BBB Accredited Business since

Harris Water Main & Sewer Contractors, Inc.

Phone: (718) 495-3600 Fax: (718) 498-0026 2600 Atlantic Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11207 http://harriswatermainandsewers.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Harris Water Main & Sewer Contractors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Harris Water Main & Sewer Contractors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Harris Water Main & Sewer Contractors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1918 in NY Business incorporated 04/17/1979 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYC Department of Buildings - NYC
280 Broadway, 3rd floor, , New York NY 10007
http://www.nyc.gov/buildings
Phone Number: (212) 566-5000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: March **, my husband contact Harris around 11:00 am that morning, their representative informed him that someone would get back to him. Harris called back and my husband spoke with ***** *****, he told *** ***** that we have a broken water main valve and water was leaking into the basement. *** ***** told my husband that the only way he would be able to turn the water off would be to get permits from the city to dig up the street. He gave us a quote for the job and told him it would take several days before he would get the permits, to dig out in the street. *** ***** informed us that he needed a payment for the job and could not handle it until he receives payment, and he would get back with us. We own the house but no longer live there and needed the job done as soon as possible. We contacted ***** ****** March **, about the job they came out to see the job but we had problems with them committing to scheduled dates. *** ***** called my husband on March **, my husband told him that he took care of the problem and no longer needed his services (He worked with *** ***** family before and did not want to appear not to care so he told *** ***** that he and his brother in law did the job). We again called *** ***** on or around March *****, to get the job done but *** ***** had a problem working with us due to my husband’s telling him he had did the job. The work was done on March **, I had a relative give them access to the house. She reported to me the work was completed but the streets had not been dug up as required by the contract in order to turn off the water. I called Harris on March **, and was told *** ***** would return my call. I received a call from *** ***** on April *, I asked him if the work was completed since they did not to dig up the street. *** ***** told me he was not there but needed to speak with his worker at the work site. My niece returned that Saturday (March **,) after noon and found the dirt in my yard dug up (there are pictures, and witness).

Desired Settlement: I would like a detailed bill for the job done on March **, 2015, and an explanation as to why they dug up my yard March **, 2015 if the work inside the house was completed without them digging up the street that Friday March **, 2015. I paid them the balance for the work done as required by the contract between Harris and myself.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, I have also spoken with *** *****, who took me by surprise when he asked me why did I call the BBB, he also stated that he was not aware of any problem, when I stated "so they did not need to dig up the ground after all"  and I also told him about the poor communication between myself, him and his reception staff. I find that this resolution and *** *****'s apology is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *****



 

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with this company to install a new 2" water main in my property . after i paid them i noticed the pipe was bent in the wall which i spoke to other plumbers is a big problem. then the really big issue is when they closed up the street they did not back fill the hole from the street to the home so every time it rains the water seeps into the ground and like a tunnel comes straight into the home. also when they closed the cement in my front area they installed the cement terribly which cracked the next day . i have called them dozens of times and they never return any of my calls. I spoke once to the ***** "*****" he said he would send someone the next day to see it and he never did . I need someone to come and fix this problem immediately or i will go to the courts and sue them .

Desired Settlement: I need them to come to the property open the cement in the front of the house and back fill the pipe all the way to where the pipe enters the house and then to seal up the hole in the house where the pipe sticks out. then i need them to cement that part up neatly.

Business Response:

Hello-

I am in good standings with the home***** whom I just hung up the phone with.  He told me that he had followed up on the complaint and noted that it was settled.  The person I spoke with said she had no record, he just told me that he was calling again as he would like it put to rest and does not see a reason for me to provide a formal response.