This business is not BBB accredited.

Karako Suits Ltd.

Additional Locations

Phone: (516) 596-6660 Fax: (516) 596-6661 7 Cerro Street, Inwood, NY 11096

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Karako Suits Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Karako Suits Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2002 Business started: 05/01/1982 in NY Business incorporated 03/03/2000 in NY
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ezra Karako, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ezra Karako, President
Business Category


Additional Locations


    15512 Crossbay Blvd

    Jamaica, NY 11414 (718) 480-8201


    168 Route 110

    Farmingdale, NY 11735 (631) 577-0055


    2417 Flatbush Ave

    Brooklyn, NY 11234 (718) 872-7083


    247 Voice Rd

    Carle Place, NY 11514 (516) 248-5888


    25218 Rockaway Blvd

    Rosedale, NY 11422 (718) 949-0350


    255 Independence Plaza

    Selden, NY 11784 (631) 451-7272


    390 South Service Rd.

    Patchogue, NY 11772 (631) 289-1661


    414 Route 59

    Airmont, NY 10952 (845) 425-3375


    55 Atlantic Ave

    Lynbrook, NY 11563 (516) 596-2741


    7 Cerro Street

    Inwood, NY 11096 (516) 596-6660


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


I had a terrible experience with Karako Suits (the one in ************ ** * *** ******* ************ ** *****). At first, I was very happy with the service, but it ended pretty badly, unfortunately. I needed to rent a tuxedo for a wedding, as I was one of the groomsmen, and called at some point in late July with my measurements because I live in New Orleans and not in New York where the wedding took place. My suit arrived the week of the wedding and they called me to come in and get the final fitting (so far so good). The wedding was Sunday sept. ***, and they called me on Tuesday sept. ***. I came in on Wednesday Sept. *** and got the fitting. The person that helped me was an older gentleman, and he was very courteous and friendly. When I was trying on the tuxedo, I noticed there was a problem with the cuff on the left sleeve of the jacket. It looked like the cuff had been resized and it needed to be properly sewn. You could see a very noticeable fold mark about one inch and a half from the actual border of the cuff, and it just looked quite terrible. I told the gentleman this, and he said it just needed to be pressed. After I tried it on, he said, he was going to get it pressed, and then brought it back and put it away but did not ask me to try it again (I figured everything was good by this point). Before leaving and paying for the suit, I asked the older gentleman if I had everything I needed, if there was a list with all of the items given to me. I asked him if I needed a copy of the list of items for the day of the return. He said not to worry about it, that everything was there – and he read off a list to me, which included all of the items I seemed to have (I would find out later that it was not all there). The day of the wedding, however, when I actually put on the tuxedo jacket the day of the wedding, lo and behold, the pretty noticeable fold mark about one and a half inch from the cuff was there, and the tuxedo jacket looked pretty terribly—it made me look like a clown. On top of that, at that point I noticed that all of the groomsmen had stud buttons and cuff links for the tuxedo shirt, which weren’t given to me with my tuxedo (and in the list the gentleman read to me the day of the final fitting, they were not listed either). This, of course, ruined the experience of the wedding for me, because I felt uncomfortable the whole time without a complete tuxedo, and without a tuxedo that did not look well (with the horrible fold mark in the left sleeve). I came back Monday Sept *** to return the tuxedo to Karako and explained the issues to the same gentleman that helped me on Wednesday Sept ***. I asked him if Karako could give me a partial refund. He said that there was nothing he could do but give me a discount in a future purchase. I live in New Orleans, and not in New York, so there would not be a future purchase, and I told him this. He said he could not help me. He said the suit came from a third party company, and that they had nothing to do with the problems. I respectfully explained that I did not pay a third party company for the tuxedo but Karako. He said that normally those problems did not occur. I respectfully explained that I understood that, and that since there was a problem now, they should do something about it. He did not want to help me, and that made me, obviously, very upset. I told him that I would be speaking to my bank directly if he did not want to deal with me. I stormed out, but then came back and asked him to write down his name, but he said he would not write it down. He told me his name two or three times, but his name was not easy to catch (it was a name from the sub-continent or East Asia). I asked him if I could talk to a manager, and he said he was the manager. I asked him if he could write down his name again, he said he never writes down his name. At that point I left visibly angry (obviously) that this gentleman was unhelpful and impolite. Needless to say, I will never come back to Karako Suits. The other groomsmen seemed equally dissatisfied with the service. The wedding was a joyous occasion, despite Karako being a terrible experience. Let me reiterate, I will never go back there.

Desired Settlement: Either a partial or full refund.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is (somewhat) satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. They have provided a partial refund of my payment. 


****** *******


9/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 3 suits from this location on 8/**/2013 totaling $675. When I purchased the suits the manager there decided to alter the suits free of charge to sweeten the deal. I retuned today to purchase 3 more suits. This time a different sales person told me that they never include alterations and that I was "crazy"! And there would be an $8 charge per suit. I proceeded to leave the store embarrassed and insulted. This is not the first time I've purchased clothing from the store. I have bought close to 10 suits over the last year, and never paid for alterations. I feel as though because I was the only Caucasian in the store they were being discriminatory towards me. I would like to know how they can pick and choose who they offer free services to and who they charge for them. And how the situation can be rectified

Desired Settlement: They should continue to alter the suits free of charge like they have in the past.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

Although the customer complaint did not specify which of our locations he/she visited I was able to track down a receipt totaling $675.74 from the date specified 8/20 (it was the only receipt between all our stores with such a total on that date). The receipt is attached for verification. Please notice the date on the first page, the total on the second page, and most importantly, the alteration charge of $8.00 per Hem on the bottom of the first page (3 hems totaling $24.00). It has never been a policy or promotion of our company to offer free alterations to any customer, no matter who they are or how much they spend. We offer many specials and deals that are clearly visible on signs in our windows, on signs throughout the store, and all over the newspapers, internet, radio, T.V., and our website. Every customer receives the same offers and free alterations has never been a promotion of ours. Our tailors are the highest paid employee due to the importance of their jobs and we are proud of the quality of service they provide, but it has always come with a charge. The customer stating alterations were thrown in to "sweeten the deal" would never happen in our stores. I urge the customer to provide a receipt proving that any alterations were thrown in at any date or time in our company.

Please contact the General Manager of the company with any further questions about this complaint

His name is ****** ******, and he can be reached in our office at ************ ext. ***, or by his cell ************


9/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a pair of Florsheim shoe model #11688 market ox - they advertised in the paper "50% of regular price" when came to pay they showed me the shoe box with a sticker on it saying the price is $209.00 and beneath it their price $149.99 so giving me the 50% off the charged me $75.It seemed to me to be correct.I called up Florsheim and they told me the MSRP for that modell is $100.00 and it is only sold by JC Penney and at That has them on sale now for 30% off for $70- I went on their website to confirm that it is so.On Aug ** I called the main office of Krako ###-###-#### and told customer service my issue. i was told someone would call me back.I received a call back from a **** (his # is ###-###-####)who said he was a Retail manager and I said I would like a 25.00 refund which is 50% of the retail price of the shoes.His response was that MSRP is irrelevant they can make the price whatever they want !I asked him have those shoes EVER been sold by your store for $149.99 and he said NO. I have copy of Ad in newspaper and copy of box with their price on it. It is totally outrages to give an impression that those shoes are worth $210.00 !!

Desired Settlement: I would like a $25.00 refund so that my price is 50% off retail priceand they should stop doing deceptive pricing and deceptive advertising

Business Response: This gentlemen was contacted and we were able to resolve his issue. Although he mentioned MSRP in his complaint, we did not advertise any sale that discounted an "MSRP" not do we specify an MSRP on our bar codes. Nonetheless we decided to resolve this issue to keep our customer happy.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


****** *********


9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a suit from them a week ago, had it altered in their store and within a few hours of wear, it was shredded to bits. Poor craftsmanship. I went to return it yesterday, and they said I needed to leave it there overnight and the manager would have a look at it. I went there today. And all of a sudden the suit had white "paint" on it. That was not there yesterday. When they asked if I was calling them liars, and I said yes. They would not give me a phone number that I could call, but only referred me to their website. I refused to leave until they gave me the phone number to their corporate office. They refused to produce the telephone number to their office in Inwood, NY. They then had the the crossing guard on the corner call for a police officer. I was glad they did. I told the officer what happened, and they told the office that I had brought in a suit with paint on it. A second police officer showed up and I told him the same thing. Okay... Their word against mine, but where does the truth lie? The officer asked me what I wanted, I asked for my money back. He said that they wouldn't budge. The two police officers came out of the store and told me that the marks on the suit looks as if the fabric just brushed up against something white. So, I explained to him that it was not my initial intention court for a piece of fabric and apologized for the inconvenience. They handed me back the jacket wrapped in plastic and the pants on a separate hanger. I was skeptical about the jacket and I decided that I should have a look at the "paint." I looked at it and there definitely was a white substance was on the sleeve and on the back of the suit. When I was looking under the sleeves, I noticed that underneath the buttons of the sleeve were marked with the same white substance. It was TAILOR'S CHALK. They had marked underneath the buttons with white chalk when sewed on the buttons. I checked the other sleeve (which didn't have any blatant white smears on it) and the same markings were there. The police officer was sitting in his car filling out a report when I knocked on the window and said... "Excuse me officer, this is not even paint at all. It's chalk. It's not just any chalk. It's Tailor's Chalk." The cop realized that it was not paint and said... "You might as well take the jacket to the cleaners. Let's have them at least replace the pants for you. Would you like that?"" I conceded and I went in and brought the pants and the chalk-covered jacket. The officer told me to leave the pants with them and they would mail it to their corporate office. (Which apparently doesn't have a telephone) They would then, in a week or two replace the pants. All I ever wanted, was my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a refund of my money. If they do not call me about the suit, or they fail to replace the pants, I will go to court.

Business Response: We are offering a full refund to *** *****. My store manager, and police who arrived on scene both explained to me that the suit jacket *** ***** is attempting to return is covered in white paint splatter (not tailors chalk as he claims). Either way we will take the loss and refund him the entire purchase amount. Several attempts to reach him have been made with no reply from him.

**** ******

Business Response: Update: Customer was reached around 5:30PM on August ****. He was offered a full refund which he gladly accepted. He will return the merchandise when he has time and the store crew has been instructed to refund his entire purchase as requested.
**** ******