BBB Accredited Business since

123 Security Products.com

Phone: (866) 440-2288 Fax: (631) 588-1205 View Additional Phone Numbers 731 Union Pkwy, Ronkonkoma, NY 11779 http://www.123securityproducts.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 123 Security Products.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 123 Security Products.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 123 Security Products.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2003 Business started: 06/17/1974 in NY Business incorporated 06/17/1974 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Weinstein, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Reubin Weinstein, President
Business Category

SECURITY CONTROL EQUIPMENT, SYS/MONITOR


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Sony SNC-RS86N Camera for $1654.00 on March *, 2013. I was given notice that the item is on backorder and should be in within 2-3 weeks. No problem. After emailing them about once every 2 months, I was always told it was not in stock. However, the camera was always listed for sale on their website from the day I "purchased" it till the present. After 11 months I gave up and figured they would not sell me the camera. I asked for a refund from *** ***** ****** **, she was the person I had been talking to for the 11 months. I asked if they needed my cc# again and she said yes. They do not have a record for my account so she asked me for the info again. I sent it to her. A few days later she responded and said that since it's been so long, a refund check will be mailed from their main office. I said okay. I hadn't received anything in about 10 days so I sent *** ***** an email inquiring about the status. No response. I tried two more times within a week and she has not responded. I have all the emails and there was never a time when I was rude and unprofessional. However, I have finally run out of patience. This is the summary: *********************** lists the Sony SNC-RS86N for $1654 on their website. I order it and pay for it. Within a couple days they tell me it's not in stock. I told them I will wait, no problem. After 11 months of being told the same thing, I asked for a refund on around Feb. **, 2014. So far, I have received nothing. I emailed *** ***** at least 3 times since that day and she has failed to respond.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund plus an additional 20%. That 20% is for: interest they earned off of my payment, the headaches and hassle I was put through for absolutely no reason, and as a fine for them. This was not great customer service or even decent service. This type of transaction is what makes a lot of people uneasy about buying things online. This is one purchase I seriously wish I never made.

Business Response: *******,

*** ***** ordered a refurbished ("B-Stock") SONY Network Security Camera that was out of stock with no ETA from the manufacturer. We regret the customer's dissatisfaction, however these matters are out of 123 Security Products' direct and immediate control. At anytime during the transaction, *** ***** could have requested a full refund, store credit or replacement/upgrade. Instead, he chose to wait out the backorder and we honored his wishes. Admittedly, we did run into a temporary issue when attempting to refund the credit card due to the timeframe. We are pleased to report that the full purchase price has been refunded to the customer's credit card. This refund was issued prior to March **, 2014. Regarding restitution fees, federal law prohibits merchants from depositing customer funds into anything other than a business or corporate checking account. Only after a transaction is marked complete (e.g. shipped) can the merchant legally transfer funds to an investment account. We appreciate the customer's patronage and continued patience. Again, a refund has been issued prior to this complaint.

Respectfully,

****** ** ********* *********************** ********** ***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 


I ordered a "new" camera, NOT a refurbished one. I even have an email from *** ***** who I believe is the **, asking if I'd rather have that.  I said "no".  If 123 would review my invoice, there is no mention of it being refurbished. In fact, I just looked at their website and they still have both listed.  The refurbished one clearly states its refurbished and I know what I ordered.  Also, I've checked my credit cards online and see no sign of a credit or pending credit.  I've also included a copy of that invoice.  As far as offering me something else, I was asked once if I wanted the refurbished camera, and that's it.  I fail to see how they tried to work with me other than holding my payment for over a year.  Thank you.Sincerely,

***** *****




 

Business Response: Please see attached refund confirmation. Thank you!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

I was looking for the refund on a different card.  They did it correctly.  Thank you.
Sincerely,

***** *****



 

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off, the commitment is in writing (via an e-mail) and is not simply verbal. All e-mails referenced below can be provided if needed. As far as the details are concerned... I originally bought some products from the company that stated they would be shipped the same day. After ordering and not hearing anything for a week, I called the company to check on the order and was told that they don't stock the items on a regular basis and it takes at least 10 days to ship that brand of item. I did not cancel my order at that time. Two weeks after placing my order I received an e-mail to review the company. In my review I told my story and particularly pointed out that the website is misleading regarding shipment. After leaving my review I was contacted via e-mail by ***** *****, a **** ********* of the company. She apologized, told me that the website had been updated to reflect the shipping issues with that particular brand (which I verified it was), and then told me that if I did not want to cancel my order they would ship my items next day air upon receipt and issue me a 50% refund on my order (this refund would be approximately $300). I was impressed, and said that I would keep my order under those terms. Approximately two weeks later ***** notified me that the items would be arriving on February 17 and would be shipped next day air. On February 19 I received an e-mail stating that my order was shipped UPS ground (not next day air). I sent an e-mail to ***** asking why it was not sent next day air. To date I have received no response. The items finally arrived on February 21, almost exactly one month after placing an order that was to be shipped the same day. I followed up again via e-mail on February 27 regarding the error in shipment and the 50% refund. After not hearing anything back via e-mail, I've tried calling ***** multiple times but have not had any luck. Seeing that the company is a BBB company, I would ask that you assist with resolving this issue. Any documentation / e-mails that would be of assistance I can provide. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like to obtain a credit to my charge card of at least the 50% that I was promised by*****. This amount would total $297.65. In reality, however, I feel that having to chase down a company to honor a commitment by one of its **'s would be better resolved by an increased refund due to the time I've had to waste on this.

Business Response: Mr. ********, I am sorry the item did not ship as I had instructed the shipping Department.

I know this was a lengthy wait for you.  Please accept my apologies. I did try everything possible to get that camera to you as soon as possible.
I have issued the refund today for you for 300.00
This will show on your credit card within 48 hours, 3-5 days if a debit card was used.

I did not receive your last email as I would have responded right away.
Here is a copy of the transaction detail on your refund.
If I can ever help you in the future please do not hesitate to call me ###-###-#### 

2/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer sent the a Digital Video Recorder unit to 123 Security Products to be repaired under manufacturer warranty, when the unit was returned to me the unit with a replacement hard drive was in the box but the power supply was missing to power the unit. I placed a call to Business and inquired about the DVR power supply, eventually ***** (Claiming to be *** *****) told me that she was not sending a power supply out from her company and told me that 123 Security Products would no longer honor any warranty work from me. ***** told be that I was being rude when I inquired about the power supply and she told me that she had photographs of everything that was returned, she asked me if I would like for her to go through all the trouble of providing photographs of the returned item. I did say that I would like to see the photographs and she continued to tell me how rude I was and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I just want the power supply that was sent in, I will cease from doing business with this company with the exception of existing equipment having warranties and having to deal with the place of purchase as required by the manufacturer.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:


This issue has already been resolved. 123 Security Products has agreed to mail missing power supply unit to end user customer free of charge.

Respectfully,
****** ** *********

1/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues