BBB Accredited Business since

Visionexcel

Phone: (845) 336-6310 Fax: (845) 336-0394 1636 Ulster Ave, Lake Katrine, NY 12449 http://www.visionexceleyecare.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers services in complete eye exams, contact lens fittings and eyeglasses.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Visionexcel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Visionexcel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Visionexcel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1992 Business started: 04/01/1995 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1995 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Department of Education
89 Washington Avenue, , Albany NY 12234
http://www.nysed.gov
Phone Number: (518) 474-3852

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glen Pomerantz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glen Pomerantz, President
Business Category

OPTOMETRISTS-O.D. OPTICAL GOODS-SERVICE & REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
Hudson Valley Vision Center

Additional Locations

  • 1636 Ulster Ave

    Lake Katrine, NY 12449

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May *,2014 I went for an eye exam to get a new pair of glasses for work. I was informed it would take up to 2 wks to have my new glasses which I need for work on the computer and reading. I went back in 2 wks the glasses were still not available. I waited 2 more days and called to see if my glasses had arrived they told me no, 5 mins later I received a phone call back stating my glasses were indeed in the store( this was over the 2 wks I was told they would be ready. I picked them up the next day(5/**/14) and the girl informed me to where them all the time to get used to them( I found this strange since I only use them for reading and computer) I told her they are only for that purpose. I got home and tried them but I had worked a 9 hour day and my eyes were not adjusting to them. I tried them again the next morning (5/**/14) and I still could not see out of them. It was then I realized this script was not the script that I had ordered. I took them back the following day (5/**/14) and told them the script was wrong. It was then I was informed the optometrist took it upon himself to change the script and ordered me bifocals which I never asked for. I told him they needed to be fixed and overnighted to me as my current glasses were being held together with scotch tape and wouldn't last much longer. I was in the store for 45 mins while he was on the phone with Spectara who make the glasses. He told me when he got off the phone the glasses would be there by Monday or Tues as it was late in the day and the lenses would not go out in time. The folling wk ( wk of 5/**/14-5/**/14) I still had not heard back from them. I went back on 5/**/14 and asked if my glasses were ready again I was told no. At this point I lost my temper and told them I wanted my glasses or a complete refund. I was again told they would be in the following wk. I went back on 6/*/14 as they again still had not contacted me and I now had to start paying a credit card bill for glasses I don't even have. I was again in there for an hour while they Dr called Spectara and told them I was asking for my glasses. He got off the phone and informed me they would be ready by that Friday (6/*/14 or the following Monday 6/*/14). I told him if they were not there by Monday at he latest I was filing a complaint with the BBB. I stopped in yesterday 6/*/14 and again he proceeded to tell me 3 more days. I have had enough..its been over a month and all I have to show for this is a credit card bill. I am requesting a full refund for this as I am tired of being lied to and I cant wait to get my glasses from them and am going to purchase them else where.

Desired Settlement: At this point I have lost all faith that this business can give me the product I had originally ordered. I am sick and disgusted with this and it is causing me a great deal of unnecessary stress. I should have had my glasses no more than the 2 wks I was promised. It is now over a month and I sill have no glasses. I have been lied to more than once to when my glasses would be ready.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ******

I have received a full refund for the item that I never received and will be awaiting a letter in writing from Vision Excel for my Ins company stating I did not
get glasses so I can go somewhere else to get them. If I dont receive this letter I will have to wait another 2 yrs with my ins in order for them to pay for them. At this point it is resolved money wise. Thank you