BBB Accredited Business since

Metro Optics Eyewear

Additional Locations

Fax: (718) 597-0986 View Additional Phone Numbers 25 Westchester Square, Bronx, NY 10461 http://www.metrooptics.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metro Optics Eyewear meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Metro Optics Eyewear include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Metro Optics Eyewear
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1978 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1978 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Department of Education
89 Washington Avenue, , Albany NY 12234
http://www.nysed.gov
Phone Number: (518) 474-3852

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Bonizio, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bonizio, Secretary/Treasurer
Business Category

OPTICIANS OPTOMETRISTS-O.D.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Metro Optics Eyewear has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1332 Metropolitan Avenue

    Bronx, NY 10462

  • 25 Westchester Square

    Bronx, NY 10461

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this store on November *, 2015 for a full vision test which was totally covered by insurance. I picked out a cheap pair of free glasses (also covered by my insurance) with the knowledge that I would go to my favorite Eyeglass store at a different date. Problem is, half way home I realize I have no prescription. I then returned to the store to get the prescription. Ten days later after having gotten my glasses I realize that the prescription I have is not the full prescription but merely one meant for the glasses ordered: Near Sighted. Keep in mind that my full prescription should be for bifocal lenses. I complain to them on November ** and they promised to mail out the prescription after telling me that they CANNOT give me the numbers for my prescription over the phone. I wait and by Thursday I still haven't received anything. I call up and speak with someone there who assures me that he will mail it out to me. Here I am still waiting for a prescription that's never arrived. I called them again this morning and was told that it's against the law for the prescription to be given over the phone but if I wish, I could receive it through email. Here I am STILL WAITING and nothing. These people are basically holding my prescription hostage and have been doing so since the very beginning. I'm getting nowhere in my dealings with them and would very much like it if you can get involved to see that they do what they're supposed to do. This is disgraceful business behavior!

Desired Settlement: Provide the FULL Prescription or Not bill the Insurance company so that I may pursue a vision test elsewhere since at this point I feel that I cannot trust this business anymore.

Business Response: It is with regret that we respond to this misunderstanding. Mr. D*** originally received the prescription for the glasses that he ordered (which, we agree, was not his full prescription). The mistake was caused by a clerk who failed to realize there were two prescriptions in the system (a full prescription and a specialty prescription for Mr. D***'s computer glasses). Following his calls, we mailed and emailed the full prescription immediately to the addresses we have on file for him. We followed up with several telephone calls, none of which were answered or returned (despite having left several messages). Today, I finally received a voice mail advising that we could not get through to him because Mr. D*** had blocked our calls from his phone. He acknowledged receiving his prescription.

Again, we regret not living up to our most important goal - a positive patient experience for all who walk through our doors.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

The complaint has been resolved, BUT:

The business is lying when they say they immediately took action to remedy the problem. The prescription WAS neither immediately mailed nor was anything emailed to me.  Also, contrary to the worker's promise, whom I'd spoken with, to call me immediately after the email was supposedly sent out...no phone call was made.

'and contrary to the business' claim that prescriptions cannot be relayed over the phone. I dare them to come up with the law that states that. If they'd given me the prescription over the phone then a great deal of this could have been avoided. 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ****




 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Hello,

This problem IS resolved. My last responses were made merely because I felt they needed to be stated since the business was making false claims. Sorry, wasn’t sure about how this all works since this is my first complaint of this kind ever with the Better Business Bureau.

Regardless, consider the matter resolved.

Thank you very much,

**** 


Sincerely,

**** ****



 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Metro Optics Eyewear
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart