BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

Carry Landscaping Design & Masonry LLC

Phone: (631) 254-8954 Fax: (631) 254-8954 59 Landview Dr, Dix Hills, NY 11746 http://carrylandscapingdesign.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carry Landscaping Design & Masonry LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 04, 2010 Business started: 03/19/1998 in NY Business incorporated: 09/14/2005 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Carry, President
Business Category

MASON CONTRACTORS FENCING IRRIGATION SYSTEMS & EQUIPMENT WATER GARDENS FOUNTAINS & PONDS LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    59 Landview Dr

    Dix Hills, NY 11746

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with this company in April of 2012 for landscaping design. The initial work was beautiful. The contract stated that the company would replace any shrubs or plantings that died within a year. I began contacting the company in June of 2012 with plants that appeared distressed. I contacted them via phone message, text and email over the next year with the need to replace dying or dead shrubs. In October of 2013 the ***** finally came to my home to see what needed replacing and said he'd be back in a couple of weeks to replace the shrubs. He hasn't been back. I sent a text in November with my email asking him to tell me when they will be here the next season and still no response. He came to my house in October only when i sent him an email and told him I was going to report him to the BBB.

Desired Settlement: Replace all dead plants and shrubs.

Business Response: We are aware of the the complaint in question, unfortunately, there was miscommunication which has lead to this inquiry. 

The customer, ******* ********, who last contacted us last November, for spring planting, had relied on texting the *****, *** **** ***** direct on his cell phone rather than call the office and communicate through our secretary.  By doing so, Instead of being able to directly speak with someone who could have assured her that her job is first in line for the planting season, her texts basically got buried in my phone from other Masonry jobs that were currently in process.   

I have reached out to ******* today and left a voice mail message apologizing for the situation and when we speak I fully intend to replace and replant the itemized list of plants and trees as previously discussed. 

I must make it clear, however, that the planting is time sensitive and will be complete when the items are in season. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

*** ***** has not taken any responsibility in this complaint.  This problem and this complaint completely are as a result of *** ***** not fulfilling his contract and not because of a misunderstanding.  The last time *** ***** came to our house in June of 2013, he stated he would be back but to give him a "couple of weeks".  He has not been back nor has he or his ********* contacted us to explain why he hasn't returned.  That was a live contact, no text, email or phone call, just his promise.  And is it possible that if he saw the text from November, why it has taken him till now to contact us?  If he never saw the text, June was 8 months ago (and I do have proof that he visited then) and we went through the Fall growing season since then.  In the first year of pursuing *** ***** to replace the dead shrubs I heard about *** *****'s secretarial issues, his broken phone, etc.  All excuses for why he didn't get back to me.  Now he's blaming the fact that I texted him.  At what point is it obvious to *** ***** that 2 years after you haven't replaced dead shrubs that you were told about, that's on him.

*** *****'s ********* did leave a message to "introduce herself" and schedule an appointment (not to apologize) and we will go ahead and do so....for sometime during the growing season. 
 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ********




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carry Lanscaping did some work for me last year. They planted some tress in front of my house. the tress died. I called them,they asked to send them picture of the trees, I did. Never heard from them. I call them on 5/**/2013. They asked that i send them pictures again which I did. Now they atr telling me that there is nothing that they can do to correct the problem

Desired Settlement: To replace the trees with nw ones.

Business Response:

Hello,

   I am responding to the complaint with ***** ******. We always guarantee plants for 1 year with proper inground irrigation. I did mention this at the time. At the time there was no inground irrigation in the planting beds where the plantings were installed. I would like to work with the client and set up an appointment to go and look over everything in the spring to see what we could do for them. I am not denying to replace the plants, but would like to meet at the location first to go over everything. Thank you. 

 

Yours Truly,

 

**** *****

***** *********** ****** * ******* **** ********* ***** ********* **** ********* ********* **** ********* *** ********** ********   *********************** ************************** ******************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Synthetic turf was placed in my back yard in the process spinkler heads were capped one was leaking under my brick patio it was repaired. It started leaking ***** ******* ***** stated would repair it and do the yearly maintaince of the turf next spring. Called office multiple times appointments scheduled. They never called or showed missed work waiting for them to show up.

Desired Settlement: Would like them to repair leak under patio and service my turf yearly as requested on a scheduled appointment and show up

Business Response: Hi *****,

 
    I received the complaint. We are contacting the client on the issue.  We are going to schedule to fix the leaking sprinkler head, and maintenance the turf in the spring. Thanks please contact me if needed. 
 
**** *****
Carry Landscaping Design & Masonry
**************************
###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service