BBB Accredited Business since

Lions Deal

Phone: (516) 792-9595 View Additional Phone Numbers 140A Washington Avenue, Cedarhurst , NY 11516 http://www.lionsdeal.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lions Deal meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lions Deal include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lions Deal
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 22, 2009 Business started: 04/28/2008 in NY Business incorporated: 04/28/2008 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fred Schulman, CEO
Business Category

RESTAURANT EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES OFFICE FURNITURE & EQUIPMENT-DEALERS OFFICE SUPPLIES

Alternate Business Names
Freds Kitchen Supply LLC

Additional Locations

  • 140A Washington Avenue

    Cedarhurst , NY 11516 (516) 792-9595

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (516) 224-7429 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for Pledge GrabIts Dry Allergen Cloths with www.lionsdeal.com on October**, 2014 and my credit card was charged that day. On October**, I received Pledge Multi-Surface Wet Wipes and submitted a claim to Lions Deal that day requesting a refund and a return of the incorrect product. The website stated Lions Deal would contact me within 2 business days regarding my claim. They did not contact me. On October** I called them, explained the error, and was told an RMA would be issued through the vendor, the product that I had ordered was DISCONTINUED, the incorrect product would be collected within 10 days, and I would receive my refund once the incorrect product was received by the vendor. On November*, I called Lions Deal again to inquire when the incorrect product would be collected and was told the RMA had not yet been placed. it would be place today and to allow 10 days for collection. I offered to take the product to my local *** store if the RMA is issued to speed along the process, but this offer was declined. On November**, I called Lions Deal again to inquire when the incorrect product would be collected and they had no answer. I again offered to take the product to my local *** store for them, but this offer was declined. On November**, I called Lions Deal and spoke with ******* *****, recounting the delivery error and non-collection and requested a refund to my credit card immediately as it was not my error to ship the wrong product and it was not in my control to have the incorrect goods returned. ***** acknowledged the process has taken longer than usual and agreed to refund my card that day. It is now November ** and no refund has been issued to my card and the incorrect product is still uncollected.

Desired Settlement: I want my credit card refunded for the full amount of this purchase, IMMEDIATELY.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

* ******



 

7/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I place an order on June **, 2014, I was told since order it before 2 pm then it will be shipped out that day. On June ** I called to make sure my order got process and shipped because I never received a email confirmation about it. They said they moved into a new building and their computer system was messing up, and the my order will be shipped out on June **. They said I will be getting my order on July * or *, and I told them that was just in time because I have an event that evening on July *, & * I need it for. On july * I have not received a email confirmation about my shipment so I call in again, The person gave me the same story about moving into a new place and there system is messing up. I said I was not happy because I need it for a event on July *, & * I was upset so I hung up because the guy on the phone said he was sorry and it is was it is. July * I called back and ask to speck to a *******, after about 5 min they finally sent me to a *******, I told him what seas going on and I ask him if he could overnight on to me for my event on July *, and he said since they are the cheapest online store that they could not eat the cost and ship it over night, he would have to charge me for another product and overnight shipping. I then told him how poor of customer service you all have there, and I hung up the phone. Now my order is not going to be here until July *, 5 days after the main event I bought the item for. Your order # is ******

Desired Settlement: I would like a phone call from someone in the corparate office and a full refund what I paid for the item, and to be able to keep the item.

Business Response: I am sorry about the delay in shipping. We can issue a return shipping label and offer a full refund if you would like to ship it back. Please advise.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I will use this product for further purpose, but I had to go out and rent a sign for the event that I was told I would get it in time for.  If I knew it was not going to be here in time I could have order it from somewhere else.  I would like them to refund my money to help cover the cost that I sent renting something else, and me still keep what I have.  

***** *****

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

Business Response: If you are keeping the item, We can not issue a refund. You can return the item for a refund.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Because of your unprofessional customer service and unprofessional staff for not getting my product to me when your staff told me I would have it then when it was not going out in time then told me they could not overnight the product to get it to me when it was promise to me.   Your response is not good enough for me.     

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased almost $2000.00 worth of equipment. The equipment was initially delayed almost 6 weeks in delivery. I had construction delays about 8 months so I didn't have the opportunity to assemble the equipment until about 5 weeks ago. When I did I found one of the table tops they sent me was damaged. The top had several deep nicks and scratches on the top. The box it was in had no damage what so ever to it. It was clear the top damaged before they sent it to me. I contacted lions deal and they after about 3 weeks of run around with their customer service department I finally got an e-mail today from *** ***** ******** from lions deal informing me "this order is from june 2013. We can not replace any damaged items from a year ago. Sorry. There web site proudly displays your logo on its home page. Their site also states At LionsDeal.com your complete satisfaction is our top priority!! If the merchandise you receive is defective or damaged according to industry standards , we will rectify the situation immediately. I clearly am not "completely satisified" and clearly that isn't really lionsdeal's top priority. If this is how they treat their customers I feel the BBB have a right to know whom they are endorsing. I spent almost $2000.00 and they are willing to sell their reputation and integrity over a table to they list on their web site for $38

Desired Settlement: All I wanted was a replacement top for merchandise that was clearly damaged prior to them shipping it to me. I had pictures to show the shipping box was un-dammaged supporting my assertion which I e-mailed to them and at the end of the day they refused to do anything for me.

Business Response: The customer placed the order on June **** 2013 and first sent an email requesting a replacement on April **** 2014, 10 months after the table was delivered. Unfortunately, our manufacturers policy is that they can not replace a damaged item unless it is reported damaged within 30 days. I tried to offer the customer a $10 coupon code for her new order but she refused.

Thanks,

***** ********

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Every charger plate (135) that I ordered contained noticeable scratches and "thumbprints" in the paint (I forwarded pictures to ***** at Lionsdeal) -- These flaws could be seen from a few feet away. I attempted to resolve the issue since the catering event is 6/**/13. I was told that I should have known or expected that the product would be "inferior" as everyone in the industry is happy with this cheap product. The pictures and description on the website clearly do not mention either of these issues. I sent pictures of the damaged product and requested a replacement but they said I would not be happy with another order since they probably would come from the same batch. Very Poor Customer Service! Enter message:Enter message For security reasons, you'll automatically be logged out in 14 minutes, 56 seconds. To avoid losing your message, copy it to a separate document before you are logged out.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for this order and new plates to be sent by 6/**

Business Response: Customer contacted us that he feels that the plates he received are defective as they all have a dull look to them and they all have thumb print marks on the plates. We informed the customer that the dull finish is the standard look for charger plates. We sell the same charger plates that are every website sells as well as the same look charger that is sold in many major retail chains. The dull finish is the look that chargers a re supposed to have and if that is not what he is looking for then he would need to contact another sellers as this is the style which we sell. As for the thumb prints we inspected all of our charger and could not come up with a single charger with thumb prints and we think that the customer must have had  something on his hand when he was unpacking the charges for all of them to have a thumb print  marking.

As for the customer's request that we send new charger plates, and he keeps the defective ones  and we issue a ref und we find this option unacceptable. We a re offering the customer the following:, we will pick up the charger plates at our expense as well as give the customer a full refund for the purchase, including the shipping.

BBB ID *******


**** ********

Business Response: BBB Claim *******
The customer statements are inaccurate and not truthful and he is distorts what we say and write to reinforce his position. Below is a transcript between Lions Deal and the customer from **********. In the customers BBB dispute he opens by saying that we did not offer to pay for shipping, but below (6/**/2013 at 18:13) we clearly say we are willing to issue a call tag and pick up the items at our expense. He then responds that he will not return them until we send him new ones (he then disputes the charge on PayPal, so he wants to keep the "damaged" ones, have us send a new order to him and he doesn't want to pay for the order ). The BBB claim then goes onto say that we told him to expect the defects and those we told him that he gets what he paid for. Over the phone he continuously complained about the design of the charger plate and that they don't have the look he was expecting. We explained to him as well as mentioned it below that this is the standard looking product. When people buy charger plates this is tat they are expecting and for us to sell something different would upset 99% of the charger buying population. Regarding the thumb prints, we did inspect the returned items and noticed and dozen or so that did have finger prints on them. As we mentioned over the phone we would send replacements for those but not seven cases (168 pieces). Lastly, the customer spoke with two mangers at our company but was not satisfied with the results so he demanded to speak with the owner of the company, we explained to him that he does not come into this location and he spoke with the most senior manager at ************* .

View dispute comments
• 6/**/2013 20:24 EDT - PayPal: Buyer escalated this dispute to a Claim.
• 6/**/2013 20:24 EDT - Buyer: I would be willing to accept a refund of half the purchase price and I will try to paint the chargers in time for the event. I contacted the seller and they told me that each charger was inexpensive and that I should have expected imperfections, although this is not listed anywhere on their website. As a matter of fact, the picture on th website shows a clearly acceptable product. The main issue is that each plate has fingerprints and scratches baked into the paint. I believe this is unreasonable. I emailed the customer service associate numerous pictures of the defects. Thanks, *** *******###-###-####
• 6/**/2013 20:18 EDT - Buyer: I want new non-defective plates shipped out and I will return the defective plates. As I stated, I need these for an event next weekend and only want what I thought i paid for, nothing more, nothing less. To first offer to waive a restocking fee and have me pay the $65 shipping was an insult. From a customer service perspective, it is shameful that you send out sub-standard merchandise than expect me to return them a week before the event without a suitable replacement.
• 6/**/2013 18:13 EDT - Seller: The product is standard quality and we dispute that the items are all defective. Even though we feel they are acceptable quality we are willing to issue a call tag and pick up the chargers and give the customer a full refund. Customer refuses to
return
• 6/**/2013 18:13 EDT - PayPal: Freds Kitchen Supplies denied *** ****'s request for a
$360.54 USD refund. **** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[I will say that your statements are inaccurate and do not reflect the comments or attitude I received during our phone conversations.   I spoke to numerous managers and was told that I would not receive another order because I would be disatisfied with the new product as well.  Furthermore, I have a receipt for $97.00 from UPS for which I paid out of pocket to return the plates to you.   

I also find it appalling that you would inlcude my personal information in your response (my phone number) and see this as a bad business practice or some form of retaliation.]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*** *******




 

6/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed my order over a week ago for over a $1000 but they did not ship out my order, nor advise me of issues. On website status it showed shipped but it was actually only one item that shipped. I urgently needed these items for my new restaurant opening. The one item I received was damaged. I emailed and called but they did not respond. I called again and spoke to someone who incredibly told me my item is not available, but on their website they are still listing as a sale item. NO ONE called to advise me nor ask if I wanted to change my order. 9am - A manager by the name of **** was supposed to call me back. 2pm - I called and left a message for **** - still NO CALL back. 4:30pm Central time - called again and they are close, but on their website it states 8pm EST for sales??? One whole business day has passed and a very upset customer did not receive a resolution nor even a courteous response. FALSE Advertisement! NO response to emails over 48hrs already NO response to escalations This is the very first time I have purchased from LionsDeal and thought I would definitely be ordering more...but this is bad customer service!

Desired Settlement: Respond and take responsibility for lack of good customer service. In today's online environment an order does not sit for a whole week without notifying the customer. Then lack of action after the customers calls in for a status and quite upset to find out order did not ship. I ordered 11 dozen red square plates - company has many other manufacturers they should offer a replacement of other red square plates. At least call to offer a resolution!

Business Response: Customer is correct and we did not properly follow through with the order. One of the managers did speak with the customer and we upgraded her plates free of charge. We do apologize for the inconvenience and lack of follow through and we will do our utmost to correct the problem with future customers.

Consumer Response: ****** ******** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because

 

No, the business did NOT have a manager or ANYONE call me back.  Nothing via email or phone.  I had to call in again and reiterate all my issues with a different customer service rep.  The rep was even blaming it on me the customer because he said they were short staffed and HE has to now answer my issues.  He DID not offer any suggestions and just told me to call back another day when the manager will be back.  

I insisted that I need a resolution THAT DAY (since it was already many days) and I suggested that we can just change to another color which throws off my whole decor.  Also, with the white plates it will easily stain with our red sauce BUT I had no other choice.  

Also, I received broken plates that I have never received a resolution to??  They stated someone will call me with instructions...but no one has called me.

I don't understand where they stated a manager called to upgrade me??? 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
******** ** 




 

Business Response: BBB Claim number *******
 
I have reached out to ******** and spoke with her over the phone today. She told me that although she was very disappointed with our customer service, there is nothing that she would like us to do for her at this time. Again, I do apologize for any inconvenience which this situation caused her and we have taken steps to ensure that it does not happen to other customers in the future
 
 
 
All the best,
**** ********
*************
###-###-####

4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a bamboo steamer from Lion's Deal that was of poor quality. It arrived in a torn box and had been listed as 3-tier, as opposed to a 3-piece set. I informed Lion's Deal that I wanted to return it for a refund. I was told that it would take 1-2 days to receive an RA number for return. After 11 days, I emailed again asking for the RA number. Upon receiving the number I promptly put my package in the mail and waited the 30 days it was said to take for a refund. After nearly 6 weeks, I contacted Lion's Deal again twice, and have yet to receive a response or a refund. [Box of 1] 3-Tier Bamboo Steamer 8"" $22.89 Discount $0.00 Subtotal $22.89 Shipping $14.28 Tax $0.00 Total $37.17 Furthermore, I was told I would have to pay for return shipping as well as the initial $14.28 shipping fee.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $37.17.

Business Response: Although we maintain our information is accurate and there is no difference between a 3 tier and a 3 piece set as each piece is another layer. We have proceeded to give the customer a full refund in the amount of $37.17

3/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on 1/**/2013 and paid for 3 day select shipping. I only received one of the 4 products within that time frame and the product was misrepresented online which means I do not have a use for the product. I paid for 3 day select shipping because I was unable to find pans locally that fit my needs and needed the products by Friday 1/***2013 because I have my first huge event for my new business. This event is a make it or break it deal for me as it has over 250 potential new clients. Now due to the delay of the packages and misrepresentation of products online, I will not be able to provide my clients with the order they requested which is going to make me lose clients. When I contacted customer service it was greatly lacking in care and understanding. The guy (*****) was rude, said he would have to call me back on the situation and when I asked when he said I dont know sometime before the end of the day and when I said you do not have my number he rudely snapped yes I do. The number he had was a number where I was not reachable. He made me feel like it was my fault that the products had not arrived yet by making me still pay for shipping. All he did was changed it to ground shipping fee instead of 3 day select. Well I am sorry I am going to be losing hundreds of dollars because of my products not arriving as promised and am going to have to purchase items from other companies with overnight shipping because of misrepresented items. When I asked to speak with someone higher up he refused. I want a full refund on my shipping charges. Not get a measely 10 dollars taken off. It is not my fault Lionsdeal.com was unable to deliver my products as promised.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of shipping charges as well as a call from someone higher up for me to express my concerns about their organization.

Business Response:

I am very sorry for the inconvenience which was caused by the us shipping the Item with the wrong shipping method. As the customer requested I have issued a full refund for the shipping and I have reached out to her by phone to discuss, I have been unable to reach her but have left a voicermaili with my contact information.
**** ********




###-###

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

I am disappointed in the fact that the business said I was unable to be satisified. The products were damaged when they finally arrived late. Then it took several calls just to get someone to get the products returned. Weeks later I am still waiting for my reimbursement for the returned items. This company is very disorganized and does not give customers proper information. After this is resolved I will never do business with them again and urge other restaurant owners and business customers to do business else where. No reliability in this company.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *******




 

Business Response:
The customer was reimbursed back onto her credit card a last week. Please check your email in box for the email we sent you with the credit information as well as your credit card statement showing the credit.