BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New York Lighting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for New York Lighting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

This firm has not responded to our request for basic information.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 2002 Business started: 12/01/1991 in NY Business incorporated: 06/29/2000 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Fitterman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Fitterman, President
Business Category

LIGHTING FIXTURES-RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Lighting by Jared, Inc. Lighting New York

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (212) 965-1211(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 7 Eurofase lights on 7/*/2014. I received 5 of those lights ONLY. I have called the many many times and they never pick up the phone. I emailed them several times and finally received a response on 9/**/2014 which stated the following: "Date: Wed, ** Sep 2014 ******** ***** Subject: Re: New Order # **** ****** From: ************************** To: *************** Hello *****, We should have the other two here. I will look into our warehouse and let you know. Thanks, ***** ** New York Lighting" I have not heard from them since then, despite my repeated calls. I finally wrote them an email to issue me a refund and am submitting this complaint. If needed, I have the emails saved.

Desired Settlement: They obviously do not have the lights I ordered, thus I am asking for a refund. The refund should be for $264.00 (price of 2 lights) I have ordered the two additional lights I desperately need elsewhere.

Business Response: This Is Not our Company. This is a company that has copied Both oiur store and website.

We are *********************** and our store New York Lighting located at ******* ****** ** ** *****.

This is from a website ************************. They have many other websites that they scam customers with poor service and lack of delivery.
we are currently taking legal steps against them .

We believe the owner of this site is one ***** ******** address ****** ***** **** ***** ******* ** *****.

Please forward this to him .

Thank You.

**** ********* ********* ******** ** ***** **** *** **** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a pedestal fan , got the part and relised it was not the fan but an add on to the fan i wonted . Called ******* ###-###-#### . Was told to send it back to New york Lighting *** ****** *** **** *****. With Invoice ****** and a customer number ********. Sent it FEDEX on 6/**/13.

Desired Settlement: I am only asking for a refund of my 69.doller amount but after 45 days perhaps they should pay the 25 doller shiping on my end. But refund of $69.00 is past due.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******** *********

***** *** *** *** ***** ****** * **** ********* **** ****** *** **** ** *** **** *** ******** **** ** ****** ** **** ******** ********* ** **** ********* ************ ****** *** ** **** ** * *** ** ** *** ******* *********** ****** ****** ******** ******* ******* ******** *** **** ************ *** ***

 


 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Lighting New York on Feb. * via email and phone directly to the person who placed my order ********* ******* and received no response regarding a missing piece crucial to hanging my ****** ******* Large Linear Kassel pendant.. On Feb. * I contacted the manufacturer ****** ******* in *******, TX to see if I could resolve the problem with my pendant directly through them. I spoke with ****** ******** who said I had to deal directly with Lighting New York. ****** did send me via email directions for the assembly of the lighting fixture to help me identify the missing part. I promptly emailed pictures of the pendant that same day to ****** *******. ****** said unfortunately I had to deal with Lighting New York because they only deak with businesses and not end users. I then received a call from customer service rep ***** ***** with Lighting New York stating she would help with the resolution of my issue. I emailed ***** the pictures. On Feb. ** I emailed ***** requesting a status update on the missing part and received no response related to the missing part, so I called customer service and spoke with ***** who said that ***** was out of the office and ***** could not look into ******* email to find out the status of my issue. I emailed ***** on Feb. ** stating that a solution to my problem should not take this long and I requested an answer as to whether or not they were shipping the part or sending the entire pendant back for a new replacement I received a response stating that my issue was a priority and ***** awaited an answer from ****** *******. I contacted ***** and copied customer service yesterday Feb. ** regarding my unresolved issue and received no response.

Desired Settlement: Either the missing piece or entire replacement delivered before March *** .

Business Response: Dear********,

Thank you for your notice and bringing this matter to my attention.  From our records it appears that the missing part was ordered for ******** ****** through the manufacturer (******** ******) on February ***.On February ** ********* was sent an email by ****** ***** who notified her that provided her with a status on a number of items in her order, including the missing part. ********* responded that if the part was not shipping that day, she would box up the entire fixture and send it back. ******** ********* indicated that they could not ship the part that day, but they were working on this matter as a high priority and would ship it out as soon as they could.  ****** emailed this information to *********. We did not appear to have received the email ************ references on February ****, however we received a phone call from her on February ****.  We verified with ******** ****** and let her know at that time that the part would be shipping within the next 24 hours. The part was shipped via FedEx tracking ****************** and was delivered to ********* on Monday,  February ****, 2013. We have contacted ******** in regards to this dispute and have apologized for any miscommunication  regarding this matter.
 
Please let me know if I may be of any further assistance in this matter.
 
Sincerely,
 
****** ** ******
Director of Customer Service
********************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved