BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

The Technical Institute of America, Inc.

Phone: (212) 564-2351 Fax: (800) 490-7341 545 8th Avenue  4th Floor, New York, NY 10018 http://www.artfs.com/ View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Technical Institute of America, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Technical Institute of America, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for The Technical Institute of America, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 31, 2011 Business started: 10/21/2009 in NY Business incorporated: 10/21/2009 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Krishna Maddipatla, COO
Business Category

SCHOOLS-BUSINESS & VOCATIONAL


Additional Locations

  • 545 8th Avenue  4th Floor

    New York, NY 10018 (212) 564-2351

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/**/14 i took a course from TIAEDU (Technical Institute of America), for the ITIL® Foundation Certification Boot Camp remotly from my desktop. The class was from 2/**-2/**and from the start the course i had problems. I contacted Shauntel Young at TIAEDU and asked about the Book the instructor was using that wasn't provided to me. She explained that there was an mistake on thier part that listed me as a student that was coming into NYC for the course. She informed me that they would be sending me the book today overnight and that i'd have it in the morning. The course is almost over and i still don't have the book they are using during the course. I'm completely lost and unable to follow the course. Futhermore the course website suggests that it included the fees for the exam. I was told that this is wrong and that i need to pay for the exam myself. There website is very misleading. Buyer beware. I would not recommend this company.

Desired Settlement: Provide a full refund due to all the issues. They should also review their offering of remote training as there was many issues. Including sending the wrong link for the course and conference bridge changing last minute.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

 in reference to complaint ID *************. The business has resolved my issue with them. Please remove this complaint as i may have jumped the gun by issuing a complaint with the BBB.

 
Sincerely,

*************



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for and took a PMP Exam Preparation on-line class in early August 2013, which was supposed to include a hardcopy of Andy Crowe's "The PMP Exam - How to Pass on Your First Try" 5th Edition textbook. From what I was told, the book was unavailable for purchase because the publisher stopped production once it was discovered that the book contained numerous errors. Instead, I recieved a PDF copy of the book, which seemed like a quick fix to the problem. However, the PDF copy is missing approximately a dozen pages, which I asked to have rescanned several times with no response. Additionally, in order to follow along with the on-line course, I had to print the PDF copy at a cost of $43.15, which I asked to be reimbursed for. I also asked to have my course completion certificate revised with my full legal name because the one sent to me was missing my suffix of***. After sending several emails, I have recieved no response from the receptionist or my instructor.

Desired Settlement: 1) Email me the missing pages from Andy Crowe's book. 2) Reimburse me the cost of printing the PDF book ($43.15). 3) Send me a revised course completion certificate with my full legal name, including suffix (***).

Business Response: Hi
 
I contacted *** ******** ****** and I resolved the issue with the book. He will be receiving the Certificate with the correct name on it soon.
 
Thanks,
****** ********, ************ ***** **** ****
Technical Institute of America
*** *** *** ***** **** *** ***** ** ***** ****** ************ ******* ***************** **** ************** ********* ******************************************** ****** *** *************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that the proposed resolution is satisfactory to me.  I have already recieved a refund for the value of the book and now I'm waiting for the course completion certificate to be revised with my full legal name.  ** ****** ********* contacted me immediately after I filed the complaint and was very responsive and polite. 

Sincerely,

******** ****** ***



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Course advertised was for level 1,2 and 3 Microsoft Word. Paid $149 which was allegedly discounted from $189. Arrived and was told only levels 1 and 2 were being taught and that no instruction or material was available for level 3.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund or the course material for level 3 as advertised.

Business Response: The student **** * ********** was unhappy that the course(Microsoft Word) we provided on July **, 2013 did not cover topics from Level 3. This was a mistake on our website and we have corrected the wording on our website. I issued **** a full refund of $149. I have attach the receipt and her course evaluation that she did attend the class.
 
If there is anything else the school needs to do please  let me know.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business, Technical Institute of America (TIA), in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved because I have received my refund.  I want to add, however, that due to the misrepresentation of services on TIA's website which listed advanced Microsoft Word instruction which not only failed to take place when promised but in fact did not even exist as a course offering at all, resulted in me loosing valuable time to complete important projects for work.  Having recommended TIA to my supervisor, this fiasco has been a professional embarrassment for me.  I truly hope that no other working professional dependent on similar instruction for employment reasons is unwittingly dupped by this company in the future. 

Sincerely,

**** **********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently completed the course on 04/**/13 and the school did not offer the remote lab access as stated on the website and course. I spoke with ******, CEO and his response was that it was out of his hands, the server is no longer available. Unlimited remote access to our lab for up to 3 months after the course ends. http**********************************************

Desired Settlement: I would like access to the remote lab as described in the course syllabus or an alternate program.

Business Response: Hi
 
We receive the complaint from The Better Business Bureau. Complaint ID #: *******. I have attach the remote labs access. If need any more information please call me at ###-###-####.
 
 
Thanks,
****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1