BBB Accredited Business since

City Wide Sewer & Drain Service Corp.

Additional Locations

Phone: (516) 747-2344 Fax: (718) 343-6820 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Voice Road, Carle Place, NY 11514 http://www.citywidesewers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that City Wide Sewer & Drain Service Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for City Wide Sewer & Drain Service Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on City Wide Sewer & Drain Service Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated 01/01/1952 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Salvatore Mangia, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Salvatore Mangia, President
Business Category

PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING


Additional Locations

  • 100 Voice Road

    Carle Place, NY 11514

  • PO Box 350

    Carle Place, NY 11514

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Citywide to pump our cesspools out because they were over flowing. When they completed the job they gave us a receipt for 244.48 for" pumping 1500 gallons" of waste "from one pool". As soon as they left we ran the washing machine and it overflowed again. Called them right back and they sent a gentleman around 10 pm to see what the problem was. He showed us that one tank still was completely full and the other was half full but assured us they pumped 1500 gallons and thats what we paid for. I called the office the following morning and told them to come back and finish the job. They said I would be charged again the minimum required payment even if that much waste wasn't left? I refused. **** the manager called back and offered us to pump 1000 gallons for for a lesser rate. I once again refused because he was not giving us a deal I would still be paying for what was being pumped. I called another company to come pump both cesspools and explained the whole story. They sent an empty truck so we can see the exact amount that was pumped and come to find out that both tanks together are not even 2000 gallons. The owner of the company explained how cesspools work and that the other company (Citywide) "pulled one over on me" I than called Citywide again left a message for **** to call me back . He returned my call at 7:53 this morning and gave 3 other excuses of what happened and would not allow me to explain what the other company said so I terminated the phone call.

Desired Settlement: For them to return $163.15 because the most they could have pumped was 500 gallons. With a letter apologizing for all the inconveniences they caused

Business Response: On 3/**/2013 customer called to have her cesspool serviced our minimum charge is $225  for 1500 gals (citywide pays 60% of what it collects from the customer to Nassau  County for the dumping of the waste ) On same night the customer called to say the they were backing up again at that point we sent a service man to snake the line and when the man arrived  the customer stated that they wanted to have the pools pumped out because there was still waste in the pool. (we collected nothing from the customer for sending someone out) .The next day we sent a pump buck back to pump more from the pools at the customers request when the serviceman talked to the customer to go over the price for the job she would not allow him to pump The customer then called the office to talk to me I told her that I would not charge her any minimum charge  but just $150 for  the 1000 gals that she was requesting to be removed and she stated that she was not willing to pay anything I told her we were only charging for what we pumped and that 60% of that was going to go to Nassau County for the dumping fees . When the customer called back to go over the problem and when I tried to go over the different problems that would cause the cesspool to fill up she hung up the phone on me. Because of the high  cost of dumping fees Citywide could not offer her any more of a discount or refund I hope this will help you understand  .If I can be of any help please give me a call ,
 
**** ******
Operation Manager

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/**/12 we called Citywide Sewer and Drain to have our septic tank pumped as we experienced slow movement in ur drainage, we were billed $408.18 inc tax for 2500 gallons that were pumped. After a few days we still experience the slow drainage, so we hired a Drain Cleaner 75' Auto Feed (Snake) form **** ***** totally $64.67 to clear the drain of possible blockage. It was still not cleared after hours of work, until we tested and realize the tank was still full. We put a long pole into the tank and it came out almost full, had the tank been pumped then there shouldn't be any residue on the pole. We called the Citywide again and they came the next day 1/*/13 since it was 10pm on new years day the night before. When they came, the technician said the previous guy never did it properly, the tank was still full, he said if the waste been pumped out we wouldn't have this issue. There were no leaks, the technician had us test with running water and toilet flushing. Again we got billed $407.34 inc tax for this service and again on the invoice it ways 2500 gallons were pumped. After the second pumped, the drainage of water was back to normal. I called Citywide spoke to *** and asked to speak with the manager 1/*/13 but wasn't able to reach one, had to give number and wait for call back. Called again, 1/**/13 left another message with **** and no call back. Called today 1/**/13 and managed to reach ****, *** ******* and explained to him the situation, he said ther was no guarantee and there could be a leak but I mentioned to him we checked with their technician and there wasn't not a leak and also if there were then it would take about to fill up our septic tank. He start talking about it cost them a lot of fee to get rid of the waste in which I told him it wasn't my problem (he seems to not realized his fee comes from the consumers payment). We had to pay twice and we had to rent a machine unessasatily and we had to deal with them twice on a holiday. We have young kids, we had dirty dishes we couldn't wash, we have to do toilet duties in plastic bags and etc. he was not apologetic and he ended our conversation with "I don't have an answer for you". I'm very upset since we have to pay twice and had to go through all the trouble. I felt dissected and undermined. Please help us.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $407.34 and compensation for the tool rental of $64.67 and apologies for the inconvenient.

Business Response:
Customer called for service to have her cesspool pumped on 12/**/2012 We pumped 2500 gals at the customers request and customer did not want chemical treatment to help to restore drainage to her cesspool system We checked to make sure that the line was clear We heard water coming into the tank from house to pool when toilet is flushed. Customer sign copy of invoice (copy enclosed ) Citywide pays half of what they collects from the customer in dumping fees also note that invoice clearly stated that there is NO GUARANTEE ON PUMPING . The customer then on there own rented a snake to snake the main line, Then the customer called in for service for 1/*/2013, We arrived at the job the pool was full we told the customer that there was NO GUARANTEE on pumping and the customer agreed (see copy of signed invoice by customer ) As good faith Citywide will refund $100. Citywide did nothing wrong Customer signed both invoice as was aware of no guarantee, Please feel free to give me a call if you have any questions.



**** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

  

 
Dear whom it may concern,
 
I have called numerous times and left messages but never got a reply. I have settled with the company I have complained about (Citywide Cesspool) but never got the settlement check from them.
 
Please call me *** *** **** or *** *** ****.
 
Many thanks.
****

Business Response: I will be mailing a check for $300 to Mrs ***** today
 
Thank you,
 
**** ****** 
********** *******
 
CityWide Sewer & Drain
Po Box 350 / 100 Voice Rd
Carle Place,Ny 11514
*********************** 
 
Phone-###-###-####
Mobile- ###-###-####                                       
Fax-###-###-####
 
www.citywidesewers.com
 
www.greasewasteservices.com
 
www.emergencyfloodrestore.com