This business is not BBB accredited.

N.L.O.L.C. LLC

Phone: (631) 329-0514 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.nlolc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for N.L.O.L.C. LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on N.L.O.L.C. LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 25, 2009 Business started: 10/21/2004 in NY Business incorporated 03/01/2005 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Category

LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS LANDSCAPE DESIGNERS MASON CONTRACTORS

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ****** of NLOLC LLC took a $500 retainer from my wife on June **, 2013 for the installation of a wooden fence. The check was cashed on June ****, 2013. He never performed the service after repeated calls he said he would complete the work but never did. I requested a refund and *** ****** has refused to return the $500 retainer. This gentleman and his company is unreliable and untrustworthy.

Desired Settlement: We would like an immediate refund of the $500 retainer taken from us in June for the fence that was never installed.

Business Response: I spoke with **** ***** ****** on Monday 1-** we made arrangements to do the installation on march * depending on the weather. We also discussed that I will call her a few days before march * to confirm our appointment

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: NLOLC did landscape work in my rear yard that included installing an underground drain line that discharged near my houses side door and flooded my basement during a heavy rain. *** ****** conceded that this was a problem and agreed to correct the work by relocating the drain line. He never came back to do this work. In addition, NLOLC installed numerous shrubs - some died immediately and *** ****** agreed to replace them. This was never done and we had to retain someone else to replace the shrubs.

Desired Settlement: I would like *** ****** to correct the work as promised. I had to install a temporary external drain line to protect my house prior to Hurricane Sandy and it is still in place. The dead shrubs should be replaced as warranted.

Business Response: I spoke with *** ***** ****** on Monday January **** and we will be correcting any issues on or about march *. Hopefully the weather will cooperate.. Also told **** ***** ****** I will call her a few days before to confirm

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

When *** ****** spoke to my wife on 1/** he was addressing a different complaint filed by us relating to a fence installation where he took a $500  retainer but never returned to do the work. *** ****** never discussed or agreed to correct the items noted in this complaint which includes relocating storm drainage line installed by him that causes flooding of our basement, replacement of shrubs that died immediately after installation and repair/replacement of certain Belgian Blocks.

 

 

 

Sincerely,

***** ******




 

Business Response: We have spoken and are on the same page with how we are proceeding

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Now it is up to *** ****** to do what he says he will do. If he does not, I will file another complaint.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired NLOLC LLC in September of 2012 to install pavement stones in my backyard patio and around the pool area. *** ******, *** ***** of NLOLC promised to complete the work within the three month time frame. It is still not complete 13 months later. While doing the work he made suggestions that additional work also be done - i.e. he recommended that we plant bushes/small evergreen trees around the perimeter of the property and install a fence around the backyard. Later, he also suggested that we pave the driveway and front walk to the house and install 18 metal post filled with cement around the side yard for added security against traffic hazards. To this day he has been paid in full for all work listed above yet most of it is yet to be completed. He doesn't show up to work for days and sometimes weeks and fails to respond to my attempts to contact him. He is clearly avoiding me and is showing complete lack of professionalism. He doesn't show up to our scheduled meeting and does thing without prior consultation with me which ends up being done wrong, or not according to our agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like *** to complete the work he has started and has been paid for, specifically - 1. replace the chipped and cracked pavement stones that I have repeatedly asked him to do. 2.Fill up gaps between pavers with sand and seal the paved area as per requirement and his promise. 3.Replace bushes that did not acclimate - he planted them last December and when I questioned him on this he said if they did acclimate and turn green by August this year he would replace them. 4. He has replaced some of the bushes but he dug out more of the dry ones than he replaced them with new ones. The space between the previously planted bushes was about 2.5 feet. The new ones that he just planted are spaced at almost 4 feet. 5. He has to address the privacy issue with the fence around the pool. he recently re-did the gate and I told him that it doesn't solve the privacy in the pool area that he assured me last December would be very private. It looks even worse after he re-did it without prior consultation with me. 6. He need to complete the metal posts - it's been over 6 months since he received full payment.

Consumer Response:

At this time, I have been contacted directly by N.L.O.L.C. LLC regarding complaint ID *******, however my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 Thank you very much. Please close the complaint as RESOLVED as per the business's promise to complete all outstanding work in prompt manner upon resolving the complaint.
 
Thank you,
***** *****

 

 

Consumer Response:

At this time, I have been contacted directly by N.L.O.L.C. LLC regarding complaint ID *******, however my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

The business contacted me on January ***, 2014 and told me that once the weather warms up a little *** *****, *** ******, would come and go over everything with me. I cannot say the issue is resolved since I am very cynical about this business now and only full completion of the outstanding work will resolve the issues. I anticipate to meet with the business sometime in March and hope we can move forward.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

Sincerely,

***** *****

2/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February of 2013 the business offered to do work in addition to the work agreed on in the contract and charged me an additional $4980 to perform the work. At the time, the business owner told me the work would take three days to complete and now, almost 10 months later, the work is still only half-way done and the business has not been sending its workers to complete the job for months. There are also bits and pieces of other jobs that the business was working on my property that were never completed. My multiple pleads and requests are being ignored by the business and I have never done business with such an unprofessional business owner who promises the world, gets the contract and the money and then has to be chased for months to get the work done.

Desired Settlement: I would like to the business come and complete the job and do it in a timely manner.

Business Response: I spoke with ***** ***** 10 days ago. We are meeting when the weather is better to walk around. We are going to measure all pavement areas to confirm the square footage.  We are going to settle all open invoices and review all work to make sure ***** ***** and us are both happy. I was also told weeks earlier that this complaint was removed?   N.L.O.L.C.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

Although the business has promised me to come and walk through everything I cannot say that the issues have been resolved until everything is settled. The business had also promised me to come and walk through everything back in November and December but it never happened, so I am very cynical at this point and will only click on the "Resolved" button once it's all settled.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September **, 2012 my husband and I signed a contract with NLOLC to do work on our patio in the backyard and our swimming pool. The contract was for $28,000 to be paid in four installments of $7,000. The first installment was paid upon signing the contract,the second upon paving the patio was done and the third was supposed to be paid after the swimming pool equipment was set. We paid ***, *** ***** of NLOLC, the third installment when he asked us for it and since then, already 9 months later, no work on the pool has been done at all. He does not answer the phone when I or my husband call him and has been dragging this project for much longer than it should have taken him.In addition to this, the pool equipment was never set or installed as the contract stipulates, yet we paid him the third installment and now, after having been let down by *** for so long and after having given him many chances I no longer have the confidence in him and want him to pay me the money that he owes me for the work he hasn't done so I can hire someone who will complete this project in less than 4 weeks. He also overcharged us on the amount of square footage for the paving of the patio that he needs to adjust and pay us back.At this point I feel that I can n o longer trust him and feel uncomfortable him continuing with the job that should have been completed by last November/December.

Desired Settlement: I want to terminate my contract with *** (NLOLC) because he has lost my confidence and I am not prepared to wait indefinitely while he keeps working on projects that he took on after signing the contract with us. We have so far paid him $21,000 and the work completed is for $13950. I would thereore need him to refund $7,050 plus another $2172 for the 240 square feet of paving that he over calculated. The total amount to be refunded is $9,222.

Business Response:

In response to complaint #******* Yes we came to an agreement on September **, 2012. . We were hired to remove 106 sq' of concrete patio and wood decking. Install a top mount extrusion , Install 116 linear feet of bullnosed pool copping and install 1,200 sq' of paving stones. We were also going to purchase a pool filter, salt generator, a pool heater, pool step and a 1.5hp pool pump. We also were arranging for the installation of a pool liner on a vermiculite base. The first payment was due on the signing of the agreement which was paid. The second payment was due after the patio was installed which was paid. The third payment was due when the equipment was set in back yard. This payment was also paid. What ****** ***** fails to mention is that the pool heater was stolen and at a later date the pool pump was stolen. The filter and generator were removed from the house. The house was under construction and sat empty till about one month ago. Since than a new heater was purchased at our expense. The pool pump was also replaced. ***** ***** wanted to upgrade his pool pumpto a variable speed pump which cost an additional $500.00. The pool liner can not be installed until their is electric lines and gas lines are connected. Their gas line was changed by a licensed plumber who ***** ***** hired. An electrician came to the house and said the old electric lines are outdated and that new lines must be ran. ***** ***** has a family friend who is trying to rig up the electric using old pool lines and a new line. ***** and ****** ***** have been told this is extremely dangerous but also illegal. We will not have anyone go near this pool without a licensed electrician doing the electrical work. As far as the patio being 240 sq' short. I will make an appointment with ***** ***** to measure the patio with him present. Our calculations show our measurements to be correct.

 In closing all work from invoices 220 and 221 comes to a total of $28,000.00 Plus $500.00 to upgrade  total cost is $28,500.00

The liner and the base cost $6,600.00

We were paid $21,000.00. The final payment of $7,000.00 will be due when the liner is installed.

The $500.00 is due now

I am attaching pictures of the existing electric wires

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. I will have an electrician come and re wire the lines so they meet the local codes.

Sincerely,

****** ***** * ********



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on N.L.O.L.C. LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)