BBB Accredited Business since

LifeFone

Phone: (800) 882-2280 Fax: (800) 747-2032 View Additional Phone Numbers 16 Yellowstone Ave, White Plains, NY 10607 http://www.lifefone.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LifeFone meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LifeFone include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LifeFone
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1976 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1976 in NY
Business Management
Mr. Ronald Maggio, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Maggio, President
Business Category

MEDICAL ALARMS

Alternate Business Names
Life Fone MSS Electronics, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 16 Yellowstone Ave

    White Plains, NY 10607

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/**/2014 I ordered a Medical Alert for my mom and paid for a full year up front.On 11/**/2014 upon checking the account I noticed a balance fee of $299.40 under the heading "Still Processing" and this did not make me very happy at all.I sent their billing an email inquiring of such and on 11/**/2014 I got a response from ******* ****** stating she would look into it and then "conveniently" told me next years annual fee of $320.36, with there was still a good amount of time remaining on the existing purchase, which I found to be very premature and a great turnoff.I spoke with my mom and she strongly asked me to cancel and return the unit as she no longer needed it as her hip thankfully healed all up.I sent ******* ****** an email stating moms decision and on 11/**/2014 I received a response back first strongly conveying that it was not an increase in price just included sales tax and then instead of rightfully telling me that I could return the unit early and get a pro-rated refund, which it clearly states on their site under FAQ's, she instead tells me to make sure I return the unit before 04/**/2015 to avoid further charges, which is just very wrong and deceitful business practice.I responded saying, I will speak with mom again for her final decision and on 11/**/2015 after speaking with my mom, I sent *** ****** an email stating mom would like to cancel now and return the unit, which *** ****** ironically claims she never received.When I received no response back I called LifeFone directly and explained the situation to one of their reps and I was specifically told that I should just keep the unit until the end of the agreed term as I would not be getting any monies back for an early return.This is a very Shameful, Deceitful and Outright LIE and Disgraceful business practice, especially in their field of so-called helping service to the needy, and I am now reaching out to you through your very gracious site and channel to make the rest of the nave consumers aware of such.

Desired Settlement: I want a pro-rated refund from my initial contact date on inquiring on an early return.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Immediately after filing the unfortunate claim with you I received an email from the president of the company LifeFone *** ****** wanting to speak with me directly to quickly resolve the issue and refund back the rightful monies, which I found to be extremely honorable and sincere and which has since been done.

Once *** ****** and I did in fact speak to each other directly, he not only sincerely and professionally apologized for the issue, yet he also expressed strongly his great dissatisfaction in the way my numerous emails and direct phone call were wrongly handled by his employ and he vowed that he would be definitely addressing each and every one responsible for it to escalate to this very unnecessary point.

In closing, I want to genuinely thank you (the BBB) for providing such a gracious and grateful venue and avenue so that individuals, such as I, can not only be able to bring issues, such as this, to yours and the public attention yet also to give people such as *** ****** the opportunity and awareness to hopefully and rightfully correct them as well.

Thank you kindly for your precious time and for everything.
Sincerely yours,
*** ** *****
*** *** **** ** *****



 

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found Lifefone on the internet and requested via the internet information on their medical alert. The information was mailed to me and within two weeks, the company has been calling our house every single day with a recording stating that our equipment has already been paid for and they are going to come out to our house and install it. I cannot tell them not to stop calling and harassing my elderly mother and me because it is a recorded message.

Desired Settlement: PLEASE get these awful people to take our number off any and all calling lists they have and leave us alone!!! *** ***** ****** ** ###-###-####.

Business Response:
Dear *** *******:

I am sorry to learn that your mother received harassing, recorded messages regarding a medical alert service.
 As we discussed yesterday, I wish to assure you that those calls and messages were not sent by LifeFone.

From what you have told us, it looks like your mom was the unfortunate victim of a widespread, illegal and fraudulent
telemarketing scam that has been targeting senior citizens in both the U.S. and Canada. It has been reported
in the news across the country in an effort to warn potential victims.  Here is a link to a consumer alert that was posted
by the Better Business Bureau on June **, 2013 about this activity:

We very much appreciate your bringing this situation to our attention.  We are advising both our existing
and prospective customers not to provide personal information to anyone who calls and leaves a suspicious sounding
message, and to report any such occurrence as you did, both to us and to the BBB.

Since speaking to you, I have research the situation further to understand why you mistakenly associated LifeFone with
this activity. I can help clarify what looks to be an unfortunate coincidence .

Our records indicate that you had contacted us on 4/**/13 via our website requesting a LifeFone brochure,
which we mailed to you via USPS on 4/**/13

Subsequent to sending the brochure, we did reach out to you twice via phone to follow up with you and see if we could
answer any questions you might have about our service .
 
On 5/**/13, you indicated to us that you did not wish to receive any further contact (likely because your mom was
simultaneously and coincidentally receiving the fraudulent recorded messages from another source).  Your request
was noted in our records, and did not have contact with you again until yesterday, when I spoke to you in response to
your complaint as per above against LifeFone filed with the Better Business Bureau and directly with us.

LifeFone has been in business since 1976 and has earned an A+ reputation with the Better Business Bureau because we
hold ourselves to the highest standards of ethical conduct - the standards that both the BBB and our customers and prospects
expect and deserve. I hope this information clarifies the situation, and that LifeFone has conducted itself in a manner that meets
your expectations.

If you have any additional questions, concerns or suggestions, please let me know.
You can reach me at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ** ****** ********* ********