BBB Accredited Business since

Fred Smith Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc.

Fax: (212) 249-3420 View Additional Phone Numbers 1674 1st Ave, New York, NY 10128 http://www.fredsmithplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fred Smith Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fred Smith Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fred Smith Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1914 in NY Business incorporated 01/05/1959 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYC Department of Buildings - NYC
280 Broadway, 3rd floor, New York NY 10007
http://www.nyc.gov/buildings
Phone Number: (212) 393-2614

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Ariel Rios Building, 1200 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC 20460
http://www.epa.gov
Phone Number: 877-251-4575

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Philip Kraus, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS HEATING CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Culligan Water Conditioning

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ***** installed an HVAC unit at ** ****** ** *** ** in Aug 2010. We just called for repair service to the unit (11/2014) but were told they would not repair the unit for us. We have tried to find someone else to repair the unit but have had no success.

Desired Settlement: Send someone to repair the unit

Business Response:

*** ******,

This email is in response to the complaint of ***** ******. We first received a call from her husband requesting service and we informed him that we were very backed up due to the first very cold snap of the season and would not be able to make it out right away. I then received a call from **** ****** that this was unacceptable and we must service her apartment immediately, I explained again that we were tied up with emergencies and it was just not possible for me to send anyone immediately but would have availability the following week. I offered to give her the # of another company who services these  units and she rejected the offer. If you have any further questions please let me know.

Thank you,

 

 

***** *******

Fred Smith Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.

**** ***** ******

*** ******* *****

Tel:###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

 

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired ****** ***** to perform an annual sprinkler test which they did on Monday October ****, 2013. According to the technician he was going to send me the sprinkler test report the next day. I have called every single day, sometimes twice a day since October **** to request the form and ******, ****, ******* have failed to return any calls after they said they will call me back. They have yet to provide the requested documents which we need in order to continue being insured. In addition they billed the credit card for over $300 when the service was suppose to be $60-70 per hour and they were only here for less than 15 minutes.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to send me the required paperwork that claims they performed the work or to return our phone calls.

Business Response:

We received a complaint of various issues about a job that was done on October **** at * **** **** **. The first issue was that we didn’t provide the sprinkler test report, I have attached at copy of the email that contains the test report that was sent to ***** ********** on Wednesday 11-*-13. Due to the volume of customers we deal with, it does take some time for these things to make it through our process. The second issue was the charged amount, we make our rates very clear when our customers call $113.00 per hour for one man and $156.00 per hour for a team (not a guess “between 60-70 per hour”). And lastly that we were only there for 15 minutes, these  tests can take anywhere from  45 minutes to several hours depending on if there are any problem (i.e. leaks, ect.). We charge a 1 hour service charge for travel that is computed into the bill as labor and we do charge in ½ hour increments so if he was there for  45 minutes that would be one hour + the one hour service charge for the total bill which came to $312.00 +tax. I hope this clears up any issues, if you have any further questions or concerns feel free to call our office.

Please see attached report and invoice for your files.

 

Thank you,

***** *******

Fred Smith Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.

**** ***** ****** *** ******* ****

Tel:###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

  *************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fred Smith Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)