This business is not BBB accredited.

17th Street Photo Supply

Fax: (212) 366-9872 View Additional Phone Numbers 33 West 17th Street, New York, NY 10011

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 17th Street Photo Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 17th Street Photo Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1990 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1990 in NY
Business Management
Mr. Sam Ghamar, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Allan Ghamar, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Sam Ghamar, President
Business Category


Additional Locations


    33 West 17th Street

    New York, NY 10011


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan **, 2013 I returned a camera lens to 17th Street Photo, ** **** **** ******* *** ***** ** *****. accordance with RMA #******** provided me by by Newegg, **** **** ***** ***** ********* *** *****. I had earlier ordered this lens from Newegg who later collected from my Discover Card account; the lens was forwarded me by 17th Street Photo. The lens, valued at $409, was returned in the original un-opened container by the Mail Center here in Colorado Springs, CO. It was insured for $500, with tracking number ***************. The traffic number later revealed that the package was by delivered and signed for by a ******* on Tuesday 1/**/2013 2:11 pm, New York City, NY. When no return was forthcoming, Newegg was inquired and provided the information that 17th St Photo had declared the RMA invalid and denied they had received the lens as signed for by *******. At this time I do not have the lens nor my $409 refund. I do not want the lens, just my $409.

Desired Settlement: Refund paid

Business Response: A full refund was issued to the buyer's Newegg Account as requested.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


**** ********

Thank you very much.  You and your staff are to be commended.  ***


2/14/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues