cover till April **, 2012 and I called **** as soon as I got home and put the cover on my spa because it was not the cover I ordered but there was no answer at Backyard Masters which was a problem I frequently encountered because **** was the only employee at the Patchogue Store. I put the new cover in my garage because it was too big for my spa and put my old cover back on my spa. On April **, 2012 I went to Backyard Masters and spoke with **** to let him know that the cover was wrong. Initially he said the skirt is supposed to be slit but I showed him on the miniature model in the store that he showed me when I ordered the cover and the skirt was continuous. He agreed that it was the wrong cover and went over to his desk to call about getting the correct cover. He was unable to reach anyone and told me he would get back to me but never did. After repeated attempts and not being able to reach ****, on May **, 2012 I brought the cover back to Backyard Masters because it was just taking up space in my garage. When I met with **** he accepted the cover and even helped me take it out of the minivan. Initially I just wanted a refund but **** said that he would get the correct J360 Jacuzzi cover and I still needed the correct cover. I asked **** how long it would take to get the new correct cover and he said two to three weeks. After waiting patiently for three weeks, I started calling Backyard Masters and got no response. In July I contacted my credit card company and then I was hospitalized for a serious fall and I had a long recovery. My credit card company provided me with a new contact **** at Backyard Masters and he was very nice to deal with and I had renewed faith that I would receive the correct cover. I spoke with **** numerous times and also **** who was covering for **** while he was on vacation. **** said he would look into this and resolve the issue. **** left a message for me that the cover would be delivered on Friday February ***. I called Friday morning to request a time frame for the delivery and received the automated phone service numerous times and left my name twice. I waited all day Friday for the delivery which never came and also Backyard Masters did not even have the courteous to return my calls to let me know that they were not going to show up. I called again on Saturday February *** and spoke with ****. **** said they would deliver the cover on Monday but I would not be home so he said they would deliver it on Tuesday February *** which I agreed to. Backyard Masters called me on Tuesday February *** to confirm that they had the cover and they would deliver it between 12:30 and 2pm. At 2:30pm I received a call from **** at Backyard Masters to let me know that they only had the “skin” and therefore they did not have the cover to deliver. I told **** at that time that I was done dealing with Backyard Masters and wanted a refund. Unfortunately after numerous conversations and even two delivery dates that Backyard Masters set I still do not have the J360 Jacuzzi Spa cover that I ordered on October **, 2011.

Desired Settlement: I have given Backyard Masters well over a year to deliver a J360 Jacuzzi Spa Cover which is what I ordered and they have failed to do so and now I am seeking a full refund of $553.98.

Business Response:
This letter is in response to ******** ******'s dispute, **********.
 
 
On October **, 2011 ******** ****** came in to Backyard Master's Patchogue location inquiring about a new hot tub cover. On that day, **** ****** spoke with **** and placed the customer order for the cover. She placed a deposit in the amount of $553.98 for us to put the customer order through with the manufacturer. See Appendix A - Signed Credit Card Receipt.
Around the same time, **** ****** purchased a hot tub cover from a different pool store.  That  store  did  not  get  her  order  correct  and  she was  looking  to  cancel  from  them. Unfortunately,  she could  not  get  her  deposit  back  from  the  other  store  and  called  Backyard Masters to cancel her order she placed  on October ****. The order form used  to confirm the correct hot tub cover size, radius, style and color. **** ****** confirmed all the information on the order form by signing the bottom. Sec Appendix B - Signed Spa Cover Order Form.
The store manager in Patchogue told **** ****** to come in to the store to cancel and receive the refund on her credit card. After that phone call she did not visit the store  and Backyard Masters did not have contact with **** ****** until February 2012.
At the end of February 2012, **** ****** called Backyard Masters again to confirm that
she did want to move forward with the original order placed in October 2011. Backyard Masters went ahead and placed the order for **** ******'s hot tub cover in March 2012, and finally confirmed by the manufacturer on March **, 2012. The hot tub cover was picked up by Backyard Masters on Apri **** 2012. **** ****** came to the Patchogue location to pick up the cover on April *** 2012.


After two weeks of use **** ****** expressed her dissatisfaction with the type of skirt placed on her cover. The manager in Patchogue told her that we can replace the skirt to her liking for no extra charge. Nearly a month after using the new cover, on Memorial Day **** ****** came back to Patchogue and dropped off the cover in the back of the store without prior notice. At that time she demanded a refund. Unfortunately, Backyard  Masters cannot refund or accept a return on a custom order or used merchandise. See Appendix C - Sales Order stipulating store policy.
However, in January 2013, **** ****** changed her mind and agreed to have the four
comer skirts sewn together. Backyard Masters gladly covered the cost of such a modification to satisfy our customer. Sec Appendix D - Packing List for **** ******'s modified spa cover.
As soon as the cover was ready for delivery – the foam pieces inserted into the skin, NOT
just the skin on its own - **** ****** agreed to have the spa technician personally deliver and install the spa cover to ensure it properly fit her Jacuzzi Spa.
When we tried calling her to confirm the delivery date, she never answered our call. We
left a voicemail and still received no call. In the interim, we spoke to her credit card company and had her chargeback reversed in our favor. Merchant Services agreed with us that this was a fulfilled, custom order that the card member rightfully owns. The spa cover is her property.
Once again, this is **** ******'s custom spa cover that she ordered and paid for. She
received exactly what she signed for. Backyard Masters did everything we could to satisfy her. We ask that she either pick up the cover, or let us know when we can deliver it.
If you require additional information, please feel free to call the store at ****** ******* Thank you very much.
 
 

Consumer Response: ****** ******** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

My position is clear; Backyard Masters was unable to deliver the J360 Jacuzzi spa cover that I ordered and now they are refusing to return the $553.98 that I paid on ******* **, 2011.  

 

As I have previously stated in great detail, **** acknowledged that the spa cover that I received was not the J360 Jacuzzi cover that I ordered because it was the wrong size and the skirt was not continuous.  He agreed to get the correct cover which was never done.  The cover was too big for me to use hence not the correct cover for my Jacuzzi and the skirt was supposed to be continuous not slit.  Backyard Masters is saying that they agreed to have the sides of the skirt sewn at their expense but the J360 Jacuzzi cover that I ordered should have been the correct size and the sides should have been continuous.  I have addressed all of the inaccuracies in the previous response from Backyard Masters which I will list below. 

 

The response from ****** ******** contains many inaccuracies that I need to address. 

 

First ****** ********’s Appendix A – Signed Credit Card Receipt is for spa chemicals that I bought NOT the J360 Jacuzzi Cover in question. 

 

The second paragraph states that I purchased a hot tub cover from another store and that I wanted to wait to place my order with Backyard Masters till I saw the credit on my statement which is true. However I spoke with **** at Backyard Masters to order the cover within one month when I saw the credit on my statement but unfortunately I do not have the date documented because at that time I saw no reason to keep track of all my correspondence with Backyard Masters. 

 

Appendix B – Signed Spa cover Order Form, ****** states that “I confirmed the correct hot tub cover size, radius, style and color” when in fact I gave ****, the salesman at Backyard Masters, the model number, J360 Jacuzzi and the serial number for my Jacuzzi which is the only information he asked for regarding the size and at no point did he mention that I needed to take measurements.  The order form does not have any measurements given only the J360 Jacuzzi model number. 

 

The third paragraph is all false.  The store manager NEVER told me to come to the store to cancel my order and receive a credit on my credit card.  I was the one calling Backyard Masters repeatedly with no answer or response from them.  In February when I finally got a hold of **** to find out when the cover would be in and he assured me “another 2 weeks” repeatedly.  **** was either misinformed or just lied to me because according to Invoice ****** from Custom Spa Covers, Backyard Masters ordered a Standard Spa Cover 86”-96” on 3/**/2012 and it was shipped on 4/**/2013.I confirmed my order much earlier but even if we go by ****** ********’s date of late February which is incorrect, Backyard Masters did not order the cover until March ** (a month later). 

 

Paragraph five states that “after two weeks of use ***. ****** expressed her dissatisfaction with the type of skirt placed on her cover.” This is false, I called Backyard Masters that day as soon as I got home and saw that the cover not only was too big for my Jacuzzi but also the sides were wrong.  There was no answer at Backyard Masters which was a problem I frequently encountered because **** was the only employee at the Patchogue Store at the time. I put the new cover in my garage because it was too big for my spa and put my old cover back on my spa.  This was not something I could bring back to the store myself; I would need to borrow a truck or minivan and would also need someone to help me lift it. Since there was no answer at the store I wasn’t sure **** was even there and that is why I didn’t bring it back immediately.  On April **, 2012 I went to Backyard Masters and spoke with **** to let him know that the cover was wrong. Initially he said the skirt is supposed to be slit but I showed him on the miniature model in the store that he showed me when I ordered the cover and the skirt was continuous. He agreed that it was the wrong cover and went over to his desk to call about getting the correct cover. He was unable to reach anyone and told me he would get back to me but never did. 

 

After repeated attempts and not being able to reach ****, on May **, 2012 I brought the cover back to Backyard Masters because it was just taking up space in my garage. When I met with **** he accepted the cover and even helped me take it out of the minivan.  Which is very different from ******’s account that, I “dropped off the cover in the back of the store”.  Initially I wanted a refund but **** told me they would send back the cover and agreed that it was the wrong size, the sides should be continuous and the steam stopper was wrong.  **** also said that my new cover would arrive in about two weeks which I completely agreed to because I wanted the cover that I ordered.  Appendix C –Sales Order stipulating store policy, which states no refunds or exchanges on covers used or damaged products as well as special orders. I never saw this document and at no point did **** ever say this was a custom order or a final sale and this document contains inaccuracies also.  According to Appendix B, which is the order form I signed, the cover was to be russet in color with a 5”skirt whereas this document, Appendix C, states the cover is teak in color with 6” flaps which is not what I ordered.  

 

Paragraph six states, “However, in January 2013, ***. ****** changed her mind and agreed to have the four corner skirts sewn together.  Backyard Masters gladly covered the cost of such a modification to satisfy our customer. See Appendix D-Packing List for ***. ******’s modified spa cover.”  This statement is completely false and I never changed my mind in January 2013. I was under the impression that when I spoke to **** in May and he told me he was going to return the incorrect cover and make modifications to satisfy what I originally ordered in October 2011 that is what he was going to do. During this time I fell and broke my hip while on vacation and had a lengthy hospital stay and recovery time which explains why I was unable to follow up with Backyard Masters.  I never agreed to have the four corners sewn together because that is not what I ordered.  During this time my credit card company was in contact with Backyard Masters and according to a letter that ****** ******** sent to Merchant Services on June **, 2012 he states that Backyard Masters will replace the skirt not sew the corners together. In the same letter he states that the cover is in the Patchogue location and the modifications to the cover were done and I refused to pick up the cover however there was NO cover for me to pick up because the modifications were not done until January *, 2013 according to ******’s Appendix D.  ****** must have been mistaken when he sent that letter to Merchant Services stating I refused to pick up the modified cover in June 2012 because he told the Better Business Bureau that the modifications were not done until January 2013.  

 

According to paragraph seven, “As soon as the cover was ready for delivery – the foam pieces inserted into the skin, NOT just the skin on its own– ***. ****** agreed to have the spa technician personally deliver and install the spa cover to ensure it properly fit her Jacuzzi Spa.”  Is completely true however Backyard Masters was unable to deliver the cover because they did not have the cover. **** whom I was dealing with at Backyard Masters at the time left a message for me that the cover would be delivered on Friday February ***. I called Friday morning to request a time frame for the delivery and received the automated phone service numerous times and left my name twice. I waited all day Friday for the delivery which never came and also Backyard Masters did not even have the courteous to return my calls to let me know that they were not going to show up. I called again on Saturday February *** and spoke with ****. **** said they would deliver the cover on Monday but I would not be home so he said they would deliver it on Tuesday February *** which I agreed to. Backyard Masters called me on Tuesday February *** to confirm that they had the cover and they would deliver it between 12:30 and 2pm. At 2:30pm I received a call from **** at Backyard Masters to let me know that they only had the “skin” and therefore they did not have the cover to deliver. I told **** at that time that I was done dealing with Backyard Masters and wanted a refund.  

 

Paragraph eight of ******’s letter is false, we had a delivery date of February *** and they did not have the cover to deliver which they told me after the time frame they set for delivery. Also he states that the charge back from my credit card company was reversed in his favor but that was actually done in July 2012 in response to his letter to Merchant Services stating that he had the modified cover ready for me in the Patchogue store which could not have been possible since the modifications were not done till January 2013 according to his Appendix D.  Paragraph nine is also completely false since I do not have the J360 Jacuzzi cover that I ordered and paid for. 

 

I have been extremely patient and understanding with Backyard Masters.  Unfortunately after numerous conversations and even two delivery dates that Backyard Masters set and canceled, I still do not have the J360 Jacuzzi Spa cover that I ordered on October **, 2011.I do not trust Backyard Masters at all since they have told multiple different accounts of this transaction to me, Merchant Services and also to the Better Business Bureau.  I feel that Backyard Masters has not handled this in an honest and professional matter which is why I am seeking a refund for the cover I never received.  Please let me know if I can provide any further information.

 

Sincerely, 

 

******** ******

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question ab

 

 

 

Business Response: This letter is in response to ******** ******'s response, ID# *******
 
*****:
The facts of the situation are clear. Backyard has spent time, money and energy trying to resolve this issue. We responded to **** ******, Merchant services and BBB regarding these issues:
We admit that the cover she thought she was ordering would be manufactured like the sample on display in the Patchogue store, but was not. We acknowledged this issue by working with the manufacturer to construct a new cover matching her hot tub specifications.
We feel confident that the all the facts presented in our original response are accurate.
The inaccuracies pointed out by **** ****** cannot be proven, nor affect the outcome at this time. We provided signed and dated documentation showing the course of events that took place between October 2011 and May 2012. Backyard Masters still has **** ******'s new cover in our inventory and has warehoused it since she requested it over year ago. It is here ready to be picked up.
At this point we cannot refund her order. We placed an original order with the manufacturer, made up for dissatisfaction by reordering the additional cover. Backyard Masters has already gone against its normal policies by agreeing to reorder a custom cover. We cannot offer her the refund, which only the merchandise ordered. It seems as if **** ****** will not accept anything other than a refund but unfortunately we cannot provide that to her. She can pick up the cover whenever she'd like.
If there is anything else we can do to help rectify this situation further please let us know.
Backyard Masters strives for perfect customer service. We hope to continue to provide perfect service in conjunction with the Better Business Bureau.
 
Sincerely,
****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!!! TERRIBLE BUSINESS AND ATTITUDE!!! BAD NEWS!!!!!! We had purchased a Rattan Lounge Chair with Canopy in 10/**/2011. Didn't put the chair out till the following June 2012!!!! The Chair has a canopy on top that not only the material on it faded the pistons that get the canopy up were leaking and and do not work any longer!! I spoke to ***** back in October of 2012 to tell her what was going on and she had said to give them a call back in spring 2013 because they would receive the product again then and they will see what can be done at that time. In meanwhile, she had asked me to take pictures and send them to her email which we have done. I proceeded to call in 3/2012 to have her avoiding calls and visits to store!! Finally spoke to another person and they told me they would see what they could do but that they no longer sell that brand!!!!! She said she would call me back and she never did!! I then called again from my home phone and kept going to a message so I decided to call from my cell and like magic someone picked up the phone!!!! I believe it was the owner "****" that asked me when I purchased chair and said to me didn't you get it at a discount price!! He said " Those chairs normally go for a few thousand dollars , the good ones." " The canopy would fade and you can go to the store and get a new piston or pistons." I responded with are you kidding me ??? you don't stand behind your products you sell?? Also my husband looked into replacing the pistons and no one sells it which I don't understand why we should pay for it anyway .Just because it was on sale when I got it doesn't meant it should fall apart after a few months of use at the most . We take care of our things too and I even offered them to come down and see!!! It was $760 for the chair that is still my money!!! I would like quality products!! He said he would get right back to me and give me a call!! Here we are again no response or answer!! I am sick of them and their attitude I will never go there again and tell everyone I know to stay away!! I am just glad we didn't use them for the in ground pool and we are getting a hot tube now sure to stay away from them!!!

Desired Settlement: I just wanted the chair fixed or a new one if they couldn't fix it!! I was polite to them even after the games they played!!

Business Response: I'm sorry but no one played a game with **** ******. She was told several times there was nothing we could do for her. First, it was out of the 1 year manufacturers's warranty. The lounge she purchased is a NON-Sunbrella fabric . Had it been a Sunbrella fabric the price would have been double, even at a closeout price, and would have not faded. As far as the piston goes, it is passed the 1 year manufacturer's warranty period. It was in working order when she purchased it. As like many products sold today there is a good, better, and best in quality, and as a result a warranty reflects this in a price we pay for something. **** ****** also new she was given a CLOSE OUT price which she admits to in the letter and was also told we closed it out because the company is no longer around.

Unfortunately at this time there is nothing we can do for her, with this product.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 That is very nice of them to get back but we know what really happened . It was not out of warranty when I first told them about the problem . ***** told me to wait for the new spring season to start . So that answer is not acceptable . Also I do get you get good , better and best but just because you get good at a close out price doesn't mean you should get junk !! Shame on them for not standing behind their products they sell . And no everyone didn't tell me they could  do nothing for me so it is sad that they lie.. Like I said just glad I didn't pick them to put in our 60 thousand dollar pool in  . But then again I guess according to them if you spend a lot of money then you have something !!! It was 700 no matter how you look at it and broke a few months later I don't know who there other customers are but I can guarantee myself and everyone I know don't appreciate business like them and will stay clear of them !! 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ******




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1