This business is not BBB accredited.

Latty's General Plumbing & Heating

Phone: (718) 379-9356 Fax: (718) 515-8463 1058 East Gunhill Road, Bronx, NY 10469 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Latty's General Plumbing & Heating include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Latty's General Plumbing & Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 2010 Business started: 02/02/1997 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYC Department of Buildings - NYC
280 Broadway, 3rd floor, New York NY 10007
Phone Number: (212) 393-2614

Type of Entity

Cooperative Association

Business Management
Mr. Ian Latty, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ian Latty, President
Business Category


Additional Locations


    1058 East Gunhill Road

    Bronx, NY 10469 (718) 379-9356


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Latty's General Plumbing on January *** because my heat was not working in my basement. He came and inspected my system and told me that 2 parts needed to be replaced on a brand new boiler and that would fix the problem. Because it was extremely cold out and I was desperate I agreed. Later that day 2 other men, not Ian L**** came to do the job. They laughed and played music all while doing the work. When they were done we insisted that they wait to see if the heat was working in the basement and it was still not working so we made them stay to figure out the problem. One of the plumbers then proceeded to press the buttons on my boiler which caused the pressure to rise and make the tubs burst on the boiler which previously nothing was wrong with. So that night we were left without no heat at all. The guy who did the job got injured as a result of him doing this. The next day I called their office and told them not to return, but to my surprise they returned and fixed the tubes that they broke while as was at work and I was still left without heat in my basement for which they were supposed to fix. I had someone else come to my home and look at the boiler and all that needed to be done was for the boiler to be reprogrammed and now I have heat in my basement. I got a bill from them for fixing the tubes that they broke. When Mr. L**** inspected my boiler there was nothing wrong with my tubes or that would have been on the initial work contract we had. After receiving this bill I called Mr. L**** to discuss the fact that it was not right to charge me for something that was not previously broken before they worked on it and not to mention the problem I called them for was still not fixed. He proceeded to yell and threatened to sue me for the injury that his worker received due to his incompetence. I have since been issued a letter from their lawyer threatening to sue for personal injury for an injury the plumber sustained while working on the boiler due to his error. Also I have since looked up the person that Mr. L**** let work on my boiler Dreshaun L**** and the only person licensed as a plumber under Mr. Ian L****'s company is himself.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this business to leave me alone and drop their claim, they did not do the job properly that they were hired to do and caused a problem that I shouldn't have to pay for.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Latty's General Plumbing & Heating regarding complaint ID ********.

******* *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Latty's General Plumbing & Heating
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)