BBB Accredited Business since

WineRacks.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (845) 658-7181 Fax: (845) 658-5309 View Additional Phone Numbers 819 Route 32, Tillson, NY 12486 http://www.wineracks.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm manufactures and sells all types of wine storage to residential and commercial customers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that WineRacks.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on WineRacks.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1992 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1999 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Babcock, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Babcock, President
Business Category

MANUFACTURERS & PRODUCERS WINE STORAGE EQUIPMENT


Additional Locations

  • 819 Route 32

    Tillson, NY 12486

  • PO Box 67

    High Falls, NY 12440

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last fall I employed a company to install a wine room in my house. They purchased wine racks from WineRacks.com and billed it to my credit card. The charge appeared on my statement on November **, 2014 for $7,014.00. Delivery of the wine racks was repeatedly delayed with the company representative giving a variety of excuses for not shipping them within the time promised. In the end, the order was not received until January **, 2015, two full months after my card had been charged the full amount.Upon arrival the firm inspected the shipment and determined that there were literally dozens of defects and that the quality of the wine racks was far below what had been expected based on the WineRack.com web site and the company representations. They advised WineRacks.com of the problems and were instructed to open all of the packages and send me images of the issues. After reviewing the list of the affected components along with pictures, WineRacks.com apologized for the issues and on February *, 1015, informed them that after reviewing your parts replacement list with our company ********* we have come to the conclusion that we think it would be best if you palatize the racks and ship them back. The defective wine racks were then re-packaged, wrapped and palatized and shipped back to WineRacks.com on February **, 2015. When I was informed that WineRacks.com was taking the position that certain cracks in the wood were natural and they only intended to replace the problems that they judged to be required, I became extremely concerned. Not only were there serious defects with the products they had shipped to usdefects that they acknowledgedbut the overall quality was very poor and they had cost me the expense to pay the company for taking the wrapping off all of the racks, itemizing and photographing the defects and then repacking, wrapping and palatizing the racks and arranging for their return.I asked the company to convey my concerns about the WineRack.coms response to the company and they did that. The company then began refusing to communicate with the company. When that was brought to my attention, I wrote a letter to WineRack.com sharing my discomfort with their conduct, indicating that I did not wish to have any product returned to me and demanding a refund. After that there was a very unpleasant exchange with WineRacks.com with them claiming that the return was only to allow them to fix the items they deemed to require replacement and suggested for the first time that some unidentified pieces were custom pieces. I responded that in their e-mail of January **, 2015 they had expressly indicated that We will refund you when the racks return to our facility based on our terms and conditions. When I review my invoice there is no indication that any of the items are custom, in fact they are all listed as standard pieces. And there are no terms and conditions on the invoice and neither I nor any one from the company signed any contract with WineRacks.com containing any so-called terms and conditions.On March *, 2015, I sent an e-mail to WineRacks.com reiterating my request for a refund, and ending with the statement that if you choose to refund less than the full amount, I can then decide what I wish to do in connection with any amount you refuse to refund. I have received no communication from WineRacks.com since my March *, 2015 e-mail and so far as I know they have made no refund even though they have had all of the wine racks in their possession for more than a month and have had my money for nearly four months.

Desired Settlement: Refund of my payment of $7,014.00 to my **** card.

Business Response: The company employed by ****** **** contacted WineRacks.com on 11/**
looking to order several advantage series wine racks which they were going to place
one in front of another to create an effect like double deep racks. The order
that they were initially going to place would have been $7506.5.

However, one of WineRacks.com's reps worked closely with  ****** ****'s associate and let him know that
the configuration they were looking to do would not work.

Upon helping ****** ****'s associate, an order for actual double
deep racks was placed on 11/**. The order placed on 11/** was $7,104 which actually
saved the customer $402.5 as well as the hassle of trying to fashion racks to
work in a way in which they were not designed.

****** ****'s associate was informed on the phone on 11/**
and again in an email on 12/** that the "order was composed of some custom
racks."  

He was informed that there would be a 3 - 5 week production lead time and
that his card would be charged in full at the time of order.

****** ****'s associate was then emailed the receipt for the order as well
as an invoice which clearly stated the 3 - 5 week lead time. Both clearly
showed the order was paid in full at time of purchase.

Unfortunately, due to the holidays and snow closures, that lead time was
extended slightly.

As per Wineracks.com's terms and conditions, (clearly posted on the company
website *****************), "WineRacks.com
does not guarantee any estimated ship date and cannot be held responsible for
orders that are delayed due to production changes or Acts of God."

****** ****'s associate was emailed updates about his order including
tracking when the racks shipped.

On 1/**, ****** ****'s associate contacted WineRacks.com about issues with
the racks. Two of WineRacks.com's reps worked with him via both email and phone
to try to correct these issues.

 It was explained to him several
times that WineRacks.com would be happy to send replacement parts as necessary at
no additional charge to him or *** ****.

Unfortunately, in the midst of this process, another representative on
behalf of *** **** became involved. On 1/**, he called in on two separate
occasions and yelled at two separate employees at WineRacks.com.

*** ****'s representative also sent various derogatory and threatening
emails despite WineRacks.com's good faith attempts to rectify any defects he
found in his product. 

One such email, sent to several WineRacks.com employees on 2/*, stated that
he would just contact his credit card company and say he never authorized the
charge (a lie).

*** ****'s representative then called in several more times on 2/*, yelling
at both a customer service representative and the company's bookkeeper.

Throughout this, WineRacks.com worked to reach an amicable outcome based on
the company's outlined terms and conditions.

WineRacks.com has numerous emails that show they agreed to pay to ship back
*** ****'s entire order, inspect it and fully repair or replace any defective
pieces and then return the order to the customer at no additional charge.  These emails can be furnished upon request.

*** ****'s representative agreed to this repair both over the phone and via
email.

When the order had been fully repaired, upon WineRacks.com contacting the
customer to arrange shipping back to him, he then decided that he didn't want
them and wanted a full refund for the entire order.

WineRacks.com then informed the customer that  they would be unable to refund him the amount
for the custom-made pieces and that there would be a 20% restocking fee for the
other pieces. All of this is clearly outlined in the company's Terms &
Conditions available on their website.

 As per those terms and conditions, WineRacks.com
also reserves the right to issue a refund within 90 days of receipt of
the item. This is in also accordance with the terms and conditions of ***** ******** ********** *** ****

This policy has been explained to *** **** via email


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 Rather than respond to the critical issues regarding its untimely performance and defective products, WineRack offers no solution and merely engages in a one sided argument of "who said what to whom."  
WineRack's response is more notable for what it does not say than what it does say.  It does not deny that:
1.  my credit card was billed $7,104 on November **, 2014 pursuant to a WineRacks invoice that does not identify any "custom" racks;
2.  the wine racks were delivered late;
 3.  when the wine racks did arrive there were more than 100 defects and the racks were of poor quality;
 4. because of the itemized and photographed defects WineRack's ********* asked that the entire order be returned to WineRacks;
5.  the e-mail instructing my colleagues to return the order informed us that they could be returned for a refund according to WineRack's "terms and conditions" without any reference to any so-called "custom" racks;
6. upon learning that WineRacks did not intend to replace the defective racks but merely repair those they felt required repair I immediately informed WineRacks that I wished to have a refund and did not wish to do further business with them; 
7.  WineRacks has had all of the wine racks in their possession for more than two months;  and
8.  despite repeated requests WineRacks continues to refuse to make any refund of any amount and continues to hold my entire payment of $7,104.
In short, WineRacks has offered no solution whatsoever.  It merely claims that it is entitled to keep my entire payment despite its admission that its performance was not timely and its products were defective. It has now been rewarded for its unsatisfactory performance by having the use of more than $7,000 of my money for more than four months with no end in sight.
I have hesitated to elevate this dispute to a more serious level with the hope that WineRacks would propose an acceptable solution but it appears this is not likely to happen so I am left with little choice.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ****




 

Business Response:

We have been in business for over twenty years and naturally want to supply the best possible customer service.  We have been successful because of the quality and value of our product and because we stand behind it. In fact, the majority of our growth is through referrals. That speaks volumes for the quality and character of our reputable company.

We have worked diligently with *** **** and his associates to remedy this situation.

1.  One of ****** ****'s associates was informed when he called in that some of the double deep racks were custom. These racks are not on the website as they are not standard components. He was informed of this again via email when the racks were still in production. If there was an issue with some of the racks being custom then this could have been addressed before the order shipped. The terms and conditions regarding custom racks is also clearly stated on our website


2.  
*** ****'s representative was informed that there would be a 3 - 5 week production lead time and that his card would be charged in full at the time of order.

*** ****'s representative was then emailed the receipt for the order as well as an invoice which clearly stated the 3 - 5 week lead time. Both clearly showed the order was paid in full at time of purchase.

Unfortunately, due to the holidays and snow closures, that lead time was extended slightly.  *** ****'s associate was emailed about this.

While we acknowledge that the order did not ship within the estimated lead, as per Wineracks.com's terms and conditions, (clearly posted on the company website *****************), "WineRacks.com does not guarantee any estimated ship date and cannot be held responsible for orders that are delayed due to production changes or Acts of God."


 3.  WineRacks.com requested the racks be shipped back for a repair in part because the amount of flaws was in dispute.

Many of the pictures provided by *** ****'s associate would show the same component several times over while also including disparaging remarks about our staff. There were also a few flawed components that could have been replaced with just a bottle support but *** ****'s associate instead requested multiple ladders.

As a result, it was difficult to determine what replacement parts were needed. Typically, in the rare instances we need to repair a rack, we ship replacement parts to the client and this satisfies the issue.

When it became evident this would not satisfy *** ****'s associate, we requested the racks be shipped back for a repair.


 4. *** **** cites an email where "WineRack's ********* asked that the entire order be returned to WineRacks." This email was sent by our bookkeeper after meeting with our company ********* and going over all of the issues outlined by *** ****.

The email goes on to state that we would like them returned for "the opportunity to fix and repair the racks at our facility."

*** ****'s associate agreed to this and I have included those emails as an attachment.

We picked the racks up per this agreement.

There were also several emails and phone calls exchanged between *** ****'s associate and WineRacks.com's bookkeeper that further specify that the racks were to be repaired.

The racks were promptly picked up by a freight carrier and repairs were conducted the day of their return. Our production staff worked to make these repairs as agreed upon.

When the order had been fully repaired, upon WineRacks.com contacting *** ****'s associate to arrange shipping back to him, he then decided that he didn't want them and wanted a full refund for the entire order.

*** **** states in this dispute that "upon learning that WineRacks did not intend to replace the defective racks but merely repair those they felt required repair I immediately informed WineRacks that I wished to have a refund."

 However, it was stated several times to *** ****'s associate that the racks were being authorized as a repair.

*** ****'s associate responded to our suggestion to repair the racks positively and authorized for them to be returned as a repair. Emails stating this have also been attached.

However, we have offered two solutions as per our terms and conditions.

The repaired order can be shipped back to *** ****.

Or WineRacks.com will offer a refund as per our terms and conditions. We would be unable to refund him the amount for the custom-made pieces and that there would be a 20% restocking fee for the other pieces. All of this is clearly outlined in the company's Terms & Conditions available on their website.

We are also currently working with *** ****'s credit card company to resolve a dispute he filled. As of this date, he has been refunded.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your IAnswer Here]

I reponded previously and explained why the response by the business did not address the fundamental issue that they have my money as well as all of the product involved.   

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ****




 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on WineRacks.com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)