BBB Accredited Business since

All Hours Drain & Sewer Services, Inc.

Phone: (631) 605-5060 View Additional Phone Numbers 23 Ross Avenue, Melville, NY 11747 http://www.allhoursplumbingli.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All Hours Drain & Sewer Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All Hours Drain & Sewer Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All Hours Drain & Sewer Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 13, 2012 Business started: 10/02/1998 in NY Business incorporated 10/02/1998 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Thal, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING


Additional Locations

  • 23 Ross Avenue

    Melville, NY 11747 (516) 933-3273 (631) 605-5060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SERVICE PROVIDER (A PLUMBER) SOLD US AND INSTALLED AN INSINKERATOR GARBAGE DISPOSAL (SERIAL NUMBER **********). THE SERVICE PROVIDER REPRESENTED THE DISPOSAL TO BE NEW AND JUST OUT OF THE BOX. THE DISPOSAL WAS TO COME WITH A 7 YEAR PARTS AND REPAIR WARRANTY. THE GARBAGE DISPOSAL STOPPED WORKING RECENTLY AND WE CONTACTED INSINKERATOR WHO INFORMED US THAT THE DISPOSAL IN QUESTION WAS IN FACT AN OLDER MODEL MANUFACTURED IN 1998 AND THE WARRANTY WOULD HAVE EXPIRED IN 2005. WE CONTACTED THE SERVICE PROVIDER ON APPROXIMATELY NOVEMBER ** OR **, 2013 AND HE ADVISED THAT HE WOULD COME TO TAKE A LOOK AT THE PROBLEM. HE CALLED ONE MORE TIME AND WE NEVER HEARD FROM HIM AGAIN. AS A RESULT, DUE TO SINK BACKUP, WE HAD TO CALL ANOTHER PLUMBER WHO CAME OUT THE DAY AFTER THANKSGIVING. WE WERE REQUIRED TO PAY FOR THAT SERVICE CALL AND ANOTHER GARBAGE DISPOSAL AT A TOTAL ADDITIONAL COST OF APPROXIMATELY $400 ($250 FOR NEW DISPOSAL, $150 PLUS SERVICE CALL).

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for out of pocket cost for new disposal $250

Business Response:

 

The following is my response regarding the attached letter from ******* ******.

 

 

When I sold the garbage disposal to *** ****** in December of 2012 I did

explain to him that this was a brand new unit, but it was an older model

but a good brand.  I told him I will sell it to him at a discounted

price.  We did not discuss anything about a unit warranty.   I was

surprised to learn that he had a problem with the warranty and I did not

know it wouldn't be honored by the manufacturer, but I still would have

taken it upon myself, if given the proper opportunity, to stand by my

work. He agreed to the low price and we did the job in December 2012.

 11 months later he did call me and stated that he felt it was not

working properly.  I returned his call promptly and stated that I will

come over to assess the situation.  He stated that he needed to

communicate with his wife and find out when she was going to be

available for me to come over and address the situation.  He also stated

that he was going to try to get it working himself.   I never heard back

from him.  Not until this letter did I find out that he took it upon

himself to call another plumber to give him another garbage disposal.

 His letter states that he called another plumber due to a sink backup

and had his garbage disposal replaced.  A sink backup has nothing to do

with the garbage disposal. It was his choice to call someone else.  When

I did speak to him before he had to check with his wife I did let him

know that I would come over free of charge and do anything necessary to

get his disposal working correctly or I certainly would have exchanged

it for another new one, if necessary,  and do the work free of charge.  

I was not given the chance to do so.  There are many reasons that a

garbage disposal could not operate at any moment and I should have been

given the opportunity to assess the situation and get it operating. (ie;

electrical, or customer jammed an item in it)   There is always the

possibility that the unit might not have been broken.  If I felt the

disposal was defective after a year then I should have been given the

opportunity to take it back to where I purchased it from to receive

credit or exchange for a new one and then pass it along to *** ******.

 I was surprised to receive this letter rather than a phone call for an

appointment after he checked with his wife's schedule of availability.

 

 

Thank you,

All Hours Drain & Sewer Services, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

While I appreciate the service provider's response, I am the one who had to pay twice for a disposal. Moreover, the manufacturer essentially was shocked that the model in question was sold to me as recently as 2012 as this was a model not manufactured since the late 1990s.  For the service provider to state that the inoperable disposal had nothing to do with the sink backup is different than what we were told when the other service provider came out.  Finally, after speaking with the service provider at issue - he easily says I had to check with my wife - that is not fully accurate. He said he needed to check his schedule and get back to us.  He was to call back when he knew his schedule (said it would be a couple of days) and we never heard from him again.  In my opinion an unhappy customer should be first priority.  

Sincerely,

******* ******




 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on All Hours Drain & Sewer Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)