BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Home Medical Equipment, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Home Medical Equipment, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Home Medical Equipment, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 25, 2007 Business started: 11/26/2002 in NY Business incorporated 11/26/2002 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Denis Menke, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bobby Joseph, Branch Manager
Principal: Mr. Denis Menke, Managing Member
Business Category

MEDICAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES SCOOTERS - MEDICAL MEDICAL EQUIPMENT


Additional Locations

  • 1050 Stewart Ave
    Suite 120

    Garden City, NY 11530

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September of 2015 I had my Permobil **** power wheelchair picked up to have serviced as I have had done previously by this company without incident only this time I was told the maintenance on my chair would not be performed due to the reimbursement from the insurance being inadequate for them I like to now mention that a tenant in my building with a similar chair had there's serviced tires replaced new batteries installed under the same insurance without incident I feel that my particular chair was not service because it is not as profitable as A different chair so they pick and choose what they want to fix and where are they profit the most because of this practice I cannot get my chair serviced

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my chair serviced batteries and tires replaced and any repairs deemed necessary performed these repairs are covered by the insurance which they have the paperwork for

Business Response:

In regards to the complaint received with ***** *******. I, Bobby J***** the Branch Manager have spoken to the client on 11/***15. He restated his issues that his current power wheelchair needs repairs. He has a high end manufacturer named Permobil and the parts are very expensive to replace under his insurance, Medicare. He did not purchase the power wheelchair from our company and we are not obligated to fix his wheelchair as we do not have a contract with Medicare. I advised *** ******* that if we sold his chair originally, we would honor any repairs needed with his original insurance. Since he purchased it elsewhere, he is aware that our company cannot lose money trying to fix his high-end Permobil powerchair. I also addressed that another tenant in his building had his powerchair wheelchair fixed by our company because he has a powerchair that is not high end, therefore the cost of parts are not expensive. He is aware and understands that he is unable to get his chair fixed with our company, unless he pays for the parts in full and we can submit the claim to Medicare on his behalf to receive partial reimbursement.

He is very close to qualifying for a new powerchair through Medicare and at this point he just needs his batteries replaced. I advised *** ******* that I will install a used set of batteries for him to keep his chair moving along as he proceeds in getting a new wheelchair. He is satisfied with my resolution.

I left a voicemail for him to setup a repair date and I am waiting on his response.

Thank You

Bobby J*****

Branch Manager

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

As home medical is aware the co that sold the chair to me would not pick up this chair for service because it was out of there service area so they claimed  even though they had no problem selling it and collecting a payment from medicare at that point a clam was filed against them  after several calls to medicare and permobil home medical agreed to service the chair in 2014 and all corresponding paperwork was forward to them medicare only pay for a chair every 5 years and the holder of the paperwork are the ones need to make repairs to the wheelchair they serviced this chair before without a problem they should be able to service it again however we are im communication and perhaps a resolution could be worked out. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******



 

Business Response:

Hi *****,

 

I left tried to reach you periodically and we have missed each other. I have offered my direct cell phone # ************ so I can take care of this for you.

Bobby

 

 

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed for a service charge that was not disclosed prior to the service being performed.

Desired Settlement: Reversal of the service charge that I did not agree to pay

Business Response: We had sold a motorized wheelchair to this client on 4-**-09; we received a recall notice from the manufacturer to replace the joystick. We contacted the client on 9-*-14 to arrange replacement advised she would call us back. She called us back on 10-*-14 asked for quick turnaround as had to pick up wc to repair in shop. She was advised that the parts and labor were warranty but pick up and delivery were not. She was given the option to bring the wc to us to avoid charges but she asked us to pick it up and provide a loaner wc which we provided at no charge! There is normally a charge for a loaner wc as the wc was sold almost 5 years ago.

I have attached a copy of the pick up slip dated 10-*-14 which clearly lists the $80.00 service charge, and is signed by the client, as well as the delivery slip back dated 10-**-14 also signed by client.

I spoke to the customer service rep who spoke to her and she assured me that she did discuss the delivery service charge and is well documented.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[I was contacted by the company several times regarding a recall repair which I was not interested in having done.  I did not call them, they contacted me again on October *, 2014.  They insisted that it was a safety issue and the work needed to be done.   They asked if I could bring the chair in.  I told them that was not possible because I had no way to transport the wheelchair.  I asked them if a loaner was available and was told no, so I asked them how quickly they could have the chair back, as my husband is completely dependent on the wheelchair and we do not have another one, so he would be confined to bed until the repair was complete.   I was informed that they could return it on Friday because that is when they would be in the area again.  At no time was I informed that there would be a charge.  In the almost five years that my husband has had the chair, we have never been charged a fee of any kind.  They have always accepted his insurance as full payment.    I was not here.  My husband was at home with a home health aide.  My husband signed as best he could, but has a brain stem injury and never read the paperwork.  He thought he was signing that the chair was picked up and delivered.  Later that day, I received a telephone call from a gentleman who told me that I hadn't paid the driver.  I informed him that I was never told that there would be a charge.  I received a bill in the mail and contacted the company to again explain the fact that I was never informed that there would be a fee.  At that time I was informed that they would not do another repair on the chair until it was paid.  I was contacted again by a woman who made me what she called a "one time offer" to pay $40 with my credit card immediately over the phone and if I did not agree they would not repair the chair again.  I told her again that i was never informed that there would be a charge for anything regarding the repair.  If I had been informed about the charge, I would never have agreed to the repair.   I never agreed to pay a fee of any kind.  There was no expectation of being billed, as we had never paid anything out of pocket for any of the repairs they have done.  We were NEVER offered a loaner chair for this repair and we did NOT receive one.  

 

 We had sold a motorized wheelchair to this client on 4-**-09; we received a recall notice from the manufacturer to replace the joystick. We contacted the client on 9-*-14 to arrange replacement advised she would call us back. She called us back on 10-*-14 asked for quick turnaround as had to pick up wc to repair in shop. She was advised that the parts and labor were warranty but pick up and delivery were not. She was given the option to bring the wc to us to avoid charges but she asked us to pick it up and provide a loaner wc which we provided at no charge! There is normally a charge for a loaner wc as the wc was sold almost 5 years ago.


I have attached a copy of the pick up slip dated 10-*-14 which clearly lists the $80.00 service charge, and is signed by the client, as well as the delivery slip back dated 10-**-14 also signed by client.

I spoke to the customer service rep who spoke to her and she assured me that she did discuss the delivery service charge and is well documented.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
********* ******** ** *** *** *********** ********




 

Business Response: We contacted client due a recall from the manufacturer. Our notes indicate that client was called and advised of charge. However there seems to be some issues with husband understanding our service fee. Although we are correct and we have signed delivery slips I will write off this charge, but client should know that we cannot work for free. This chair was sold in 2009 is out of warranty and and we have to get paid for our drivers, gas and time. I'm at a loss to understand why she thinks we should work for free.

Charge will be written off.


5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My power chair was taken in for repair on 3/**/2014 and up until now I still have not gotten it back. It's been six weeks. All I needed were replacement batteries because the ones I had were losing charge. I've called every week since to check on the status of my wheelchair and every time I call, I was told a different story/excuse. I called on 3/** they told me they finished "diagnosing" the problem and will be replacing all the tires and the padding of the armrests besides the batteries. I told them I just needed the batteries replaced and there wasn't anything wrong with the tires and arm rest paddings. But fine, since they know what needs to done, who am I to argue? They told me that they needed to get insurance approval and then order the parts. Week 2 I called on 3/** they told me insurance approved and they ordered the parts, which will take 5-7 business days to come in. Week 3 I called on 4/* and was told me the chair was ready and would return it the next day. But then they called me back 20 minutes later to tell me they can't return my chair because the person who submitted the paperwork didn't realize I had a secondary insurance therefore they need to re-submit it for approval. Week 4 I called on 4/* and they told me they needed a new prescription from my doctor to submit to secondary insurance. I was able to get in contact with my doctor and she said she would fax them the Rx. I called again on 4/** to see if they got the Rx and was told me no, they haven't received anything. I asked them what exactly was needed from my doctor and was told me it wasn't a Rx but the CMN form that needs to be signed off on for insurance by the doctor for the approval of the parts. I was like so why didn't you say that instead of saying you needed a new Rx? Week 5 I called them on 4/** to ask if they've received the CMN form and was told no. I called my doctor and explained what was going on. She had her assistant call HME and it turned out HME faxed the form to the wrong fax #. So they re-faxed the form to the right # and my doctor signed off and faxed them back the form on 4/**. Week 6 I called on 4/** to make sure they got the form and they told me yes and it was sent to the insurance. I called the insurance on 4/** to find out if they received it. Left a message, no one returned my call. I called HME on 4/** to see if they heard from the insurance, they again told me no. I called HME again today (4/**) and they told me no still. I called the insurance again and finally got through and they told me yes, it was approved on 4/** and was sent to HME. I called HME back and was livid and told them what the insurance told me. The person from HME was like, oh I just got it. I was like I called you guys 20 minutes ago to ask you and you told me you didn't receive anything. So I asked the person when will I get back my chair, now that it was approved? She tells me they're going to order the parts and it'll take 5-7 business days and it'll take 2 days for installation. I couldn't believe what she was telling me. I told her you guys told me the parts already came in when I called you 3 weeks ago and my chair was ready then. But the paperwork needed to be re-submitted to my insurance and once they approve I'll get my chair back. And now you're telling me all this time you were lying to me and you're just now ordering parts? What were you guys doing the first 3 weeks you had my chair? She couldn't tell me. I do not understand this. I do not understand why it's taken this long and how they can act like it's no big deal that I've been without my chair for 6 weeks. I've been more than patient. I'm so confused and exasperated. It infuriates me that they lied and keep lying. They need to own up that they messed up and apologized for the delay instead of brushing it off like it's no big deal. It is a very big deal. The chair are my "legs." It's my main mobility equipment. Without it, I'm unable to go out or move around on my own.This has been a complete nightmare. At this point, I don't even know what to believe or when or if I'll ever get my chair back.

Desired Settlement: I would like my power chair repaired and delivered as soon as possible. I want a full apology and explanation as to what happened and why it's taken this long.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Home Medical Equipment, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)