BBB Accredited Business since

Photo Tech Repair Service, Inc.

Fax: (212) 673-8451 View Additional Phone Numbers 360 W 36th St  Ground Floor, New York, NY 10018 http://www.phototech.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Photo Tech Repair Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Photo Tech Repair Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Photo Tech Repair Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1959 in NY Business incorporated 07/11/2005 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Munie Naraine, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Munie Naraine, President
Business Category

PHOTOGRAPHIC EQUIPMENT-REPAIR


Additional Locations

  • 360 W 36th St  Ground Floor

    New York, NY 10018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my phone to them to have it repaired, and the quality was sub par. I have had the screen fixed 5 times and each time, something different is wrong. Either the replacement screen isn't secured properly, the replacement screen doesn't function at all, or the screen functions without being touched and makes calls, sends texts or locks you out after entering your code too many times.

Desired Settlement: I asked for a refund but the ******* refused. I want a refund so that I can take it to an Apple store to have repaired properly

Business Response: *** ********* brought in his phone for a digitizer replacement totaling $92.54, and did experience some issues with his repairs, which we gladly took back in to try to correct for him. After a few attempts, we refunded him for the labor on his repair which was $42.50+tax, totaling $46.27. We did not refund him for the part that we had installed in phone replacing the initial cracked glass that he had.

We in good faith took the phone back in for issues he was experiencing, and when we were not able to accommodate him, we did offer a partial refund for our services. He is claiming that he wants a refund of $85.00+tax, totaling $92.54, which would be incorrect, as he did receive the partial refund already. I will offer him the remaining amount for the parts to rectify the issue an additional $42.50+tax, totaling $46.27, but surely not the total of $92.54.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *********



 

12/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The person charged 25 dollars plus tax upfront to get camera estimate. Said it had to be taken upfront in order to give estimate. The person claimed it would be deducted from the final bill if repair done at Photo Tech. When estimate was done, the person said that there was no record of me paying upfront fee so . They asked me if they gave me a second "receipt" but the first person only gave me 1 invoice receipt which did not state that the upfront fee was paid. I paid the upfront fee in cash 25dollars+tax. The normal practice should be to issue a receipt for this upfront payment but clearly the sales person did not issue it on purpose.

Desired Settlement: 25 dollars plus tax should be refunded

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ****