BBB Accredited Business since

E. Friedman Associates

Fax: (718) 338-5870 View Additional Phone Numbers 2237 New York Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11234 http://www.ckitchen.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that E. Friedman Associates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for E. Friedman Associates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on E. Friedman Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 23, 2004 Business started: 08/01/1984 in NY Business incorporated 10/02/1984 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Elliot Friedman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elliot Friedman, President
Business Category

KITCHEN ACCESSORIES RESTAURANT EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES COMMERCIAL PRODUCTS WHOLESALE & DISTRIBUTOR COOKING UTENSILS


Additional Locations

  • 2237 New York Avenue

    Brooklyn, NY 11234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order an new ice marker from ckitchen.com , it took two week to have my product delivery. When I got my shipment , from outside to inside are both damage. The new ice marker is totally damage, not repairable. I request to get new one , they refuse it because they said I signed it to accepte it. Yes I agree that I signed it without check on it because I was busy and one one ask me to check. I spend over two thousands dollar on it and I just want to exchange

Desired Settlement: Exchange the new one

Business Response: On May ****, ** ***, our customer ***, called to inform us that the unit purchased, a Manitowoc UC-0310W NEO Under counter Ice Maker, was damaged.  *** submitted pictures of the damages which were forwarded to Manitowoc/United Refrigeration.   It was determined that the damages to the box were consistent with the damages to the unit per the pictures he submitted. 

After confirming with ******* ******* that the shipment was signed for free and clear, *** was advised to contact the carrier and file a concealed freight claim.  This is noted both on our shipping policy, which our cus***ers must initial prior to checkout, and on our cus***er’s order confirmation emailed to him on May ***. 
 
On May ****, after further communication with ***, he confirmed that the unit has a damaged door frame and door track.  Both damages were confirmed with the pictures he submitted.  We agreed to purchase the damaged parts at no additional charge.  A service call was arranged with Turner Commercial Refrigeration to replace the damaged parts and invoice us.

On Saturday, May ****, *** sent an email stating the unit was not making any ice. On Monday, June *, 2015, I scheduled a service call with Turner Commercial to service the unit under warranty.   On the afternoon of June ***, I received a call from ***** ***** ********* of Turner Commercial, who advised me the unit was severely damaged and that the screws were sheared off completely.  In his expert opinion, the unit was either dropped from a significant height or took some other blunt force hit.  

Federal Express has denied the concealed freight claim.   In their findings, they determined  the outside of the packaging does have some dents and band indention's, but nothing to reflect the type of damage Turner Commercial reported.  

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Ice maker online, but I received a damaged product. when I called C-kitchen(seller) to explain the problem, and I wish to exchange, but they refused. they said you should open the box and check the product before you sigh to receive from FedEx. I must said here, I will takes more than 30 minutes to open and check whole product. and no FedEx delivery man will wait for that long. and I call right the way after I opened box(same day after I just received). look, I am here just request to exchange, but they refused. the Ice maker still in the box which I have not use it yet. please take it back. I don't need it anymore, I cannot suffer it anymore. I don't care whose fault between FedEx or seller. but please take back the product and return money to me.

Desired Settlement: refund cash and pay me the lost. it has 30 days past. I spent money purchasing Ice daily, and suffer without ice maker.

Business Response: Our customer received the unit on 8/**/13, it was signed for free and clear. We were contacted on 8/**/13 at which time our customer was advised to contact the freight company and have them pick the unit up, return to sender and a replacement would be shipped out. The customer instead opted to complete a freight claim with Federal Express for which she will be compensated accordingly via the freight company. Federal Express has already completed their inspection of the damages. I have added below our statements on both our policy and shipping disclaimers as well as the customer shipping confirmation letter she received.

"Un-package your order and complete a full inspection for damage. Your signature on freight carrier's documentation acknowledges that shipment was received in good condition and absent of damage or shortages. IMPORTANT: If you find item(s) damaged, note paperwork as "DAMAGED" and REFUSE ORDER and call our customer service ASAP. We are not responsible for damage found after the shipper has left. If not 100% sure, mark 'POTENTIAL HIDDEN DAMAGE" on the delivery receipt."

Thank you,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

I disagree about it. first, I signed for received because I assumed the product is new, and FedEx delivery guy not allow or wait receiver very long time to open the box and test product until sign to receive.  if so, it will take forever to FedEx to complete their job. so, it is not my fault. and I shop anywhere online, no one refused buyer to change product.

second, the inspector said the product was damaged through the delivery process, but FedEx disagreed it. I have the letter to approved it. so their are not going to repair it. so, why i must suffer it. i have right to exchange or return if i receive damaged item. the sell has to take care the rest, not buyer. i have all the images to approve this is a damage product.

last, I called as same day to Seller to report the problem but no one answered my call, later time, when i reached them, and asked for exchange and requested seller have to pay the pick up and re-shipping fee. however, the seller refused also. why am I stay here to argue with seller. I feel so disappoint about this seller. problem is sell have to figure out lose to FedEx, not buyer. i paid, so i deserve to have a brand new product. that is it. i am so tired. please don't waste time. take the item back and refund me the whole money.   

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ***




 

Business Response: After further researching this issue with Federal Express, the customer's freight claim was denied because our customer signed for the unit free and clear. According to the driver, there was no visible damage to the packaging at the time of delivery and the customer was allotted 22 minutes to inspect the unit before the driver left.

However, after further discussions with Manitowoc/ United Refrigeration regarding this issue, Manitowoc has agreed to accept the unit back and issue a refund to our customer minus a restocking fee which will be determined once the unit is inspected. We, E. Friedman Associates, will absorb the restocking fee and will refund our customer in full. Arrangements will be made directly with our customer for the pick up of the unit. Once the unit has been received and their inspection completed a credit will be sent to us at which time we can refund the customer accordingly.