BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Dresses for special occasion, formal,  prom 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that newyorkdress on-line llc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for newyorkdress on-line llc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on newyorkdress on-line llc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 04, 2010 Business started: 08/01/2008 in NY Business incorporated 09/11/2008 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Miss. Lauren Kilbane, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Miss. Lauren Kilbane, Director of Operations
Business Category

RETAIL STORES WOMEN'S APPAREL-RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
NewYorkDress.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

newyorkdress on-line llc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 232 West 37th Street

    New York, NY 10018

  • 307 West 36 sTREET
    Floor 7

    New York, NY 10018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife purchased a dress on line for $528.00 it arrived promptly, she tried it on and it didn't fit correctly. We called the company and asked for the return label, requesting a full refund. The operator quickly told us that they only have a credit policy with no refunds. She said it is stated on the website. WEll to find that little bit if important information, you would have to scroll down to the bottom of the webpage click on terms and conditions and read down the paragraph to find it. I asked to speak to a supervisor, they offered to alter their policy but they would charge a 20% handling fee and we would have to pay for shipping, This is a deceptive policy, before you hit the pay button a box should come up explaining this transaction is non refundable. What kind of company does business in such a devious method, and have the audacity to hold back 20% plus shipping.

Desired Settlement: REFUND.

Business Response:


Our aim is for all of our customers to be extremely satisfied, which is why work hard to ensure that our returns policy is as customer service friendly as possible. We do not want you to be stuck with any items that you are unhappy with, and we do not want you to be unhappy with the service that you receive from us.


We work with everyone of our customers to ensure that their needs are met we would love to assist you further. Please call or chat with us at your earliest convenience so that we can provide you with an option that works better for you, and therefore turn your experience into a much more pleasant one.

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a $218 brand new sequin dress for my daughter. The dress arrived with sequins twisted and beads falling off the dress. I informed the company right away and sent them pictures as they requested. The company then offered me an exchange only. After getting a poor quality product mis-advertised as "new", I had no intention of playing the guessing game and re-ordering another poor quality dress from them so I asked for a refund. They emailed me back and said they'd give me $21.80 to have the dress repaired at a seamstress. My event was less than 2-days away! My seamstress wouldn't touch the dress because of the delicate beading and sequins. AND!...I paid for a BRAND NEW dress that shouldn't have been ripped or torn in the first place. Buyer beware!!! Regardless of the fact that they sent me a ripped dress, they refused to give me my money back. Buyers Beware!!!!! I would NEVER purchase anything from this company again. How dare you send me a ripped dress that was advertised as a BRAND NEW $218 DRESS?!?!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the total amount that I paid! I paid for a 'brand new' un-used dress in good quality condition and that is NOT what I received.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution to provide a full refund is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ********



 

Business Response: Our aim is for all of our customers to be extremely satisfied, which is why work hard to ensure that our returns policy is as customer service friendly as possible. We do not want you to be stuck with any items that you are unhappy with, and we do not want you to be unhappy with the service that you receive from us. 

We work with everyone of our customers to ensure that their needs are met we would love to assist you further. Please call or chat with us so that we can provide you with an option that works better for you.

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a dress on newyorkdress.com website. When I received the dress on Friday, July **, 2015, it was not what I was expecting. Not only was the color different from what was pictured on their website there was a large and low cut out on the back of the dress. NYD failed to include this major detail. Had they done so I would have never made the purchase. This dress is for a wedding and I consider the style extremely inappropriate and nothing that I would wear. I immediately contacted NYD as soon as I noticed the discretion (didn't even take the dress off the hanger) and informed them. I explained to the rep. that I was pressed for time as I now have to find a new dress and required my full refund. After going back and forth for via email for 4 days only for them to tell me that they'll "accept" my return, but, they're charging me a restocking fee. I work hard for my money and I consider this theft, I'm returning the dress in the same condition it left your facility and therefore I expect a full refund. I did nothing wrong, I made a purchase based on the information provided only to find out there were MAJOR details omitted. That is no fault of mine. So why am I being charged a fee. I've already lost out on what it cost me to get the item shipped to me and now I have to pay for it to get shipped out back to NYD in, addition, they expect me to pay their bogus fee.... this is absurd and no way to treat a customer. NYD has done nothing but waste my time and now they're stealing my money. This entire matter has been a major inconvenience and extremely stressful. I need my full refund so I can move on.

Desired Settlement: Newyorkdress needs to take ownership with what has taken place and provide me with a Full Refund. Anything less then what I paid is unacceptable.

Business Response:
Although we wish that it was under better circumstances, we would still like to thank you for providing feedback about your experience with us. We value it greatly, and will use it as a reference to guide us when it comes to establishing and meeting the needs of our customers in future. All of our images come directly from our designers, who work hard to capture the true beauty of our dresses so are sorry that in this case, the dress that you received is not what you expected. We do not want you or any of our customers to be stuck with a dress that you are unhappy with, which is why we have a very flexible return policy. However, since you are unhappy with the options that we have provided you with, we would love to provide you with an option that is more satisfactory to you, so please call or chat with us at your earliest convenience so that we can change your experience into a more pleasing one.
*thank you for providing.....

4/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enquire about a dress in January they said it would be in late February I ordered late February for them to cancel a week later then sent me an email making out I requested them to cancel. I then ordered the dress in another colour they then said it would be in early April now the say it would be late April. I think they tell lies to get an order. My son is getting married in late May and I wanted to look my best I an very upset waiting on this dress which seems will not arrive I am not sure you can help someone I know gave the number to me. She's ******** and she feels I have not been treated properly she was horrified in the way I was treated because she gave me the names of *** **** *********

Desired Settlement: I am getting very upset because I have waited for the dress I have lots of emails from them I also ordered another dress which did arrive It was horrible and at$900 plus import tax of£101 and returned the dress costing £84 and still having no dress insight. I hope you can work some magic for a desperate woman. Thank you. ******** *****

Business Response:

Our goal is to always provide the best customer service to our customers. As posted on our website, all items on our website are subject to stock availability. Due to the nature of our products,  some items are available for immediate shipment and others pieces are either in production or will need to be made once a customer places the order for the item.  

We are an authorized retailer of all the items we sell. We do not manufacture our own products and are unable to control the timeframe to which they are available. We aim to provide the most accurate information to our customers at all times.


We have since reached out  this customer to discuss her complaint further and have come to a resolution with her.

?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

The issue is not resolved because I don't have the product yet. I have been told mid-April, but not definitively.

From my perspective the issue will only be closed once I receive the products. I find it very strange that a company can't discuss accuratel delivery dates with their suppliers. 

I have asked for absolute clarity on when I will receive the goods or let me cancel and have my money refunded. The products inn question are for my sons wedding, which is now less than 8 weeks away. If New York dresses laet me down again, I will have very little time to  find a suitable alternative.

Deliver as promised or refund my money. I don't think,that's a difficult decision for a business to make.

Regards

 

*** ******** ***** 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** *****




 

Business Response:

The customer requested  to proceed with her order that is not scheduled to ship out until mid April, which passes the deadline for us to resolve her complaint in the timeframe of the BBB. If the customer  no longer wishes to proceed with the order we will provide her with a full refund.

 We are a retailer of the dresses we sell, as soon as we are notified of any delays in production from the manufacture we contact our customers as soon as possible so they are able to decide how they wish to proceed with their order.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
******** *****



 

7/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 7/**, I ordered a dress to be delivered to Algeria. I have provided New York Dress with the address where it needs to be delivered. 5 minutes after my order, I contacted New York Dress to make a slight change to the name (I used the recipients maiden name instead of married name), which New York Dress representative ******** said it was corrected. on 7/**, DHL sent me a notification that contained several wrong information: -The name was not corrected. It still reflected the maiden name. -the address was wrong. The city in the DHL label was *** ****** instead of *** ****. When I went to DHL.com, and entered the Waybill, it said that the delivery was scheduled for 7/**. However, the address and the name were wrong. On 7/**, I contacted New York Dress and advised that there were issues with the delivery on time, as there were incorrect information in the DHL label. ******** (from New York Dress) said that she will go ahead and correct the name (I thought it was already done!), and that she would contact the New York Dress shipping department to inquire about it. I then stated that as long as it's fixed on time for delivery on 7/** (as scheduled for the rate I paid $74.42 -- International Priority Express). on 7/**, nothing is delivered and the delivery date on the DHL website changed from 7/** at the end of the day to delivery date not available. All those issues caused for me to have to take time twice to contact New York Dress, created a hassle that I did not expect given that I paid almost $75 for shipping, and spent 1 hour talking to different agents at New York Dress explaining the situation without them listening (I spoke to ******** on 7/**, ******* over chat on 7/** and a supervisor ******? on 7/**). This is unacceptable as DHL Express Priority Delivery is supposed to happen after 3 days (which makes sense given how expensive the shipping was). I tried to contact DHL, but they refuse to deal with me, as I am considered as a third party, and New York Dress were the ones they did business with.

Desired Settlement: My expectations are the refund of the shipping fees on $74.42.

Business Response: After reviewing the history of this order, it is unfortunate that the customer did not receive the service that we typically offer and what he expected. A full refund for the shipping fee will be issued back onto his account today. We aim for customer satisfaction and in this case a simple error has affected the shopping experience for the customer. The customer service team was addressed as well as our shipping department to prevent future mistakes like this. We look forward to helping this customer with any future purchases. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ****



 

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 5 dresses and received 4 dresses. One dress was on back order. The colors of the dresses were different than what was shown on their website. When I tried to return the dresses, the company wanted to charge me a restocking fee of over $400. They do not accept returns, only store credit. They also told me there would be a $35 charge for the cancellation of an order - once again - this information is not on their website. The dresses were not as good quality as I would have expected so I am not sure if they are designer, or possibly fake.

Desired Settlement: I would like my entire amount refunded - they refunded everything except $100 for a 'restocking fee'which is not listed in their returns policy online and also $35 for the cancellation of a dress that was to be shipped in July.

Business Response: Hi, 

After reviewing the order history for *** ********, I see that we have approved her request to return the items that was received for a refund. Our return policy that is published on our website ********************************************************) does state that we accept return for Store Credit or Exchange only. We do stand by our products as they are supplied directly from the designer's manufacture warehouse. When we experience any issues with the products that are shipped to our customers, we immediately authorize the return and issue a store credit or authorize an exchange. However, in this case the customers simply wanted a refund back and did not wish to accept a store credit or any other styles. Since we have amended our policy to accommodate her request a restocking fee was required, initially the fee was 20% of the cost of the four styles that were being returned, but it was reduced to $100.00 by the ******* **********, as we wanted to keep *** ******** satisfied and a returning customer. 

The cancellation fee that was applied to the order can also be seen on our website (************************************************). Our policy states that the cancellation for Pre-Orders (Back Orders) is subjected to a $50.00 fee but it was reduced to $35.00. 

We understand the concerns that *** ******** has expressed and can guarantee that the NewYorkDress team has exhausted all measures to assist with this particular order. Now that the order has been escalated to management for review we will be contacting *** ******** to resolve this issue directly. 

Feel free to contact me may you require any further information. 

Thanks, 
**** **  ********* *******
###-###-####

9/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 3 bridesmaid dress from this website. The website is advertising that they sell authentic ****** ****** dresses but went the dresses arrived it is very clear that they are not from the designer. The labels are hand sewn in the dress, the bottom hem on the dress is very messy and the inside liner of the dress is longer than the hem of the dress. I do not have time to order new dresses before my wedding and now we have to pay $80 per dress to have alterations done to fix them.

Business Response: Hi *****, 


Thank you for providing me with this information. 

I can assure you that our company is know for the designer evening/special occasion styles that we carry. Our products arrive directly from the designers warehouse and then sent to our customers after complete inspection (I have requested a letter from ****** ****** confirming this this information, which will be provided within 48 hrs). I understand that ****** ****** was not satisfied with the products she received. However, she did not contact our office upon receiving her package to specify the issues that she had with the products delivered. We do stand by the quality of the products and brands we carry, if the issues were reported to our company immediately or within the 3 day period that our Return Policy indicates, we would have been able to take the items back or provide a partial refund since the customer explained in her complaint that there was a time restriction. At this time we will not be able to honor her request for a refund in the amount of $240.00 that was covered for alteration fees. I can provide a courtesy refund of $80.00 back onto her account at this time. 

Please provide the customer with this offer and advise how she wishes to proceed. Also, I want to congratulate her on her marriages. 

Thanks, 
**** ********
eCommerce Manager
************ * ***
**********************

Business Response: Hi, 


The designer was unable to provide a letter as promised in our initial response. However, they did confirm that the customer can visit ****************************************************, enter our zip code (*****) and state (New York) to confirm that we are an authorized retailer. She can also contact them directly at ************. 

As a courtesy we will honor your request for a refund in the amount of $120.00. Typically we would have been able to assist you immediately if the issue was reported to us sooner and before the items were altered. You have received a special price for these designer styles with the additional 10% discount that was provided at the point of sale. 

I do hope that the wedding was a success and look forward to working with you on any future orders. 

Please note the credit card payment has been settled and cannot be refunded, so your refund will be mailed to you in the form of a company check. The billing and shipping information is different so I will need to know who the check should be made to. 

I look forward to hearing from you soon. 

Thanks, 
**** **
eCommerce Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

The refund can be mailed to :

** ******** *** ******* ** ****** *** ***

Sincerely,

****** ******



 

9/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have my daughters wedding to attend Oct. *. I saw a dress on line that I loved on line, so I placed an order for the Kathy Ireland Dress #BE219 in Charcoal, size 14. I was told by the sales rep that I should order the dress two sizes larger than what I wear (10) ... because quote "I can take in the dress to fit, which I can't if the dress is too small. The size 14 dress was delivered ... the dress was two sizes to big and the color Charcoal was blue in color. The fabric that the dress is made from is not a Kathy Ireland grade of fabric ... not for $450. Very cheap look to the dress the I recieved ... web page very deceptive. When I made the call to return the dress, which the sales rep assured me that I could return the dress, but she did not say return for exchange only. On their product page it states " we accept returnes". But only in their return policies on another page does it say exchange only. Very misleading. I did place the order for a different line of dress: Alyce Dress #29629 in Gun Metal, size 10 (they said that I could NOT get my money back) hoping and praying that this dress would be a dress that was of the quality that was shown on their web page. NOT ... the same cheap fabric which was Gun Metal size 10 but didn't fit. All of their dress have to be knock offs of designer dress (Kathy Ireland) made of the cheapest grade of fabric. I am so disappointed ... I need my money to purchase my dress for the wedding ... I don't have much time at all ...and I don't have another $450 to spent on another dress when they have my money.

Desired Settlement: I hope that management will refund the money on the credit card.

Business Response: Hi, 


All of the products sold on ******************** are provided directly from the Designers Warehouse. Our company does not sell replicas and can be verified with each designer that we carry as a Authorized Retailer. We understand that the customer is not satisfied with the two items that were received. Her complaint will be forwarded to the designer. However, we do want to keep her satisfied and will make an exception to our Return Policy, which states that we only offer store credit or exchange only. Once the Alyce style has been received and inspected a full refund of $450 will be issued back onto the customers account. 

Please advise if there are any other concerns or questions. 

Thanks, 
**** **
eCommerce Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ********



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on newyorkdress on-line llc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart