BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

bulbamerica.com

Fax: (718) 707-0404 View Additional Phone Numbers 425 Greenpoint Avenue, Brooklyn , NY 11222 http://www.bulbamerica.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that bulbamerica.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for bulbamerica.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 20, 2006 Business started: 10/01/2002 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/2002 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Corey Frons, CMO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Abraham Cohen, Marketing & IT Manager
Customer Contact: Corey Frons, CMO
Business Category

LIGHTING FIXTURES-RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Bulb America BulbAmerica eBulb, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (718) 707-0400(Phone)
  • (718) 707-0400(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February ***I purchased a projector bulb from BulbAmerica.com through their portal on **********. BulbAmerica advertised this product as an OEM bulb that cost $252.36 plus applicable tax. The product was shipped and received without delay, however the bulb filament burnt out in under 13 hours of non-continuous use. I requested an exchange on February **(referred to as an RMA exchange) through **********, as that is the portal I had used and did not want to confuse anything. After waiting 2 business days with no response, I contacted BulbAmerica's customer service directly by phone. BulbAmerica stated that no exchange was requested, and they would process the request and send me an email confirmation shortly. I waited six more business days with no response, and this point becoming concerned as this bulb was imperative to a presentation that needed to be done. My purchase had been covered by ****** Trusted Stores protection in case of any issues, so I reached out to them for assistance on March **.. At this point I was forced to go out and purchase an entire projector to complete the presentation, and requested through my ****** representation a refund from BulbAmerica since they could not even acknowledge that an exchange would occur in a timely fashion. On March **my RMA was approved and required me to pay out of pocket to ship the faulty bulb back to BulbAmerica. BulbAmerica then shipped me a replacement bulb that was received on March **. That was not as I had requested and my ****** representative then requested the refund again from BulbAmerica. On March **BulbAmerica approved the second RMA request for refund and I again shipped the bulb back to BulbAmerica at my own expense. On April ***, Bulb America confirmed that my requested refund was approved. Now we are at April **and I have still not received my refund from a purchase.

Desired Settlement: My frustration and inconvenience caused by this entire situation has been absolutely unacceptable. I expect my refund as promised immediately. I also expect an apology from the company, and hope that the ****** ******** ****** spends a serious amount of time reconsidering this business's accreditation. Please read the reviews of this company on ********** and see that I am not the only individual with this exact issue from this company. I encourage the BBB to reach out to me for any further information.

Business Response: Hi *****,

This order was refunded in full (earlier today) as per the screenshot attachment. 

My apologies to the customer.

Unfortunately, the projector bulb market has some misconceptions. The manufacturers of the projectors do not manufacture the bulbs and consumers generally can experience compatibility-issues when replacing projection bulbs.

There are over 10,000 variations of bulbs and getting it right can sometimes be tricky. That aside, we ship 80 - 100 projector bulbs daily and find that literally 98% of our customers are very happy with our quality and pricing. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased two projector bulbs from this company. They had a 90 day warranty and expected life span of 3000 operating hours. Within 30 days and 10 operating hours, one of the bulbs failed. They did replace that bulb. Then recently we contacted them to report that both bulbs were not unusable as both are so dim that the image can not be seen. The person taking the complaint said she will talk to the manufacturer/supplier and see what could be done. After a few weeks, we were told the manufacturer agreed to replace the bulbs and she will submit an RMA to us. We did get that RMA and returned both products to them. We recently got a call from them saying they got the bulbs returned, but that only bulb was purchased from them. The receipt clearly shows we purchased two. After questioning this issue, we were then quickly told they were out of warranty and they would not warranty them for us and they hung-up. This is not what we were told or why the RMA was authorized to us. We are also now without the 2 bulbs sent to them so sending them to another company for rebuild is not an option.

Desired Settlement: We simply want the replacement as promised. We understand they are out of warranty, but with only 300 hours of the 3000 hour life span is why we contacted bulbamerica in the first place. It was not to request a refund or replacement, it was to report that they may have a quality issue to resolve. It was the manufacturer that agreed to the replacement and that is the reason an out of warranty RMA was even issued by bulbamerica. This arrangement with the manufacturer was initiated by bulbamerica, not us. I just need them to step forward and do what they said they would. We the customer are now out the two bulbs, and bulbamerica has an agreement with the manufacturer to replace them for free. They gain and we as the customer loose.

Business Response: As per our call with *** ***** we have issued the refund for the bulb transaction via ****** ************

****** has already processed the refund and it should be reflected in the customers account shortly.

A PDF document that lists the refund has been attached to this response.

We apologize for any confusion and thank you for your patience and understanding.

Thank you,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I talk to ****** sent me item that don't work and just said he will look into it 3 day ist nothing to look into the item don't work.

Desired Settlement: just want my money back I return the item

Business Response: The total of $91.12 has been refunded to the customer. 


Refund transaction ID: *****************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a projection TV magnavox original brand (120/132) watt bulb from BulbAmerica Co., but they sent me OSRAM brand (132/150)watt which is not my purchased brand, and when I contacted the company, they try to mislead me.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back in full amount plus the return delivery charge that I paid to FedEx which is $8.03

Business Response: Hello,


I would like to apologize for any negative experience the customer may have had with BulbAmerica.

I would also like to share a common misconception in the projector bulb industry.

Consumers generally replace projector bulbs that come from companies like Sony, 3M, Zenith, Magnavox, etc. believing they are to receive a bulb made by the same company that is listed on the tv / projector.  The truth of the matter is that these TV and projector companies are not in the bulb business and simply do not manufacture the projector bulbs that they use in their finished products. For example, as a company Sony does not manufacture projector bulbs or light bulbs.

These projector companies deliver a finished projector or TV that consists of many different parts that are made available by many different manufacturers.

ie. The fan can come from one company, the circuit board another, the bulb another, and the list goes on.

It is known in the bulb marker that 3 manufacturers are responsible for original OEM projector bulbs. These manufacturers are Osram, Philips, and Ushio.

In this specific transaction (order number *********) an Osram P-VIP bulb was delivered and it is of the highest projector bulb quality available. 

The delivered bulb is in fact an OEM replacement bulb. We will be happy to refund the full amount of this order and are currently awaiting delivery of the return.

Thank you,

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******** ****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 26 Philips EnduraLED BR30 3000K bulbs. What I recieved was the previous version (discontinued) and not the current model. The model number of what I was shipped (****************) is nowhere in the listing on ********* ****************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I simply want a label to return the products and a full refund for the items plus shipping with no restocking fee (I should not be paying a restocking fee on an item not as described)

Business Response: Hi******
 
 
Thanks for your time on the phone earlier.
 
 
I have reviewed the case in detail and want to re-confirm the current availability of this item from the manufacturer. Again, this specific item is currently available and is being purchased on a regular basis.
The customer received exactly what he ordered. Exactly what was displayed on Sears.
 
 
In the customers statement he explains "What I recieved was the previous version (discontinued) and not the current model. The model number of what I was shipped (****************)  is nowhere in the listing on sears.com http************************ ***** ***** *************************** ********** ************************ ********************************* 
Below is a picture of the Sears web page the customer has linked to in the complaint (above). In the screens hot of the page (below) is an image of the product that the customer received. The SKU #****** is also stated on the page.


 
As an FYI, I have attached other screenshots taken today from other retailers that are also currently offering the same bulb at a higher price.




 Thank You,
 
***** ***** ********************* ************** **************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

They have not offered to do anything. As I stated before, this is the previous version of the product and not the current model. I am still waiting on a FULL refund, with shipping costs included.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** **********




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

3/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bulbamerica.com advertises Fed-Ex Ground shipment, I paid for Fed-Ex ground, then they send it by ** ****** ******* at a cheaper rate, but do not pass on the savings. My invoice and their website indicate my shipment would be shipped Fed-Ex ground.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the shipping cost and a apology.

Business Response: Hi *****,
 
Our Terms can be found throughout the bottom of our website.
 
*********************************************** 
In the terms and conditions page it states:
 
" Orders will be shipped via USPS or FedEx at BulbAmerica's discretion to expedite delivery as quickly as possible."
 
More importantly, I have reproduced and attached a screenshot of the checkout as it would appear in *** ****** checkout. In the image screenshot you can see that a shipping carrier is not specified. We simply identify the method as ground so that we can use the carrier that would allow us to get the order to the customer sooner.
 
Please keep in mind that FedEx and USPS have very similar rates for residential delivery with tracking. In fact, there are many cases where USPS can be more expensive that FedEx. (Please also note that the shipping carriers offer different pickup times and we regularly push out packages via either carrier to make sure they are shipped as soon as they are received.)
 
Finally, I would like to apologize to *** ****** if we have misrepresented the shipping carriers that are used in any way whatsoever. At BulbAmerica we do our best to go above and beyond for our customers.
 
Thank You,
 
***** *****
 
 
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and accept their appology.   

It is amazing that I had six days to respond to BBB and the company was given well over a month to respond.

Sincerely,

****** ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1