BBB Accredited Business since

The Technical Institute of America, Inc.

Phone: (212) 564-2351 Fax: (800) 490-7341 545 8th Avenue  4th Floor, New York, NY 10018 http://www.artfs.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Technical Institute of America, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Technical Institute of America, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Technical Institute of America, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 2011 Business started: 10/21/2009 in NY Business incorporated 10/21/2009 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Krishna Maddipatla, COO
Business Category

SCHOOLS-BUSINESS & VOCATIONAL


Additional Locations

  • 545 8th Avenue  4th Floor

    New York, NY 10018 (212) 564-2351

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was supposed to start my CNA course on June ***-- hours before the first class would begin, I was notified that the first day of class would be moved to June ***. I decided to cancel my course. I asked for a full refund, as promised on TIA's website. The receptionist and the management person were kind but insisted that the refund would be given in 2 or 3 weeks, as dictated by company policy. I tried to point out that they're contradicting their own policies-- full refunds are only guaranteed if the the student canceled the class 3 business days before the first day of the class. If they wait any longer than the next couple of days, they are no longer obligated to provide me with a refund. I detect that TIA has written themselves a loophole so that they can rationalize themselves out of following their own policies. If anything, they should remove me from their class roster so they can verify my cancellation.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to be notified that they have remove me from the CNA's class roster in the next two days, at least three days before the first class, which is scheduled to be on June ***. Then, I would like a full refund. Thank you!

Business Response:

 

Dear *** ************

 

I will remove the complaint within 24 hours of receiving the refund on this coming Friday.

 

Best,

  ** ***

 

On Tue, Jun *, 2015 at 12:02 PM, *** *********** <***************> wrote:

** ** ****   * **** *** ** **** *** * ***** *** *** **** ************* *** ************ * ** ********* ***** ***  *** ************* ** *** **** ******* * ** ***** ** ****** *** ***** ** ****** *** * ***** **** ** ******* *** ** ****** **** ********* **** ****   **** ****** ***** ****   *******

*** *********** *** *** ******* *** ***** ******* **** ***** ****** *** ** ***** ************ *** *** ************** ********* ******************************************** ****** ***  *************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

If you possible, can you remove the complaint from the website?

Sincerely,

** *** ****



 

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is in in regards about an MCSA Server 2012 R2 course that was originally scheduled for May **, 2015 to May **, 2015, 8:30 am to 6:00 pm at the Technical Institute of America facility.I was told the day I arrived to the class at 8:30 am, the class schedule had changed to May **, 2015 to May **, 2015 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.I was sitting in the class for 1.5 hours prior to the arrival of the instructor.I was given the wrong textbook for the scheduled course upon arrival, and was reading this for about one hour before I was told it was the wrong textbook. One of the sales representatives replaced my textbook with the correct one for the course about 30 minutes before the instructor arrived at 10:00 am.The instructor gave us lab material that did not relate to the lecture he presented.The instructor said vulgar things that were not appropriate for a learning environment. He also talked over students, and did not give students the chance to many ask questions.The instructor gave the students some lab time in between, after or before lectures, but were constantly interrupted, during lab time, by the professor talking about irrelevant things, or asking the students to assist him with irrelevant things that did not pertain to the class focus.The instructor's cell phone rang loudly during class time, and he took the calls during the class.He asked one of his "students," by texting and/or by calling him on his cell phone, who was not attending the class, to bring him course material for his upcoming lectures.The instructor covered the majority of the course material presentation slides in less than a day.Above all else, I felt that I did not learn much in this class.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I should be compensated with a full refund in regards to this poor learning experience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

I have been asked by TIA to take this complaint down from the public; if this is not possible, please contact me as soon as you can.

Sincerely,

****** *******



 

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I will start off by saying this is a great school for the money. I have previously taken a course and the professor was great and knowledgeable. My problem is with the refund policy it states I am entitled to a FULL refund if given a notice of up to 2 business days. I had a Network + class that was rescheduled for November **** and unfortunately cannot make it to that class anymore. When I call to cancel the class and request a refund, I am given a run around and told about all the fees that will be deducted from the refund. In the end he was not even sure how much he was going to refund. I believe I spoke with "***". He then went on to say they cannot refund on ******* and that I would have to call back on******.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a full refund as your website states. Thank You.

Business Response: We spoke with the customer and resolved the issue

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. I spoke with the ***** *****, he was very apologetic and respectful. He gave me a full refund, no hard feeling will gladly do business with him in the future.

Sincerely,

******* ******



 

12/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a class at TIA in October of this year. I then had to retract my already Full Paid class due to no being able to take the class because of Time Contraints. I called them and I wrote an email about this. They informed me that it would take 2 weeks to refund my money. I said fine. it has been well over two weeks, i've called them several times, im going to go today to speak to them in person. in the mean time, im paying for the monthly cahrge on the card that i put this on and TIA wants a 7% refund cahrge fee, for i don't know what the hell. I would have been fine with that IF, IF they had made their refund in a timely fashion, because now they expaect their refund fee, yet I'm STILL paying the monthly cahrge for the card and it's ******** going to be Decemeber.

Desired Settlement: Refund-Credit card

Business Response: Spoke with Customer and resolved the issue

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

********* *******





 

2/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/**/14 i took a course from TIAEDU (Technical Institute of America), for the ITIL® Foundation Certification Boot Camp remotly from my desktop. The class was from 2/**-2/**and from the start the course i had problems. I contacted Shauntel Young at TIAEDU and asked about the Book the instructor was using that wasn't provided to me. She explained that there was an mistake on thier part that listed me as a student that was coming into NYC for the course. She informed me that they would be sending me the book today overnight and that i'd have it in the morning. The course is almost over and i still don't have the book they are using during the course. I'm completely lost and unable to follow the course. Futhermore the course website suggests that it included the fees for the exam. I was told that this is wrong and that i need to pay for the exam myself. There website is very misleading. Buyer beware. I would not recommend this company.

Desired Settlement: Provide a full refund due to all the issues. They should also review their offering of remote training as there was many issues. Including sending the wrong link for the course and conference bridge changing last minute.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

 in reference to complaint ID *************. The business has resolved my issue with them. Please remove this complaint as i may have jumped the gun by issuing a complaint with the BBB.

 
Sincerely,

*************



 

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for and took a PMP Exam Preparation on-line class in early August 2013, which was supposed to include a hardcopy of Andy Crowe's "The PMP Exam - How to Pass on Your First Try" 5th Edition textbook. From what I was told, the book was unavailable for purchase because the publisher stopped production once it was discovered that the book contained numerous errors. Instead, I recieved a PDF copy of the book, which seemed like a quick fix to the problem. However, the PDF copy is missing approximately a dozen pages, which I asked to have rescanned several times with no response. Additionally, in order to follow along with the on-line course, I had to print the PDF copy at a cost of $43.15, which I asked to be reimbursed for. I also asked to have my course completion certificate revised with my full legal name because the one sent to me was missing my suffix of***. After sending several emails, I have recieved no response from the receptionist or my instructor.

Desired Settlement: 1) Email me the missing pages from Andy Crowe's book. 2) Reimburse me the cost of printing the PDF book ($43.15). 3) Send me a revised course completion certificate with my full legal name, including suffix (***).

Business Response: Hi
 
I contacted *** ******** ****** and I resolved the issue with the book. He will be receiving the Certificate with the correct name on it soon.
 
Thanks,
****** ********, ************ ***** **** ****
Technical Institute of America
*** *** *** ***** **** *** ***** ** ***** ****** ************ ******* ***************** **** ************** ********* ******************************************** ****** *** *************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that the proposed resolution is satisfactory to me.  I have already recieved a refund for the value of the book and now I'm waiting for the course completion certificate to be revised with my full legal name.  ** ****** ********* contacted me immediately after I filed the complaint and was very responsive and polite. 

Sincerely,

******** ****** ***



 

8/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Course advertised was for level 1,2 and 3 Microsoft Word. Paid $149 which was allegedly discounted from $189. Arrived and was told only levels 1 and 2 were being taught and that no instruction or material was available for level 3.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund or the course material for level 3 as advertised.

Business Response: The student **** * ********** was unhappy that the course(Microsoft Word) we provided on July **, 2013 did not cover topics from Level 3. This was a mistake on our website and we have corrected the wording on our website. I issued **** a full refund of $149. I have attach the receipt and her course evaluation that she did attend the class.
 
If there is anything else the school needs to do please  let me know.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, Technical Institute of America (TIA), in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved because I have received my refund.  I want to add, however, that due to the misrepresentation of services on TIA's website which listed advanced Microsoft Word instruction which not only failed to take place when promised but in fact did not even exist as a course offering at all, resulted in me loosing valuable time to complete important projects for work.  Having recommended TIA to my supervisor, this fiasco has been a professional embarrassment for me.  I truly hope that no other working professional dependent on similar instruction for employment reasons is unwittingly dupped by this company in the future. 

Sincerely,

**** **********



 

7/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently completed the course on 04/**/13 and the school did not offer the remote lab access as stated on the website and course. I spoke with ******, CEO and his response was that it was out of his hands, the server is no longer available. Unlimited remote access to our lab for up to 3 months after the course ends. http**********************************************

Desired Settlement: I would like access to the remote lab as described in the course syllabus or an alternate program.

Business Response: Hi
 
We receive the complaint from The Better Business Bureau. Complaint ID #: *******. I have attach the remote labs access. If need any more information please call me at ###-###-####.
 
 
Thanks,
****** ********