BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Tim Daniels Plumbing & Heating Inc.

Phone: (516) 594-1509 Fax: (516) 594-1509 16 Linden Street, Rockville Centre, NY 11570

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tim Daniels Plumbing & Heating Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tim Daniels Plumbing & Heating Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 03, 2010 Business started: 01/03/2006 in NY Business incorporated: 02/01/2006 in NY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Health - All NYS
Corning Tower, Empire State Plaza, Albany NY 12237
http://www.health.ny.gov/
Phone Number: (866) 881-2809
dohweb@health.state.ny.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy L. Daniels, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS HEATING CONTRACTORS


Additional Locations

  • 16 Linden Street

    Rockville Centre, NY 11570 (516) 594-1509

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** failed to respond to water damage he caused when installing a gas pipe behind an interior wall of a cedar closet during an oil to gas conversion of my heating system. When contacted to inform *** of damage he did not respond. When I repeatedly called various numbers I finally got him, informed him of the problem. His response at first was to claim that we had been informed of an appointment for the next day(which was untrue). When I again told him the damage was caused by his installation, he told me to "get lost". Extremely unprofessional. When I again called the office I was now told someone had told them the leak had stopped. Again untrue. Apparently *** feels he can ignore his responsibility to correct his workmanship and feels he can avoid this responsibility by being untruthful about my communication with him. I find this to be extremely unethical behavior.

Desired Settlement: Assume responsibility for damage and repair damage to water pipe, cedar closet, and items in cedar closet. This should be covered by his labor warranty.

Business Response: We did a gas conversion April **** 2013.At that time all piping and oil burner was Removed.We also tried numerous times free of charge to unclog a bathtub sewage waste Line in a new bathroom that a contractor did approximately  5 years prior that never worked according to homeowner..We don't understand how a gas conversion we did 6 months ago has anything to do with a leaking pipe in dwelling.If we did hit any kind of piping it would of leaked at time of conversion,not six months later.This customer also put untrue claims on some website called ****** **** saying we took 7000.00 in cash and ran away,which simply is untrue also.We received a check or Credit card as a deposit and payments on conversion and we are in the process of forwarding documents to angies list.We did go back  about two months later again to open up ceiling in basement and cut out blocked piping which had concrete poured in the piping from previous contractor.Customer refused to pay us for labor and materials,for replacing waste piping,and also refused to pay any travel after getting bathroom going after 5 years time.After  numerous phones calls and discussions we were finally paid for the bathroom work with a check,not cash.We simply should not be reported to the BBB because we couldn't respond to a service call,especially when customer claims its was malicious work on our part.We cannot be responsible for all existing water lines in dwelling that were installed when house was built.And we were told leak stopped by the homeowner not the son.Its a shame when people use this sight as a means just to bash a contractor,Water leaks just don't start 6 months later from a gas conversion...we did have it scheduled to send a serviceman there,but son was rude and dis-respectfull to our staff.Sorry this ended like this,but please next time let the contractor look at it first,before accusing them of any wrong doing...especially after a substantial period of passed time... 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ******* came to us through a contractor **** ******* to take out one existing radiator and install 2 recessed radiators. He never came to look at the job but priced it out at $3,500. When he initially put in the radiators it was obvious they were too small for the job. We complained about this and checked with other plumbers who said they were too small for the rooms. He then told us it would cost $1,500 to put a larger radiator in the corner room. This was then negotiated down to $1,300. Once the work was done the radiators got warm. As soon as they cooled off they could not warm up again. We complained and he had his assistant ***** come back. He was only able to get the radiators to work by fully draining them down. ( At the time he tried to sell us new valves for all of our existing radiators but we passed as they were all working fine.) As soon as the system went off due to warm weather , the radiators would no longer warm up. We tried to get the contractor to get *** to come fix the problem but *** would not return his calls. We eventually had to pay our heating oil company to come in and re-drain the radiators to get them warm. As soon as the heat stopped running continuously when the weather warmed up the radiators no longer worked. We have repeatedly called him over the past few weeks to come back and fix this problem once and for all but he has not returned any of our calls. He did finally respond to an email but falsely claimed he had come back 3 times free of charge to correct the problem, (his company was only here 3 times and we paid $3,500 the 1st time and $1,300 the second time.) At this point we have 2 non working radiators that we paid $4,800 for and they only work when they are manually drained completely. All of the other radiators in our house continue to work perfectly. His web site professes 100% satisfaction guaranteed or your money back and we are in no way satisfied.

Desired Settlement: Our number one goal is to have what ever is wrong with the radiators fixed. Failing that we want a refund so we can have another plumber come in and fix the problem with *** ******* Plumbings work.

Business Response:   We are deeply sorry that this customer was not happpy with our services.We do find It  a little odd that 6 months after job has been completed 2 radiators arent working.We did respond to your requests 3 times and explained to you that the system is in poor condition and you needed new radiator bleeds but declined.We did contact the contractor that hired us to do your work and notified us that system was working fine after we completed all work.The contractor also stated that you left him with a open balance and refused to pay him,but thats really none of our business or concerns.As we are told by contractor everything is 100 percent fine there.As for your request to be refunded 100 percent of job is Unjust.We did have a substanstial material bill,piping material bills,and substantial amount of Labor theren along with Tolls.We do suggest maybe getting a another opinion from a plumber,see if agrees system bleeds are shot and system is ancient.Again according to the contractor everything was working fine there.To ask for a full Refund is totally unjust and un warranted.We are truely sorry you werent happy with us or the Contrcator you hired.

Business Response:




Hi *****,we did respond to this complaint,last month???.We spoke to the contractor that hired us and he said everything was working fine.We did suggest upgrading system and they refused.Let them get a quote and see what the determination is why the 2 rads aren't working as they claim??Im sorry im getting back to you so late Im in a NYS Codes class in Albany...We are uncomfortable going back in these people premises..Thank you..I did send my Foreman there twice to check system at no charge,and it was working fine.
 
**** **** ***** **** ************ ** *****
Phone:###-###-####
Fax:###-###-####
Email:******************************* 
**************************
Service is our concern...........

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID#*******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 

  **** *****,
 
Good morning!  Here are the bills from  *** ******* that we paid directly to him.   
 
As I said in our conversation,  the radiators only work when someone manually drains each one of them. They never stay warm and never get warm again.   There is an obvious flow problem.   Despite his view that it is our heating system,  the only 2 radiators that do not work in our house are the ones he installed.
 
Please let me know if there is anything else you need from me regarding this complaint.
 
Thanks for your efforts.
 
Sincerely,
** *****
 

 

 




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: plumber provided services - after hurricane sandy - and promised a valid invoice that i could then provide to my insurance company for reimbursement on my flood-claim. despite numerous phone-calls and efforts to involve the credit-card company and bank that provided payment via credit-card and check, the merchant still has not provided me the invoice, which should list a furnace, water-heater, and installation charges.

Desired Settlement: i NEED a valid invoice to provide to my insurance company for my flood damage-claim: $7431.25 - total paid via $2000 check and 5431.25 credit-card transaction - furnace - water-heater - control unit - installation charges this has SERIOUSLY delayed me in proving a comprehensive damage estimate to my insurance company.

Business Response: I was under the impression that we forwarded you all the info you needed.Why does it say you contacted our company once in the last 2 months (*******) as your complaint states.We are happy to assist u in whatever you need,we still dont understand why you contacted BBB,instead of our Office???I hope you do understand we still have many other victims from this storm that we are currently still assisting,we assisted you the best we could regarding the high demand.Please contact our office during Business hours,the Office Managers are there everyday M-F,9 till 2pm,and will assist you in the Documentation you need.You can alway send me an Email if you have a problem.Have a nice weekend.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

i've been very patient.  i asked twice for an invoice, while the plumbers did their work in november and was assured that i would have one.

i waited three weeks before i started to phone and ask for an invoice -- for the almost $7500 for a furnace and water heater install.  i called and spoke to someone on three different occasions in ************* (once a week before the holidays)...after that i asked my credit-card company to intervene...nothing seemed to elicit a response.

now i am supposed to begin calling again?   this is unacceptable to me.

please send me an invoice...and email me if you don't have my address already.

Sincerely,

*****

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

***** ******* 




 

Business Response:   The Invoice is in the mail....

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1