This business is not BBB accredited.

Econo Sewer

Fax: (718) 306-1449 View Additional Phone Numbers 1282 Ryder Street, Brooklyn, NY 11234 http://www.econosewer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm provides drain and sewer line rooter cleaning and video inspection services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Econo Sewer include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Econo Sewer include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Econo Sewer
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 03, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1980 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1980 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Fitzgerald, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Fitzgerald, President
Business Category

PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING SEWAGE DISPOSAL SYSTEMS

Alternate Business Names
Econo-Sewer

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1282 Ryder Street

    Brooklyn, NY 11234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sewer was blocked on Jan **** when I had called the sewer company. They unclogged it and gave me a 90 day warranty. My sewer clogged again on Feb *** and water was flowing on the ground from shower drain. Also the toilet was backing up. They came and checked it and wanted to power jet my sewer for $400 additional expense. I declined. He left but the owner called me being upset that he sent his man and I did not allow them to unclog the toilet and power jet the sewer. I anticipated this and I do not feel they are not professional. All they are interested in is making money and when they don't they get upset.I do not know how he will honor my warranty when it clogs again within 90 days. Please make sure that they do not do this to another customer and if I need the service again they come back as per the warranty in timely manner.

Desired Settlement: Refund from failing to provide the guaranteed service.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Econo Sewer regarding complaint ID *******.

Sincerely,
****** *****

10/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday September **,2013 at 9:05 PM, a billing dispute occurred at my home placing my wife and 9 year old girl in fear for their safety. Details are as follows. At 5:52 my wife placed a call to Econo_Sewer to unclog the Sewer-Maine. They promised to arrive at 7:30 p.m., then 8:00 p.m. but did not arrive until 8:50p.m.. By 8:15 I began calling alternate companies and found one able to arrive within 30 minutes and was quoted $150 with a 3 month warranty. My wife called Econo-Sewer to cancel but they pleaded with her not to cancel stating they were on their way. At 8:50 2 gentlemen arrived from Econo-Sewer and so I spoke with them on the phone, told them that this was the third time this year they arrived. I also stated that the last time they showed up in may, they cleaned 1 pipe instead of both pipes. They promised to clean both pipes and charge 150 for 6 months because they did not want to lose a loyal customer. After I agreed to those terms and after completion of the job, they reneged and said it would be $150 for 30 days. As I attempted to remind them of the agreement by backtracking conversation, the Econo-Sewer Contractor began to cut me off over the phone by irately yelling. After a while of this yelling tactic, in front of my wife who's caring for a 2 month old, and my scared 9 year old daughter, I ordered him to leave the house and that I would call 911 or we can resolve this at small claims court. At this the contractor screamed profanities at my family from the street. I asked my 9 year old what he said and she stated that words like "***** ** ****, and *******". The Econo_sewer contractor also stated he would come back and spray **** on our house. This incident caused numerous neighbors to come out of their houses and observe their conduct. Out of fear for my family's safety, my wife offered to pay but they left.

Desired Settlement: Honor the agreement reached with me before the work was done. $150 for 6 month warranty. In addition, should sewer clog occur again in the next6 months following September **, 2013.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Econo-Sewer and Drain Service, Inc regarding complaint ID *******.

Sincerely,

***** ******