BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Jane Haslam Photography

Phone: (845) 490-2281 31 Palisades Rd, Patterson, NY 12563 http://www.janehaslamphotography.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

A wedding, sports and event photographer.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jane Haslam Photography meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jane Haslam Photography include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 29, 2013 Business started: 05/29/2009 in NY
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jane Haslam, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jane Haslam, Owner
Business Category

PHOTOGRAPHY SALES PHOTOGRAPHERS - WEDDING PHOTOGRAPHERS - SPORTS PHOTOGRAPHY SCHOOLS


Additional Locations

  • 31 Palisades Rd

    Patterson, NY 12563 (845) 490-2281

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the Fall 2012-Spring 2013 season, Ossining AYSO (a 501c3 non-profit) entered into an agreement with **** Haslan Photography to have our players/teams have their photos taken. This is an annual fundraising endeavor. The terms of the agreement was for a percentage rebate to be given back to Ossining AYSO. **** ****** Photography was paid by our players, the percentage determined to be 5% was to be given back to Ossining AYSO as part of this fundraising process. The photos were taken as promised in the Fall 2012. Some roll-over of photo taking occurred in the Spring of 2013. Note we have no accounting for what was collected since payments from players went directly to **** ****** Photography but on the "low" side, perchance 500 players purchased a photo package valued at $20. That value of $10,000 x .05 = $500 to Ossining AYSO. Even if this was a lower amount of participants, the dollars owed back to Ossining AYSO are lower than that. Subsequently, if the number of players participating grew, than the final dollar owed to Ossining AYSO would be larger. Very surprised she is taking such a position for so little monies involved. Ossining AYSO re-engaged with **** ****** Photograhy for the Fall 2013-Spring 2014 season WITHOUT any previous monies due being sent to them. In January 2014 this was discovered that **** ****** Photography never sent in the owed monies from the previous event. At the time of the inquiry, **** chose to debate that we were asking for too much of a percentage; it had been 5%, email documents from Ossining AYSO had a typo that 50% was due. This discrepancy was immediately cleared up. The issue then became rightfully, "why are we waiting for these monies?" Keep in mind the NET result in monies was probably a minimum of $500 as well. Ossining AYSO requested that these owed monies from the 2012-13 season be taken care of by the end of January 2014. As of today, February 15, 2014, nothing has been sent. When queried, **** advised in summation, when she wants to...plans to combine with the 2013-14 monies owed. Frankly, who knows when that may happen? If we?Ossining AYSO were to outright disengage the prospects of her services for the upcoming Fall 2014-15 season -of which we will do- **** ****** Photography surely will never pay us any owed monies for TWO fundraising seasons.

Desired Settlement: Payment of the 2012-13 season ASAP. Payment of the 2013-14 season VERY soon. ANd we part ways where we find a new vendor for our photo fundraiser.

Business Response:

In response to the customers complaint:

1.     I acknowledge that **** ****** Photography undertook to “donate” a proportion of the profits from the AYSO picture day during Season 2012 / 13 and Season 2013 / 14

2.     There is no written contract detailing the agreement between Ossining AYSO and **** ****** Photography. However it is my normal procedure when working with organizations to “donate” an agreed percentage of the profits back to that organization. This is normally communicated in advance of any undertaking.

3.     The “donation” is calculated on a percentage basis from the eventual profit – Not the gross takings. In the case of this organization the agreed percentage was 5% .

4.     **** ****** Photography has never stated that this money would not be paid.

Season 2012 / 2013

1.     Picture days were undertaken for this organization in October / November 2012 and April / May 2013.

2.     The intention was to make one payment for the entire season 2012 / 13 once accounts for the tax year 2013 were completed at the end of February 2014.

3.     Following an unpleasant exchange of emails in January / February 2014 **** ****** Photography has now paid the contribution which relates to the photography in Oct / Nov 2012. (Payment was made directly into the AYSO bank account on 2/**/14).

4.     The payment relating to the photography undertaken in April / May 2013 will be made once the 2013 accounts are completed at the end of February 2014.

Season 2013 / 2014

1.     Picture days were undertaken for this organization in October / November 2013 only.

2.     The payment relating to this photography will be made once the 2013 accounts are completed at the end of February 2014.

**** ****** Photography is a one person business, originally established in January 2010 by **** ******, a new immigrant to the USA. A lot of time and effort was invested into the venture with Ossining AYSO in an effort to organize a high quality, efficient and effective picture day. Product was high quality, turned around in a timely manner and personally delivered directly to the designated official of the organization.


Following this complaint **** ****** Photography has begun procedures to ensure that all future partnerships with similar organizations will be covered by written contract in an effort to avoid another complaint of this nature.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Thank you for looking into this.

 

For the record, as of 30 minutes ago, ******** **** has yet to receive one penny from **** ****** Photography. Our bank -of which she has no knowledge as to who that is or a bank account #- has no record of any deposits being made into that account from *** ****** or in the dollar figure she advises was take care of.

 

The fact that there was no written agreement is more a shane on us for being the "volunteer" organization that Ossining AYSO, and for that matter, AYSO National is.  However, such should be more of the burden of the organization brought forward by *** ******, no?  For her to be controlling the renumeration aspect of this "photo" endeavor is unscrupulous!  Her firm was competing for our organizations needs with the likes of an Irvin Simon, SportsImages, etc., who define themselves as "funds raising" for youth sport groups.  Needless to say, the many tenet is that your organization gets a percentage back in return of the monies collected.  Not a percentage of return on the NET of the monies collected as ** ****** now advises.

 

My original goals here were two fold: have this situation resolved and to part ways with *** ******'s firm.  But now I see that a third is necessary, that other organizations like Ossining AYSO does not get "duped" by such people as *** ******.

 


 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ********l




 

Business Response:

ID# *******


In response to the customers' follow up comments:

 

1.      All payments relating to the AYSO picture days in 2012 and 2013 have been made and are showing as deductions in my bank statements

·         Payment for the 2012 pictures was initiated on Saturday 2/** by my bookkeeper. It was dispatched by my bank on Tuesday 2/** (Please note that Monday 2/** was Presidents Day so the bank was closed) It shows as a deduction from my checking account on Wednesday 2/**

·         My accounts for 2013 were completed on Friday 2/** and ** ******** was immediately emailed with the information concerning the donation back to his organization

·         Payment for the 2013 pictures was initiated on Friday 2/** by my bookkeeper. It was dispatched by my bank on Monday 2/** and also shows as a deduction from my checking account on Monday 2/**

 

2.      On 2/** my Bookkeeper emailed *** ******** directly to inform that the payments had been made and when to expect them

 

3.      With regards **. ********'s second goal he himself acknowledges in his comments that there is no contract therefore between us therefore the AYSO organization are - and always have been - free to seek a new supplier for this service. I am therefore at a bit of a loss to understand ** ********'s problem in this regard

 

4.  It is unfortunate that ** ******** feels "duped" and (based on his comments) now has a third goal in mind to undermine my business. It should be noted that my normal procedure with every organization that I work with is to “donate” an agreed percentage of the profits back to that organization. I certainly don't agree with nor understand his comment that  this is unscrupulous behavior

(Profits being defined as the amount remaining after sales tax / staff costs on picture day / product cost / admin and other overheads have been taken out)

 

It is my opinion that situation is now resolved. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

The only resolve came when we complained.  Does JHP (**** ****** Photography) as well wish to acknowledge that it is good business practice to keep customer's hanging on to "guess" what is happening?  Why does it takes a customer to complain months and months afterwards wondering when an agreement is to be resolved?

EVen in her reply's she says that monies were put into my bank.  We questioned it, and the reply is "oh we only mailed it".  The matter may now have her deemed dollar figure in AYSO's post-office box, but my complaint issued early on that she run's an inferior business and the "buyer" must beware still holds, and will not be rescinded.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
****** *********




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1