BBB Accredited Business since

We Got Lites

Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 415-4837 View Additional Phone Numbers 360 Industrial Loop, Staten Island, NY 10309 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that We Got Lites meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for We Got Lites include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on We Got Lites
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 2007 Business started: 10/14/2004 in NY Business incorporated 06/26/2006 in NY
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. William Adler, Chief Operations Officer Ms. Tina Lioce, Director of Operations Mr. Joshua Marshal , Cheif Executive Officer Mr. Jacob Setti, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tina Lioce, Director of Operations
Business Category


Additional Locations

  • 1929 86th Street

    Brooklyn, NY 11214

  • 360 Industrial Loop

    Staten Island, NY 10309 (718) 317-6263 (866) 415-4837


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a floor lamp online on November *, 2013 in the amount of $502.50, Order No. *******. It states on the website to allow 8-12 weeks. After the allotted time, I called a few times and spoke with a lady and she first said that the shipments were stuck somewhere, and the other times she said she would have customer service contact me regarding a refund. I never heard back from them. Then on October *, 2014, I sent an email along with the copy of my receipt asking for a refund. Again, I did not hear back. It has been over a year and I have not received the item I ordered nor a refund. There has been no communication to me from this company. In addition, the item I ordered is still being advertised for sell so I do not know what is going on.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund in the form of a check as the credit card I used for this transaction was used fraudulently and was replaced.

Business Response: Hello *** *******,

I want to start off by apologizing for this oversight.  We take full responsibility for our negligence. 

Secondly, I would like to introduce myself.  My name is **** and I am the newest member of WeGotLites, Inc.  Part of my role with the company is to put systems in place to prevent such issues.  Your frustration is completely understandable.  However, I do hope you accept our sincerest apologies and possibly reconsider doing business with us again in the future.

Finally, I am happy to inform you that a check in the amount of $502.50 has been mailed out this morning.

Again, we apologize and thank you for your understanding and patience.

**** ******** ** ********** **** ************ ********************* ******************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


******* *******


2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a light fixture that had been previously opened. Upon inspection the fixture was already broken and of EXTREMELY poor quality. Called to arrange a return and was told that there would be a 25% RESTOCKING FEE as well as I had to pay for shipping back. TOTAL RIP OFF!!!! This is NOT WHAT the return policy states.

Desired Settlement: This company needs to reimburse me for the cost of the light fixture and the cost to ship it back.

Business Response: Hello ******,

We apologize for any inconvenience the customer may have experienced.  Please understand that we stand behind our products but they are fragile and may be easily damaged in transit.  As a result, we offer replacement parts and fixtures at absolutely no cost to the customer.  However, if the customer decides that they no longer want the items they purchased even after we offer to rectify the damage, the return is treated as buyer's remorse.  The return policy is clearly stated on our website as follows:

Freight Damage:

Please inspect shipments immediately upon receipt. Many of our products are fragile and may sustain
damage during shipping, even if the carton appears to be in good condition. If the merchandise has
been damaged during shipment, be sure to notify the office of WeGotLites no later than 7 days upon
receiving the item, allowing proper time to file a claim through the carrier. A claim will be filed with the
carrier to credit your account for the damaged fixture(s), which we will replace at no cost. If the
damaged product is repairable with replacement parts, these parts will be shipped at no cost. will not be responsible for expedited shipping of any replacement parts or products. If
you would like to return the damaged product with no replacement, the return will be subject to our
standard return policy.

Returns is the best place to buy lighting & home décor
products online for wholesale prices. We stand behind our products and
guarantee your satisfaction with every order. Just make sure to set up
your return within 7 days of your product(s) delivery date, complete the
Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) form, await the issued RMA
number, and send the product back un-installed and in the original
packaging, and you will get a store credit or refund, with the terms

To receive a store credit (less shipping costs and a 15% re-stocking
fee), or refund (less shipping costs and a 25% re-stocking fee), please
make sure of the following:

All returned merchandise must be in resalable condition
The product must be free from scratches and/or defects
All merchandise cannot have been installed or assembled
You must have the original box(es) and packaging for the item
Returned merchandise was not a sale, clearance, closeout, of
final sale product. For more information, please see "Exceptions" below.
Merchandise may not be returned with missing parts or components
There cannot be any writing or labels on the packaging for the item
Notify Customer Service within 7 days of receiving your order

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience.


**** ***** ****** ******* * ********** **** ************ ********************* * ******************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The product was received broken and not because of shipping damage.  The box had been previously opened and whoever opened it damaged it.  The fixture is of such poor quality that it is easy to see how that could have happened.  The company states that they stand behind their product.  They want to charge me 25% restocking fee for a cheap light fixture that was broken when I received it?   This has nothing to do with "replacing broken parts".  

The product should not have been shipped in it's broken condition.  I have to pay to have it shipped back?  

..."We stand behind our products and guarantee your satisfaction with every order."  ????





In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

******** *****


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved beca

A full refund for store credit is fine.  You must pay for shipping back of your broken light.
our Answer Here]





In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

******** *****


Business Response: Hello ******,

We will be sending the customer a ***** calltag via email.  We ask that she repackage the item as it was sent to her.  Once the item arrives to our warehouse a Merchandise Credit will be issued in the full amount.

Thank you,


1/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On dec ** I placed an order. On dec ** and ** I called to cancel the order. My status online showed pending. The man I spoke to on both days promised to have someone call be back. Needless to say I never received a return call. On dec ** my status was still pending. I sent them an email from their site once again requesting that they cancel my order. To this day, dec **, I have not received a response to my call or email. On dec **, I received an email from ***** stating that I would receive receive shipment on dec **. The package had not arrived in my city yet. I called ***** and told them to return to sender because I do not want the package and they said that would not be a problem. I then called the company to tell them that I refused the package and that I had tried several times to cancel without success. She was very rude and said that she would make sure I was charged a 25 percent fee. I asked why since I tried multiple times to cancel before shipment and I refused delivery. She then said that I only had one hour from the ime that I ordered to change my mind. I have thoroughly read their terms and it does not state that anywhere.

Desired Settlement: Full refund. I have also disputed the charges with my credit card company.

Business Response: Hello ******,
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience the customer may have experienced.  Our facility was closed on December **** and **** in observation of the Christmas holiday and did not return until December ****.  We do employ an answering service during non business hours to take messages for return calls.  *** ******'s package was shipped directly from the manufacturer on the **** before we were able to respond to her messages.  She placed the order on December **** and attempted to cancel three days later.  Her order had already shipped.  Our one hour cancellation policy is clearly stated on our website as follows:


We go out of our way to ship as quickly as possible and will make every
attempt to cancel your order, if necessary. However, many of our
products ship direct from the manufacturer to you. In the event that you
would like to cancel your order, we will need to confirm with the
individual manufacturer that your order has not been shipped. Once we
have confirmation that your order has been canceled, we will credit your

Entire or partial orders can be canceled within one hour of the order
being placed. Cancellation fees may apply, depending on order
processing. Orders can not be canceled after the manufacturer has
processed or shipped the items. Requests to cancel your order can be
accepted by calling a customer service representative Toll Free at
###-###-####. Cancellation requests will NOT
be accepted by form of email. Once you speak with a representative and
confirm that your order may be canceled at that time, you will receive
an email confirming that your We Got Lites order has successfully been
canceled. Your order will remain "In Process" and not successfully
canceled unless you receive a confirmation via email that your order was

If we were not able to cancel your order and it has already been
shipped, please do not refuse the shipment as this could result in
cancellation fees being assessed. Please contact Customer Support for
return instructions.

As you can see, even if we had been open to receive the customer's call, her order was already in process and would have gotten charged a cancellation fee regardless.  The fee of 25% is a manufacturing fee, as the item will have to be returned directly to their facility and restocked.  Again, we apologize.


**** ***** ****** ******* * ********** **** ************ ********************* * ******************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

My status showed pending up to dec ****. At that time it showed processing. On dec **** it showed shipped.  If it was an answering service that I spoke with they did not identify themselves as such.  And they still never replied to my message.  I also had three other people read their terms and none of us could find where it said I had one hour to change my mind.  If it does say that then it was just changed to say that. 




In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

***** ******


1/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: An order for $1075 was placed on 10/**/2012. The products never arrived and the company will not ship my order or refund my money. I can't get a hold of a manager when I call. The representatives on the phone have said my order will arrive in 4-6 weeks every time I call for over a year.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund in the amount of $1075.

Business Response:

Re: ID# *******

Customer: **** *********** *******

To whom it may concern,

    The customer placed an order for three separate light fixtures.  He received two of the three and has been waiting for over a year for the third.  The delay is due to the fact that we had to order this custom piece from overseas. The customer was initially informed that there would be a significant wait time for the third item. We did not expect that wait time to be this long, and we do apologize for the incorrect estimation for delivery.  According to *** *******, the two light fixtures he has received are useless without the third.  However, he has already installed and has been using the other ?two light fixtures.

    We will gladly refund the customer for the third fixture which he did not receive or provide him with a full refund, in exchange for the other two light fixtures being returned to us.  We will also provide him with the return labels and packing materials to ship the product in his possession back.

    Please advise as we feel this is a reasonable solution for both parties involved.  Customer service is our priority and we believe this to be an isolated incident and oversight on our part, please accept our sincere apologies.


**** *****
Director of Operations

Business Response:


Business sent copy of a check.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

I still have not received a refund for the other lights. I will not ship them to you only to wait over a year again to receive payment. Sending a refund after one year and telling you that I was initiating a suit against you was the only way to receive a partial refund. I refuse to send products before any refund has been provided to an unethical company whom constantly lies about their products and refunds.




In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


**** *******


9/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered several chandeliers from this company in October of 2012, since I won't be needing it right there and then so I decided to put in a 9 month layaway plan. Every month they will take 281.66 from my checking account, it went well until April **. I was charged 281.66 on April **, 2013 and another 281.66 in May *, 2013. I didn't mind this because I was thinking that I could pay the layaway faster. In June **, 2013 I was charged again with 281.66. By the first week of July 2013, I called their office and inquired why they didn't ship my orders yet and that's when I found out that I still lack 1 more payment, so I gave them all the dates that they took 281.66 from my checking account as per my bank statements but they told me that I still lack 1 more payment since the April **, 2013 payment was voided, if I won't pay 1 more payment then my order will not be shipped. So I made a payment on July *, 2013 so that they can shipped my order. I was also told that they will investigate about this problem but it will take 3 weeks for them to do it. I waited patiently and called them back after 3 weeks but then they told me that the investigation will take more time. It was towards the last week of July when I called them that they told me just to file a dispute in my bank. I went to the bank but the bank told me that I couldn't file dispute anymore since it was more than 90 days. i called back this company and they told me that they are still waiting for their bank to give them more information. Today when I called them I was told that the charge on April **, 2013 was voided and I was refunded no date or whatsoever stated when did that refund made, I am so frustrated because I don't know what to do now.

Desired Settlement: I just want to be refunded of the 281.66 from the voided check on April **, 2013. I have proofs from my bank statements that I never received any refund from this company. I want a refund check mailed to me if possible.

Business Response: We have determined that the customer is in fact correct, and we apologize for the delay in getting this processed. We have issued a refund to the customer in the amount of $281.66, check #**** mailed USP on 8/**/2013. The disputed amount listed on her complaint was $261.88 which I believe may have been a typo due to the information provided in the complaint, so we have issued a refund for the correct amount. Customer service is our priority and we believe this to be an isolated incident and oversight on our part, please accept our sincere apologies and hope that this has been settled to your satisfaction. If you need any further assistance please feel free to contact me directly, ***** ******, Operations ****** ************** or ###-###-####

7/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought 2 diffrent set of lights on 1 purchase, on 4/**/2013 a fews days later said 1 item was on back order, wouldnt ship the other item because that would be 2 shipments. Original date for back order was 5/**/2013. We called on 5/**/2013 to see if our lites were in and they said still on back order. But what we really wanted to know was why $653.40 was taken out of our debit card again on MAY* 2013? they said they would get back to us. May **** 2013 we called again still no answer about the 2nd unauthorized carge but they are looking into it. 6/**/2013 we called again and our lites got pushed back to july we still could get no answer they said thier bank is working on it. 6/**/2013 we called agai, they said maybe in a week we should get our unauthorized charge back? 6/**/2013 called and said cancel original order, I want all my money back. ****** said it might be awhile for unauthorize charge but I will cancel orginal order. I said I wanted in my acct by 7/*/2013 end of business day. 7/*/2013 I called ****** she said the order was still not cancelled give me a few days. I said no I just did that on 6/**/2013 she said the manufacture has not gotten back to her. I told how very upset I am at your company you have $1306.80 of my money with no product. I told her that my bank says that the unauthorized charge taken out on a Sunday and not returned yet is very suspicious, I said if you would of sent me the 2 lites out of 4 we might be a little more understanding. ****** said we dont have any. I have an email saying they have to in stock. When we ordered, they said it was in stock, they did call and tell us its on back order, but its been over 2 months and no product and no time set for the return of my money.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund and I would like $500.00 extra for all this time and effort. They are rude and just try to lead you on.

Business Response:
To Whom This May Concern:

We have reviewed the statement of this problem from our customer **. & **** ********** and investigated this matter with our customer service representatives, as well as reviewed all history in our database and order processing to come to the following conclusion.

Addressing each of the customer's statements and complaints in reference to item(s) from their order being out-of-stock:

On 4/**/2013, **** ******** ********** placed an online order (number *******) for three products. One item for a quantity of two, and another for a quantity of one. An email confirmation was sent immediately, which states the following information: “You'll soon receive additional emails regarding your order as it is processed. Shipping times vary, depending on the vendor, and average between 5-10 business days. You will receive a notification with tracking information once your order ships to track your delivery. In the event that any item on your order is back-ordered with a vendor or not immediately in stock in our warehouses, customer service will notify you within the next 48 hours.” All products on our website do not have active inventory displays, due to manufactures having products on back-order, therefore this notification allows time after an order is placed to accurately check with our vendors the real-time inventory. If for any reason a product, o r products from an order are not available, we reach out to our customers by phone and/or email to advise them of any delays, or back-orders, and confirm if they would like to wait, select from something else, or cancel.
On 4/**/2013, *****, our customer service representative contacted **** ********** to alert them of a back-order. **** ********** did not answer, and a voicemail was left to return our call regarding their order.
On 4/**/2013, **** ********** contacted our office and we had notified them that our manufacturer where these products would ship from had a portion of their order on back-order with an estimated time to arrive in about 4-5 weeks. We had advised the vendor did have the remaining items on the order available, therefore they would receive the order in two shipments. Once confirming the order and back-order, we had processed the order and submitted this to our vendor to ship what is available first, and place the out-of-stock item on pre-order. Back-orders are in first come, first serve basis, and dates may change depending on the manufacturing, transit time, etc. In the event there would be any push-backs, we do our best to provide our customers immediate notifications regarding their orders with us.
On 5/**/2013, we received word from our vendor that unfortunately their inventory for the “in stock” merchandise was not valid, and now all products on the order (they are in the same family, which are new introductions) are out-of-stock, and due to arrive to their facility 6/**/2013. That very same day, after confirming with our vendor that they could not locate any of the products sooner, ***** from customer service called **** ********** to advise of the delay, and also sent an email to contact our office (email is included to this file) regarding their order. Shortly thereafter that evening, **** ********** contacted our office and became aware of the new lead time for the merchandise. **** ********** confirmed that they would like to continue to wait for the lighting fixtures they purchased.
On 6/**/2013, our orders department contacted our vendor for delivery on the merchandise that was due in this time. Our vendor has advised the items did not finish production, and not on the water yet from overseas, and will be another 4 weeks out. ***** from customer service contacted **** ********** by phone, and left a voicemail to return our call regarding their purchahse.
On 6/**/2013, *** ********** contacted our office returning our call and asked why their order is taking so long to fulfill. Our representative, ******, did explain to the gentleman that occasionally back-order dates do change, and we have informed **** ********** throughout this time-frame of ordering any changes or happenings to their order status. *** ********** was quite upset that this order is taking so long to fulfill, and mentioned he may be interested in canceling the order. A cancellation was not confirmed at that time, however later in the afternoon *** ********** contacted us back and asked that his order be canceled and he is taken off the pre-order for this merchandise. We advised that once this has been submitted to our vendor and the cancellation is confirmed, he will receive a confirmation email and the refund will be issued back to his original form of payment within 21 business days. *** ********** mentioned to ****** that he will be submitting a complaint to the BBB if this matter wasn't resolved. ****** informed *** ********** that we have had full communication with his wife, who placed this order, and have done everything we can to inform them about their status of the order. ****** did mention to *** ********** that she will be submitted a cancellation request with our vendor to no longer wait for this merchandise, and once that was confirmed the refund would be shown on his credit card within 21 business days, at the latest. *** ********** agreed and stated he will “hold off on submitting a complaint with the BBB”.
On 7/*/2013, we received confirmation from our vendor that the merchandise was canceled from pre-order, and the request for refund was submitted to our billing department.
On 7/**/2013, *** ********** contacted our representative, ******, and asked why the order was not yet canceled. ****** advised *** ********** it was canceled just days ago, however the refund process may take up to 3 weeks at the very latest. *** ********** understood.

Addressing each of the customer's statements and complaints in reference to a duplicate charge/authorization on their credit card:

Unfortunate circumstances with our credit card merchant terminal and a glitch with authorizing/capturing charges had resulted in several of our customer's to show duplicate charges on their credit card statement for one billing cycle. This matter had been addressed with our credit card merchant, and due to this issue, our company has since changed credit card processing agencies. At the time our billing department was aware of this situation, we recognized the issue, and had issued a refund towards the original payment immediately. Attached are our records indicating that on 5/*/2013, a full refund from the purchase was refunded, which voided out any duplicate payment. It seems that the cardholder did not see these funds be reimbursed to his credit card account, therefore this is when legal action had been taken against the credit card merchant on our companies behalf, to release the funds from our merchant back to the cardholder. This is a matter which is under legal in vention, and we advised our client that the payment was refunded on our end, and this investigation should be closed within reasonable time.

The refund for the full amount of their order was submitted once the order had been canceled, therefore at this time the “original” credit card transaction has been completed in the form of a refund, and also the second duplicate charge. If unfortunately, the first payment that our billing department has confirmed to be refunded did not appear back on the customers billing statement, our legal team has advised that the client may dispute the initial charge to receive these funds back into his account faster than the investigation may take to complete. Our representatives has also advised *** ********** of this information.

At the present time, the desired settlement of *** ********** in regards to issuing a complete refund has been processed. We disagree that our customer support team throughout processing have treated *** or **** ********** poorly in any fashion, and our team has went above and beyond in treating our customers with the utmost respect and care. We unfortunately cannot reimburse ******** ********** a $500.00 compensation, however will gladly issue a discount card to use on any future purchases with our company if they decide to shop with us again at a later time.

Thank you.

We Got Lites

7/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2012 I purchased a light fixture from the website of We Got Lites. The product was delivered and I did not think the color was appropriate so I drove the product to one of the store's two locations (at that time), located in Brooklyn, NY. I returned the item to the store and the store issued me a credit of $538.93. The credit form states that it expires on Aug. **, 2013. This week I contacted We Got Lites using the customer service phone number posted on the website, and asked to purchase a light fixture using my store credit. The customer service individual (a female who did not identify herself) told me that We Got Lites would not honor the store credit because I had returned the item to the Brooklyn location, and not the Staten Island location. Apparently We Got Lites had multiple locations and was a family-owned business but in March or April 2013 the business was split, and now the two locations operate independently of each other. The customer service representative told me that I needed to contact the Brooklyn location, that Staten Island would not honor the credit, and then told me that she had no idea how to get in touch with the Brooklyn location (despite the fact that the businesses had been one and the same up until a year ago). I asked to speak to her supervisor, since I found this all ridiculous, and she took my name and number and of course no one ever called me back. I contacted the Brooklyn location, and the Brooklyn store would not honor the credit since the payment had been received by the Staten Island location, and because the store credit was issued on the Staten Island location's letterhead. My receipt with the store credit is on We Got Lites letterhead. The address on the store credit form is the Staten Island address, and uses the Staten Island phone number. My payment details from PayPal reflect that the $538.93 I paid went to the Staten Island location. There is absolutely no basis upon which We Got Lites can base its refusal to honor this store credit.

Desired Settlement: I want the credit, and in fact I don't even want a store credit any longer since this company clearly is disreputable and dishonest. They can't be trusted.

Business Response: To Whom This May Concern:
Re: Case ID *******

We have reviewed the statement of this problem from our past customer ******** ******** and investigated this thoroughly to come to a resolution.

Regarding the customer's statement and problem:

Our system does indicate that our customer was unsatisfied with their order # ******* (purchased online on July ****, 2012) and initiated a return with our call center on August ****, 2013. Our returns  department associate assisted *** ******** in reviewing our return policy, and *** ******** opted to receive a store credit towards a future purchase and receive the total purchase price of their order ($538.93) in the form of a WeGotLites Virtual Gift Certificate. To save on return shipping costs, *** ******** and our associate came to the agreement that this item will be returned to one of our showroom locations at the time in Brooklyn, NY. The Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) form was sent to this store location to be filled out by the client upon receiving the merchandise back in our store in good condition.

Some unfortunate circumstances shortly thereafter had taken place internally with the business, and our call center (Staten Island, NY) location and showroom (Brooklyn, NY) voided all communication and business transactions. The last record in our system only shows the initiation of the return, and unfortunately not the actual return of merchandise; therefore on our database this store credit was not issued to *** ********'s account.

Of course, it is not the responsibility of *** ******** to suffer any consequences of the businesses split, and the conversation *** ******** had recently with a representative of ours should have been handled on an escalated level. The representative that *** ******** had spoken to may have been new, or not properly trained in this field, however the information in our system only showed that a return was initiated, not actually received.

At this time, we have issued *** ******** this store credit for the amount of $538.93 which has no expiration date. For the trouble, we also have emailed *** ******** a 10% Off Promotional code to use on any regularly-priced merchandise for the trouble.

We hope *** ******** is satisfied with this resolution, and her account has been updated. If for any reason *** ******** has any questions, this matter will be handled with the utmost care.

Thank you for you understanding.

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We spent $985.50 on a crystal chandelier, and it arrived defective with a dead wire within the frame leading to one of the sockets. All the remaining 17 lights in the fixture worked fine. Naturally in order to test the chandelier upon arrival, it had to first be installed by connection to the celing wiring, which was done by our hired electrician who charged $150. You cannot just plug in the fixture like a normal light. Upon installation, our electrician pointed out the dead light and used a volt meter to test the socket wires in question and stated the wires were dead. He figured the problem was somewhere within the frame, perhaps at a circuit board and could not fix the wiring stating a new fixture would have to be sent. The company was told the problem. They insisted on first sending out a replacement socket before simply sending out a new replacement frame as they didn't want to go through the hassle of the return, even though they were told this would likely not fix he problem. The socket arrived, our electrician came back out, and he confirmed his original assessmet of dead wires as the replacement socket did not work. The charge for that visit was another $50. Once any new chandelier does arrive, it will cost another $150.00 for the electrician to come back and replace the defective chandelier with the new one. We are 3 weeks into this issue with a chandelier frame with no crystals hanging in our foyer. WeGotLites has failed to return any phone calls or call back when they promise they will do so. They refuse to cover any electrician costs per policy, even though the $200 we seek are additional electrician costs due to their defective product. Instead, they are willing to offer a $50 gift card and free chandelier cleaning product. This is unacceptable as a gift card is worthless as I would never purchase from them again. In a recent call to discuss our issue, a senior customer service manager just hung up on me when I mentioned I wanted to return the defective chandelier and shop for it elsewhere as their customer service is deplorable. They have now made no efforts to provide a return shipping label, and we are no farther along in getting the defective chandelier frame replaced, or returned.

Desired Settlement: $200 refund for additional electrician costs. Other option proposed to company was complimentary upgrade in crystal quality of replacement chandelier. Return shipping label to be sent under all outcome scenarios for return of defective chandelier.

Consumer Response:

At this time, I have been contacted directly by We Got Lites regarding complaint ID *******, however my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

Our replacement chandelier arrived and the defective chandelier was returned. But the company never did anything in the interest of good customer service as they said they would such as a gift card and chandelier cleaner. They certainly never honored the original monetary credit which was the nature for this complaint in the first place. 




In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


******* ******

Business Response: Dear Dispute Resolution Services,
We have reviewed the complaint from our customer ******* ******. Indeed, the replacement chandelier was shipped to *** ****** and the defective one was picked up on our behalf and sent back to our vendor due to the defective nature upon arrival.
Regarding the questions and new information on this case, please see below:
Our records do indicate that a complimentary 1-Gallon Crystal Chandelier Cleaner (a $42.99 value) was shipped, as promised, to *** ****** on 4/**/2013. This product was mailed via USPS, with no delivery confirmation or tracking information. We have not received any direct correspondence from *** ****** past the resolution of the new chandelier arriving, and Crystal Chandelier Cleaner being shipped out, therefore it was assumed our customer was satisfied. Being that there may be a possibility USPS mis-delivered or lost this shipment containing the Crystal Chandelier Cleaner, a new order will be fulfilled and will be shipping via FedEx, with tracking and delivery confirmation.

Regarding the Virtual Gift Card claimed was never received: *** ****** placed an initial order # ******* on 3/**/2013. With the items purchased, a coupon code was used at checkout online to receive a complimentary WeGotLites Virtual Gift Card, valued at $25.00 to use on future purchases. This gift card code was activated for $25.00 on 3/**/2013, immediately after the order was placed. With all WeGotLites Virtual Gift Card orders, an email is automatically sent containing the Gift Card code to redeem the savings on a future purchase. Since this is a Virtual Gift Card, an actual card was not to be delivered-- just a code which is used in the form of a “coupon code” at checkout.
On 4/**/2013, a sales manager from our company spoke with **** ****** to advise some information about their replacement order. It was mentioned to **** ****** that our Store Policy, Terms & Conditions (noted under Disclaimers)  states our company will not be held accountable for electrician fees, however we would do our best to compensate for the trouble by rectifying the replacement chandelier immediately, and upgrading their existing WeGotLites Virtual Gift Card from $25.00 to $50.00 value. Also mentioned, the large chandelier that was claimed to have a defective socket would only require a replacement component to be shipped out from our vendor in order to fix this problem. *** and **** ****** failed to have our vendor fulfill an order for a replacement socket, and were adamant about receiving a brand new chandelier. We accommodated this request and processed a new chandelier order, with a prepaid return to go back to our vendor.
The WeGotLites Virtual Gift Card was upgraded from the original value of $25.00 to $50.00 on 4/**/2013. As mentioned, the actual code to redeem these savings is the same, and is available to check balances and view the Virtual Gift Card information via our My Account log-in area of our website. If *** or **** ****** failed to receive the original email notification with the card code, we will gladly re-email this information.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you should have any questions.
Thank you.