BBB Accredited Business since

Barbizon School of Modeling of Manhattan, Inc.

Phone: (212) 239-1110 Fax: (212) 967-4256 1384 Broadway   17th Floor, New York, NY 10018 http://www.barbizonNYC.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Barbizon Modeling School of Manhattan, Inc. offers instructions in modeling, personal improvement, acting and photography. A Subject Report on Modeling and Talent is available.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Barbizon School of Modeling of Manhattan, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Barbizon School of Modeling of Manhattan, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Barbizon School of Modeling of Manhattan, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1939 in NY Business incorporated 08/23/1985 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph J. Goldstein, Former President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lena Lionetti, CFO
Business Category

SCHOOLS-GENERAL INTEREST

Alternate Business Names
Model & Talent Management

Additional Locations

  • 1384 Broadway
    17th Floor

    New York, NY 10018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initially I was contacted by the talent Agent Amanda from Barbizon Modeling Agency on October **, 2015 regarding my 16 year old son ********* ******* who submitted an application online to become a model. Amanda contacted me and asked ********* and I to come in for a seminar the following day which would provide us with information about the modeling industry, their company and how my child can pursue a career in modeling. We attended the seminar and it was explained that the agency had different ways of selecting candidates based on the experience and/or talent. ********* and i was asked by Amanda to step into a room where we were interview and ********* was asked audition by reading a script and walking down a runway . Amanda then informed us based on her observation she will speak to her talent manager to discuss if ********* would be a good fit for the agency. We were excited. Shortly thereafter, Amanda came back with what we thought was great news that the agency was interested in working with ********* and that would like to sign him the same day and have him start photo shooting the next day. She then brought out a contract agreement that stated that ********* would require to attend their modeling school which was very different from what she expressed. As I read the agreement it stated that I can cancel the contract within 3 days and would be refunded in full. The concern I had was that ********* was being asked to enroll in their modeling school instead of being asked to sign with a talent agent and that was confusing. Amanda then asked to put a downpayment of $595 in which I did on 10/**/15 and was asked to make monthly payments. After I got home, I realized I honestly could not afford this commitment and immediately contacted Amanda. Amanda answered her phone and transferred me to *** *** in the tuition department. I was told to send in a letter certified before the 3 days and I would receive a full refund within one month from their corporate office. As per conversation with *** ***, I Immediately sent in a certified letter certified within the terms of the agreement. I spoke with *** *** whom acknowledge receiving my letter within the 3 day mark. *** *** told me that that the request was submitted to her corporate division and she was surprised I had not gotten back the refund. I continued to call and the kept getting the same response.

Desired Settlement: My desired resolution is that I am requesting to have my full payment of $595 credited back to my credit card account immediately because I 'm very adamant about taking this to fox news on my side to expose rip off of companies such as this.

Business Response:

Director of operations personally called family twice. First time a voice mail was left. Second time, we called again and spoke to mom and informed her that card had been already refunded on January ***, and that information had been confirmed with accountant. Mom said she would let her husband know, and would call back if there were any further issues. 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

As to-date my credit card ending in 9059 was not refunded on 1/*/15 for $595 as stated by *** *****.  Listed below is a list of my transaction history reflecting my most recent charges and credits from 12/**/15 to present.

************************************************************************************************************************************ 

 *******************************************************************************************************************************

 ******************************************************************************************************************

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******




 

Business Response:

Credit card has been already refunded on 1/**.

We apologize for the inconvenience.

Please let us know if we can further assist you.

Thanks,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *******



 

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ******** **********; I am contacting you to find out what can be done about my situation. It is not fair that I cannot get my money back for issues the agency is responsible for. I went through an account issue and not being transferred so I would be able to attend the classes I had already paid for. My first issue was I paid $1,445 by 4/*/2014 and then was told I owed Barbizon for classes, payments and a declined card on file. My mother and I was informed by ******* ******** that a one-time payment for $100 would be taken from my mother's account to hold my spot and I would pay the remainder of $395 on 4/*/2014 and when my next payment came up I would provide a new card number. I paid ahead of time assuming I would not have to worry about making a payment until 6/**/2014. That was not the case. Starting 4/**/2014, I was told I owed because I made my payments early instead of starting them on the ****. In the mist of handling my account issue, I also informed Barbizon that I reside in ********, NY and needed to be transferred in order to attend my classes. After weeks of dealing with the finical issue, it was finally resolved so I would not have to make a payment until 6/** like I planned on in the beginning. My transfer was never taken care of I have not heard from anyone about it but I keep getting emails about money. No one has even tried to encourage me to stay or make an effort to get me into ******** classes. The Manhattan location is very unprofessional. I called one time and the women answered as if it was her cell phone. I am very upset and not pleased with this agency. Please can I just get the money for unattended classes?

Desired Settlement: I already know that $495 can not be refunded. I also attended one class so the total that should not be refunded is $685. I would like $760 returned to me for 4 classes I could not attend due to Barbizon not handling my account correctly and not transferring me to be able to attend the classes.

Business Response: ******** ****** ********** enrolled in the Modeling Program at Barbizon on 3/**/2014, and attended her first class on 4/*/2014. She made an initial deposit and was set up on a biweekly payment schedule for the balance of her tuition with her first payment due 4/**/2014. On 4/*/2014 She made a significant payment towards the balance of her account, which shortened the duration of her payment schedule. Her first scheduled payment was due 4/**/2014. At the time the payment was to be processed the Credit Card on file declined. She was then contacted by our registrar department. Her contractual payment schedule was explained to her by 2 members of our registrar department on 5/*/2014 and 5/*/2014. At that time, she was offered a $400 discount if she paid her balance off in full and she stated she would like to do so on 5/**/2014. On 5/*/2014 and 5/**/2014 she spoke with our receptionist and was given the contact information for our registrar depart ment again. On 5/*/2014 she stated to our receptionist that she wished to transfer to the ******** location and our receptionist emailed the appropriate departments. On 7/**/2014 she verbally requested a refund, but then retracted that request on the contingency that we transfer her. Company policy is that a transfer can only be facilitated if a student account is up to date. Despite this fact we gave her the contact info for the ******** location (###-###-####) on 7/**/2014 and told her we can transfer her records after she speaks with them to see about class availability. We also gave her the phone number for the franchisor(###-###-####). On 8/*/2014 she called again and spoke with our education department and requested a refund verbally again because the other location was not returning her calls. Education had her speak with registrar who informed her to review the cancellation policy stated on her original contract, which states cancellations must be made in writing and delivered by certified mail.
As of today 8/**/2014 we are still attempting to facilitate the transfer and/or service the students needs. We have offered individual lessons and a transportation scholarship. We have contacted ******** and their next classes begin in November and if she stills wants to transfer we can get her into that class. We are hoping to resolve this efficiently and quickly. It is our priority to service the needs of our students


**** ********
*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

***** ******** ********** ****************************** ***** ******* ********* *** **** ***** ** *** ********** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** *** **** **** ********* * ********

 

I would no longer like to file this complaint because Barbizon is willing to work with me. They have new management and they are determined to make me happy and I want to try to make this work. thank you for your time and help.




Sincerely,

******** **********



 

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am ** years old , And happened to be looking for an oppertunity to becomer an actor . So i found something online called Barbizon and signed up for it . They called me immediately for an auditon to come in Saterday October ** ,2013 to the *** ****** ******* ***** ** **** ****** . My mother is ill and could not come with me so unfortunately i came with my boyfriend who is the same age as me, cause i didnt have an adult to come with me . Finally i got certified and they told me that i had to pay over $2000.00 for acting . I dont have a job and am not finacialy stable . But they already had gotten my chase card number and claimed they needed immediately $380.00 dollars . Thank god my card wasnt working good so they took $100.00 dollars . I was not to sure about paying all that money that i didnt have . The next day i called to cancel it . Since then ive been having trouble trying to contact these people . An advissor to me to send a letter stating the reason i wanted my money back. So i mailed them a letter to there adress at **** ****** . Since then i havent even gotten any emails or my money back . Basically they took my money for free and never gave it back . Ive been calling and emailing everyone and still no answer from this place. I would like my money back , its literaly going to be a month now and still nothing has happend. I even closed my card so they wouldnt take out anymore money . Maybe they're taking advantage cause im a young adult with no adult to help me.

Desired Settlement: Make an complaint of how they have my money and never gave it back . Hopefully get my money back. But chances are low.

Business Response:

12/**/13: ***** ********* - refunded $100 today, see attached credit card receipt. Please note that our office never received an official withdrawal letter notification as required on her enrollment agreement.

1/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had paid most of my tuition and my balance was $360. Temporarily, I stop attending Barbizon because I couldn't pay the rest of my tuition at the moment. I spoke to someone at the office and she kindly understood and told me to call in the office when I am ready to make the full payment. They promised to work with me from the very beginning because I clearly stated that I couldn't afford Barbizon. I guess they've been trying to reach me but I haven't gotten any of their messages. On December 8th they took out the $360 without my consent. I found out through a confirmation e-mail that the the $360 was charged. I then reply to the e-mail and asked them to please put that money back because I haven't authorize them to charge me. I also agreed to make a monthly payment of $40 but that at the moment $360 make the difference between me having an apartment or being homeless. They respond back and said that they will refund me the $360. I have my e-mail to prove it! They have not refund my money back as yet and they keep telling me that they are going to send my report to the SF Office. Yet, I don't see my money back.

Desired Settlement: I need the $360 that was taking out my bank account without my authorization. The charge was unexpected and they agree to refund me the $360 back. I need it back in my capital one debit card which was charged as a credit card. I plan to graduate from Barbizon in the near future. I will pay the $360 in full through a monthly payment of $40.

Business Response:

********

 

Our office will contact student to come in to sign a new agreement with payment terms so the refund can be processed once new agreement is in place. The agreement she has in place states $190.00 bi-weekly payments and she has defaulted on the agreement. Will keep you up to date once we have contacted the student.
*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Thanks, I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID **, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The matter has NOT yet been resolved. I am waiting for Barbizon to call me.

Sincerely,

***********



 

9/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter went for an audition at Barbizon on August **** at the New Yorker Hotel and got selected to work with Barbizon for the modeling and acting workshop starting the **** of August. As a result, ******* ***** (Program Director) told me I needed to make a payment of 495.00. Therefore, I submitted a payment via my debit card in the amount of 495.00. However, after researching and reading all the negatives reviews about the Barbizon company online, I came to the conclusion that I no longer want my daughter to participate in these workshops. Which is why I am asking for a full refund in the amount of 495.00. So, I e-mailed ******* ***** on Monday, August **** the next day after the audition to let her know I wanted my money back. She replied back to me and told me to write a letter to their company and to fax it in order to have the cancellation take place and have my money refunded. I faxed the letter the same Monday and when I got back to her to verify that they have gotten the fax she said yes that it was in the system as cancelled and that I should receive credit shortly. Ever since Monday I have been waiting for my refund and haven't receive anything. I keep calling them and they are giving me the same excuses I had read on the reviews. And at the end people don't get their money back. Today, I called again and they told me it could take up to a month for me to be refunded. And I told them ******* said I should receive my money shortly and the person who I was speaking to over the phone told me that shortly means a month. Last time I check shortly does not mean a month. In addition, companies need to have their refund policies printed somewhere on their receipts or made visible to the customers/clients and neither of them was the case. It is unjust for them to take advantage of customers when it's time to give money back.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded in the amount of 495.00 in the same form of payment without having to wait 30 days.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Barbizon School of Modeling of Manhattan, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)