BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Script Relief LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 35 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 24
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 35

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate a pattern of complaints concerning company mailings sent to consumers and business practices/privacy policies of the company. Complaints are coming into BBB alleging issues with receiving unsolicited mailings from Script Relief LLC (or from one of its brand/subsidiary names) containing prescription discount cards. Receipt of these cards is raising concern from consumers who are worried about potential identity theft, healthcare fraud, or that their personal information is being collected and distributed for unknown purposes. Some consumers tell BBB that documentation received from the company mimics official government notices by using a brand name such as United States Prescription Discounts, along with terms phrases such as "Form #" or "Resident Code", as well as a Washington D.C. return mailing address. All of these factors contribute to some consumers reporting that they thought this is an official program of the U.S. government, or part of the Affordable Care Act.

BBB has contacted the company concerning the aforementioned issues. The company told BBB that they do not use, sell or share cardholders' personal information, and are fully compliant with HIPAA standards. They also say that they disclose in their mailings that they are not affiliated with the U.S. government, and that any of their brand names or language used in the mailers that evoke the United States or America is not intentional. 

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 17, 2011 Business started: 10/01/2011 in NY Business incorporated: 11/16/2011 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Category

MEDICAL DISCOUNT PLANS

Alternate Business Names
Alianza de la Salud American Prescription Savings Alliance AmScript BigRxDiscounts BuenaSalud Rx CompleteSolutionRx HalfOff Rx Healthcare Alliance Help Rx National Affordable Prescription Services National Prescription Savings Network Patient Savings Alliance Prescription Assistance Services Prescription Benefits Alliance RxRelief UniScript United States Prescription Assistance United States Prescription Discounts
Industry Tips

If you are considering using a discount prescription or pharmacy card, be aware that the card is not insurance. Consumers should compare prices of medications before using the discount cards. Although the savings may be real with the discount card, they may be based on prices other than the ones offered by local pharmacies. Comparing prices allows the consumer to get the best price for the medication. And if you're really struggling to pay for your medications, talk to your pharmacist about patient assistance programs that could provide even greater discounts.

Industry Tips
Prescription Discount Cards

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    217 Centre St, Suite 2150

    New York, NY 10013 (888) 559-0196

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    217 Centre St, Suite 2190

    New York, NY 10013 (866) 501-0994

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    712 5th Ave Fl 14

    New York, NY 10019 (646) 442-5807 (877) 338-3457

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5505 Connecticut Ave. NW Suite 312

    Washington, DC 20015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5614 Connecticut Ave. NW Suite 312

    Washington, DC 20015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5614 Connecticut Ave. NW Suite 575

    Washington, DC 20015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5614 Connecticut Ave NW Suite 526

    Washington, DC 20015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    70 W Madison St Ste 1400

    Chicago, IL 60602

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4741 Central St Ste 1300

    Kansas City, MO 64112

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8717 W 110th St

    Shawnee Msn, KS 66210

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7535 N Palm Ave Ste 101

    Fresno, CA 93711

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (646) 442-5807(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The stated company has many "sister" companies, all of which mail prescription discount cards. I have literally been inundated with cards at both my practice & at my place of residence & have made repeated calls to request removal from any & all mailing lists - it is now to the point where I am making a call on a near biweekly basis to repeatedly make the same request (i.e., stop & desist of mailings & removal from any & all mailing lists)... Despite MULTIPLE phone conversations with representatives & supervisors, nothing has changed & I continue to regularly receive mailings...

Desired Settlement: I wish to no longer receive anything from the parent company or its "sister" companies.

Business Response: Dear ***** ***** **,

Thank you for reaching out to us. It has come to my attention that you received our prescription benefit cards in error. Let me say that I am very sorry for any way this may have inconvenienced you. Please know that I have removed your name from our mailing list. To that end, you should not be receiving any additional materials from us moving forward.

I want to thank you again for writing to us, *****. I’m very sorry you had a negative experience with our product. We appreciate your comments as we rely on such feedback to improve our business and user experience.  If you have any additional comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to me at any time.


Kind Regards,
****** ***** ********* ********* ********* ******** ************ **************************   **** ********* *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Problem Description:
I would like to re-open Case ID ********. The company responded on 08/**/2014 & provided an explanation as to why they had continued to send their product despite multiple requests on my part to have them cease & desist, as well as requesting to be removed from any & all mailing lists from their parent company & "sister" companies - the explanation they provided was that by some error, I was made to receive their discount pharmacy cards. The company also responded with their assurance that I would no longer receive their product, however, today (09/**/2014) I have again received the very same product, via mail, that I have been complaining about. The company in question does not comply with requests for removal from their mailing lists & essentially exercises harassment through their blatant disregard, which apparently extends as far as disregarding efforts from the BBB. Please provide assistance in putting a stop to this company's cavalier practices.

Desired Outcome:
The company needs to be held accountable for their actions. I am not interested in receiving any correspondence from a representative of the company, as it is obvious that their words carry not value. I want the BBB to exercise their influence & force this company to actually do something to correct their system, or to simply shut them down if they do not comply. 



In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** **



 

Business Response: I spoke to ** ** on the phone this morning. In a very unfortunate set of circumstances, he requested to be taken off our mailing list after our production and mail cycle for the month of August already began. He was removed from our mailing on that day, unfortunately too late to stop the mailing he received today. He is not on any of our lists and should never receive any materials from our organization in the future. I apologized personally to ** ** for the inconvenience. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Script Relief LLC regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

***** **

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an envelope from Healthcare Alliance addressed to a resident code #**-###-##### . Written on the bottom of the envelope the were the words "Your Prescription Savings Cards are Enclosed". Inside was a letter with a Pharmacy Logo and the Name Healthcare Alliance *** ****** ****** * ***** *** ***** ** *****. This Letter was address to: Dear New Member. It went on to say that I and everyone in y household are now entitled to savings on every FDA-approved prescription medication. It instructed me to simply take one of the free enclosed cards to virtually any pharmacy in the United States, and I could save up to 75% off (and an average of almost 50% off )all prescription purchases. The letter went on to make all kinds of claims how Healthcare Alliance has over 5,000,000 cardholders and they have saved over $450,000,000 to date. They make the statement that No one living in the United States can be denied this discount service, they claim that they are not affiliated with with the US Government. It was signed **** *********, ******** of Plan Administration. I want to know how this company obtained my personal information in the first place, whom did they buy it from. They claimed in some of the other BBB complaints that I have read that they do not rent or sell your personal information , so how did they get my address. Looking at the numbers on the RX Savings Card the Bin number is a scrambled combination of my home address. with two 00's added to the beginning of it. The PCN is a scrambled combination of some of the letters that are in both my first and last name. Also, the Authorization Number starts with three alphabets and then begins with the Year I was born. In any case, if they didn't already have my personal information at the initial mailing these letters, if I were to use these cards, they will then have my personal information. They will know which pharmacy I use, which drugs I use, all without my ever signing up for this program. All I'd have to do is just show up at the pharmacy and hand them this pre-approved card and all of a sudden my privacy is invaded. Also, in responses to complaints made by others Healthcare Alliance has said that they will take your name and address off of their list. While in other responses Healthcare Alliance has said to different complaints that they mail out these letters with flyers and that's why they don't have your name and address on them . They instead use a Resident code, that this is how they keep track. Yet the code on the outside of the envelope I received appears nowhere on the RX Savings Card. If that is true how does the mail carrier know which mailbox to put the letter in and why does the card I received have my address combination as the Bin number?

Desired Settlement: I want Healthcare Alliance to provide me with all of the names , addresses and telephone numbers of the companies that provided them with my personal information so that I can opt-out. I want Healthcare Alliance to remove all of my personal information from all of their data bases, sister companies, third party affiliates and any other parties associated with them that I might not be aware of. Healthcare Alliance does not have my permission to enroll me, subscribe me, offer me, solicit me, contact me by phone, email, US mail or any form of communication.

Business Response:

Case #: ********

 

Dear ***** *********,

 

Thank you for reaching out to us. It seems you received our free pharmacy discount cards as part of a flyer. This piece was most likely sent to you as part of a saturation mailing to everyone in your zipcode in cooperation with your local newspaper, or possibly with a coupon circulator. If you look closely at the envelope, you will see your name is not present.

 

Furthermore, our BIN number is in no way connected to your street address. I can promise you this is a coincidence. That number corresponds to our partnership with a pharmacy benefit manager and is present on all our cards. Additionally, there is absolutely no connection between the letters in your name, or the year you were born. I can assure you this purely coincidental. Still, I will assure you that ScriptRelief will never rent or sell your personal information.

 

Moving forward, I will be removing your name and address from our mailing list so that you never receive any additional mailings from our organization. I would advise you to dispose of the cards in your possession as none of your personal information is present there.

 

Thank you for writing to us, Cally. I’m very sorry you had a negative experience with our product. We appreciate your comments as we rely on such feedback to improve our business and user experience.  If you have any additional comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to me at any time.

 

Kind Regards,

****** *****

 

********* ********* ********* ********

************

**************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an unsolicited mailing from ******* ******* ********, one of many business aliases of Script Relief LLC. The mailing contained four cards labeled "PRESCRIPTION ******* CARD" and an enclosed letter. All of the following is my opinion. The cards and the letter enclosed with the cards are fraudulent and misleading, as follows: 1). The aforesaid enclosed letter bears the salutation "Dear New Member". I have not ever subscribed to, or purchased a service from, ******* ******* ********, Script Relief LLC, or any of their many affiliated businesses. The salutation "Dear New Member" conveys the notion to the recipient of said mailing that the recipient is, or has sought to become, a New Member, whether by calling, writing, mailing, visiting a website, signing up, paying, or other such actions, and is to, or is seeking to, obtain goods and services from ******* ******* ********, aka Script Relief LLC. The aforesaid salutation further conveys the notion that the recipient is, or may be, under some obligation to use the cards to obtain medications. Given the nature of the mailing, namely, an offer for prescription benefits, the recipient may likely believe that some other Party, such as a health care provider, insurance provider, pharmacy, hospital, clinic, and the like, have authorized, sanctioned, or otherwise allowed ******* ******* ********, aka Script Relief LLC to send the aforesaid cards and letter. Again, this creates a situation wherein a recipient may believe that they are, or may be, under an obligation to use the cards to obtain medications, thereby causing unjust enrichment of ******* ******* ********, aka Script Relief LLC. 2). The letter further indicates: "These cards entitle you to reduced prices on all of your prescription medications at pharmacies everywhere in the United States." This claim is contradicted by their website http://**********************.com which indicates: "...discounts on every FDA-approved prescription medication (over 50,000 total), sold everywhere (over 50,000 pharmacies in the U.S.)...". Clearly the phrase "... all of your prescription medications at pharmacies everywhere in the United States..." is not equivalent to over 50,000 medications /over 50,000 pharmacies, and is therefore not factual and likely to deceive the recipient of cards and letters from ******* ******* ********, aka Script Relief LLC. 3). The aforesaid offer of prescription benefits fails to describe how the alleged “...reduced prices on all of your prescription medications...” is actually computed. The aforesaid letter indicates: “You will see ******* of an average of 50% on all your prescription medications.” Without providing a comprehensive list of medications, and the corresponding usual and customary pricing of such medications, it is impossible for any recipient of the aforementioned cards and letter to know whether any ******* can be realized by use of the cards. ******* ******* ********, aka Script Relief LLC can simply utilize inflated pricing for the medications they cover, with little or no ******* to the users of the cards. 4). The aforementioned enclosed letter appears to be from an governmental agency or some other authorized Party ( health care provider, insurance provider, pharmacy, ). The letter adopts certain cues obtained from official correspondance, including placing the senders name (******* ******* ********) in small font and using a very prominent black box which has enclosed within it "2014 NO ONE CAN BE DENIED THIS DISCOUNT". This is an attempt to further convince the recipient of the cards and letter that is was sent by an authorized Party. As a result, the recipient may perceive a obligation to use the card, under law.

Desired Settlement: Desired Outcome: 1). Stop sending letters with the salutation "Dear New Member." 2). Provide a comprehensive list of medications which are covered by the offer indicated in the mailings of ******* ******* ********, aka Script Relief LLC. 3). Provide a comprehensive list of the usual and customary pricing of medications which are covered by the offer indicated in the mailings of ******* ******* ********, aka Script Relief LLC. 4). Provide a comprehensive list of un-discounted pricing of medications which is used by ******* ******* ********, aka Script Relief LLC to calculate the average ******* of 50%. 5). Alter the appearance of mailings from ******* ******* ********, aka Script Relief LLC to remove the appearance of having originated with a U.S., state, or local governmental organization. Example: remove the aforesaid black box, and center at the head of the letter in large print: ******* ******* ******** LLC. It is crucial to include "LLC" (or whatever the form of incorporation may be) so that recipients of the aforesaid cards and letters can determine the origin of unsolicited mailings.

Consumer Response: Attn: ***********


You requested my first initial and full last name.  It is:

***********

Business Response: ** ** ******
Thank you again for taking the time to write to us. If you have any additional questions, please feel free to reach out to me at any time. We take great care to keep our marketing materials from appearing misleading. To your point on addressing our letters to “members”, a great number of our mailings are to legacy cardholders. The mailings are reaching those who have already used the cards. Furthermore, the nature of our product is that anyone can use our card. Truthfully, it works a lot like a coupon and everyone we send to has the opportunity to be a member in our ******* program.  Finally, we address our letters in a number of ways. Using the word “member” was part of a larger creative test aimed at measuring response rate. Recipients of our letters are under no legal obligation to use our card. There is absolutely no personal information tied to this card. And anyone who does use the card has their privacy further protected by HIPAA.

To your other points, it would be nearly impossible to provide the usual and customary pricing of every FDA-approved prescription medication as the prices fluctuate on a daily basis. We feel confident that our card can provide discounts on any FDA-approved prescription medication. Additionally, we have substantiated our advertising claims (i.e., “average ******* of nearly 50%) with the Better Business Bureau as of last May. And finally, we have the LLC on our Script Relief trademark on every piece of marketing material. ******* ******* ******** is not our LLC and therefore would be misleading to have it identified as one.

We take pride in the fact that our card has saved a great number of people a significant amount of money on their prescriptions. But, it’s clear that you had a negative experience with our product. Please accept my personal apologies. If you would like to send me your mailing information, I would gladly remove you from our mailing list. And, if there is anything else I can do for you, or any additional questions I can answer, please feel free to reach out to me at any time.
*******************

Business Response: ***************
Let me start off by saying I’m very sorry my previous two notes have not satisfied your concerns.  I’ll mention again that we have removed your name from our mailing list. Please also note that our free pharmacy discount program has proven to be a very valuable resource for a great number of people, and not created to “deliberately contrived to mislead and deceive” as you point out. I’m very sorry this hasn’t been the case for you. Additionally, I’m sorry our mailing has upset you. To your specific points:

1) I am aware that the cards and materials say “This card is not insurance.”  But, I’m afraid I don’t see the distinction between the cards reading, “this card is not insurance,” and my note to you saying, “we are not affiliated with an insurance program.” I agree that these are technically two different statements with different words. But they are ultimately saying the same thing: this is not insurance. We very much want to make this point clear to all of our cardholders. That’s why some variation of this disclaimer appears on all our marketing materials. You reference a past BBB complaint wherein an individual mistakenly identified our materials as originating from an insurance company. I appreciate that some confusion may have arisen, but, again, that is why we make such clear disclaimers on our marketing materials.

2) I never mentioned that using the salutation of member was “a deliberate marketing plan to increase utilization of the coupons.” As I mentioned, our cards are pre-activated and available to anyone who is paying too much for their prescription medications. Additionally, a great number of our mailings go to repeat users. It may be that you accidentally received one of these mailings.  You also mention the “BIN, GRP, PCN codes” verbiage which is present on the back of our cards. This was in no way an attempt to convey the impression of something “more than a coupon” as you say. In fact, you may notice that this copy came under the words: Pharmacist Instructions. This is to alert the pharmacist to apply the appropriate discount to the cardholder, and is not meant for the cardholder to misconstrue as some legal obligation. Again, I see you have referenced an old BBB complaint where someone else was confused. Though, I can’t see how our clearly marked “pharmacist instructions” could be related to a complaint from 2013.

3) You are correct that it would be easy for us to make our substantiation claims public on our website. We will take that under advisement. We are actively working with the BBB on a number of issues. At such time where we feel compelled to publish our progress, we may consider posting them online. Thank you for the suggestion. Again, I see you reference a BBB complaint from 2013 where an individual pharmacy was unaware of their contract status with our partner PBM. Unfortunately, I don’t see the connection to the point about your suggestion for our website.

4) Unfortunately, I do not see how there is a “clear intimation that the card is potentially a legal instrument.” You may again be referring to the clearly-marked “pharmacist instructions” on the back of our cards. You have referenced another BBB 
complaint where an individual mistook our marketing materials as originating from the government. I’ll mention to you again that in the event that any of our marketing materials should ever remotely resemble something official, we would take great care to clearly disclaim our affiliations.  

5) We are not indicating that our cardholders pay nothing for their medications. Rather, we are indicating that they pay nothing to use our discount service. The whole point of ‘saving an average of nearly 50%’ should make clear that the price of
the pharmaceutical would never be free. The card and the program it represents are free. The availability of discounts is free. To your point on the usual and customary prices of pharmaceuticals, I’ll say that these prices fluctuate greatly and often. We simply cannot provide every interested citizen a look inside our business operations. We have made this information public to the New York State BBB, however. We feel assured that our free program can save cardholders an average of nearly 50% off the price of out-of-network prescription medications. This is not alleged, but rather a clear claim that we have backed up with the New York State BBB. We have satisfied their concerns on this matter. I’m only sorry we can’t do the same for you.
 
I want to assure you once more that we have removed your name from our mailing list. And I want to let you know I’m very sorry you’ve had such a negative experience with our free card. I’d like to thank you once more for your feedback. 

Consumer Response: *************
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

All of the following is my own opinion.
1).  You write: "I am aware that the cards and materials say “This card is not
insurance.”  But, I’m afraid I don’t see the
distinction between the cards reading, “this card is not
insurance,” and my note to you saying, “we are not
affiliated with an insurance program.”  There is a distinction, as I wrote.
The coupon is a card, not insurance, but the recipient has no way to know
whether the issuer of the coupon, Script Relief LLC (or any of its
numerous alias) is or is not affiliated with an insurance program.

2). You write: "I never mentioned that using the salutation of member was “a deliberate
marketing plan to increase utilization of the coupons.” In fact, you admitted in a previous
response: " Using the word “member” was part of a larger creative test aimed at measuring response rate."
Please explain how "creative test" is different from "marketing plan," and that "measuring response rate" is
different from "increasing utilization."

3). You write: "You are correct that it would be easy for us to make our
substantiation claims public on our website. We will take that
under advisement. We are actively working with the BBB on a
number of issues. At such time where we feel compelled to
publish our progress, we may consider posting them online."  At what
point will you feel compelled to publish data to support your claims?  I fail to understand
why Script Relief LLC is not eager to substantiate its ability to provide ******* to
people who use its coupons.

4). You write: "We simply cannot provide every interested citizen a look inside our
business operations. We have made this information public to the
New York State BBB, however."  You further write: "
This is not alleged, but rather a clear claim that we have backed up
with the New York State BBB. We have satisfied their concerns on this matter."
If this is so, what is the issue with releasing this "public" information?
Please provide me a link, reference, address, copy, source, or other means, for access and review of the
aforesaid public information you claim to have provided to the New York BBB.

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.
Sincerely,
*****************




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 14 year old daughter received prescription drug discount cards from this company in the mail. I tried to call them to stop them from sending anything else and you can't get a person on the phone. It is just a long recording.

Desired Settlement: I think this company may be phishing for information. I want to make sure they don't send out unsolicited cards to my daughter or any other children again. They also need to have the phones set up so that you can talk to someone if this company is legitimate.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, 

Our pharmacy discount card is not meant to be sent to minors. I apologize that one was. This was an oversight. We will gladly remove this person's name from our records, and will no longer be sending to this address in the future. Furthermore, we have a dedicated team of operators on hand 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year ready to answer any questions or concerns. Finally, we do not practice phishing, nor do we sell or rent our cardholder's personal information. We are fully compliant with HIPAA and always strive to protect our cardholder's privacy. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at any time. 

Thank you, 
****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I write to complain about the form of their advertising. Everything about the letter promoting the discount cards is calculated to deceive recipients into believing that this correspondence is some sort of official mailing from the U.S. government. The language of the letter, the font choices, and formatting all closely resemble those of any one of many standardized government forms. Also, the form I received is labeled as "Form 0913," from "United States Prescription Discounts" with their office in Washington, DC. It is quite likely that someone would mistakenly-but reasonably-mistake the letter as official government correspondence. It is only upon examination of the letter that it is clearly not affiliated with a governmental entity. I think presenting the discount cards in this way is deliberately deceptive and meant to take advantage of those with less education. It also preys on the anxiety that so many people feel regarding their family's healthcare. This sort of deception should not be tolerated from a business.

Desired Settlement: I want Script Relief, LLC to be honest about who they are in their direct mailings and not deliberately deceive people into thinking that their product is affiliated with a government agency. They would do well to focus their efforts on providing a worthwhile product or service rather than rely on deception.

Business Response: Dear ** *********


Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We take great care on our marketing materials to clarify that we are not affiliated with the government as you saw yourself on our letter. You may have also noticed that we even go a step further to clarify that we are also not affiliated with any insurance company either. What we do is offer a free service to help uninsured Americans save on their pharmaceutical expenses. We do not aim to prey on anxieties. On the contrary, we hope to alleviate them by providing a proven method to help millions of Americans save at the pharmacy. 

Thank you again for taking the time to write to us. If you have any additional questions, please feel free to reach out to me at any time. 

****** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 

I think you missed the point of my complaint. Your marketing materials are deliberately designed to give the impression that your service is affiliated with a governmental entity rather than a private company. I am an immigration attorney and work with a wide variety of standardized federal government forms on a daily basis. At a glance, I thought that your marketing materials were government correspondence; I had to spend a moment inspecting the letter to determine its true origin. Your assertion that the true nature of your service is clear is questionable.

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *********




 

Business Response:

** *********,  

 

I am very sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with my response. Our marketing materials are very clear to state who we are and who we are not. (In fact, we are stating in even more places that we are not affiliated with the government moving forward.) Beyond that, however, I don't know how we can be any more clear about our true nature than saying "we are not insurance, we are not the government,” etc. I encourage you to read the letter again. Just to be clear, we are offering a completely free service to people without insurance that lets them get a reduced price at the pharmacy. We draw our fees from the pharmaceutical manufacturers and never from our cardholders. We state all of that in our letter and online. This is a great deal for millions of Americans. (To date we have saved over 4.500,000 Americans more than $325,000,000 on their out-of-network prescriptions.) Through all of that, we charge our cardholders zero dollars. Going a step further, we don't share their personal information with any third party vendors.  

 

 

Thank you for your continued interest in this matter, ** *********. I'm happy to answer any more questions you might have.  Though, I do hope this has satisfied your concerns.  

 

Best,  

****** ***** 

Associate Director, Marketing Services 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/** I checked my bank account and found this company had taken $335.36 out of my checing account without authorization. I called and was told a check would be put in the mail with overnight delivery and would receive the check on 9/**. On 9/** nothing, on 9/** still nothing, I contacted *###-###-#### spoke to supervisor **** ****, employee number *********, I wsa told by him he would contact me the next day and an investigation would be started. Well here it is today 9/**, I check my bank accout and still nothing and not a call from them. I called again very irrate and spoke to a **** ***** employee number ********* he assured me I would have the money back in my account and would contact me. I called anotther number online I found ###-###-#### and while waiting to speak to someone the advertisement I am listening to states their cards are free, no charge. #1 I did not sign up for this, had no clue who they were. #2 If they state it is free then why are they charging me. This is fraud!!!! I did not authorize them to take any money and again I have no idea who they are. It is now going on a week, I have nothing returned back to me, it is not like it is $20..0or $50l.00 - it is $335.36. I have bills to pay that I will be incuring late fees on.

Desired Settlement: I want this refunded and any late fee's or overdraft fee's incured.

Business Response: Dear *** ****, 


It appears you have filed a complaint against the wrong company. Our company is called ScriptRelief. We provide a completely free pharmacy discount card. We do not charge anyone to use our product, nor do we have any employees by the names of **** ***** or **** ****. The telephone number you first called ###-###-#### goes to a different company named Health & Wellness Services Inc. We are not affiliated with this company in any way. I'm very sorry to hear about this great inconvenience, but unfortunately there is nothing that we at ScriptRelief can do to help you. 

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to reach out to me at any time. 

Best, 
****** *****
Associate Director, Marketing Services

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent a direct mailer ad with Script Relief LLC discount cards. I had not asked for them and it was not addressed to anyone in my house hold. I find this to be a illegal practice by this company. The letter address section stated resident code followed by a two letters and a few numbers. I was wondering if this was a form of fraud because it was not properly addressed to my home address.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to stop mailed unsolicited cards out to households

Business Response: Dear ** ******, 


I am sorry to hear that you did not wish to use the free pharmacy discount cards we sent to you.  You may have received our mailing with your newspaper or a coupon circular. This is why the package was not properly addressed to your home. We affixed the envelope with a resident code so that we could keep track of our mailing efforts in house. It has no bearing on or reflection of any of your personal information.

If you have any additional questions about this free service, please feel free to contact me. 

Thank you, 

****** *****
Associate Director, Marketing Services
**************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Saying that we can get up to 75 percent discounts on drugs or medication. When asked question about how they can afford to do this without charging someone they say it is possible through their organization/employer groups and we know it is hard to believe and that we have over 3 million Americans that we help. I tell them NO THANKS but they keepp sending me Rxrelief cards. Now they are sending them to my wife. I have not purchased anything from them and I have not used the Rxrelief Cards that I have received.

Desired Settlement: I wish not to hear from them again until they become accredited through the BBB. I wish my name be stricken and/or removed from their records as I do not want my address used or forwarded to other 3rd party users.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ********



  They have not responded at this point to your letter but they did send me an e mail in response to my email asking them to remove me from their mailing list and or e mails. At this point I think they have done this and I consider this situation resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this company thinking it was a service my "own" health care company sent to me. It's a card telling me I can use this at any pharmacy and receive a discount on my prescriptions. I was confused, called Healthcare Alliance and then called my pharmacy to ask what this is about. The pharmacist told me to throw it out because I have health insurance and this card is just confusing people. He is getting calls at least 5 times a day explaining who this card actually helps. People without insurance might benefit. The rest of us who already have insurance don't need it. Couldn't the letter have stated that. On top of it they want us to give it to someone else if we don't want it. REALLY!! I'm so done with gas companies calling me about better rates on gas and now I'm getting this garbage as well. LEAVE ME ALONE!

Desired Settlement: Tell them to change their letter to state THIS IN NOT YOUR HEALTH INSURANCE COMPANY CONTACTING YOU. THIS WILL ONLY BENEFIT THE UNINSURED. I want them to leave me alone. I don't want them to exist!!

Business Response:

Dear ** *******,

 

 

 

Thank you for reaching out to us.  Apologies for the confusion our pharmacy discount card caused you.  We do not mean to portray ourselves as insurance or a substitute for insurance.  Our pharmacy discount card works just like a coupon, offering discounts on every FDA-approved prescription medication. Our card helps those who pay ‘out-of-network’ prices for their prescription medications.

 

Moving forward, I will have your name removed from our mailing list. Feel free to throw away the cards sent to you as there is no personal information of yours tied to them.

 

Thank you for writing to us, *** *******. We appreciate your comments as we rely on such feedback to improve our business and user experience.  If you have any additional comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to me at any time.

 

 

 

 

Kind Regards,

****** *****

********* ********* ********* ******** **************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received mail from Healthcare Alliance regarding pharmacy discount cards. There are cards enclosed with the same policy and group number and I fear this is an attempt to obtain personal information for the use to commit FRAUD

Desired Settlement: I would like to be removed from any future mailings from this company or any sister company. I would like to receive notification of the shareholders and corporate executives as to research prior business transactions from these individuals to ensure my rights are protected. I would like a written response from the company directly outlining the purpose or intent of their mail drop to my residence and if this was in direct response to recent health care laws that have been passed. If so I would like to receive the information indicating where it is written that a company and contact without prior interest or permission. If this is a legit offer why not send more data prior to dropping 4 cards in the mail and a letter that asks us to research more data online. It would appear that this was done in an effort to confuse older citizens and commit FRAUD. How do I get off the mailing list within the legal 45 days from the posting of this complaint. How are local drug stores selling the same type of coverage if it is free from this company, is this a private company working for our government if so this is an awful way to relay the important data to citizens. HELP

Business Response:

Thank you for your letter. First and foremost, I want you to know that I will be removing you from the mailing list immediately. And I'd like to assure you that your rights are fully protected as is your privacy. We make it very clear that we NEVER sell or rent personal information. The sole purpose of our organization is to provide reduced rates on prescription medications. We do not make money off confusing the elderly or anyone for that matter. In fact, we only make money when individuals save money. We never collect a fee from our cardholders. Nor are we affiliated with the US government or any insurance company. We are a group buying organization that negotiates discounts through the sheer volume of our participating members. We make money from the pharmaceutical companies. That's why the card was free. Unfortunately, I can't tell exactly how you got on our mailing list as there are any number of ways to get there. But, I can assure you that you will be removed from all future mailings. I'm terribly sorry for this inconvenience. Please reach out to me if you have any additional questions. 

Thank you. 
Best, 
****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,My name is ********* ******. I received information from ********** ******** stating that here are my Pharmacy discount cards which included 4 cards which have already been activated. I have never applied for any card from this place and have never even heard of it until now. I would like to have a fraud alert put on this account and/or identity theft alert, also would like for it to be closed if it has been opened. If you need to speak to me, please do not email me or call from info on the info page (step 3 page). Contact me at ###-###-####. Please do what is necessary to resolve this problem asap.Thank You,From: ********* ******

Desired Settlement: I would like for this matter to be resolved by this company taking me off their mailing list and closing any accounts that may be in my name.Once again, Thank You for your help.

Business Response:

Dear *** ****** -

It has come to my attention that you received a prescription discount card recently despite not having signed up to receive one. I want to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We send these cards out as we feel they provide a real benefit to those who are either uninsured or underinsured. We tie no personal information on you to the card itself. It's pre-activated meaning anyone can use it. Furthermore, we make no plans now or ever to steal or sell personal information on you to a third party.

I want you to know that we have immediately removed your name from our mailing list. If you receive any more materials or have any questions at all, please feel free to reach out to me at any time.

Again, I'm sorry for any inconvenience or trouble this caused you.

Regards,

****** *****

Associate Director, Marketing Services

###-###-####

**************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This website is offering coupons and membership cards for extremely large discounts on perscription drugs. When you try to use these discounts, the drugs will cost the consumer more money because the discounts are given on the published retailed prices. These prices are higher than what we normally pay and, only if your pharmacist is honest, will he or she reveal this.This is VERY misleading!!!! I know 2 people who have been scammed by this company.Kindly investigate this scam and advise me of the outcome.Thank you, ***** *******

Desired Settlement: I'd like this website closed down and I'd like the coupons all drugs stores to be notified that these coupons and membership cards are not valid.

Business Response:

I want to thank you for your response. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the discount you had expected. Unfortunately, we cannot determine the set price of any one prescription medication at any given time as the prices fluctuate. What we offer is a discount card, which, on average, saves individuals 50% off their prescription medications. At times, this discount can even reach 75%. The discounts are applied to the manufacturer's suggested retail price and so we are basing our projected savings off of that price.

The RxRelief Card, I can assure you, is not a scam.  With millions of cardholders, the RxRelief Card uses its buying power to negotiate bulk discount prices on prescription medications.  Also, because the RxRelief Card is not insurance, it’s free.  You will never be charged to use your card at any time.   

If, however, you’re having trouble filling a prescription using your RxRelief Card, or if your pharmacist refuses to accept the card, please call us immediately at ###-###-####.  One of our customer support representatives will speak with you or your pharmacist and resolve the problem as quickly as possible. 

I'd like to thank you again for writing to us, *** *******. We appreciate your comments as we rely on such feedback to improve our business and user experiences. If you have any additional comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to me at any time.

Kind regards, 

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I on behalf of my fiance printed coupon for 93% off Levitra. WalMart was the first Pharmacy I called. I was told the reply back from RxRelief was they would cover product with NDC #***********. Walmart suggested I call other pharmacy's in town to see if they carried that NDC # for Levitra, and CVS does. I took coupon in and was told that they were not sure about the "on-line" coupon and that they tried to process it but could not due to the responce from RxRelief. THey were busy so I was totally embarrassed and paid $380.53 for 15 Levitra pills!

Desired Settlement: RxRelief should not advertise if they are not going to honor coupons.

Business Response: Dear *********,
 
Thank you for your inquiry regarding our free pharmacy discount card, The RxRelief Card.  The RxRelief Card is a free card that provides discounts of up to 75% on all prescription medication purchases.  The card is absolutely a legitimate product and we have saved our members nearly $200,000,000 to date – including millions of prescriptions filled at CVS stores across the country as they are a participating pharmacy.  Also note, there is no difference between the durable plastic card and the coupon.
 
I apologize that you and your fiance had a negative experience with the coupon at your local CVS.  At the pharmacy, as with any retail experience, you are permitted to price check using the coupon, or in general.  When filling your next prescription, submit the prescription with our free card or coupon and ask the pharmacist to check the price for you.  As it says on the Levitra coupon - and all of our coupons - savings are "up to" 93%.  Discounts and pricing vary at different pharmacies and on other factors such as dosage and number of pills being dispensed.

If you have any difficulty checking a price or with the coupon being accepted at the pharmacy you choose to visit, please call our customer care line, or have the pharmacist call directly and we will help them with the transaction. Our customer service center is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

The Healthcare Alliance believes that all Americans deserve to save on their prescription medications.  The card is completely free, there are no contracts, enrollment, rebates or activation required.  The card is good on all of your prescription purchases – it never expires and you will never be charged for the card.
 
 
Please let me know if you have any additional questions about our service. I do hope that you try the card the next time you or your fiance are going to fill a medication that you pay full price for.   Do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions.
 
Best,
***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS COMPANY MAILS "PHARMACY DISCOUNT CARDS" TO ANYONE AND EVERYONE WHEN THE PERSON USES THE CARD THEY GET A DISCOUNT ON THERE PRESCRIPTION THEN THEY SEND THE PHARMACY A STATEMENT WE WERE NEVER INFORMED HOW THE DISCOUNTS AND CHARGES ARE DETERMINED AND NO LONGER ACCEPT THE CARDS

Desired Settlement: WITHDRAW CARDS FROM MARKET AND CLARIFICATION OF WE WERE NEVER INFORMED HOW THE DISCOUNTS AND CHARGES ARE DETERMINED

Business Response: Dear ************,

Thank you for your inquiry regarding our free pharmacy discount card, The RxRelief Card courtesy of The Healthcare Alliance.  The Healthcare Alliance believes that all Americans deserve to save on their prescription medications, and provides the card through a number of channels for the convenience of those who would like to utilize our free service.  As you mentioned, we provide the card through the mail to those Americans who we believe could benefit from the cards discounts, additionally, you can find the card online, at your physicians office (over 250,000 offices have requested the cards for their patients), and though many employers (**** ****** ****** ***** ******* ******** ****** **** ***** ***** **** ***, among others), among other places. 


We’re able to provide this free benefit because we enjoy an exclusive relationship with a large pharmacy benefit manager, ***********, that has negotiated pricing on behalf of their many millions of customers. Your pharmacy, ******* ******** of ********  is included in the *********** network of pharmacies.

 

The card is completely free, there are no contracts, enrollment, rebates or fees and there is no activation required. It can be used on all out-of-network prescription purchases and it never expires.  There is also no need to cancel: if a recipient does not want to use the free benefit, they can simply give the cards away to a loved one who purchases their prescriptions out-of-network.  Further (and most importantly for many consumers) there is no personal information tied to the card.  If a recipient does not wish to share the card, they can simply throw it away. 

 

Do not hesitate to contact me at the phone number or email below with any further questions.


Best,

*****


******** ******

Director

Script Relief, LLC

 


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues