This business is not BBB accredited.

Guaranteed Home Mortgage Company Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (914) 696-3400 Fax: (914) 696-3434 View Additional Phone Numbers 108 Corporate Park Drive  Suite 301, White Plains, NY 10604 http://www.ghmc.com ! Guaranteed Home Mortgage Company Inc. is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm is a residential mortgage banker.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Guaranteed Home Mortgage Company Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 26, 2005 Business started: 10/01/1992 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1992 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David A. Wind, Chief Executive Officer Mr. Louis Tesoriero, Business Development Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Marie J. Gannon, Compliance
Principal: Mr. David A. Wind, Chief Executive Officer
Business Category

MORTGAGES

Alternate Business Names
Guaranteed Home Mortgage
Licensing

New York State Department of Banking license LMBC#102728

Industry Tips
Mortgages Take Control of your Debt

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    108 Corporate Park Drive
    Suite 301

    White Plains, NY 10604

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    50 Broadway 16th floor

    New York, NY 10004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been doing business with Guaranteed Mortgage for about 4 years now and had been happy up until now. I have had 4 loans with my clients get caught up in their "merger" with ******* *******. We have had no answers on why these deals are being held up. I have clients that are getting ready to loose a home due to their delays, a family of 5 that is living in an RV and having to pay several thousand dollars for storage- which I am going to have to reimburse them for since I recommended them to GHM. GHM has had these loans in process for months and with no end in sight. I have requested several times for ***** **** and ***** ****** to call me for an explanation and answers to no avail for over a week now. What these people are doing is criminal. They let the local loan officer I deal with know about this merger a week and half ago after all these loans were submitted. I have switched one loan and getting ready to switch another away from these crooks.

Desired Settlement: I want these loans closed on or before Friday, March *, 2014 and damages reimbursed to me.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

In reference to complaint ID *******, and I have decided to pull my complaint.

Sincerely,

**** *******


 

1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: a year ago in October 2012, I was solicited from **** ***** of GHM, with promising refinancing mortgage options, obviously, to which were never obtainable. The original statement I made regarding their offer was I cannot afford any out of pocket expenses....and any chance of refinancing would have to include ALL COSTS involved rolled into the new mortgage. And of course, I WAS ASSURED that would be the case. Within 48 hrs, of the initial conversation, I had a call from my credit card company with a suspicion of a fraudulent charge. And that's what I am fighting to recoup. after a year of back and forth conversations, emails, voice mails, nobody can seem to imagine how a $550 charge appeared on my account from ***** National, the appraisal company they use. I have now recently spoken with *****, and they researched the charge and said it was processed by GHM the client user. The only people that I had ever communicated with at GHM was **** ***** and his so called asst/girlfriend, ****** ******. Each of these employees are no longer with the company, however, during his time with GHM **** promised me the error was to be corrected, and I would be refunded the monies fraudulent taken from me. his employment terminated in July, I believe and ****** was a couple months prior. I have since been trying to recoup my losses dealing with a ***** ******....who just repeatedly states there is nothing that can be done. I am at my whits end with this organization, and have been told of other fraudulent practices that other consumers have experienced with them. Please understand, I never refinanced with them, they had nothing but unkept promises and rates that were never attainable. I can only hope that your organization can do something about my monies being refunded. Pathetically enough I had to borrow the $550 from my 80 yr old mother to pay my card balance, and I have never been able to repay her the loan. When I originally spoke to the CC company about the charge inquiry, immediately, contacted **** @ GHM, who acted shocked and surprised and assured me he would get to the bottom of it and I would be refunded, again, trusting him, after 3 months of more run around conversations, I called the CC company back to put a dispute in on the charge, and , of course, the dispute deadline was 90 days....which had since passed. Please help me out and stop them from these illegal practices, I am sure others have been scammed also. Thanks very much , in advance, for your time and consideration.

Desired Settlement: a full refund of $550, along with interest and compensation for a year of grief and aggravation.

Business Response:

Kindly accept this summary as Guaranteed Home Mortgage Company, Inc.’s (“Guaranteed’s”) response concerning the complaint filed by ****** ******* (Complaint # *******). 

Guaranteed strives to provide the best customer service to its consumers.  In this case, Guaranteed apologizes that *** ******* was not satisfied with her experience with Guaranteed. 

Please note the consumer previously filed a complaint directly with Guaranteed. At that time, the consumer indicated she instructed the loan officer not to authorize a charge to her credit card despite providing credit card information. Guaranteed requested the consumer provide us with proof of this instruction. The documentation Guaranteed received from the consumer only indicated that the loan officer was looking into a refund with the third party vendor, not that the card was not supposed to be charged. 

Guaranteed did not collect the fee for the appraisal.  The appraisal was a third party charge.  As such, Guaranteed cannot provide a refund for the charge and directed the consumer to the third party vendor.

Should you have any questions or require further information, please advise. 

Thank you.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *******




 

Business Response: After review of the document submitted Guaranteed does not believe any additional response is necessary.  Thank you.

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first started the application to refinance my home with GHMC in March of 2013. I provided them with copious amounts of information.....some pieces I had to supply more than once as they could not be located. I was assured my application was going to be approved. During that time the only contact I had was initiated by me. In June I received a call from a settlement company for homeowners insurance info as my I "will be closing on July 3, 2013." I was concerned as I had already provided my homeowners binder and agent's name and phone #. That date came and went. In mid July I contacted my loan officer and the person handling all my paperwork and was informed I now needed to complete a couple of home improvement projects (I had my appraisal done in May!). So, I borrowed some money from family and they also stepped up to help me complete the work by July 30. As soon as the work was complete, I notified **** ****s and Jennifer Gouse to have the appraiser come back out to certify the work was done. I then received a call from Two Lights Settlement Co. and assisted them in contacting my equity line provider for a payoff amount for closing. That was the last I ever heard. I emailed them (GHMC) 3 more times. The last time I PLEADED with them to respond to me. At the end of August I received an email from **** ****s saying the company went out of business. Somewhere, someone has all of my personal information........copies of my SS card, my driver's license, my credit card, my credit reports, my divorce decree, EVERYTHING. I emailed the home office on */3/13 indicating my intent to report this company for fraud if I did not get a response. I heard the same day from their general counsel that she would be speaking with management about my file. On ******** I received a phone call from ***** ******* and was assured he would locate my file and call me to let me know the status of my loan. He left me his direct phone number and said I would hear back from him by Monday September *. I have heard nothing. I called his direct line on Wed */18 and left him a message that I needed to hear from him by ******* end of business day or I would be filing a complaint. I received no response.

Desired Settlement: I would like GHMC to return to me ALL of my documentation. I do not trust this company anymore, and I need them to locate all of my information and return it to me completely. I expect NOT to be charged for an appraisal since they are the ones who have failed to honor the loan application and process. I am disabled and trying to refinance to afford to stay in my home. I chose this company over 2 others because of the promises made to me. It's now over 6 months later, and I am at risk of losing my home . I feel lied to, jerked around and treated very poorly. So I'D LIKE AN APOLOGY ALONG WITH ALL OF MY DOCUMENTATION. My biggest fear is they have "lost" it and don't know who has it, in which case I would consider filing a lawsuit against them for failing to protect my information.

Business Response:

Kindly accept this summary as Guaranteed Home Mortgage Company, Inc.’s (“Guaranteed’s”) response concerning the complaint filed by ******* ** ****** (Complaint # *******). 

Guaranteed strives to provide the best customer service to its consumers.  In this case, Guaranteed apologizes that Ms. ****** was not satisfied with her experience with Guaranteed.  The loan officer handling the consumer’s application is no longer with the Company.  Further, upon receiving notice of the consumer’s dissatisfaction with the processing of her loan application Guaranteed’s regional manager reached out to her to discuss the options she had available in the event she wanted to continue.  At this time, it is Guaranteed’s understanding the consumer does not wish to proceed with the loan application based on the options available.  If the consumer is interested in proceeding we urge her to contact Guaranteed directly.

With regard to the consumer’s request for the return of all of her documentation, please note Maine’s Consumer Credit Code Title *** ****** requires that we maintain records of all consumer credit transactions for a minimum of 2 years after making final entry on the file.  Various federal statutes and agency requirements also necessitate specific periods of record retention.  As such, we are prohibited from returning the copies as requested.  However, the documents will be maintained in a secure location to protect the privacy of the consumer. 

Should you have any questions or require further information, please advise.  Thank you.  

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beginning in February 2013, I commenced the process to refinance my primary mortgage through Guaranteed Home Mortgage Company (GHMC). My point of contact was the sales manager, ****** *****, who repeatedly gave me verbal quote of a **-year fixed rate of 3.625% on a principal balance of roughly $490K with no points. This refinancing would be structured as a CEMA so as to avoid incurring new mortgage stamp taxes. Because the original mortgage is held by Bank of America, the rate wasn't to be locked until the CEMA was in place given the uncertainty of how long it would take to procure the CEMA documents from Bank of America. While the CEMA was being secured, GHMC asked me to provide all of the necessary mortgage application documentation, pay for an appraisal, and wait. On April **, 2013, I was notified by the bank lawyer that the CEMA was ready. ****** ***** of GHMC gave me a verbal quote of 3.625% (no points) at which point asked that my rate be locked. I received an email confirmation that my rate was submitted to lock, but I never received any formal documentation. I repeatedly asked for confirmation and on May *, 2013 was told that we would close by May **, 2013. Still, no HUD was produced after repeated requests. May **** passed and I could still get no written confirmation from GMHC on the status of my file, if my rate was locked, or what would be required to close. As I was monitoring the market, I noticed that interest rates were rising and I urgently wanted to close my refinancing. My voicemails and text messages to ****** went unanswered. I escalated my concerns to David Wind, the CEO of GHMC but received a response that I had not locked my rate and therefore it was my fault that we had not closed. I was dumbfounded by this response as I repeatedly had shown that I wanted to lock the rate. My email correspondence shows that I pursued in trying to lock my rate and close my refinancing: 1. Email on April **, 2013 from the bank attorney to all parties indicating that "CEMA is ready all docs are in!!" 2. Emails on May ***, 2013 from me to ****** (GHMC) seeking to close and ****** confirming that she had submitted for lock. Even after requesting follow up, I received no update from ****** on May *, 2013 or later on the status 3. Emails on May *, 2013 from the bank attorney to ****** (GHMC) confirming the ******* CEMA was ready to go 4. Emails from May * * May **, 2013 between the bank attorney, me, ******, and ****** where I try to get confirmation of a closing, HUD, rates, etc... but the only response is the bank is backed up and later that the file wasn't cleared to close. I kept pressing for an explanation but was offered none. I was then provided a new commitment letter on June 6 indicating that it had not been locked (my original commitment letter from GHMC was on March **, 2013). I still have not gotten an explanation from GHMC as to why the rate was not locked and why I have not been offered documentation t close my refinancing. In addition to the out-of-pocket fees I incurred for the CEMA documentation and the home appraisal, GHMC failure to execute has caused me to miss out on refinancing my loan at a lower rate and saving almost $80,000 in lower interest payments. I have experienced GHMC practices to be deceitful and unethical. They were unwilling to try to make right on the situation and correct their failing to lock my rate. I hope that no other consumer falls victim to their practices.

Desired Settlement: I would like for GHMC to honor its verbal commitments and make good on its failure to execute by providing me the refinancing at 3.625% (no points) for **-year fixed term. At a minimum, they should reimburse me for the out-of-pocket fees I have incurred in the process including the CEMA preparation fees and the appraisal costs.

Business Response:

Guaranteed Home Mortgage Company, Inc. (“Guaranteed”) is in receipt of the complaint by ***** ****** ******* and appreciate the opportunity to respond. 

Please note Mr. ******* communicated his dissatisfaction to several of the employees at Guaranteed and Guaranteed explained to Mr. ******* that since he did not lock in the interest rate we could not guarantee a particular rate.  

Mr. ******* indicates in his complaint that the rate was not to be locked until the assignment documents were in place.  According to the third party closing attorney the assignment documents were available at the end of April, 2013.  In early May, 2013 our records indicate Mr. ******* requested interest rate options.  The interest rate options provided by the loan officer were not acceptable to Mr. ******* and he did not lock his loan at that time. 

Of course Guaranteed understands Mr. *******’s frustration.  However, Guaranteed cannot control market fluctuations and cannot assume the risk and absorb the losses for unlocked consumers simply because the market deteriorates as it did in May, 2013.  

Guaranteed takes all complaints seriously and we take due care to ensure that our consumers are satisfied.  In this case, Mr. *******’s loan application was not locked and we cannot provide the interest rate he requests.  We thank you for providing us the opportunity to respond.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

It is disappointing and troubling that Guaranteed Home Mortgage Company does not acknowledge or accept responsibility for its failure to provide me the documentation I had requested to lock my loan, but rather claims, erroneously, that it was my choice not to lock. That is untrue. Their practice of providing verbal guarantees and promises that they will not stand behind with documentation when requested is deceptive and disingenuous.

My experience with the company leads me to conclude that they are not client-centered enterprise nor worthy of the BBB's Standards of Trust, especially in regards to the fourth pillar "Honoring Promises - Abide by all written agreements and verbal representations."

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******




 

Business Response: Guaranteed Home Mortgage Company, Inc. previously responded to this complaint and indicated the consumer had not locked in an interest rate.  Guaranteed cannot control market fluctuations.  The rate the consumer requested is not available.  

 
Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Guaranteed Home Mortgage Company Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)