BBB Accredited Business since

Brickhouse Security

Phone: (800) 654-7966 View Additional Phone Numbers 980 6th Avenue, 3rd Floor, New York, NY 10018 http://www.brickhousesecurity.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brickhouse Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brickhouse Security include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 21
Total Closed Complaints 32

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Brickhouse Security
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 03, 2006 Business started: 03/01/2004 in NY Business incorporated 01/05/2005 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Daniel Sachs, VP of Operations
Business Category

SECURITY SYSTEMS CONSULTANTS SECURITY CONTROL EQUIPMENT, SYS/MONITOR

Alternate Business Names
Brickhouse Electronics LLC Brickhouse Security.com

Additional Locations

  • 980 6th Avenue, 3rd Floor

    New York, NY 10018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brink House has charged our account several times without our consent and have refused to refund our money they can only extend our subscription which we have just paid in full for a year. They recently charged us $900.00 and said it was a billing error but can not refund the money only extend our subscription. I told them this was unacceptable we have no desire to continue if they can not correctly bill a customer and charge as they please with a no refund. Took 30 min on the phone trying to speak with a supervisor. They took my information and said when a supervisor is available they will call me back.

Desired Settlement: This company should have to refund money when they make a billing error. This was not our fault we paid a year in advance for their services and should not be stuck with one more without our authorization

Business Response: Hello ******** **** and ******* *******,

We audited *** ****'s account to investigate this claim and to confirm if there was any error in the billing on this account. 

*** **** first purchased 3 HCT trackers on 1/**/15, order number *******. On this order annual billing was requested for those 3 devices. The annual service for those 3 units was charged on 1/**/15 in the amount of $898.50. 

On 1/**/15 *** **** placed a new order for 3 Trackports, a different type of GPS tracker that our company offers. This new order was placed with monthly billing terms set on the subscription for the 3 new units. The monthly service for the new units was first billed on 2/*/15 in the amount of $89.85 to renew every 30 days afterwards. 

We were contacted later on 2/**/15 by *** **** requesting a return on the 3 HCT's from the original purchase from 1/**/15. We received these 3 units back and issued a refund for them on 2/**/15. We did find a mistake was made here as the pre-paid service for those 3 returned devices was not refunded at that time, even though they had been returned and service on those units was cancelled.

On 4/**/15 our support team was contacted by *** **** in regards to the billing for the Trackports on her account. She called as she had been being billed monthly for the 3 Trackports which remained active on her account. *** **** was stating on that call that the the subscription should be on annual terms instead of monthly for those devices. As service on the Trackports had not been prepaid previously, the agent took this to mean that *** **** wanted to change the frequency of the billing on those units from monthly to annual. The subscription for the Trackports was updated to be for annual billing going forward and an offer of 1 month free service was also added to the account and was applied for May service. The subscription then came due on 6/*/15 with the updated annual billing terms and the account was charged $898.20 for the annual subscription on the 3 Trackports. 

As the service that was prepaid in January was for the returned HCT trackers, we are issuing a refund in full for that $898.50 charge. This should have been credited at the time the return was authorized and the service on those 3 units was deactivated.

I will be looking into how this concern was handled by our support team and our supervisor when *** **** contacted us on 6/**. If there ever is an error on our part in billing we have no problem issuing refunds and we will be investigating why this was not offered on the **** when this issue was first raised to us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience in this matter and that *** **** was not offered a speedier resolution to this issue. The refund for the January charge of $898.50 is being processed today and *** **** will receive an email confirmation of the credit issued.

Best regards,
***** *****
******** ******* *******
BrickHouse Security

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. It is unfortunate that I was not given this option when I called in on June **, 2015 I was told they do not issue refunds. This is how the matter should have been taken care of all along

Sincerely,

******** ****



 

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It's has been two months since Brickhouse bought our service plan from Securus and our trackers are still not working.  Tracker THC: the panic alarm doesn't work consistently. The Geo fence doesn't work. Notices lag hours if any notices are even received.  Tracker THC2: the panic alarm doesn't work consistently. The Geo fence doesn't work. Notices lag hours if any notices are even received.  Tracker Central: the panic alarm doesn't work consistently. The Geo fence doesn't work. Notices lag hours if any notices are even received.  Tracker Raven2: the panic alarm doesn't work consistently. The panic alarm doesn't give an address when triggered. Notices lag hours if any notices are even received.  Tracker Church: the panic alarm doesn't work consistently. The Geo fence doesn't work. Notices lag hours if any notices are even received.  Mobile website will not update and still shows day old information about the trackers unless you click on one specific tracker.  Website account shows day old information and doesn't log any of the panic alarms as it should.  A look at the account shows we have called in and emailed countless times over the past 2 months with endless promises it will be fixed, a programmer is working on it, Brickhouse needs another week, a supervisor will contact us back, etc. After 2 months, the problems continue. I personally hold a Master of Science in IT and this issue doesn't take months to fix but mere hours. We continue to get charged for services we have yet to be provided.

Desired Settlement: Fix the aforementioned issues and provide reliable service where Geo fences work, panic alarms work, mobile website works, website works, address of location is provided and all tracker notices are received immediately.

Business Response: Hello ****** ****** and ***** *****,

We sincerely apologize for the issues *** ***** has been experiencing since the transition to BrickHouse as well as the lack of resolution to his problems. I have assigned his case to one of our corporate tech support specialists to personally assist with this account. We have tried reaching out by phone today to get in touch and also sent *** ***** an email with our corporate support rep's information. 

As the issues he has experienced have been ongoing we have extended a free month of service for all of the devices on his account with us.


Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* ******* ********** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The issued remain and the service is still not being provided. We have been billed for the past month for services that were not provided. We should be refunded last month and continue to go unbilled until this issue is resolved. As it has been months of the issue remaining-we are growing impatient and wonder if the service will ever work. If Brickhouse cannot get the service up and running within another week, it would seem fair for them to allow us to turn in our devices and be refunded for them. We purchased the devices under the belief that service would be provided and clearly that hasn't occurred.  

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

Business Response: Hello ****** ****** and ***** *****,

We have issued refunds in full for the 1 month of service that had been charged already on *** *****'s account. The service extension of a free month we applied also remains on the account so that *** ***** will not be charged for service while we continue to work with him.

We are working to try and resolve the issues *** ***** has been experiencing. Unfortunately we would not be able to issue refunds to *** ***** for the purchase price of his eZoom devices as they were not purchased from us and our company did not charge him for those devices. If the problem persists with the eZoom trackers we would definitely be willing to try replacing his units for free with another tracker from our company that is comparable to the eZoom.

Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* ******* ********** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

We have not yet exchanged the devices. We would accept Brickhouse's offer to swap out the devices if this will indeed correct the issue once and for all. We would ask the business to let us know how to begin this process. Thanks

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
***** *****




 

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is ok to have problems with equipment but when they turn their back on a customer that is really what makes you a terrible company. I was a customer for a year and bought a GPS tracking unit for my truck for $200. I also paid $30 per month for the monitoring fee. One day the unit stopped working or the satellite stopped tracking so I called them and it was a nightmare but they reassured me it would get fixed. The following week the same thing happened and they didnt have an answer for me so I was forced to go to another company. I decided to pack up the unit and ship it back so I could get my money back for the GPS unit because it wasn't MY fault the unit failed!! I just received HALF the equipment back with a ridiculous letter saying it was 30 days old and they do not allow refunds. How ridiculous is that? I called customer service and they said they would send me a new unit!!! Hahahaha I said "I signed up with another company 2 months ago...thats how long it took to get back to me!!!!! He told me a supervisor would get back to me and Im still waiting!!!!

Desired Settlement: Send me a check for the equipment and I will send back the one piece they sent me back. They already stole half of it already!!!!!

Business Response: Hello ****** ********* and ***** *********,

Unfortunately we cannot issue a refund for *** *********'s order. Our return policy allows for refunds within 30 days of receiving your product and also states that GPS trackers are non-refundable items once they have been used. We sometimes can make an exception to this policy within reason, but unfortunately we cannot issue a refund for a GPS tracker that has been used since its purchase in 2013. 

The return package was originally sent as an unauthorized return to our NY head offices. We do not process returns in this location and the package was later forwarded to our returns department in our warehouse for inspection. We have checked with our ******* ******* and they did confirm the only item we received back was a visibally used HCT GPS tracker that we were able to identify as being purchased from us in 2013 based on the IMEI number of the unit. We returned what we received from *** ********* with a letter explaining that we cannot refund the unit. We understand he is claiming that he only received half of his item back. If he tells us which part was missing in the return package we will gladly ship out the missing part.

We have no problem offerring an out of warranty replacement as an exception for *** ********* if his device is experiencing technical issues, but we cannot issue a refund for a used item so far out of policy.

Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* ******* ********** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

This company had terrible customer service. Most of the people couldn't speak proper English and I couldnt understand them. The product and the service failed so I was FORCED to go elsewhere and purchase another GPS UNIT for $250. I want to be reambursed for the unit. I sent it back and they returned HALF the unit!!! Very bad company! Let the buyer beware!!!

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *********




 

Business Response: Hello ****** ********* and ***** *********,

The statement from our previous reply which *** ********* is claiming is untrue was something that we verified by auditing the call he made to us to deactivate service. The agent did offer a week of free service so that we could continue trying to troubleshoot the issues with the device and when *** ********* declined she also assured him that if he ever decided to reactivate service with us we would work with him to get that service working.

As stated in our previous replies we would gladly issue a replacement if he wanted to continue service with us. We also are more than willing to send out whatever part was missing from his return if he lets us know what piece it was. However we cannot issue a refund for an order so far outside of our eligible refund period. 

Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* ******* ********** ********


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The response was not true. Their product failed, their system failed, their customer service failed so I had to go to a new company.  I want my money back for the GPS unit. If they dont return my money I will sue them in small claims court.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *********




 

4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brickhouse security took over another GPS tracking service by the name of Securus (of which I was using for 15 months) early in March 2015. I have had issues with logging into my account (we were told all user names, passwords, and payments would be the same). Because of the transformation, Brickhouse was overwhelmed with customers calling for tech support on this transformation. I at first tried calling the first week of transformation and waiting on line trying to get through anywhere from a half hour up to and hour to where I just hung up. The next week, same issue, not being able to get through, but this time the had a call back, so I did that and did receive a call back. Unfortunately the tech had a very thick accent and it was very difficult understanding him. I explained my issue of not being able to log into the Brickhouse account, and that I don't have a PC at the moment but have been using my iPad for all my computer issues and had no problem with the other GPS Securus. After trial and error we were finally able to get me logged into my account....for one day...then I was not able to log in. Once again trying to call for tech support was impossible so I opted for the call back. The next tech informed me that my password I was using was incorrect. I did not change my password.....she then gave me the password they had on record. That worked ....for a day...now here I am again not being able to log into my account withe the recent password I was given or my original password. When I try on line to retrieve my password with my user name it tells me they have no record of said user name. Now once again I have been trying for the past hour plus to get through to Brickhouse tech support ( the call back is no longer an option) . This is a very important issue for me as this GPS is attached to an extremely valuable vehicle. I will probably got to a different company for yet another expensive GPS system because from what I am experiencing is probably what hundreds of other ex Securus customers are going through by the volume of calls that are tying up their phone lines

Desired Settlement: I feel since I am not able to effectively use this product I should be reimbursed for the charges

Business Response: Hello ****** ********* and ******* ******,

We sincerely apologize for the difficulties you have had in trying to reach our support team. The transition from Securus added over 10,000 customers to our platform and this did mean that despite our efforts to add additional staffing we did experience longer wait times on our phones than usual. The call volume and wait time has been decreasing and getting better every day as we move forward with this transition.

Your password was reset by us on 3/** when you emailed us stating that you did not remember your username or password. This information has remained the same and active since the ***** Your username is your email address, "**************", and the password was reset to *********** and is case sensitive. The log-in information is currently active and we tested it to confirm it is working. 

We can definitely offer to extend your service to compensate for the issues you were having, but we cannot issue any refund as we have not billed you for any service. Your next bill date for when our company was supposed to begin billing you for service was 4/*/15. We are adding 1 month of free service to compensate you and your next bill date has been updated to 5/*/15. 

Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* ******* ********** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, but the resolution still has not been resolved. I am still not able to log into my account with the information Brickhouse Security has given me, I still get the message "Bad user credentials"

Sincerely,

******* ******


 

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 3 nanny cameras with fire detector alarms covers but only used one. The two reaming sets of products have not ever been used and when I called customer service asking them if I could return these items they said no. Albeit I purchased these items mid-November and are past the 30 day policy, these products have never been used, and someone else could probably make use of them. This is a very poor customer service experience and I would not recommend purchasing from this vendor.

Desired Settlement: I would like to refund the unused items in their original condition for a full refund.

Business Response: Hello ********* ******* and ****** *****,

I have reviewed the situation and we can offer an exception to our return policy as *** ***** has stated that the items were never used. I have already tried to reach out to *** ***** by phone and email to confirm which of the two cameras from her order she needed the return on. Once I have confirmation back from her on this I will authorize the return for the two unused cameras and enclosures to be sent back for a full refund on those items. 

Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* ******* ********** ********


2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December **, 2014 I placed an order with this company for 2 toddler tags and 1 panda leash (all child tracking systems) for our family vacation to Disneyland. I chose to have my order include expedited shipping for a fee of $32.95 to be received in 2 days. My first issue was that I didn't receive anything from them until December **** (well over the 2 days). When I did receive a parcel, only the 2 toddler tags were in it. I emailed the company on this day to see when I would be receiving my third item. I received an email back from them stating that they didn't have a tracking number and would follow up with me. Obviously they had made a mistake on my order and not included my third item. Notwithstanding that none of the products worked, my issue started upon returning home from our vacation to find a bill from *** for $125 for the third item! Apparently, Brickhouse, upon realizing their mistake, rush shipped my third item. I did not authorize such an action, especially knowing how expensive it can be. In talking with ***, this charge is because of how Brickhouse sent the third item - not the way I requested it be sent. I run businesses from my home, using ***, and cannot have this matter left unresolved. I have contacted Brickhouse, via email, three times now regarding this and they are not willing to admit fault or offer any resolution to this problem simply stating that they are not to be held responsible for addition duty fee. While I understand this, I do think however, that if they ship an item in a different way than ordered, which leads to these additional charges, then they should be held responsible. I feel it is unethical for them to start a process, that was not requested or authorized, that in turn leads to additional charges to a customer.

Desired Settlement: I would like Brickhouse to either pay *** directly the charge that they incurred to myself through their actions, or pay me the amount of the bill so I can pay ***. I don't feel this is unreasonable. I am not asking for a refund for the products that did not work, just that they look after the charges that I received due to their actions.

Business Response: Hello ****** ***** and ***** *******,

I have already been in contact with *** ******* today over this issue. She was very helpful in sending me a copy of the invoice from *** that she refers to in this complaint so that I could investigate this further. 

The ***** ***** was shipped separately from the other items on the order as it originated from a different location. The item was drop shipped directly from our vendor whereas the other items were fulfilled and shipped from our warehouse directly. Both packages should have been sent via *** worldwide expedited service. Upon looking into this further and speaking with *** about the bill she received I was able to confirm that our vendor shipped this order for us using *** expedited freight. This is not a shipping option which we ever choose or authorize our vendors to use for our shipments. This is what resulted in her receiving the freight shipment bill from *** on that package. As this was a mistake made by our vendor, we of course agree that it is our responsibility to cover this invoice from ***. I have already contacted *** on this and we have processed payment of $124.03 CAD for the invoice. 

We sincerely apologize again for the inconvenience this matter may have caused.

Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* ******* ********** ********




1/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a product from this company ** October 2014 , rejected the delivery because of the ridiculous amount of time it took them to ship the item (was shipped on ** November 2014) with no explanation. I tried calling to cancel the order after roughly 3 1/2 weeks but they said it was too late and I would just have to refuse delivery. Then after calling 3 times and being promised my refund would be processed within 5 business days each time I have yet to receive refund of payment.

Desired Settlement: They need to refund me for the purchase that I did not accept plus any interest that has accrued from that purchase since the time that they received the product back from *****.

Business Response: Hello ********* ******* and ******* ********,

*** ******** was refunded in full for the returned product earlier today when he called in and spoke with our support team about the issue. We sincerely apologize for the delay in the refund process and that the agents whom he spoke with prior to today did not take action to have this matter resolved quicker. The refund was issued for the full amount we charged, $499.95. While we regret that the refund was not processed in a more timely manner we will not be able to reimburse any interest rates accumulated on *** ********'s credit card. 

Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* *******

7/31/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've tried to order from this company several times and they wont ship to an address separate from the billing address. Hello, the 1980s wants their security back. To think in this day and age when EVERY major retailer will let you use separate shipping and billing addresses they won't is ridiculous. This is not security, it is security theater. The credit card was authorized and funds are available.

Desired Settlement: I was originally promised to have this order be the end of the week. I want that to be honored even if it requires expedited shipping.

Business Response: Hello ***** ******** and ****** ****,

We apologize for any inconvienence, however we do make a practice of asking for shipping addresses to be verified when different from the billing address of the credit card being used. This is done especially on orders which are shipping and billing to addresses that are in completely different states as was the case on this order. This is done to protect both our customers and our company against possible fraudulent transactions. It is stated under the terms and conditions page on our website that orders may be held for further verification and it does specifically explain the process on orders that are shipping to an address different from the billing. This is for your protection and to help maintain a safe online shopping experience.

Due to the frustration you experienced as a result of this though, we are honoring your request to expedite the package to ensure that you receive it before the end of the week. We have upgraded the shipping method on the order to 1 day shipping service at no cost.

Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ********



 

6/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On approximately or around March *** 2012 I ordered a Dual Channel Acoustic Noise Generator from Brickhouse Security. At this time from the information presented on Brickhouse Security's website about this product I had expected the product to be relatively easy to use and to set up and without any requisite future financial expenses or commitments from me. At around that time, I believe before I received the product I was required (again contrary to what I had expected) to sign a an end-user agreement stating that I was not to resell this product; that I was the exclusive end-user. When I received the product after some delay (mid May 2012) I was able to look over the instruction manual. Upon reading the instruction manual I learned that this product required a relatively complex (for my circumstances) installation process and a further financial commitment for necessary additional hardware components from Brickhouse Security. As I had already made a significant investment in this product and now aware that installation is very difficult and possibly impractical for my circumstances I am disappointed; and now I am stifled by law from reselling this product per end-user agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and I am be willing to return the merchandise (still unused) to the manufacturer if asked.

Business Response: Hello ******* ****** and ********** ****,

We have reviewed your request, but unfortunately we will not be able to honor a return on this order. Our return policy allows for items to be returned for a refund within 30 days of receiving the product and this order is too far outside of that period for us to be able to honor a return on this order. We do try to work with our customers and often make exceptions to this within reason, but unfortunately we are not able to take back any item over two years after it was received. We sincerely apologize for any inconvienence in this matter.

Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:


 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ******




 

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got this order #******** and the package was empty. I confirmed with UPS and the company that they forgot to put the item in the box. The company refuses to refund me as they swear they included the item. I feel this website is a scam.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for Order ********.

Business Response: Hello,

We were first contacted by *** ******** via email on 5/**/14 in which he notified us that he had received an empty package and wanted a full refund. We investigated the matter with our warehouse and replied to *** ******** on the morning of the **** advising that this package was not shipped empty. Our shipping records and inventory count confirmed that the items had shipped. The weight on the package confirmed by UPS (tracking# ******************) also confirmed that the package shipped to *** ******** weighed 0.60 lbs. We did a weight test in which we had our warehouse weigh one of our shipping boxes with the same two items in it and the weights matched confirming that the package shipped to *** ******** was not shipped empty. We replied via email advising of this and at no point did we tell *** ******** that we forgot to put the items in the box as stated in the complaint. 

*** ******** then sent in a new email to our customer service team later that morning stating only that the 32gb SD card was missing from the order and was requesting that we reship that item only. As we already had notes on the account about the previous claim made by *** ******** and we had already investigated the shipment sent from our warehouse and confirmed both items shipped we replied advising of this again and that we would not be reshipping. 

If *** ******** is still claiming that he is missing the SD card we can offer to reship that item only. As the SD card is small and doesn't add much weight to the package we'll admit that it could be possible even though our records do show that item was shipped. However, we will not be able to offer a refund on this order as we have confirmed the package was not shipped empty and the emails we received from *** ******** do show that he changed his claim of not receiving anything to only having not received the SD card. 

Best regards,

***** *****  ******** ******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. Please reship the SD card.

Sincerely,

******* ********



 

5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought [2] hidden cameras and had to ask why they wouldn't work. They came back and told me I had to purchase micro SD cards. I was NOT told ahead of time that I had to buy more equipment. I am a senior citizen.I tried to phone the return department but was put on hold for 45 minutes. I went on the web site and it states you need a RMA sticker to return the merchandise.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $199.90 that I paid in full and I want them to pay to have the merchandise returned to them

Business Response: Hello ***** *********** and ****** ***********,

We sincerely apologize for any confusion with the device. While we do state on the product page on our site that the item does not come included with the SD card, we apologize if this was not clear to you. 

We will gladly issue a return for the two items. I'm sorry you fealt that you had to go through the Better Business Buraue for a return. You are actually completely within our eligible return period still. 

We have issued a RMA (return merchandise authorization) for the two Black Box Micro Hidden Cameras to be returned for a full refund. You will be receiving two emails in regards to this return. The first will include your assigned RMA number and all instructions for the return. The second email will come from UPS and include a pre-paid return shipping label which you may print out and use to send the items back. Once your return is received, a refund will be issued back to the card used for the purchase within 5 business days.


Best regards,

***** ***** ******** ******* *******

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an svat 8ch smart security kit for $383.99 item #******** on dec **2012 order confirmation ****. When i received the kit it came UPS instead of fed ex. There was no packing slip, no invoice and in a plain brown box with no svat security tape or box from official company. I was displeased with the black chords on the cameras, with the quality of the cameras and with the method of damage to the boxes that it had arrived including missing manual info. I called and and upon talking to customer service( i have notes of people/id numbers and when and what was said) I decided to upgrade to the same entire system I had already purchased from brickhouse for my very first security system( **8 ch **. I was given an RMA # of **and having to buy a new box to mail it back i filled out th eappropriate paperwork and returned the system item **-**for the system of **8 ch **. Instead of receiving the entire correct system i received the correct DVR but the same cameras with the back chords that belonged to the **system...I have been calling qand talked to multiple employees to rectify the situation and get the right cameras but to no help. I was tyold to send back the entire system which i am not inclined to do... First that leaves me without a DVR to protect my home and honestly i do not trust that i will receive the correct product back. I offered to send them the wrong cameras back inexchange for the right cameras and was told that they might not carry the cameras that are sold with the system and will have to accept what ever they send me. I am not satisfied with that answer or method of solving this delima. I found the cameras needed and that should have been included in the kit on amazon and even called them to let them know that they could be purchased for $399.00 so that they would have the correct cameras for the kit i purchased their response was just that i needed to send back everything and then they would see what they could do....

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the unused 8 cameras that belonged to the 1102 system and have the correct cameras and all the correct equipment for those cameras sent to me so that i will have a complete 8 camera system which is what i purchased for the $435.00. ( the return of the 383.99 system plus an additional %51.00 to get a system with the proper cameras and a system like the one i originally bought from brickhouse security when i first started using their company.

Business Response:

Hello **********,
 
Unfortunately as we have explained before, the manufacturer no longer makes the model of the cameras which you are referring to. We would not be able to provide you with the system which you are requesting. We could only offer the current model of the security camera system which you have. 
 
Our offer still stands to return the system for a full refund. We emailed a pre-paid UPS return label to you on 1/**/14 for the system to be sent back if you wish to do so. As the item purchased is a kit which includes the DVR and the cameras, we would need for the entire kit to be returned to process the refund back to you. 
 
We sincerely apologize that we are not able to provide you with the product you want, but it is not possible for us to get the older model of the kit which you are asking for. If you have found a seller on Amazon which is selling the item you want then please return the product you purchased from us so we can refund you and you can purchase the discontinued model elsewhere. 
 
Best regards,
 
******************

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July I bought dual car camera and was using it happily for 100 days Then November came Temperature dropped to -2 degrees Celsius And I noticed that the camera does not turn on till I heat the car to +8 degrees Celsius Which tells me I bought item with hidden defect - hidden for me till cold weather came And their customer service refused to take the item back telling me I needed to discover the defect in 90 days Probably they expect your customers to get into refrigerator and test the device there

Desired Settlement: Return the money i paid - $150

Business Response:

Hello ****** ***** and **** ****** ,

Unfortunately we cannot issue a refund for the Dual View Car Camera purchased on 7/**/2013. As stated in our return policy all of our products our covered under a 90 day warranty which would cover a replacement of the item if needed. *** ****** received the Dual View on 7/**/2013. The 90 day warranty on the item expired on 10/**/2013, a month before we were contacted about the issue with the item.

All electronics have certain thresholds of temperature in which they will operate in. Upon checking *** ******’s account in our system I saw that he just purchased our new model of the Dual View HD Car Camera. This newer model has a storage and operating temperature of -10C - 40C. If this new device fails to operate, *** ****** would be eligible to return it for a refund within 30 days of receiving it and a replacement up to 90 days. As the item was just delivered to him today, the refund period will last until 1/*/14 and the warranty will cover the item until 3/*/14 on this new purchase.

Best regards,

***** *****

Customer Service Manager

Business Response:

Hello **** ****** and ****** *****,
 
This will be our final response in regards to this matter. The device still is, and was at the time you first contacted us, far outside of our refund period as well as out of warranty. Unfortunately we will not be able to honor your request for a refund as this case is not eligible for credit as per the terms and conditions of our company's return policy. 
 
Regards,
 
 
***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

Unfortunately, I did not get responce from BrickHouse Security on the question how I could test whether the device works at +3C temperature in July or August or even October in New York.

When the Seller pointed that camera should work above zero temperature, I showed it does not work at +3

When the Seller pointed I am outside of 90 days warranty I provided URL for average temperatures and proved I did not have a chance to test the device in the first 90 days

It is the Seller who did not answer my question and only repeated the same mantra about 90 days. This business can't distinguish between defects that show themselves right away and defects that stay hidden till special even happens. I reply on BBB in fixing the way BrickHouse Security views product defects.

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
**** ******  

11/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a single mother of an 18 month old, and 7 months pregnant. My husband recently left me and told me he was leaving due to interpersonal issues. I was suspicious that it was due to infidelity. I contacted Brickhouse Security and the sales rep sold me on the Nano Spark 3.0 with a 6 month battery pack, the catch was that I could place it on his vehicle without him detecting it. The sales rep also told me that the metal case was crush proof, also that it could withhold 60 pounds of weight, and that it was impossible to come off. I purchased it for the amount of $365 and even had it shipped overnight. My order # for the first purchase was ******. I received it next day, contact customer support to make sure I understand how to mount it to the vehicle. I was told that as long as it was on metal to metal it would stay put and work (I even cleaned it off the dust so it attaches). Needless, to say I placed it and only after a less then an hour of tracking, the device falls off onto the freeway. I contacted customer support to see if they can help me locate. They told me that it can only be "pinged" for location if someone presses the panic button. Well, its sitting on the freeway, no one can press any button. I even took a colleague from work to make an attempt to look for it on the freeway, which is dangerous enough. Again, I spent $365 so it was a lot of money. I contacted customer support and they told me that it was probably not placed correctly, although I swore it was on the chassis of the vehicle.... So I accepted responsibility and purchased another thinking maybe I did something incorrect. I spent $300 and got another one ( order #******). This time I wasn't taking any chances I took a mechanic with me to place it on the vehicle, which he did. Again, I got 30 minutes of tracking and then what appeared to be was the vehicle was not moving for over 3 hours. I actually went to the location and found the vehicle was not there. Again, the tracker fell off. I was told the magnet will uphold anything and here I am out now $750. I contacted the company and spoke with ********* (CS Supervisor). Here they are again not taking responsibility. Could it be that it was a defective product or the product just didn't serve its purpose. I know my husband didn't find it as he would have confronted me with it. I have asked ********* that this time the company has to take some responsibility, The first time, I get it, maybe I didn't place it correctly, so I purchase it again giving the company some credit- but it happened again, this is the second time. I have given the company plenty of opportunity to redeem itself and accept some responsibility! the tracker in the magnetic case falls off and they told me that it wouldn't. I am single mother of 2 and here I am out on $750. It's not a small amount, I would like the company to take some responsibility and credit me for my loss. All the customer service reps are based out in Manila and the y won't help me get to someone who can help. I have contacted and left numerous messages for ********* or her manager to call me, as this is not acceptable to say a product does something, and it doesn't deliver. I am very upset not only for the way the company is treating me but also for not compensating for my loss as the magnetic case doesn't not adhere to the metal part of the vehicle. I was told me one thing and the results are completely different.

Desired Settlement: Please refund my total of both transaction equaling to the amount of $750, which is what I lost believing this product will deliver the sales rep said it would.

Business Response:

Hello ****** ***** & ******* ***r,

We’re very sorry to hear that the second device has also been lost. Upon checking the tracking information for the second unit it does show that the last tracking report from the device was while the vehicle had come to a stop and was parked in a parking lot. These are motion activated units which only show GPS locations while the device detects motion. However, the units will also continue to send battery status alerts to the back end of our server while the device is sitting idle. For this unit we received two battery status updates from the device as it was sitting idle in the parking lot and then it stopped reporting to our servers. As the device was known to not be in motion when it stopped reporting to our servers this information indicates that the device was removed from the parked vehicle and powered off. Unfortunately this type of scenario does happen and devices are sometimes removed either by the people being tracked with the units or even at times by law enforcement.

Unfortunately we cannot issue credit for the lost units. We understand *** *****’s frustration in this matter, but the evidence in this scenario does not suggest a fault with the unit or the case. If *** ***** would be interested in another unit, we will gladly offer her a new device at cost value, but we cannot issue credit for the lost units. 

Best regards,

***** *****

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:


As I have stated this was the 2nd unit I had purchase. The first one fell on the freeway, and when I had called tech support they had stated to me that the unit only reports when it is in motion, so now I am being told that it reports when "idle", which strikes me as incorrect information again being provided to the consumer.  The business stated that the device stopped reporting because it indicates that it had to be removed, so why did the first unit stopped reporting? The gps device last signal showed that it was on the shoulder of the freeway, no one could physically have turned it off. Now for the second device, it had shown idle on the side of the parking space, this could have again, easily happened when the vehicle had drove out the parking space, as the device could have dropped and that is why it shows that is was idle. And to clarify the business's own tech support told me when I had lost the first device that it does not "ping" or signal the server when in idle status. I can't believe the incorrect information I am receiving about the product. I am a registered owner of the vehicle so law enforcement will not remove the device as mentioned on the response by the business. Brickhouse security needs to own up to the fact that they sold me a defected product and need to refund both my purchases.  IN order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.
Sincerely,

****** *****




 

Business Response:

Hello ****** ***** & ******* ***r,

To clarify, the unit only sends a location report when in motion. In the back end of our platform we do continue to see battery status updates which occur every hour if the device is powered on, but sitting idle. The first unit which last gave a location on the shoulder of a highway would have stopped reporting if the device were damaged while sitting in that location or the battery depleted.  As the second unit was known to be on a parked car when it stopped reporting it would have to had been turned off to stop reporting to our servers.

We apologize that you were not satisfied with our response, but we will have to stick to our policy in regards to the lost units and we will not be able to issue a refund for those items.

After considering the matter further we can extend an offer to send you a free refurbished Nano and extended battery pack with case. The unit is in perfect condition and we would gladly send it out at no charge if you would like to resume service with us. If you would like to take us up on the offer of the free unit, please contact us at ###-###-#### (Mon-Fri 9am-6pm EST) and request to speak with our level 2 customer service department in our NY offices.

Best regards,

***** *****

Customer Service Manager

10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this is a gps tracking device that is obsolete in this area and will be obsolete everywhere it uses 2G technology. junk. $500 item i was on the phone with them for hours and then continous driving fo 3 x 30 minete each. and they knew it would not work in ********* *******,2G went out 10 years ago around here. Product_Or_Service: nano 3

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund let people know this is a 2G device and will be obsolete soon

Business Response:

Hello ******* *******,

For us to be able to research this complaint and come to a suitable resolution we will require information for us to be able to locate *** ******* account in our system.

The information provided on the complaint does not pull up any records in our system. Please reply with an order number for the purchase, the log-in ID that the customer was assigned for their tracking unit, or the actual phone number or email that was used on the order so that we can locate *** ******* account in our system.

Best Regards,

***** *****
Customer Service Manager

10/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchases a dual camera system from them and used it a few times approx. (4) and it stopped working. It would no longer come on. I called brick house and they told me that the camera wasn't there's but belonged to a vendor SVAT. They gave me the number and transferred me only to hang up on me. I then called the number they provided but it was impossible to get someone on the line. After a week of trying, I got someone that then tried a few steps and sounded very confused. They then instructed me to a trouble ticket website to submit a ticket. I do this and time goes bye of back and forth and they finally concluded after i sent them a picture that the product was not theirs but brickhouses, and furthermore felt like they sent me on this wild goose chase so that my warranty could run out. I have been dealing with this for months and called brickhouse on several occasions. They continue to keep me on hold for over an hour assuming I will hang up and then refused to get me a supervisor. Once I got a supervisor I asked her (******) to either replace the product with the exact same product or to give me a refund. They no longer carry the product she said and will see about a refund. I have been dealing with this since march/april and I was told by ****** that she will look into it and call me back today before 11am. I told her that every time I call someone say the same thing and never call and when I call back no one knows what I'm talking about so I then have to start over again. I waited till 1130 to call her and is still on hold now. It is now 1234 and im still on hold. This is a clear attempt to get me to hang up and quit! I'm frustrated and very upset with this company and will make sure to put them on our black list for every state we are in! I have spent a lot of money with this company with all the business I own and associate with. I want a full refund for my product. $149.95! They offered me a different camera with a lot more limitations and I told them this was a down grade and unacceptable!

Desired Settlement: I will consider this settled only if I receive a full refund due to they took this camera off the market probably cause they found a lot of defects!

Business Response:

Hello **** ***** and ******* *******,

We sincerely apologize for the experience which *** ***** had in regards to this issue and we will be fully investigating the calls in which he was provided incorrect information as to calling SVAT for tech support on the Dual View. There is a notation on the account that he was provided their number for a different product he purchased, but the agent should have made it clear that SVAT does not also support the Dual View Camera.

Upon checking the account we show that *** ***** has been calling since yesterday requesting for a refund. The request was denied by the agents handling the calls as the item is far out of our return period. An exception was offered for an out of warranty replacement, but the model which *** ***** purchased back in February of this year has since been replaced by a newer model of the same device which he did not want.

We are willing to make an exception to our return policy and take back the Dual View Car Cam for a refund to resolve this issue as the exact same model is no longer available for the replacement. We are processing a RMA (return merchandise authorization) for the return. *** ***** has been sent an email from us which includes the assigned RMA number and all instructions for the return. Once the return is received, our returns department will issue a refund within 10-15 business days. The refund for the Dual View will be credited directly back to the credit card which *** ***** used for the purchase.

Best regards,

***** ***** 

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter will be resolved once the company has sent refund. I will be mailing them back the product and will look in my email for the RMA. I request a check be sent to my address only due to the credit card used at the time or purchase had to be closed. If not I can provide them a card to use and it may already be on file from my last purchase under the email: ****************** ending int ****. Please call and let me know what method you prefer. **********. Thank you and have a blessed day!  

Sincerely,

**** *****



 

8/29/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a product from Brickhouse Security. The product did not work. I phoned in for Tech support. I spoke to their tech support on three different occasions. Even after following the instructions from tech support the product still did not work. I contacted them for return and they did not want to honor their money back guarantee, they made it very hard for me to return the product, I had to pay to ship it back to them, and then I had to follow up with them to see where the refund was. They said they issued a credit in the amount of $29.95. I paid over $100 for the product and paid for shipping it twice. The product was still in the box and I returned within 30 days. I was calling them to return it after 15 days but they made is difficult and fought me on returning it. I did however return before 3 days was up. This company is completely fraudulent and BBB has them as A+ rating.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund plus the shipping costs. this has cost me a lot of time hassling with them. I want a 100% refund plus shipping or I take them to court for damages.

Business Response:

Hello ******* **** & ******** * ***** ,  

We apologize if *** ***** felt that our agents were giving her a hard time in requesting the return. The item purchased is software which is listed in our return policy as a non-refundable item. Our representatives were only trying to adhere to the policy of our company, but we apologize if it was felt that they were fighting the issue. We will be looking further into how the situation was handled before an exception was granted for the return of the software.  

A refund was already issued for the price of the device itself, which was $29.95. This amount was refunded back to the MasterCard used for the purchase on 8/**/13. We will gladly make an exception and refund the shipping costs on the order as well. Typically shipping costs are not refunded unless there is a delay in the shipping service purchased for the order. *** ***** paid $49.50 for 1 day shipping when the order was placed. A refund of $49.50 has been issued back to the credit card today, 8/**/13. It may take up to 2-5 days for *** ***** to see this credit clear and post to her account depending upon her bank’s policy.

*** ***** has now been refunded in full the $79.45 which she paid for her order, including the product and shipping costs.

Best regards,

***** *****

Customer Service Manager

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Digital Wireless Camera Kit from BrickHouse Security on 10/**/2012 for $154.90 where I was unhappy with the product and requested an RMA (Return Merchandise Authorization)I received the RMA on 10/**/2012 and shipped out the product back to them two day priority shipment requiring a signature.The Company has yet to refund my money $154.90 and are truly playing *******

Desired Settlement: A refund in full for $154.90

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution closed at this time

I did receive my money and it is unfortunate that it had to come to filing a claim with the BBB to get this accomplished.

If they plan to stay in business, they need to step up and take care of business before it escalates.

I will not do business with these *** ****** again nor would I ever refer them to anyone.

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response: Hello ******* *********,

 
We originally received this complaint with ID # ******* in late November of last year. The issue with the refund was addressed and on 12/**/2012 we received a notice from the Better Business Bureau stating that the complaint had been closed.
 
*** ******** was refunded for the product he returned on 11/**/2012. The refund was issued to his ****** account which he used for the original purchase. The amount refunded was $149.95, the full product cost. The only part of his purchase that was not refunded at the time were the ground shipping costs of $4.95 as shipping costs are non-refundable per our return policy. I have included an attachment of the transaction details for the refund from ******. Please let us know if there is anything further that needs to be addressed in this matter.
 
Best regards,
***** ***** ******** ******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ********


7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June *, 2011 I purchased a Brickhouse Security Covert USB Recorder 8GB from ***********. I received the unit on Mon, Jun **, 2011 and found it did not function and I reported the issue to skymall on June **, 2011 requesting a RETURN LABEL. My job requires me to travel nationally and internationally weekly and am often gone for periods of 6 days to a month. During this time I was caught in a cycle that required intense travel along with 12-14 hour days. After two months, I'd not heard anything. I contacted skymall's customer service and was told the Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) needed to be handled through Brickhouse. I have called Brickhouse multiple times and left voice mail messages without any response. Unfortunately, I was forced to purchase a digital recorder from a big box store and now have no need for the non-functional Brickhouse Security unit. I will return it, but I would like a full refund from Brickhouse. All I want is satisfaction and though time has passed, the principle remains the same.

Desired Settlement: Full refund including shipping costs.

Business Response:

Hello *** ****** and ***** ***,

We searched in our phone records and ordering system and did not find any notes or calls from *** *** from the phone number listed on his account and in this complaint. However, after discussing the issue with upper management we will make an exception to still honor the return request and issue a RMA (return merchandise authorization). 

Once the Covert USB Audio Recorder 8GB is returned we will have the refund issued. The refund will include the cost of the device and shipping costs as requested. As the original transaction was from over two years ago we will have to issue a check for the refund which will be mailed to *** *** at his address of:

**** ********* ****** ********* * ** *****

We are emailing the return instructions as well a FedEx return label (which will be a separate email coming from FedEx) to *** *** and he should expect to receive both of these emails this morning.

Best regards,

***** *****
Customer Service Manager

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nano 3 is a GPS tracking system for children, animals, vehicles etc. Also purchased their heavy duty magnetic box for attaching to under carriage of vehicle. The magnetic box dislodged from vehicle during trip from New Jersey to Maryland. The GPS tracking system can be adjusted to communicate via chosen minute intervals, i.e. 1 minute, 3 minute, 5 minute etc... Factory setting is 3 minute interval. Called Brickhouse Security on May **** to have intervals changed to 1 minute tracking signals. Was told would be changed within 24 hours and no further notification was necessary. Tracking device dislodged from our vehicle in Maryland on I-95 highway. Brickhouse Security was notified and asked for their assistance in tracking the GPS to it's location. Brickhouse Security Company did not change the intervals for the GPS, they can only narrow to an 8 mile radius. If the tracker had been switched to the 1 minute intervals we would have had a increased 70% chance of locating. When we asked what they could do to help they said they would not and could not do anything. And they have 'never' had this happen before (a request in locating a GPS device) and would bring it up to management. I am $506.41 into their product and they said they can not and will not do anything to rectify situation. 1) magnetic box was attached to vehicle per there stringent guidelines - inferior product - it fell off 2) advertised as best gps tracking system used by law inforcement, parents and businesses ..... but when called to track lost GPS they said they can't help locate it. 3) Nano 3 and weather proof box cost $206.91 4) Additional cost of prepaid tracking service for year: $299.50 ($29.95 per month with prepay discount of 2 months) Advertised as: Spark Nano 3.0 GPS Tracker Our Best-Selling, Smallest Battery-Powered "Real-Time" GPS Tracking Device The Spark Nano 3.0 real-time tracking device gives you up-to-the-minute GPS updates on whatever matters most, from anywhere you are. View on Any Computer or Mobile Device Receive Customizable, Detailed Reports & Alerts Up to 3 Weeks of Tracking on a Single Charge

Desired Settlement: Help to find GPS which is an hour away, approximately 55 miles. Was purchased and used on business delivery vehicle. It has only been in use for two months. Minimal reimbursement for year service plan prepaid $300.

Business Response: Hello ****** **** and **** *********,


We have had one of our GPS technicians send a hardware message to the device to try and force a location and to confirm if the device was still on and working. The GPS unit responded to the hardware message and we were able to get a GPS locate to give a more specific location of where the device may be located. 

I called **** ********* to tell her this information and also emailed her a Google map link of the GPS coordinate from which the GPS unit responded from. After our phone call I also had a GPS technician send a command to the device to change it to the 1 minute tracking interval. A task had been submitted in May to do so and it was completed by a programmer who had sent the command. Either due to the device not being on or being in a location where it could receive the command it had not gone through at that time. 

**** stated that she is going to search that location for the device and I have advised her if she has any further issue or is not able to find it that she may call and ask for me directly.

Best regards,

***** *****

Customer Service Manager


6/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May ****, 2013 I placed an order for 166-IDC-CAM ID Card Camera . It did not arrive. Per FedEx they left it on my doorset. It was not there when I got home. I called the company right away but they said I had to Call FedEx. I called FED EX multiple times and they just said it was delivered. I called BrickHouse Security several times. each time they said they were checking with the warehouse to see if the could send a replacements and they would call me back. They never called me back. Yesterday I called for the last time and told them I would file with BBS if I did not hear back by the end of the day. I did not hear back. I either want the product or I want an immediate refund. I am very dissatisfied with this company. My confirmation number was ********, My order number was ******

Desired Settlement: I either want the product or I want an immediate refund. I am very dissatisfied with this company. I would like a phone call at my evening number, I would like it sent over night and requiring a signature for receipt.

Business Response: Hello *** ****** * **** * *******,


I would first like to apologize for the situation at hand. We will be looking into this matter further and addressing the situation with all of the representatives whom *** *******' dealt with while trying to get this problem resolved. As requested, we are reshipping the product to *** *******. The new order number for the reshipment is ******. The order will ship today and is being sent via Federal Express 1 day service. We have also sent a request to our warehouse to put a signature requirement on the package. I tried to call *** ******* earlier and I left a voice mail with my direct number in case he would like to call me back. If there are any further issues or concerns I may be reached at ###-###-####.

Best regards,

***** *****
Customer Service Manager


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a watch camera from Brickhouse Security. When I purchased it the representative who "sold" it to me and took the order advised that if I am not satisfied after I tried it, I would be able to return it, that I had 15 days to do so. I was nervous to get it but with his assurance that I may send it back, I purchased it. I received the product mailed to the wrong address, the person at that address called me to say it landed at his house. In a totally opposite end of town. I tried the product, which had instructions so tiny I had to go to FedEx/Kinkos and blow it up 150 or more percent. When I decided the product was not for me, I called to return it. I went thought much scrutiny before they said I may return it. I was advised that there was a 9-10 dollar restock fee. To my knowledge I was not advised that when I ordered it. It also does not advise of a restock fee on their website. The website says "We want you to be completely satisfied with your BrickHouse Security purchase. If you are unhappy with your purchase, or if it is not working properly, please call us within 30 days, and we'll help you with a return or exchange." It also states "3.If you would like to return or exchange the product, our support team will provide a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA)." And it also states, "6.Once we receive the return, we will process your replacement, exchange, refund or store credit within 15 days." It does not at all mention a restock fee. They emailed me a return form and only on that "after the fact" when I called to return was a restock fee mentioned. In addition they want to know exact reason, which is nothing close to what the sales person said. He did not mention any of this. I spoke with ** regarding the return who by the way speaks meekly(not loud enough to hear" and with a accent that I had to ask her to repeat over and over. It also "after the fact" on the invoice states possible restock fee again you get that after you placed the order and the product has arriv

Desired Settlement: 1)They mention that calls may be recorded so I advise they pull the call tape of when I ordered it so confirm that nothing about difficult return and restock was mentioned. 2) My return should go smoothly without hassle. 3) Refund in full since no restock fee was mentioned until I went to return it. The product arrived on Friday May**,2013

Business Response:

Hello ***** *******,

We sincerely apologize for the experience *** ***** had with requesting his return from our customer service department. Restocking fees are typically reserved for items which are sent back either missing materials or in poor condition as stated in our return policy. The representative **, whom issued the return, should not have taken it upon herself to place a restocking fee on the return. We have removed the restocking fee from the RMA in our system and have also noted the return to ensure that our returns department does not apply one either. A full refund will be issued for the product once returned. Refunds are issued within 10-15 business days from the date the return is received. We will also be coaching the representatives whom *** ****** spoke with in regards to this situation.

Best Regards,

***** *****

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

Brickhouse has issued my refund,  so the matter I feel is satisfactory.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *****



 

5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought the GPS Tracking Spark Nano System for my 5 year old daughter that has had to start to have unsupervised visits with her biological Dad court order and history of Drugs and alcohol and Abuse and neglect. This was important to me that I am able to reach my daughter if needed. The Customer service Department on Numerous occasions informed me that they were unable to assist me and that they had inadequate training. I have been on hold over 45 minutes and the guy cannot even listen to my concerns and really confusing. I activated the account November ** 2012 and was able to use it for 4 days. Then my daughter Dad left the area so I suspended the account, and was only to be billed a minimal fee to keep it n suspension with no reactivation fee. My purse was stole in December and I never received a email or phone call from brick-house telling me that the Credit card was not billed so the deactivated my account. In February when I called to use the device and take it off suspension, I was informed that it would cost me 79.90 and the I would have to wait 2 days to receive a email to verify the password and username and account would be activated. I was billed the 79.90 and the account was never properly activated. I called every two days for three weeks and no one was able to help me. I got well just wait and call back response. The call back in two days to speak to a manager. The we need another Credit Card. The well figure it our your self, and clearly one lady told me she was not trained properly to address my issue. So it seems customer service is of no service to customers. I paid the money, alot of money and was unable to use the device and when I called back today to settle it with a manager I was on hold for 45 min and told that they could charge me another activation fee and turn it on immediately. I tried to explain the situation, I needed then not now and the safety of my child and how this should have been fixed then and I want to shut it off. They refuse to listen or help.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the Spark Nano 180.00 that I was never able to use but 4 days and completely dissatisfied with the customer service department. I have no need to keep a device that when I need it I cannot use it and the customer service is not helpful. I would like a full reimbursement of the 79.90 fees and no further billing. I need to get the credit agreement before I ship device back. I recommend that the management look into training customer service.

Business Response: Hello ****** *******,

 
We previously responded to this complaint by fax on 4/*/13. We originally received complaint #******* with the assigned handler ******* *****. 
 
Upon receiving the original complaint for this case, we issued a RMA (return merchandise authorization) for ******** ***** ********-******* to return the Spark Nano GPS unit for a refund. We also issued a pre-paid shipping label so she would not have to pay to send it back. The unit has already been returned to us and a refund issued for the device. 
 
At the same time the RMA was issued for the return of the unit, we refunded all service charges that had been issued on her account as well as the reactivation fee. E-mail confirmations for all of the refunds were sent to her. 
 
Best regards,
 
***** ***** ******** ******* **********
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 

I did return the device and received partial reimbursement for the Spark nano, But I never received any money for the device the 200.00 that I paid for the device that I never got to use. I paid for the device, returned the device and no refund for the actual device, the service reimbursement was just for the last month, not the previous.

The 89.00 credit is not much compared to the 500.00 I have spent.

 


Sincerely,

******** ****************



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
The mastercard ending in **** was reported stolen and is no longer a active account. That is why the account was closed after trying to bill the card and it was closed. I changed account information in February  when I called numerous times trying to resole the issues of no service.  The refund will have to be made to the other account. 
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 

 

 

 

 


Sincerely,

******** ****************




 

Business Response: Hello,

 
We contacted ******** **************** in regards to the refunds issued to the Mastercard which was cancelled. She confirmed today with us that she contacted her credit card company as we suggested on our previous call to her on Wednesday. She stated that her credit company confirmed the refunds issued to her account were transferred to the credit card they issued to replace the stolen one.
 
Regards,
 
***** ***** ******** ******* *******
 

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted their technical support department a couple of times the day I received the product for support. The first time I contacted them they refused to help be stating for security reasons they could only speak with my wife since her name is on the billing address. When I purchased the device, there was only one place for a name and since my wife was using her credit card we used her name. There was no way for me to enter my name on the account. When I asked to speak to a supervisor the representative (**) would not connect me. I repeatedly asked and finally ** said he would see if one is available. ** put me on hold multiple times and finally said that there were no supervisors on duty and that I would have to call back. I was eventually able to get the device setup. I called again and asked for service and the only way they will help me is if I provide them with my user ID and password so that they can access my account. For a security company they should know that this is a very bad practice.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to refund my purchase price and all fees including monthly service fees. I would also like for them to change the order process so that multiple users can be assigned to the account at the time of purchase. They should also change the application so that they can access the account without requiring the user to provide a personal password. NOTE: This really is a bad practice. While it is also a bad practice for people to use the same password for multiple accounts, people do do this. They also use something similar which would be easy to crack.

Business Response:

Hello **** *****,

We have officially added ****'s name to the account so both his and his wife's name will appear in our system. It had been previously noted on the account that **** was an authorized user after his wife gave verbal permission for our reps to discuss the account with him. 

Due to the nature of our business our reps are trained to only discuss accounts with the account holders and must verify the account before assisting the customer. This must especially be done with GPS units, as we have experienced spouses who find a device and try to call in to get information on their wife/husbands account. We apologize if **** felt our representatives were giving him a hard time as this was not the intent, but for our company it is important to protect the privacy of our customers. 

There are notes on the account showing when **** called in for tech support and he stated there were tracking issues with the device. In order to assist him our level 1 technical support asked for the password so that they could log in to the account and see if the tracking was correctly loading to the site. Without being able to log in, they were only able to give general advice such as which web browsers work best with our tracking site (not all browsers are compatible with our site and this can effect the ability to see all tracking information) and to make sure the device is placed properly on the vehicle. 

For tech support, **** may call in and request to speak with our level 2 GPS techs located in our NYC offices. They have more advanced knowledge in regards to any tracking issues with the device and would be able to go in to the back end of our system to open the account if he does not feel comfortable giving the password verbally. Our level 1 technicians that he has spoken to do not have this access. We apologize if they made him feel uncomfortable by asking for the password, but we can assure him this would only be used to look in to the account and help resolve any technical issues he is having. 

As a courtesy for the issues he experienced with our service we will refund the $29.95 monthly service fee that has been charged and extend a free month of service on the unit as well. If he is not satisfied with our service or product, he may also return the GPS unit for a full refund. 

At this time I have tried calling the number provided in this complaint and left a voice mail with a number for him to call me back. I have also sent an email explaining the actions we have taken and offering to set up a return of the unit if they would prefer to return it for a refund.

Best regards,

***** *****
Customer Service Manager

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have purchased 3 GPS tracking devices for our company vehicles, ever since day light savings time in which the time moved ahead 1 hour all of our devices have been an hour behind. On the week of March **** 2013 I requested in a phone call to Brick House Security Technical support division that the time be changed on all of our devices to reflect the true time. Change never took place. Called in on Monday March **** 2013 asked to speak again with the tech. support and was informed that the change was made however it has not been, so the rep. placed another request to have the time changed, he informed me it would be done immediately. However as of Tuesday March **** 2013 the change has not taken effect, so I once again contact Brick House Security Tech. Support Division, they inform me that it has been changed and it clearly has not, I request to speak with a manager and they place me on hold for well over an hour. Log In ID: **************

Desired Settlement: I demand that this issue be immediately fixed as it is very important that our tracking devices are reporting the correct time. I would also request a phone call from a Manager of Brick House Security.

Business Response: Hello ****** *******,


We have reviewed the account of Mr. Leighton. He called in earlier today for technical support and spoke with one of our level 2 GPS support representatives here in our New York offices. Our platform experienced an issue with the daylight savings time change and required maintenance work to address the issue. The previous attempts to correct the time were not able to go through because of this. The issue with our platform has been resolved and we have confirmed that the time change has successfully gone through on the customer's account so that it will reflect the correct time on his GPS tracking. 

Regards,

***** *****

4/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Has charged my credit card on sept *, 2012, dec *,2012 and march *, 2013 for $89.95 each time total of 269.85 that I did not authorize. When I called today 4/*/13 was told they would call me back in half hour and did not I called back after two hours a and they would not takes charges off. When I asked for manager was told he was busy to call back tomorrow between 8 and 5.

Desired Settlement: I want my card credited for unauthorized charges

Business Response:

This customer called our customer service department yesterday in regards to an account under her name. This account has a GPS unit purchased on our website in February 2012 and the device has a quarterly billing for service of $89.95 every three months. She reported yesterday that she did not make any purchases with our company and that her ex-husband whom she divorced four years ago used her credit card and billing information to create this account. 

Our customer service representatives were advised to inform her that she needs to report the charges as fraud to her credit card company as well as report her ex-husband for fraudulent use of her credit card. I personally tried calling *** ****** back in regards to the situation at the phone number provided in this complaint. She was not available and I left a voice message advising of the actions she needs to take to dispute these fraudulent charges along with a call back number. I also sent her an email in regards to the situation. Unfortunately as this is an issue to do with credit card fraud, it is something that she needs to address with her credit card company directly and possibly even the law.

We are deactivating service on the device so there will be no further charges to her credit card.

Regards,

***** *****
Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 

3/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered the Iphone recovery stick from Brickhouse Security about 8 months ago and this product has not worked since i bought it i have called and called about this product not working they kept telling me to wait on the online update and i did but everytime i have this product still doesnt work i have called them more than a dozen times and they still cannot get this product to work i spent over 150 dollars on this product and everytime i talk to the tech support they blow me off they will put me on hold until they close and tell me to call back the next day they even hang up on me sometimes they also keep a recording on that says they are in a training meeting i know they dont have a training meeting everyday they also misrepresent this product by not telling you this product only works on certain versions of IOS throughout the whole ordering process i have the correct Version and it still doesnt work i would like a new product or reimbursed my money i have served my country and still do and have some important life events i would like to recover from my phone if you order a product it should work properly you should not have to call tech multiple times

Desired Settlement: I would either like a refund or an exchange in product

Business Response: Hello ***** *********,


We have contacted the customer and are offering him an out of warranty replacement on the iPhone Spy Stick. We confirmed with him that his iPhone is running a compatible IOS that will work with our software. He is sending back the iPhone Spy Stick he purchased last year and once received our returns department will be shipping out a new device to our customer.

Regards,

***** *****
Customer Service Manager 

2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Stealth iBot Computer Spy from Brickhouse security on January ****, 2013 and received it approximately a week later. I tried out the product multiple times, but it doesn't do what its advertised. I called up customer service multiple times being on hold for almost 30 minutes each time, 1st time I was helped by a representative who was nice and answered all my question but he tried to diagnose the problem, but he resolved one problem and then I assumed it would solve the other after fixing the first problem, but it didn't so I called back again, and this time no one answered for over 45 minute wait time. Since the person I spoke with last also emailed me the instructions on how to fix the problem I had, I decided I would return an email back, but it has been over multiple weeks and I have not heard from them on how to get this product working.

Desired Settlement: I think they should refund my money for wasting my time, and also get this product working...for having me going through all this trouble.

Business Response: Dear ******** ****,


We are refunding the customers money as requested for his wasted time, and our Tech Support Dept is also getting in touch with him to try to get the unit working.


Please let me know if you need further information on this matter



Regards
**** ******
Customer Service Manger


2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2012 Delivery Issues