BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Grand Wine Cellar

Phone: (516) 496-9463 Fax: (516) 496-9465 40 Cold Spring Road, Syosset, NY 11791 http://www.grandwinecellar.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Grand Wine Cellar meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Grand Wine Cellar include:

  • 10 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Grand Wine Cellar include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 18, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2004 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/2004 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Liquor Authority - All NYS
80 S. Swan Street, 9th Floor, Albany NY 12210
http://www.sla.ny.gov/
Phone Number: (518) 474-3114

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Maneet Anand, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Maneet Anand, Manager
Business Category

LIQUOR STORES

Alternate Business Names
Bottle Deals, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 40 Cold Spring Road

    Syosset, NY 11791

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/**/14 I placed an order on Grand Wine Cellar's website for 12 bottles of "Ron Abuelo Rum Anejo 12 Anos 750ml" for $17.99 each totaling $215.88 plus Shipping and Handling of $39.38 for an Order Total of $255.26. I called the store as well before completing the online order to ensure a proper delivery date when an adult would be present to sign for the package. The order was processed and paid in full with no issues mentioned during the call or transaction. Four days later on 4/**/14, I received an email stating "... unfortunately the pricing for the rum is incorrect on our website.  The package on the rum change recently and did not reflect on the website correctly. A case of the rum is actually a 6 pack, not 12.  So the price you have for $215.88  is for 6 bottles.  Let me know if you still want 12 or just the 6 pack..." So, after making a deal for 17.99 each for 12 bottles and making payment in full and in good faith, with a telephone opportunity to discuss details, they were effectively doubling the price to 35.98 a bottle which is the highest retail price I have seen for this product by far. I called the store and explained to the rep who had sent the email that this was not doing business in good faith and they should live up to the agreement they already took payment for. She consulted her ******* and stated while she agrees with my position and would like to honor the price he was unwilling to do so. He would not even compromise on honoring half the quantity for the $17.99 each. I said this was unacceptable as 35.98 was an exorbitant price, especially after making a deal for half that already. They said they would cancel the order, but could not tell me when they would return my funds, only that I would receive an email when it was processed. I feel they should honor the agreed price per bottle, at least for 6 if not the original quantity of 12 ordered.

Desired Settlement: Honoring of the original deal for 12 bottles of "Ron Abuelo Rum Anejo 12 Anos 750ml" for $17.99 each totaling $215.88 plus Shipping and Handling of $39.38 for an Order Total of $255.26 as paid for.

Business Response: Dear Moderator, the listing on our website was incorrect because the packaging on the product was changed recently by the supplier from 12 to 6 but it did not reflect with the price on our website. This was corrected as soon as we found it that it was error. Our website shipping policies clearly states on our shipping page item no 11. Our terms also acknowledged by the customer before placing the order and copy of the terms are sent to them as well. We did mention this to the customer but at this time we cannot do anything. If the customer wants the 6 bottles as a courtesy we can waive the shipping charges so the order total will be $215.66. Thanks

*************************************************************

11. Product listing on the website
While we make every effort to show accurate product listings on our website, Grand Wine Cellar is not responsible for typographical, pricing errors, incorrect image and omissions. Thank you for your understanding.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/10/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A couple of years ago, I ordered 4 bottles of Stranahan's Colorado Whiskey, only three were delivered. I was told they were out of stock and I would get the fourth when available. I called peridically for about a year and never received my missing bottle. I decided to let it go, lesson learned. Today while searching for the same whiskey, I noticed Grand Wine Cellar still advertises as selling it. Further, I noticed they were members of BBB and decided to file a complaint

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my missing bottle of Stranahan's Colorado Whiskey.

Business Response: Our older orders have been archived and no one has a recollection of this order being partially shipped. This item is hard to get and periodically becomes available but at the request of the customer we will ship the 4th bottle that was short shipped to his home address.
 
 Regards,
***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/31/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The item purchased was a Johnny Walker Blue Label Limited Edition box set complete with a 750 ml bottle of the whiskey and insignia shot glasses. When the bottle was eventually opened, no bottle of whiskey was present. This was a special gift purchased for my husband. Such an extravagant bottle of whiskey is meant for celebratory occasions in our home. the shipping box was never even opened. It wasn't until about a year and half later when we wanting to celebrate, my husband noticed only the bottle missing. The glasses were still present. When I called the customer service number to describe what had happened a gentleman answered identifying himself as the manager. When he flatly refused to help me in any way, I informed him of my intentions to post negative reviews online, as well as, file a complaint with the BBB. He said if the purchase date had been in 2012 he would be willing to help me. When I indicated that the purchase date was only 13 days short of 2012 he continued to refuse to help. I asked to speak with a superior and he told me he was the manager and the owner would also refuse to help. I then asked for his name upon which he refused that, as well and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I believe the manager showed no empathy. This was the second time purchasing the same item. While a significant amount of time had lapsed between the purchase date and the date the bottle was noticed to be missing, I am a returning customer and some offer, or even apology at the very least could have been made. I would have hoped that he may have offered me perhaps a $50 credit towards the purchase of another Johnny Walker Blue Label bottle which I even suggested and was willing to do at the time of my phone call.

Business Response: We received your phone call and arbitration notification from BBB. We do
understand your concern but it is a very difficult situation to resolve
since the order is dated back in 2011. We do specify on our website that all
issues must be reported within a reasonable time frame so we can resolve
them if any. It is not only us , even the biggest online/store retailer
would give you the same answer and I am sure you understand it as well. At
this time it is very difficult to pin point what exactly happened in 2011
with your delivery.

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on 12/** and receieved and email from the grand wine cellar that my order had been shipped via 2 day as i paid for. On 12/** i called the grand wine cellar and they said they were busy but the order will be shipped out that day. By 12/** the order was still received and when checking with UPS the order has not been not shipped out grand wine cellar. When speaking with GWC they said the order still had not shipped On 12/** I cancelled my order for $437.75 . GWC said they would do some checking and get back to me as to if they were going to refund my money for the product that was not shipped.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund.

Business Response: Apologies for the delay in responding to this complaint. This was resolved with the customer and recipient. Customer package was lost in transit and UPS have issued us a claim and amount back to us. After customer called and told us about the package we have corresponded with them with all possible options. Due to shorter shipping days prior to Christmas UPS did not delivery any packages on ****, ****, **** and **** and on ****, ****, **** and *** resulting in the delay in shipping the new package.We were also in touch with the intended recipient who was provided us with the new shipping address. Also as a courtesy we had the new package shipped on the *** and as a courtesy refund of the shipping amount was processed back to his card.

 
Regards,
*** *********************** ****** ************ **** ************ ****** ************************
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2013 Delivery Issues
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/13/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/23/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues