BBB Accredited Business since

Cops Plus Inc.

Phone: (718) 267-7026 Fax: (718) 267-7029 38-01 23rd Avenue, Astoria, NY 11105 http://www.copsplus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cops Plus Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cops Plus Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cops Plus Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2003 Business started: 10/01/2003 in NY Business incorporated 10/09/2002 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ion Hatzithomas, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ion Hatzithomas, President
Related Businesses
ModelCars.com
Business Category

POLICE EQUIPMENT


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase online with this company on Feb *,2015 order #******. Item showed it was in stock. I have waited 4 weeks for delivery but still have not received order. I have contacted customer service on 3 occasions and have been verbally promised an update via email but have never received any replies.Item showed it was in stock when I placed order. The typical response from this company is 'We apologize the item you ordered was on backorder from the manufacturer, We provided a link on our site that you may use to monitor the status of your order at any time.'Problem is, website never says item is on backorder. Just a very long estimated ship date.If I had known item would not be shipped in a timely manner, I would not have purchased from them.

Desired Settlement: An apology other than the typical response, item shipped free of charge or cancelled if it can't be delivered in a timely manner.

Business Response: Our site does not advertise stock status, but customers are welcome to contact us via phone or e-mail to inquire about stock before placing an order. Once an order is placed, our system creates an online order status page which updates with shipping information. The customer can log on to this page via the customer service page under View Order Status using their order number and e-mail address. If an item has not shipped due to a backorder, ETA's will be updated and posted to this status page. If an ETA is not readily available, the status page directs the customer to our 800 phone number to call customer service, who can then research the delay with the manufacturer on the customer's behalf. All of the above is what is being referred to by the customer service representative in the quoted statement, “We provided a link on our site that you may use to monitor the status of your order order at any time.”
The notes in this order show that *** ******** contacted customer service once via e-mail on Monday 3/* (or possibly over the weekend – we are not open on weekends so e-mails received after hours and over the weekend are addressed in the order that they are received on the next business day). The responding customer service representative researched the delay with the manufacturer and responded on Wednesday 3/** with an ETA of the end of March for these shoulder pads.
The options currently available are either that we will ship the items as soon as they arrive from the manufacturer, or the customer can request a cancellation or substitution from customer service, with which we will be happy to assist. We can be reached Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM EST at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Your website should say that it does not advertise stock status, but customers are welcome to contact us via phone or e-mail to inquire about stock before placing an order. I am still wondering why a company would sell a product they do not have in stock and make a customer wait two months to receive it.  Cancel my order as there are other companies that have much better sales practices.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ********



 

Business Response: Dear *** *******,

We are in receipt of the second response today 3/**, and acknowledge *** ********'s disagreement with our website set-up that does not advertise stock status but our customer service contact information is listed in detail and reps are available Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM EST to answer any and all questions about products and orders, as well as to resolve any problems.

At this time, we are unable to grant the request, made in the BBB complaint, for a cancellation of this order as it shipped to the customer yesterday, 3/**, and is already in transit. If *** ******** no longer wants the order, he is welcome to contact us to arrange a return or exchange. The best and most efficient way to conduct all of the above transactions is to contact us directly, be it via phone or e-mail:
Local: ************
Nationwide: ************
E-mail: ****************************
Sincerely,
CopsPlus Inc

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

What a great way to use the internet for commerce.  Look at their website, view the item you want to purchase, don't purchase on line because you don't know if it is in stock. Call them and order based on availability.  If you complain about this process, CopsPlus says too bad for you, all we want is your money.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
**** ********




 

4/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in January of 2013 (not a miss type) I placed a order for 4 knives thru cops plus online order. Within about two I received two of the four knives I ordered. Inside the box there was a note from this Company. It said that there was a back order on one of the two knives that still need to be sent to me. That part I was fine with then about 4 months later I received the item that was on back order. But there was still one that I never got. I called the customer service phone number and talked to a guy named ****. He looked into the order and told me that the item I was still missing was on back order. Then he said that it should be about another 2 to 3 months before I was to get it. I was never informed that the last item I was waiting for was on back order till I called this company in May of 2013. I waited that additional 3 months and when I realized that I still was missing the item I paid for I called them back and requested that I get It for free since it was now the end of August. The told me that they were not going to do that but also stated that they it should be getting shipped out soon. So I just took it for what it was and here I am today on March *,2014 still without my final item that I ordered and payed for over a year ago. There is no reason for it to take this long for me to get an item that was ordered back in January 2013.

Desired Settlement: I have been patient this whole time and been very respectful so I would like to have the item I ordered and paid for and since it has taken this long for me to hear anything back from them or to get my order filled fully then i really would like to have the item for free since it's been well over a year that I placed my order.

Business Response: Sorry about the long wait, apparently the manufacturer was having an issue getting these produced so they were pretty much completely unavailable to anyone until this March.

 
Where as I do understand that a year is a very long time to wait for an item, the customer was under no obligation to keep the order with us and it could have been cancelled at any time. We hounded the manufacturer for these for months, but unfortunately it did not speed up the process.
 
The knife has been shipped via USPS Priority Mail with Tracking Number: ******************************
 
Unfortunately, we cannot refund payment for the knife if the customer is keeping it, but if the customer cannot use the item after the long wait we can have it returned to us at our expense for a full refund if the customer desires.
 
Sorry for the trouble
Customer Service
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 

 I'm sorry but the explanation that was given by the people at cops plus gave about not being able to get the item because of the manufacturer having complications is ridiculous. If they were having that hard of a time getting the item then they should have removed the item from their website. Not only that but I find it really ironic that as soon I file a complaint about it taking so long for my order to get filled and shipped to me, that's when they contact me and finally get the last item that I ordered over a year ago. So do I accepted their explanation on why it took so long for me to my full order the answer is no I don't. Beside in the company I work for we strive ourselves on our customers being completely satisfied in any way necessary.  

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

1/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11-**-2013, I placed an order for a Picatinny rail bayonet lug mount for my Uzi. At the time of my order, I examined the web site and could find nothing to indicate that the item was not in stock. Due to a VERY negative experience in the past with a different merchant, I will never again purchase ANYTHING that is backordered. After ordering the mount, I did not receive any message stating that it was not in stock. Cops Plus emailed me a receipt which also made no mention that the mount was backordered. I should mention that this was the first time I had ever purchased anything from Cops Plus. After one week passed with no delivery, I decided to track my purchase via Cops Plus' web site on 11-**-13 and was informed that the mount would not ship until 11-**-13. Thinking that this odd, I sent an email to Cops Plus requesting clarification. On 11-**-13, I received an email from Cops Plus informing me that the mount would not ship until MARCH of 2014. Thinking this to be an error, I immediately emailed Cops Plus asking for this to be confirmed. On 11-**-13, Cops Plus replied and confirmed that the item was backordered and was not expected until March. I immediately canceled my order. There is absolutely NO reason why Cops Plus cannot have live inventory. Advertising an item and then not stating that it is currently out of stock is a deceptive and dishonest business practice. I understand that the Uzi is a popular firearm. However, you will not be able to convince me that the rail mount is in such high demand that you can't always have a certain number available.

Desired Settlement: After reading other BBB complaints about Cops Plus, I have learned that Cops Plus cannot always be trusted to cancel orders when customers request it even if they claim that they have canceled it. I will not do any further business with Cops Plus and recommend that no LEOs do until Cops Plus implements live inventory. I will be purchasing the mount from a different merchant and do not wish for Cops Plus to "unintentionally" bill my credit card in March and ship the mount to me. Furthermore, I demand confirmation from Cops Plus that my personal information has been removed from their system as I do not wish to receive any advertisements of their products or sales. I am not interested in a generic and insincere apology for my "inconvenience" nor do I care to hear Cops Plus blame the manufacturer. My complaint is not about the maufacturer, it is about Cops Plus misleading customers by indicating that an item is in stock and available when it is not.

Business Response: I am not sure why this complaint was entered in the first place....

 
Yes, the item he ordered was on backorder.
 
but, we did NOT charge the customers as the item was not available for immediate shipment.
 
The customer states...  "Cops Plus misleading customers by indicating that an item is in stock and available when it is not."
 - We did NOT indicate the item was in stock, and again we never charged the customer for anything as we only charge for items that ship.
 
The order is currently cancelled at the customers request and will not be shipped or charged to the card.
Furthermore, to address the concern in this complaint, we do not send any type of advertising emails to our customers.
 
If there is anything else we need to do please let us know.
 
Customer Service.
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

On 11-**-13, I placed my order for an Uzi pistol rail mount.  Nowhere on the website did it state that the rail mount was out of stock and on back order.  When the mount did not arrive by 11-**-13, I went to the website to check the order status and was informed that the order had not shipped and would not ship until 11-**-13.  I immediately sent an email asking why the mount did not ship promptly.  On 11-**-13, I received a reply which stated "I am checking on the status of your BACK ORDERED item.  I am waiting for a reply from the manufacturer".  This was the FIRST notification that I received that the mount was not in stock at the time I placed my order.  I examined the receipt that Cops Plus emailed to me on 11-**-13 and could not find any information on it which indicated that the mount was not in stock.  Later on 11-**-13, I received another email stating that the mount would not be available until March of 2014.  I went back to the website to check the order status again and the shipping date had changed from 11-**-13 to 12-**-13.  Had I not contacted Cops Plus on 11-**-13, I doubt that they would have ever contacted me and would have just kept moving the shipping date back. 

Under absolutely no circumstances will I place an order for a back ordered item.  It is almost 2014, there is NO EXCUSE for ANY online merchant to not have live inventory.  By failing to advise the customer that an item is not actually in stock, Cops Plus misleads customers into assuming that the item is available for shipment and they place thier order.  Cops Plus hopes that customers in this situation will decide to just wait for their item since they have already placed their order instead of canceling and looking elsewhere.  While this may not be illegal, it is deceptive.  Anyone who is considering doing business with Cops Plus needs to be warned that they may be purchasing merchandise that Cops Plus does not actually have and to not trust the dates that Cops Plus provides in regards to when an order will be shipped.  If they must buy from Cops Plus, I recommend contacting them by telephone to confirm with a live representative if an item is really available or not.  This was the first and last time that I will ever attempt to conduct any business with Cops Plus and I demand confirmation that all of my personal information has been removed from their database.          

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

Cops Plus did knowingly advertise an item for sale that it did not have in stock and then allowed me to place an order for that item without having the decency to inform me that it was back ordered.  Did they seriously believe that I would wait for over three months for it without checking the delivery status or entering a complaint?

I am done with Cops Plus and they will NEVER see a penny from me.  Furthermore, I will advise all of my coworkers in my agency to avoid doing business with Cops Plus as well.  Cops Plus needs to accept responsibility for its actions, remove my personal information from its database and invest in and implement a live inventory system for its website or at the VERY least, post a disclaimer to advise potential customers that any item that they intend to purchase may not actually be available and could involve a excessively long back order.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

Business Response:

Customer keeps rejecting response.
 
Is there something the customer is looking for from us?
 
There is no active order for this customer at this time.
Please let us know what we can do to resolve this issue at this point.
 
Customer Service

11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/**/13 I ordered a Fobus ROTO Self Locking Belt Slide Holster from the Copsplus online store. When I finished placing my order it was stated that the item was on backorder for 2 weeks which turned into 1 month which turned into 2 months when I finally cancelled my order over the phone 06/**/13. I received an email conformation letter the same day. But the item was still shipped to me on 06/**/13 and was charged even though I cancelled the order and Copsplus confirmed it. My debit card charge is $39.71 on 08/**/13.

Desired Settlement: I just want a hassle-free resolution to a mistake made on Copsplus' end. I didn't order it, I shouldn't have to pay for it.

Business Response: This order was shipped and received by the customer. If he does not want to keep the item we will gladly take it back and will pay return shipping.

 
As long as the item returns in unused condition with original packaging we will issue a full refund to the customer.
 
Customer Service
 

Business Response: As I said before...

 
We will gladly take the holster back and will pay return shipping.
 
As long as the item returns in unused condition with original packaging we will issue a full refund to the customer.
 
Just contact us to make the arrangements.
###-###-####
 
Customer Service
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
**** *****



 

9/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ORDERD SOME MAG. POUCHES COPS PLUS THEY SHIP THEM ON APRIL ** 2013 I RECEIVED A PHONE CALL LAST WEEK SAYING THAT I OWED THEM FOR THE POUCHES. THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE HEARD FROM THEM. AT THAT TIME MY WALLET WAS STOLEN SO CARDS WAS CANCELED. THEY SHIPED THE ORDER BEFORE THEY TRIED TO CHARGE MY CARD, WHICH I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF, AND KNOW THEY WANT THE MONEY 3 MONTHS LATER. ITS HARD FOR ME TO BELIEVE THAT COPS PLUS CAN DO BUSINESS THIS WAY, IF THEY WOULD CONTACTED THE WEEK AFTER I WOULD HAVE BEEN GLAD TO GIVE THEM A NEW NUMBER.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THIS IS THERE STANDARD FOR THERE COSTOMERS, AND A WRITTEN APOLIGY FROM THE OWNER.

Business Response: This customer has not paid for this item.


As he admits the card he initially gave us is no longer valid, so we now need a new card so we can get paid for th item we sent to him.

If he refuses to pay we will be forced to report this to the credit bureaus.

Customer Service

9/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CopsPlus.com has promised on several occasions to deliver products I have ordered. They only send the items partially, and when I call about the whereabouts of my remaining order, they claim that the outstanding items are on back order. This has been going on for 3 months now. My first order was placed in May 2013 and my second order was placed in June 2013. I still have not received my items. My card was charged the moment I placed the online order.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of all items or complete refund of my debit card.

Business Response: As far as I can tell this order is complete.


This customer had 2 items on Backorder, which he decided to eventually cancel. We did not charge for these items as they never shipped, no refund is due

Customer service

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Total clown operation. I will never attempt to do business again. They take an order, and give you no update. I placed and order coming up on 2 weeks now the charge auth is showing good and after almost 2 weeks of chasing them for some kind of information, or update, I have still heard nothing. They have not even processed the order. They do not reply to customer service emails and good luck getting thru on the phone. Their **** website does not even function correctly. I would not trust them to deliver a newspaper, let alone a couple hundred dollar sight.

Desired Settlement: at this point i would just like to cancel the order, but cannot even do that

Business Response: Order # ******
 
We apologize the item you ordered was on backorder from the manufacturer, We provided a link on our site that you may use to monitor the status of your order at any time. It also looks like we did respond to 3 of your emails between 3/** and 4/* and provided a direct extension to a customer service rep should you prefer to call us. We did not charge your credit card since the item was not in stock. We also researched the ETA of the item from the manufacturer for you and offered to check stock on items for you before purchasing in the future so this would not happen again. You always have the option to cancel if the wait time is too long, which it looks like you did. We sincerely apologize if you did not find this remediation acceptable. We continue to provide feedback to our suppliers and manufacturers to improve turn-around time on back­ ordered items.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:


The response is not even close.  I think its funny the way they try to spin the fact that i had to chase those people for 2 weeks to get an update.  The link on the website that gives order status is how i found out they backordered me, and the information was wrong on the website.   It was not any information provided by them, and In fact when they finally did bother to respond (only after I complained to the bbb) I was lied to.  I got tired after a week of reading emails from them about how it was some other companys fault,  I did not buy anything from ***.  I ordered and I paid them,  Cops plus is the ones supposed to be responsible to service the customer.  cops plus are the ones responsible to update the web site information, and cops plus is supposed to be responsible for handling their own business.  I received nothing that would be termed "customer service".  Yes , after weeks i was able to finally able to cancel my order (that should have never be taken), and i had to wait all that time before ordering my item from a company that does do honest business.

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ***




 

Business Response:

What would you find to be a satisfactory resolution to your complaint?

 

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had made an online purchase with the company on 1-**-13. The items I had purchased were on backorder which was fine, these things happen. On 4-*-13, I had received one of the items on the order and it was incorrect. According to the item numbers, it was correct, but the picture shown on the store was backwards with a similar product. A gun stock, one with a scope rail and one without. I was wanting the one without the rail. I mentioned this in a series of emails I sent to the company trying to resolve this issue. I first tried emailing them on the same day in an attempt to get a shipping label and refund so I could purchase the correct item, and also mentioned that they might want to check the pictures to correctly match the item number. I was not upset at this point, I've had things like this happen in the past. The following week, I tried calling both of the numbers provided on their website in an attempt to reach someone to help me with this, both numbers rang busy, which to me seems odd for a business to get a busy signal (I was late in the day, about 5:20pm, but I was within their time frame they list to reach them. Well, 4-**-13 comes around and still no response. I send a second email (including my original along with it) to try to reach someone again. Finally, 4-**-13 is here and STILL no response from anyone. This time, again, I include my previous 2 emails with it and tell them this is the last time I'm trying to reach them, and if I do not hear anything by 4-**-13, then I have no other option than to contact the BBB. So here I am on 4-**-13, with no response still and unfortunately having to put a bad word on a business.

Desired Settlement: First thing I would like is a shipping label (I will not pay to ship back an item which was misrepresented resulting in me purchasing the wrong item) which was the first thing I requested so that I could return the item I was sent since it was not the one I wanted. Then I would like this item refunded back to my card. Also, as much as I hate to do so, I would like to just go ahead and cancel the remaining item and have it refunded as well. Shipping was free so only the total cost of the 2 items which is $269.27 is what I want back. Lastly, please have them double check to make sure they have the correct pictures with the correct item number. This may hopefully save someone else from going through the same issue I have.

Business Response:

We apologize the item you ordered was on backorder from the manufacturer. We provided a link on our site that you may use to monitor the status of your order at any time. It also looks like we did respond to 3 of your emails between 3/** and 4/* and provided a direct extension to a customer service rep should you prefer to call us. We did not charge your credit card since the item was not in stock. We also researched the ETA of the item from the manufacturer for you and offered to check stock on items for you before purchasing in the future so this would not happen again. You always have the option to cancel if the wait time is too long, which it looks like you did. We sincerely apologize if you did not find this remediation acceptable. We continue to provide feedback to our suppliers and manufacturers to improve turn-around time on back-ordered items.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.

One of the items on the order arrived 2 days after contacting you, so there is no need for a refund on that. I've received a shipping label and prepared the original mentioned item that needed to be returned and am awaiting UPS to pick up the package. Once it arrives back to the company and a refund is made, I will recontact you to let you know everything is ok.

PS- I'm hoping the item gets returned ok. I was told I needed a "Return Authorization Number" to send it back. I was given a shipping label but still never received a return authorization number which I was told was supposed to be posted on the outside of the package. I DID request for the number, but all I got was the shipping label. Perhaps it is somewhere on it and I'm just not seeing it. But once I'm refunded for the $160 for the item I will notify you.

Thank you for your help on this.

Sincerely,

***** *******



 

3/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a holster on 3/*/13 from Copsplus.com. I initially received an email confirming my order. After a couple of days with no further communication from the company and the product not arriving, I contacted their customer service line. I was informed that the holster was on backorder and they would let me know when it was in stock and shipped. While talking to the customer service person, I realized that the wrong holster had been ordered (possibly my mistake) and informed the customer service person about the issue and identified which holster I was looking for. She informed me that the holster I was looking for was actually in stock but would be more expensive. I decided to cancel my order entirely and look elsewhere. The customer service rep informed me that the order was cancelled and that I would be receiving a notice of cancellation shortly. I spent some time looking at other sites attempting to find the holster I wanted but was unsuccessful so I contacted Copsplus.com customer service again and told them that I would like to order the right holster. They informed me that would not be a problem and they would send me an order confirmation email shortly. Later in the day, after my conversation with the customer service rep, I decided to do some research about Copsplus and found a lot of complaints about people getting charged and never receiving their product and other negative reviews. After reading that information, I decided that I did not want to do business with a company that had that kind of reputation and sent an email to customer service to cancel my order since I could not speak to someone directly as their customer service line is closed by 6 pm ET. I sent the email to cancel my order on 3/*/13. I called the customer service number immediately on 03/**/13 at 1015 ET to make sure they cancelled my order. The rep informed me that they would cancel the order and I would not be charged since the item had not been shipped yet and would be receiving an email to note my order cancellation. On 3/**/13 at 525 pm ET I received an email stating that the item I ordered and subsequently cancelled was shipped and that once I received it I was to send it back. I contacted customer service again on 3/**/13 at approximately 1025 ET because I was upset that the order had been shipped even though I had sent an email and called to cancel my order. I was also upset because there was a charge on my debit card from copsplus for $2.59. I was told by the customer service rep on 3/**/13 that he would contact their accounting department to have the $2.59 refunded to my account and make sure that the total charge for the holster ($70.71) would not be charged to my card. I was sent an email after my conversation on 3/**/13 stating that the rep contacted their accounting dept and requested a credit back to my card and that I would receive another email from their accounting dept letting me know that my card was credited. I never received an email from the accounting department and found that on (03/**/13) my debit card was charged twice by copsplus in the amounts of $2.59 and $70.71 and no credits were issued. During my business with copsplus I received an initial order email, an email that admitted to the mistake of shipping out the item on 3/**/13, and an email on 3/**/13 stating that the customer service rep requested a credit to my account.

Desired Settlement: I am incredibly angry but the lack of communication from copsplus and their charging my debit card after ensuring that the initial charge of $2.59 would be credited and no further debits would be made to my account. It appears that this company has a history of inappropriate business practices. I will be filing a dispute of the charges with my bank on 3/**/13 and will be looking into other possible legal action.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 

3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1/**/13 Browsed their homepage looking for a rifle case. Item showed it was in stock. I called customer service to double check item was in stock. Talked to a male customer service agent using customer service phone number ###-###-#### at approximately 228pm. I gave him the product number of item in question and asked if it was in stock. He said yes, we have multiple units and that if ordered today, it would ship out on Monday. I checked my order status Monday to ensure it shipped (due to being a gift for my father), and it says it is backordered and won't ship until 2/*. I checked a few days later, and it says shipping 2/*, and I checked today (2/*) and now it is not expected to ship until 2/**. From account info: BACKORDERED - Estimated ship date: Monday, February ** 2013 During this two week period, I have sent multiple emails about rectifying the situation. No response. I even found the item cheaper with another online company, and per COPS PLUS' "best price" policy, they will price match. I sent an email regarding this police, and they will not response. https://**************************** The big problem is that the order of more than $150 qualifies for free shipping. Considering they shipped two items, and three items are on backorder they are not responding to my emails regarding having the sent items returned. I would have never purchased the extra items to qualify for free shipping if it was known that their customer service staff are blatant liars.

Desired Settlement: I want my item shipped immediately and want compensated for being lied to by customer service. If this does not occur, I want return shipping paid for the two items sent already and do not want to incur a restock fee. It is not my fault that their staff is not honest to customer and chooses to mislead them.

Business Response:

Sorry you were having trouble reaching us. If emails are not being recieved (may be spam filter issue) please call us at ###-###-####.

It looks like the cas went out of stock after speaking with us but before the order was placed, but it has now shipped and this order should be good to go.

Customer Service

3/2/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase online with this company on Jan. *** order #******. I have waited 6 weeks for delivery but still have not received order. I have attempted to contact customer service on 3 occasions but have not received any replys.

Desired Settlement: Ship my product ASAP or refund my money

Business Response:

Hello.

This item is unfortunately discontinued. Your card has been refunded.

Sorry we could not fill this order for you

Customer Service

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ********



 

2/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec.**, 2012 I ordered a pair of boots from Cops Plus now in January 2013 I have recieved two pair of boots and have been charged for two pair at 99.99 a pair. All I am asking for is to return the second pair and get my money back for them. I have called and was told I would be called right back it has now been two days and I have not heard anything from the company. Order number was ******

Desired Settlement: This company will refund me the money and take this second pair of boots back

Business Response:

As far as I know, the extra pair of boots were sent in error, but we did not charge the customer for them. My understanding is that we are waiting for them to be returned at our cost.

I have left a meassage with the customer to call me and will continue to reach out throughout the day to try to resolve the issue.

Customer Service

Business Response: Customer has been refunded in full, this issue should be resolved at this time.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

**** ******* 


 

2/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/30/2013 Delivery Issues
9/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues